Mounting LCD on brick wall - how? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-30-2007, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Stylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this probably seems very simple to most of you, but I'm new to this and not very experienced. I searched the archives but couldn't find a clear answer.

I'd like to mount my 40" LCD to an exposed interior brick wall. I'll be buying my mount from monoprice. I have no clue how to do this - Any instructions/help would be appreciated (pls walk me through it like I'm a 4 yr old ) - TIA
Stylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-30-2007, 07:37 PM
Member
 
scottjohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: southern Indiana
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is the mount a two piece system? meaning do you have a bracket for the t.v. and one for the wall. if so drill the brick with a masonry bit, put in a heavy duty molly, or masonry studs that the bottom/back side expands as you tighten the nut, to mount the "wall" bracket. then, of course, hang the t.v. on the wall mount.
scottjohnson is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-30-2007, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I just purchased the monoprice mount for the LCD I'm getting this week and it includes instructions and hardware for brick/masonary walls. I would assume its true for any mount, but don't quote me on that. This mount is great for the money, if you want to save a few bucks, take a peek. You won't find a better deal anywhere else. Mine came yesterday.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Bud


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Check out a video of my  
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

chinadog is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-31-2007, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Stylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep Bud, monoprice is exactly where I'll be ordering from. The only thing I couldn't tell was if I needed the "WIDE" model and what the difference was...

Scott, it's the mout Bud referenced. I guess it's a 1 piece?
Stylin is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-01-2007, 04:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Stylin,

FYI, I just noticed this under the Knowledge Base section.

"Question: I'm wondering if you can tell me the difference between these two plasma/lcd wall mounts 2852 and 3004:

Answer: The difference between the two mounts is the maximum TV [width] that it can support. 2852 supports up to 65inches whereas 3004 supports up to 63inches; both support up to 165lbs"

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...1&format=6#faq

The piece mounted on the wall is one piece, there are two brackets you mount to the TV, then hang the TV w/ brackets on the plate on the wall and secure the two together.

Bud


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Check out a video of my  
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

chinadog is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-02-2007, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Stylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aww, makes sense. Gonna order today.

Now I'm just worried about what type of screws/bits to use. I'll look into the molly and masonry studs as suggested. Is there anything even more heavy duty available?
Stylin is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-03-2007, 01:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stylin View Post

Aww, makes sense. Gonna order today.

Now I'm just worried about what type of screws/bits to use. I'll look into the molly and masonry studs as suggested. Is there anything even more heavy duty available?

If the back of the brick wall is not exposed (has an airspace behind it), you could use toggle bolts:

http://www.naturalhandyman.com/iip/i...infanchor.shtm


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Xbox Live: Atomic Hamper
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-04-2007, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Stylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the wall:
not sure what it has behind it, as next door is another apt.
Stylin is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-04-2007, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
W00lly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NEBRASKA
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Stylin

you could use this type

http://www.concretefasteners.com/anc...edge/index.htm

http://www.concretefasteners.com/anc...stallation.htm

or this type both hold well

http://www.concretefasteners.com/anc...edge/index.htm

http://www.concretefasteners.com/anc...stallation.htm


these can be found at any of the big box stores and Ace hardware

Scott


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

          Current Photo's

W00lly is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-05-2007, 05:36 AM
 
Max Lomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've always used the big blue Tapcons for fastening flat panel mounts to concrete or brick. They come with a bit as well. Simple. Brick is actually easy to drill into with the masonry bit. I don't use the typical masonry anchors because of the size of the holes you usually have to drill. Flat panels really aren't that heavy.
http://www.buildextapcon.com/
Max Lomax is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-05-2007, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Stylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome guys - thanks this has given me a better idea of what/how to do it. The heaviest lcd is about 55 lbs, and the other is around 35 lbs, so it seems any of the fasteners will work. If the mounts arrive in time I hope to do it this weekend. Will post pics of the completed job. Anyone gonna be in the Brooklyn, NY area soon lol?
Stylin is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-22-2007, 04:25 PM
Member
 
whalepirot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I sure hope that the brick is firmly attached to the wall behind. It may not be a traditional brick wall and therefore raises the question of ow much weight can be hung from it.
whalepirot is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-22-2007, 04:38 PM
Member
 
buckrogers71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will second the Tapcon, good stuff. However I agree w/ whale. I would be quite interested to see if that is a "true" brick wall as opposed to a vaneer (i think thats what it is called). If you are friendly w/ your neighbor, I would look go next door to see if its the same (the brick wall) or find a not so obvious spot and drill through on the motar/ pointing and see how far you go back.

Good luck and let us know how you made out
buckrogers71 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off