Show me your RACK - Page 70 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 2149 Old 02-27-2014, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Slingblayde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Newshoundaussie, very nice setup and nice neat cable management!
And yay for a fellow Southwestern Ontario AVS member. biggrin.gif

Optoma HD33, Onkyo TX-NR818 in a 9.2 setup, Emotiva XPA-5 G2, UPA-700 for eventual 11.2 setup
Oppo BDP-103, , Middle Atlantic Slim 5-37-26
F - Klipsch RB-61 II, C - Klipsch RC-62 II, Side/Rear Surrounds - Klipsch RS-42's, Heights - Klipsch RS-41's
Dual - PSA XV15's, Fractal Designs Node 605 HTPC
Slingblayde is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 2149 Old 02-27-2014, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Just found some old photos of my first equipment rack (DIY), going way back to Sony S7000 days....

Smoked tempered glass shelves with wood frames.

firstrack.jpg 244k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg firstrack.jpg (244.3 KB, 31 views)
Tedd is offline  
post #2073 of 2149 Old 02-27-2014, 06:36 PM
Member
 
hitman6079's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Quad Cities, Illinois
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I could use some opinions on my AV rack shelves. The shelf deminisions are 24 x 15.5. currently and I bought originally 12in brackets for the supports. The problem I'm running into is when I extend the shelf through the wall it's about two inches short from covering the end of the 12in brackets. I've found 9in brackets at HD and they seem to work fine and appear more than capable of holding my equipment. Guess my question is should I go with the longer brackets and cut new shelves or would the smaller supports work? I quickly measured my Denon receiver and the depth is about 15 inches.

hitman6079 is offline  
post #2074 of 2149 Old 02-28-2014, 12:56 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Both will hold the weight. It is an aesthetic choice. The mass will still be centered over the bracket with either length.
TMcG is online now  
post #2075 of 2149 Old 02-28-2014, 04:22 AM
Member
 
hitman6079's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Quad Cities, Illinois
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the comments.
hitman6079 is offline  
post #2076 of 2149 Old 03-01-2014, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jonny5nz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 75
The shorter one looks a lot more tidy. I would go with that.
Jonny5nz is offline  
post #2077 of 2149 Old 03-01-2014, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 185
The longer one gives you somewhere to anchor cables.
wkearney99 likes this.
olyteddy is offline  
post #2078 of 2149 Old 03-18-2014, 07:43 PM
Member
 
towercontrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey All. Its been way to long since I've been on here. So being I'm 'just finishing up my latest project, I thought I'd share it with you all! My7 newly built office. with Rack access. As usual its the mainframe to the home. But I want ti do some upgrades this year to thin out some of the "lesser" equipment. I would like to upgrade to an Oppo player, but not sure which one yet. Things like that. sorry if punctuation is off, brand new baby is in one arm!

I tried to keep it as clean as I could in the back. Thoughts???
Cheers!



mr kilderkin likes this.

/ / / This is The Tower! / / /
towercontrol is offline  
post #2079 of 2149 Old 03-18-2014, 09:09 PM
Newbie
 
Newshoundaussie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London On. Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Very nice job 

Newshoundaussie is offline  
post #2080 of 2149 Old 03-18-2014, 09:37 PM
Newbie
 
Newshoundaussie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London On. Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Just finished setup for 9.2  added wide fronts. One picture of it lit other new patch box added. AppleMark

AppleMark

 

up. 

towercontrol and mr kilderkin like this.
Newshoundaussie is offline  
post #2081 of 2149 Old 03-27-2014, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
mr kilderkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Central Coast California
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
First off, thanks to everyone who has posted their racks. I've been following this thread since the early days and shortly after I saw some of the awesome racks I knew I had to get one.

After a few months of watching craigslist like a hawk, I found a Middle Atlantic WR-44-42 for $100. This thing was huge! Almost 7.5' tall and over 3.5' deep, no way it would fit in my little 3 bedroom house. I gave the rack to my buddy over at Dirt Designs and he hacked it up to fit in the coat closet in my living room. Initially I wanted to utilize some of the space behind my furnace and frame out an area for it with some smoked glass......... but the closet was oh so much easier and it is working great. Plus when the solid wood door is shut, it is silent.

Here are some pictures before and after. Sorry for the quality of the shots, they were never intended for much more than picture messages biggrin.gif





mr kilderkin is offline  
post #2082 of 2149 Old 04-01-2014, 02:09 PM
Member
 
towercontrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey, we were talking cooling fans. these are the ones I'm using that I made up. The row of fans with the white wire and tape is not being used currently. Had one come apart and one stopped working. But they are hooked to the two Pci card fans that I use side by side for thin hard to reach places. I use them flat on the top of the equipment grill to pull the air up into them and out the fronts of the fans. Works great! The longer bank works great, moves a lot of air at once. I use them at the front or back vertically along the width of the unit. (depending on where I need the air exhausted.) I have used both on one unit before. 7 at the front 6 at the back. That moves air. But to much noise for the value of effectiveness. I bought the fans at a surplus store, so they were really cheap and once together do an amazing job. Granted a person may not need that many even 3 would move air over that surface. But at the time I built them I had alot of heat building in a small area. two AVR's running around 50C each on average. 100c+ between two units was mush to hot for my liking, so thats why I built so many. Now with a vented shelf from Mid Atl. its brought the heat down considerably. PS: all 12 Volt fans.







mr kilderkin likes this.

/ / / This is The Tower! / / /
towercontrol is offline  
post #2083 of 2149 Old 04-01-2014, 10:32 PM
Newbie
 
mr kilderkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Central Coast California
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice job with the fans, thanks for sharing. I may implement something similar!
mr kilderkin is offline  
post #2084 of 2149 Old 04-01-2014, 10:48 PM
Member
 
towercontrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks, I did reinstall the bank of 7 today, but I added the sticky backed Foam door seal tape around the outside edges, gives it a tighter fit and quieter too. Just an fyi to try.

/ / / This is The Tower! / / /
towercontrol is offline  
post #2085 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 04:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Is a Mid Atlantic WRK-44-27 a good rack for HT use? It's way more spaces than I need right now, but I could see myself filling a lot of it over time
Larry M is offline  
post #2086 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
thxonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

looks awesome

thxonly is offline  
post #2087 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 08:02 AM
Member
 
JSKMDWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Better to have the space and not need it, than to need the space and not have it.

Would I have stayed happy not knowing how good it could be? 

My theater in print http://www.hometheater.com/writer/26443

Mocha Theater Construction thread http://www.avsforum.com/t/1527883/mocha-theater-construction 

JSKMDWK is online now  
post #2088 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry M View Post

Is a Mid Atlantic WRK-44-27 a good rack for HT use? It's way more spaces than I need right now, but I could see myself filling a lot of it over time

Its good to have the extra space. I ran out of space on my rack.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #2089 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
YitEarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Its great to have a rack at all. Over here in the uk middle atlantic would be twice the price. Im looking at the sanus rack which doesn't seem to be too costly compared to the former. But I am debating if I actually need a rack now. Two sheets of mdf and a few 24u rack rails might see me good.

YitEarp is offline  
post #2090 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 40
So the WRK line is a good line to have correct?

Price not being a factor, I am buying used pretty inexpensively
Larry M is offline  
post #2091 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
jbernardk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

 

 

 

Here's my new rack.  I had a cabinet maker build it out of 3/4" plywood.  Painted it black.  I need to make the wires in the back a little neater.

jbernardk is offline  
post #2092 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
RckReadytj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Heres my rack. Contains everything for theater, security cameras, whole house lighting control, and URC's total control system for whole house audio/video integration. Enjoy

 

 

 

 

RckReadytj is offline  
post #2093 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 05:43 PM
Newbie
 
Newshoundaussie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London On. Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Wow!! nice setup.

Newshoundaussie is offline  
post #2094 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 05:48 PM
Member
 
JSKMDWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry M View Post

So the WRK line is a good line to have correct?

Price not being a factor, I am buying used pretty inexpensively

Any of the Middle Atlantic racks should work great. Their website states -- The WRK series was designed with a wider footprint for mounting equipment with thicker cable bundles that would be difficult to fit in a basic rack. It’s ideal for multi-bay installations, or to insure more cooling airflow. The WRK series also offers seismic certification and open or removable sides.

As long as you are not trying to fit this into a tight space you should be fine.

Would I have stayed happy not knowing how good it could be? 

My theater in print http://www.hometheater.com/writer/26443

Mocha Theater Construction thread http://www.avsforum.com/t/1527883/mocha-theater-construction 

JSKMDWK is online now  
post #2095 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 06:54 PM
Member
 
towercontrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Great set up! I'm along the lines of the same idea. Mainframe for the house. Looks good!

/ / / This is The Tower! / / /
towercontrol is offline  
post #2096 of 2149 Old 04-15-2014, 06:58 PM
Member
 
towercontrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ya, thats perfectly good! Many guys will build their own too. Works well for them cause they can make it where they need to, so its custom fit. Where as a rack you are stuck with certain sizes. I'm pro rack, but it don't matter really. If you have the budget to include one great if you need to make one great too!
Hell, mine is an ex-RCMP Surveillance/ video rack. make it yours by being happy with what you build!

/ / / This is The Tower! / / /
towercontrol is offline  
post #2097 of 2149 Old 04-18-2014, 04:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Anyone want to take an educated guess on what model this server rack is? It is an APC 42U from the listing. I think it might be a 40+ deep rack which would suck. I was hoping it was a 3810
http://www.apc.com/products/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=AR3810&tab=models







I'd much rather an MA rack, but nothing available locally that fits my needs

How are the APC racks? I assume they'll take MA faceplates and accessories just like an MA 19" rack would?
Larry M is offline  
post #2098 of 2149 Old 04-18-2014, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 76
The fans are usually very loud in server racks. You would need to replace them, or not use them.

40" deep is huge.

Can you go look at it?

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #2099 of 2149 Old 04-18-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post

The fans are usually very loud in server racks. You would need to replace them, or not use them.

40" deep is huge.

Can you go look at it?

If it is 40" deep, I wouldn't be interested. I have to call the listing and see what I'm looking at
Larry M is offline  
post #2100 of 2149 Old 04-18-2014, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Sir Meili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sunny Sebring, FL
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
40" is super deep. I think I'm currently at 28" (due to having to hold a development server I use for work and doubles as local storage for TVs/Movies). The only benefit I can see is that you get the back of the rack to hold equipment you don't really need/want to see from the front. I, for instance, keep a printer/scanner/copier on the back of my rack for the family to use. No reason it needs to be facing the living room. I also have shelves for the HDMI splitter, roku, home automation devices, cable box, and switches.

If you do opt for the 40", make sure the sides are removable so that you can manage wires from the sides as well, and check to see if you can possibly either get more vertical rack rails for it (some ht equipment will required back rails, but won't go the 40") or that you can get rails that are deep enough. I am at 28" because that is the max that my HT APC battery backup's rails will go (And that is stretching it).

Also, make sure you have space for it to be moved around. I was going to go for a 40", but it would have taken up a whole side of my closet where I keep the rack. they are huge and very hard to move around in tight spaces, My 28" rack is a bear to move around in the 6' x 6' closet, even on casters. Granted, that is the room that holds the Air handler for my A/C (2'x2') and there are also wire shelves on some of the walls.
Sir Meili is online now  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off