Insteon Lights Controlled By Harmony 880 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 11-18-2007, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Digital Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last year when I selected Insteon dimmers from Smarthome, I was convinced that they would have an IR to Insteon converter available real soon so I could control my lights with my Harmony 880 remote. Well they still don't have one, so unless anyone knows of definitive plans for one soon, I suppose I'll go with my backup plan. The backup plan is to use an IR to X10 converter, and run my Switchlincs in X10 mode rather than Insteon mode.

Can anyone recommend an IR to X10 converter, or a better solution to this problem?

Thanks,
Guy
Digital Man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 11-18-2007, 09:48 AM
Member
 
AccessHA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motorcity
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have a media center or PC in your theater? If so, you could use a USB-UIRT.
AccessHA is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 11-18-2007, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm not at the point where I need to worry about intergrating Insteon with my remote. Assuming a native solution isn't available a year or so from now, I plan on going the PC route like AccessHA suggests. Sorry I can't be of much help on X-10 question.

Cathan is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 11-18-2007, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Digital Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccessHA View Post

Do you have a media center or PC in your theater? If so, you could use a USB-UIRT.

Nope, I don't have a media center pc. It's something I may add in a few years, but I would like a solution that doesn't require a pc.

I've done some more searching, and it looks like this might work:

http://www.smarthome.com/4040.html

Initially I just want something that will allow me to control my 3 lighting zones on Smartlincs individually. By that I mean if I could just dim one zone at a time that would be fine. Eventually I would like to set up lighting scenes, but that can come in the future.

Guy
Digital Man is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 11-18-2007, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
YW84U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Funny that this thread should come about when it did - I just ordered 3 swithclincs and a KPL for the HT last Thursday (20% off sale). I've waited for an IR/Intseon solution as well, but grew impatient - so I ordered the 4040 - IR X10 Command Console (IR543) to bridge the gap in the interim. I figured for $25 or so, it was an economical X10 way of achieving control with my 880 for the time being. I'm planning on using the KPL outside the HT to set up the various scenes for the dimmers, and control the KPL with the 880 via X10 to invoke the scenes I program manually.

I'll eventually migrate everything to to PC automation down the road. Haven't gotten a PLC or software yet - still in the research/homework stages on that part. I might opt to go Linux and use anything open-source that's available....(Bruce Winter's MisterHouse project over on Sourceforge looks interesting).

I think Bud (Chinadog), Swithey and ebr have deployed a similar setup in their builds as well. I was poking around the Harmony site last night, and can confirm that the 453 can be added as a device in your activities menu. I'll know more on Tuesday when the beloved FedEx man comes to pay me another visit
YW84U is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 11-18-2007, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
greg_mitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: IA
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Man View Post

Last year when I selected Insteon dimmers from Smarthome, I was convinced that they would have an IR to Insteon converter available real soon so I could control my lights with my Harmony 880 remote. Well they still don't have one, so unless anyone knows of definitive plans for one soon, I suppose I'll go with my backup plan. The backup plan is to use an IR to X10 converter, and run my Switchlincs in X10 mode rather than Insteon mode.

Can anyone recommend an IR to X10 converter, or a better solution to this problem?

Thanks,
Guy

I've got one for use with my MX850. I have played with a little. It is called the IR543 I believe. I am still contemplating have a separate remote for just the lights (Insteon's RF remote) and another remote for all of the A/V equipment (MX850).

Yes it is this device you were referring to before.
http://www.smarthome.com/4040.html
greg_mitch is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 11-19-2007, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andy238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, the IR543 will do what you want. I had one in my last media room and I'm planning on using it again with a PCS Scenemaster controller in my new HT. I use a Pronto remote and it works nicely with X10. If you can do macros with your 880 you can do a pseudo scene thing by just sequentially sending the X10 commands.

BTW, you can get the IR543 for quite a bit less on the big auction house. Just search all catagories for "IR543".
Andy238 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 11-19-2007, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scaesare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ditto on the waiting for a Smarthome IR solution. It's been a year of waiting for me.

At some point I may consider the PC route, but problem is the Media Center PC in my room is typically off for most other activities, and having to fire it off just to do lighting control has some drawbacks IMO.

-Steve
scaesare is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 12-02-2007, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by YW84U View Post

I think Bud (Chinadog), Swithey and ebr have deployed a similar setup in their builds as well.

Here's how I setup my X10 stuff with the 880. Hope it helps. I had a lot of questions when I was doing it, so I documented everything as best as I could.



Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 12-02-2007, 03:06 PM
Member
 
ginigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using a USB-UIRT and PowerHome for my setup, in my family room, not a true HT, but that's not important for this discussion. I've heard others had good success with the IR543, but I didn't want any X-10 signals on my powerlines.

Universal Devices is coming out with a new device which includes IR. I think it has "99" in the model name. I'll check the smarthome forum for a link.
http://www.techmall.com/topic.asp?TO...archTerms=99.9

There's nothing on the UDI web site yet, but they seem to be a good company with great support.
ginigma is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 12-03-2007, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems the SMST6 is discontinued. What replaced it? I need a on/off/dimmer switch that can be controlled via IR.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 12-03-2007, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradewinds View Post

Seems the SMST6 is discontinued. What replaced it? I need a on/off/dimmer switch that can be controlled via IR.

You can use an Insteon controller since they speak X10. I haven't tried it personally, but should work.

Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 12-03-2007, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks....I guess my requirements are a bit more simpler...i.e. I just need a switch I can point my remote to and it will turn the light on-off and also dim. I don't really need X-10. Is there such a switch available?

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 12-03-2007, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
chinadog is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 12-03-2007, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aham23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinadog View Post

Take a look at the Lutron Maestro.

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...f&ddkey=Search

Bud

this is what i was planning on doing in my HT. my thought is that i can just program my mx-900 to control the dimmer since it is IR. of course, i have been wrong before. later.
aham23 is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 12-03-2007, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinadog View Post

Take a look at the Lutron Maestro.

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...f&ddkey=Search

Bud

Perfect!

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 12-14-2007, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well, I got the Lutron Maestro and although it is exactly what I want, it produces a buzzing that will be a problem. Lutron sells a debuzzing thing that is $150 which is insane considering the Maestro only costs around $30.00.

What I read up it that this is known as filament buzzing. Does anyone know if there is a simpler cost effective way to reduce the buzzing.

(I'll post this in a new thread this is off topic)

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 12-14-2007, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes, exchange the bulbs for ones with a beefier filament.

Cathan is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 12-14-2007, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradewinds View Post

well, I got the Lutron Maestro and although it is exactly what I want, it produces a buzzing that will be a problem. Lutron sells a debuzzing thing that is $150 which is insane considering the Maestro only costs around $30.00.

What I read up it that this is known as filament buzzing. Does anyone know if there is a simpler cost effective way to reduce the buzzing.

(I'll post this in a new thread this is off topic)

Hmmm, never heard that before. Curious if Cathan's solution will work.

Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 12-14-2007, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
beefier filaments? any ones you recommend. I thought they all look the same to me, but I have not really looked at filaments, paid more attention to wattage and lately have changed out all to CFL, had to locate the box with the incandescents.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off