Midnite's DIY Theater Journal. - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 180 Old 01-19-2010, 02:04 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: Got some work done on my dad's workshop, but no HT progress yet. We're about 5 sheets of GWB away from being done hanging then it is time for contractors. Hopefully in about a week or two we'll have a functional workshop and I can start working on the HT.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 180 Old 03-29-2010, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: I'm still working my way to the HT. Working on some other projects that got inserted at the front of my queue: namely a playground for the kids and my dad's workshop. That and boxes galore. Still haven't fully recovered from the move. I'd get through the work faster if they'd stop promoting me, I may just end up hiring a lot of this out. Anyway, stay tuned, the HT is still an active project.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #153 of 180 Old 03-30-2010, 05:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hang in there. I hear you.
dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #154 of 180 Old 04-15-2010, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, had my first meeting with the HVAC contractor and I think it went well. The guy seemed to be more knowledgeable than me, which is exactly what you want from a contractor. I now consider the project "officially underway". 5 years and I should be ready for paint!

The playground is mostly finished, and there's actually room in our garage for one car. I choose not to think about the bike, 2 baby strollers, and riding mower that are in the driveway.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #155 of 180 Old 08-20-2010, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I actually moved a box out of the theater last night!

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #156 of 180 Old 02-07-2011, 05:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And now, I've moved ALL the boxes out of the theater, swept it, moved in a couch, have money in an account, and have scheduled a HVAC consult...

Question - do I need deep wallboxes to accommodate the double-drywall? I went to put in my first wallbox and when I extended it out to make up for the thickness of the wallboard+osb, the nails for the wallboard were almost missing the studs.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #157 of 180 Old 02-08-2011, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 37
If you have the room for deep wallboxes, I'd do it "just because." it never hurts to have a little extra room in those boxes for wire-nuts etc should you need to modify your wiring later.

..dane

 
audiodane's Panasonic Plasma Black Level Reset Widget
Self-contained widget based on work of mironto and others
Help for those battling HDMI extension
audiodane is offline  
post #158 of 180 Old 02-08-2011, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I should just check my original post before asking questions. Man, it's been long enough to forget 50% of what I knew about my own project.

It looks like I was going to use Carlon adjustable zip boxes, but they don't seem to make a 4-gang adjustable box. Probably best since I already installed it. It's not a great fit, but hopefully it will do.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #159 of 180 Old 02-11-2011, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I got the first HVAC estimate. It ranged from $4580 to $7600. They suggested a 2 ton unit for single room (~400 sqft, 3 sides exterior brick, no windows, 10" wall, heavily insulated, 1 door). Why do I feel like they walked in my house and saw $$$?

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #160 of 180 Old 02-12-2011, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have updated the OP with current links to the room model as well as updated screenshots and an updated task list. The updated screenshots/model are:

Screenshots
Below are some screenshots taken from my Sketchup Model v. 2.1.0.






MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #161 of 180 Old 08-10-2012, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I just hung my first sheet of OSB. Yaaaay. That was a fun few years of waaaaaay too much time at work.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #162 of 180 Old 08-11-2012, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 3,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Well, I don't think anyone will accuse you of setting a blistering pace, but sometimes just getting started is the hardest part.

I lived in Huntsville for a while, well, Harvest actually, but that's close enough smile.gif It's a great area as long as you can avoid the tornados. I would have loved to stay there.

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!

The Plains Theater Has Begun
J_P_A is online now  
post #163 of 180 Old 08-11-2012, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 4/11/2011 tornado actually took out 1/2 of our subdivision. My house made it though, mostly unscathed. If I can just manage to do something every day in there, maybe I'll have a HT one day.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #164 of 180 Old 08-11-2012, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When installing the OSB, I see that a 1/8" gap is required, assuming for moisture/temperature flex of the material. I was planning to put this up the same way I have GWB in the past, using 1/2 of each stud to screw the edge of the panel on. However, is there really any value in this? A lot of the labor that goes into this seems to be cutting the OSB panels so that they exactly match up with the studs. After the OSB is up, GWB will go up and it will be offset, so seams will not be on seams (GWB panels will be offset 50%, so seams will be nowhere near each other. Given that, shouldn't it be fine to just let the OSB seams float off of a stud? Seems like it would cut out a good deal of labor.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #165 of 180 Old 08-12-2012, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 3,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 204
I've got a friend that still lives there, and he said it was a weird feeling driving around looking at empty concrete slabs, or homes reduced to rubble with the people that live there sitting in their front yard on lawn chairs because they just didn't know what else to do.

Anyway, I'm not sure I follow your question about the OSB. Are you asking if the edges of the OSB can be cantilevered off the studs? Also, I'm not sure if the 1/8" gap is necessary when using it in place of the first layer of drywall. like you, I assumed it was to allow for expansion and contraction, but it's a good thought. I wonder if butting the seams might cause problems with the walls "squeaking" during heavy bass? Hopefully someone can chime in with an answer.

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!

The Plains Theater Has Begun
J_P_A is online now  
post #166 of 180 Old 08-12-2012, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With regard to the OSB, normally I'd cut the OSB panel so that the end of the panel gets nailed to a stud. With GWB going over the OSB, I'm not sure this is needed. So the end of the OSB may line up with a stud, but it may not. It probably still is needed though, and in lieu of advice to the contrary, this is what I plan on doing.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #167 of 180 Old 08-12-2012, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I priced OSB and GWB panels today. 1/2" x 4' x 8' OSB is just under $10 / sheet and 5/8" x 4' x 8' is just under $8 / sheet. Are those good prices or should I keep shopping?

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #168 of 180 Old 08-12-2012, 08:41 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,503
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 532
On a two layer wall and ceiling you don't need to land all the edges. If you don't trust it, have fun cutting all the OSB. I would use 5/8 OSB not 1/2.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #169 of 180 Old 08-12-2012, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Houston
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 93
I had to use the handy dandy acronym finder http://www.acronymfinder.com/ to figure out what GWB was. After crossing these off the list...

-George Washington Bridge
-George Walker Bush
-Guys With Beards
-Ghetto White Boys

....I hit pay dirt with Gypsum Wall Board.
Spaceman is offline  
post #170 of 180 Old 08-12-2012, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 3,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaceman View Post

I had to use the handy dandy acronym finder http://www.acronymfinder.com/ to figure out what GWB was. After crossing these off the list...
-George Washington Bridge
-George Walker Bush
-Guys With Beards
-Ghetto White Boys
....I hit pay dirt with Gypsum Wall Board.

I did the same thing smile.gif

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!

The Plains Theater Has Begun
J_P_A is online now  
post #171 of 180 Old 08-13-2012, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

On a two layer wall and ceiling you don't need to land all the edges. If you don't trust it, have fun cutting all the OSB. I would use 5/8 OSB not 1/2.

Thanks, that's what I was thinking, but wanted some input from someone with real experience.

As for the acronym, you guys hit it. Sorry for the confusion.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #172 of 180 Old 08-18-2012, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is nearing time to wire up the Grafik Eye. I plan to use the following plan:



I've never done home electrical before, but am a cautious, relatively intelligent person with a 37 year track record of not being the path of least resistance. Lets hope this goes well.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #173 of 180 Old 08-19-2012, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Have you completed all the rough in for your GE yet? Biggest trick to grafik eye installation, in my eye, is the use of an adequately large backing box. You want to search out a masonry electrical box of suitable size for your dimmer. [IMG ALT=""]http://www.avsforum.com/content/type/61/id/55123/width/350/height/700[/IMG map out where each circuit is going to land on the dimmer and route romex and low voltage into your masonry box to match. It gets pretty snug with a six circuit GE, especially the neutrals.

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
post #174 of 180 Old 08-19-2012, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The basic room (bricks and sticks) were done by the general contractor that built the house. They ran 3 20A runs to the theater for "general use" and something special for the HVAC. I was going to allocate one of those 3 20A runs for lighting. As for rough-ins of electrical, this is pretty much the only thing to do. Everything else is either in the equipment closet, which is much further down in my to-do list, or in the columns/soffits. I wanted to minimize the number of holes in the soundproofing, so most all the electrical / lighting will be in soffits or columns built completely inside that shell (feeds into the soffit from the equipment closet then through soffit down columns).

I already have a mount box for the GE, was going to get a second for the junction box as suggested in the image in my last post. My GE is actually a 3104, not a 3106, so that should help.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #175 of 180 Old 08-19-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 3,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Just a gentle reminder, without pictures, it didn't happen biggrin.gif

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!

The Plains Theater Has Begun
J_P_A is online now  
post #176 of 180 Old 08-19-2012, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The link to my sketchup model had stopped working. It looks like Filedropper is a great name for more than one reason, after a while it looks like they drop the file on the floor and stop serving it. I re-uploaded it and they gave me the same link. This is on the original post near the top, but here it is again for convenience:

http://www.filedropper.com/htmodel210

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #177 of 180 Old 08-20-2012, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm giving another go at reversing my room setup before I get tooooo far into construction. I've never loved the setup I came up with. It sacrifices room on the sides of seating to provide a hallway. But there are always hard decisions to make, and there was a significant financial motivation to put the door where it is, which only affords a very limited space for a stage if it is by the door.

The current "official" version of my floorplan looks like this:



I reworked this a bit tonight and came up with the following:



To give some context, you can probably identify the equipment rack rather easily. Immediately to the left of that is the door to the room. Ignore the pink, I haven't completely re-worked the stage, that's due to be removed.

My primary concerns are this.

1: The light switch. Obviously this needs to be moved. My two best options are in the screen wall, which I don't like, or in the equipment rack. The wall that got framed in is pretty much nothing but studs between the door and the equipment rack, so mounting it there is not an option. I don't honestly like either of these options, but they are all I have come up with. The screen wall is planned to be a very light wall primarily made of studs and fabric. The rack will be sturdy, but not sure I want all that power running through the rack (the light switch is a graphic eye 3104).

2: Clearance for the speakers. In order to give a small amount of clearance between the stage and door, I was only able to give a 1-2" clearance between the speakers and the back wall / screen wall. How much pain will this cause me? I think I can wire it up, but not sure if there are really good reasons they would need more clearance. It is planned to be an acoustically transparent screen.

I like the stage less. I like the light switch less. I think I like the overall room a lot more though.

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #178 of 180 Old 08-23-2012, 03:24 PM
Member
 
JasonR27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The reworked layout seems to make a lot more sense to this novice. Assuming the front row is the priority, I'd rather walk in and out unimpeded when fewer than 4 people are using the room. This layout may also make placement of your left surround speaker a lot simpler. Or are they in the columns? In that case, you also have room to move those columns back a little to get a better placement for the rear row.

I'm a bit biased since I'm working with a similarly shaped space, though about half the size.
JasonR27 is offline  
post #179 of 180 Old 08-23-2012, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The speakers are in the columns. The columns store the speakers, electrical outlets, and low frequency sound dampening as needed. Thanks for weighing in Jason. I'm pretty much decided to go this route now. I designed the room about 3-5 years ago, it helps being older and wiser (putting the value of the room over individual "rules").

MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
post #180 of 180 Old 08-25-2012, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MidniteArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I reworked the stage a bit, moved the lighting controls, did final placement. The blue is the door to the room. I plan to do a 3.5" moulding around the door to match the rest of the house, but am open to ideas that will look good but reclaim this space. The speakers fit, but barely. Thoughts?


MidniteArrow
Software Developer, HT design enthusiast
Midnite's HT Design/Construction Thread
MidniteArrow is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off