Subwoofer in Box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-09-2007, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BartlettJ64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Spotsylvania, VA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the theater room I am planning on putting the sub in a bit of space I have below the in wall rack I have made for my HT equipment. DOes anyone have suggestions on how I should finish this box out? Completely frame it in, sound proofing, etc?

Thanks again all,

Bart
BartlettJ64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-09-2007, 06:46 AM
Member
 
sconner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a similar situation...Never thought of using that space for a sub! Might just steal that idea! If I were to do it the think that I would strive for is to make sure the sub box is not fastened to the wall. And if possible, have the sub facing toward the room. I would probably basically build a heavy cube into the wall out of 3/4 MDF or an even more dense sheetgood if I could find it. Seal it all up, slide the sub into the cube facing out and then cover with GOM or speaker cloth. Not sure if I'm verbalizing what I'm thinking but I hope you get the idea.

I think it would effect the sound but not sure in what way. I'd be afraid of standing waves, reverberations and such inside the wall cavity/cube.

sconner
sconner is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-09-2007, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SVonhof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Manteca, Ca, USA
Posts: 4,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sconner, I agree completly with what you are saying. You don't want any vibration trasmitted to a DVD player or something above it, so make sure the box doesn't touch any walls. Probably the easiest way to make sure it doesn't touch is to use some of those pads that they sell at the hardware stores that interlock together for areas where you are standing alot. Cut some of that to fit.

Scott
 

SVonhof is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-09-2007, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scaesare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a pair of subs in enclosed cavities under my equipment cabinets. Here is a picture of one:
.

Here is a pic of the overall framing early on:


And here is a closeup:


A few comments:

- You don't mention if the bottom of your rack opening is directly on the floor (i.e. no framed in bottom) or not. If you are still in-process, then try to make it so if you plan to put a sub in there.

- Frame the enclosure as rigidly as possible... glue, screws, and thick plywood.

- Make sure you have a front firing and/or ported sub

- I lined the inside of my enclosure cavity with 1" Linacoustic

I'm very pleased with the results....

(You can slick on the links above for more pics...)

-Steve
scaesare is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-09-2007, 07:53 AM
Member
 
irishgond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
scaesare, can you please fix your links as I would like to see the pics.
irishgond is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-09-2007, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BartlettJ64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Spotsylvania, VA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is almost exactly like my setup scarscae! Even the dimensions look correct. I will plan on using that setup then. Can 1" Linacoustic normally be picked up locally? Thanks again for all the input, I will proceed with putting it underneath.
BartlettJ64 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-09-2007, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scaesare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishgond View Post

scaesare, can you please fix your links as I would like to see the pics.

Ths links work as long as you don't have a firewall blocking HTTP access to ports other than port 80.

-Steve
scaesare is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-09-2007, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scaesare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BartlettJ64 View Post

That is almost exactly like my setup scarscae! Even the dimensions look correct. I will plan on using that setup then. Can 1" Linacoustic normally be picked up locally? Thanks again for all the input, I will proceed with putting it underneath.

Cool!

I had the Linacoustic leftover from doing my internal room sound treatment, so if you are planning on doing any of that, then you can use the same stuff. If not, then it's a little on the expensive side ( I paid ~$120 for a 100' roll).

Also I didn't put any Linacoustic on the bottom of my cavity, as my subs sit directly on the floor carpet.

-Steve
scaesare is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off