Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Current status:

The theater is fully functional at this point. Still todo:

- bass trap over door
- columns
- wall panels

====================================================

All right, I've been lurking since January and absorbing ideas and inspiration. Now it's time to start my thread. I've been working on the room for 5 months now, so it'll take me a few posts to bring things up to date. I've been snapping pics the whole time.

I want to thank everyone with a 'my home theater build' thread (Sandman, Swithey, etc. More than I can remember or name). Watching you all try different ideas and make mistakes and fix them has made the whole thing a lot less intimidating.

My HT is a conversion of an existing 16x21' 10' ceiling media room put in by the previous owner. That has huge advantages in this case. While I really don't like what he ended up with, and the finish build quality was low everywhere an inspector or the homeowner wouldn't think to look, the structure was a great starting point. The room was built into attic space reserved for a 'future room'. The floor of this room rides on long 2x8's that are suspended about 4" above the 2x6 ceiling of the rooms below. The ceiling of the rooms below (master closet and laundry room) have the original blown in insulation, and the floor has R30 pink stuff between the joists. So the floor isolation is pretty good.

2+ sides of room (screen wall, right wall, and part of the left wall) face open attic that I have good access to. The back of the left wall is a double wall with a guest bathroom (2x4, 4" space, 2x4, both wall insulated now), and the back wall has 19" of space to the guest bedroom behind (both walls insulated). The right side has the roof leaning in from about the middle of the theater back, starting at about 5' and sloping up to the ceiling. The right rear has a wierd little alcove kicked out with a low ceiling as the roof slopes down.