Samsung PN50B450 "legacy" 3DTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 07-08-2010, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brigand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung PN50B450 3d-ready plasma TV. I have a 3d emitter and glasses, which I have successfully used with games on my Xbox 360.

YES Network is broadcasting the Yankees/Mariners games this weekend in 3D on Verizon FiOS channel 575. I'd like to watch these in 3D. Unfortunately, I don't think it will work. In order to turn on the 3d effect on my Samsung, the resolution the TV receives must be either 1024x768 or 1360x768. I'm guessing my STB sends my TV a 1280x720 signal. If that's the case, 3d won't work. 3d works on my Xbox 360 because the Xbox allows me to output to my TV's native setting (1360x768).

- is there a way to force my STB to output 1024x768 or 1360x768, either by changing settings (can't seem to), or by somehow hacking it?

- is there any way to upgrade my Samsung so that it will turn on 3d when it receives 1280x720 (either by an update, or somehow hacking it)?

- can I buy any sort of converter that would force the proper resolution?

Thanks...
brigand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 07-08-2010, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
JamesN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by brigand View Post

I have a Samsung PN50B450 3d-ready plasma TV. I have a 3d emitter and glasses, which I have successfully used with games on my Xbox 360...

- is there a way to force my STB to output 1024x768 or 1360x768, either by changing settings (can't seem to), or by somehow hacking it? ...

None that I know of. And even if you could, no broadcast 3D will be in the checkerboard, line interleaved, or column interleaved format that your tv requires.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brigand View Post

- is there any way to upgrade my Samsung so that it will turn on 3d when it receives 1280x720 (either by an update, or somehow hacking it)?

No. 3D mode can only be enabled in the resolutions you noted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brigand View Post

- can I buy any sort of converter that would force the proper resolution?

Sorry, no. Your only possible solution would be if you could route your broadcast signal through a pc (via a tv tuner card), then through a software application like Stereoscopic Player (which could convert the output to checkerboard at your required resolution) and then out through your graphics card and into your plasma.

But more importantly, even if a simple solution did exist, your 3D experience would be sub-optimal. I have the same set (albeit the 42" model) and the 3D it produces is nowhere near the same league as the current generation of 3D tvs. The ghosting on the old school (2008-2009) Samsung 3D-"ready" plasmas is so excessive that 3D is nearly unwatchable.

Probably not the answers you were looking for.
JamesN is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 07-08-2010, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brigand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah, oh well. That's what I figured. I did not realize that even if I could get it to work, that the 3d on my set is inferior to 3d sets coming out now. So much for my TV being "3d ready." What a crock. I wish I hadn't spent $150 on the glasses and emitter.

Hopefully some good 3d games will come out for the 360 so that it's not a total loss. Avatar: the Game is meh. Invincible Tiger is bad (great idea, let's demonstrate 3d technology by making a 2D game!).

Thanks for the info. I wonder if this whole 3d TV thing will catch on...
brigand is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 07-13-2010, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 5,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I had the PN50A450, and I had the glasses and emitter, and when I was playing Avatar in 3D I thought it was "pretty" cool. Not the greatest by any stretch, but decent. There definitely was much more ghosting than I got with my Panasonic VT20 (that I no longer own). The Panasonic was just way better in every category. Still, if I didn't sell my 450, I would probably be looking into figuring out a PC based solution for 3D Blu Ray, and maybe somehow getting Direct TV to work in 3D as well, by running it thru a HDMI detective, and a Avertv Capture Card. Not sure if it would actually work, but I'd look into it more seriously.

Of course, this would only make sense if you already had a top of the line gaming PC, and it was only a matter of adding a couple of components to your PC. If you have to build a PC from scratch to make it all work, then you'd just be better off selling your B450 on Craigslist, and buying a PN50C7000 when it's on sale.

Another thing you might want to consider is some higher-end shutterglasses if you're using the ones that come with the Samsung SSG1000 kit. I was reading on another forum about a guy who go the SSG1000 glasses, and then later he ended up getting some higher-end glasses, and he said the ghosting was quite a bit less with the better glasses.
Anthony1 is online now  
post #5 of 21 Old 08-13-2010, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i just invested in a 6 glasses kit with a midrange emitter for the PN50A450 from, 3DTVcorp.

im a HTPC only user(Sat/BD etc) so ill chime back in when i get it all set up with some tests.
shayking is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 08-13-2010, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ive noticed (never seen it in 2 years) , while in 3D mode,
an extra Menu option shows up in the TV's Picture Options

3D Mode:
Format : = Checkerboard , Horizontal or Vertical

What is the Horizontal or Vertical formats?
all ive read online, is they are all old techniques

when set to Horizontal or Vertical, it looks exactly like a 1080i/interlaced scan res...
shayking is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 08-13-2010, 10:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
peter0328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shayking View Post

Ive noticed (never seen it in 2 years) , while in 3D mode,
an extra Menu option shows up in the TV's Picture Options

3D Mode:
Format : = Checkerboard , Horizontal or Vertical

What is the Horizontal or Vertical formats?
all ive read online, is they are all old techniques

when set to Horizontal or Vertical, it looks exactly like a 1080i/interlaced scan res...

Horizontal and Vertical are for 3D formats that alternate the left and right views for every row or column.
peter0328 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 08-13-2010, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
side by side
top bottom
?

i use a pc only so ckeckerboard is all i need but im just curious./ for others.
shayking is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 08-13-2010, 10:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
peter0328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shayking View Post

side by side
top bottom
?

i use a pc only so ckeckerboard is all i need but im just curious./ for others.

Side by Side is when the left and right views are horizontally squashed by 50% and fit into a single frame.

Top/Bottom is the same just on the top and bottom of the frame and squashed vertically.
peter0328 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 08-17-2010, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
very quick - no time for chatting
So im using: 3DTVcorp - Model X glasses & Midrange emitter & Samsung PN50A450 Plasma to our HTPC/PDVD/Stereoscopic player with Checkerboard.

and it all works PERFECT!!! 3D Bluray and Live 3D braodcasting.
Zero Ghosting, 2'-3' of Depth "into" my TV/ objects stick out about 3"-6".(feels/looks like)

I will be upgradeing/trade in the Model X for the Model E glasses when they arrive in the Fall. "Only for style, not for function" - they are the same (and most other expensive shutters).

If you have a Legacy Samsung "3D ready TV" Plasma/DLP get the 3DTVcorp kit , they are the least expensive and work the same 100% . (compared to/personaly tested , Nivida 3DV and Sony glasses/TV)

edit: @ peter0328, thanks for the explanations
shayking is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 08-17-2010, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 5,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by shayking View Post

very quick - no time for chatting
So im using: 3DTVcorp - Model X glasses & Midrange emitter & Samsung PN50A450 Plasma to our HTPC/PDVD/Stereoscopic player with Checkerboard.

and it all works PERFECT!!! 3D Bluray and Live 3D braodcasting.
Zero Ghosting, 2'-3' of Depth "into" my TV/ objects stick out about 3"-6".(feels/looks like)

I will be upgradeing/trade in the Model X for the Model E glasses when they arrive in the Fall. "Only for style, not for function" - they are the same (and most other expensive shutters).

If you have a Legacy Samsung "3D ready TV" Plasma/DLP get the 3DTVcorp kit , they are the least expensive and work the same 100% . (compared to/personaly tested , Nivida 3DV and Sony glasses/TV)


edit: @ peter0328, thanks for the explanations


What? You're able to get Direct TV 3D broadcasting on it? How? Can you use it with the Playstation 3 to play 3D games on it? I know that you can use a Blu Ray drive off a PC to watch Blu Ray's on the PN50A450, and I know you can play PC games in 3D, but I didn't think it was possible to watch ESPN 3D on it, or to be able to play PS3 games in 3D on it.

Can you please elaborate more on this ?
Anthony1 is online now  
post #12 of 21 Old 08-18-2010, 08:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Shayking is apparenthly receiving ESPN-3D from a cable company and not from D*.
And is then using stereoscopic player to output it and/or PS3 game content in 1080p checkerboard format to his A450 plasma TV which is downscaling it to it's 1366x768 natvie resolution.
walford is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 08-18-2010, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 5,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Shayking is apparenthly receiving ESPN-3D from a cable company and not from D*.
And is then using stereoscopic player to output it and/or PS3 game content in 1080p checkerboard format to his A450 plasma TV which is downscaling it to it's 1366x768 natvie resolution.


So, he's using the live video feed option of stereoscopic player, and then setting stereoscopic player to checkerboard, and he has his PC outputting a 1360 x 768 resolution. I get all of that. But, what capture card is he using? Is he using a Geffen HDMI detective somewhere in the mix? How is he getting the PS3 to output a 3D signal? How is he capturing the 3D signal?

I've heard about people experimenting with avermedia capture cards and hdmi detectives, etc, etc, but I've never heard of anybody getting it to work with a PS3.
Anthony1 is online now  
post #14 of 21 Old 08-19-2010, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
no ps3...HTPC only.
Im using a "genpix skywalker" satellite tuner in canada, and my TV subscription is Bell ExpressVu. directly through the Coax PC bus.
shayking is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 09:07 AM
Member
 
cdowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I use PowerDVD 10 with my HTPC to watch 3D blu-ray on this tv? If so, would any other software be necessary to force the output to checkerboard format for it?
cdowdy is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes.
no other software is nessesary.
PowerDVD 10's checkerboard mode is "3D Ready HDTV"
shayking is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 10-04-2010, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
blazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shayking View Post

yes.
no other software is nessesary.
PowerDVD 10's checkerboard mode is "3D Ready HDTV"

what else will i need? glasses right? which glasses are known to work good with this model?

so with this tv, powerdvd or a bluray player with checkerboard format will work? ps3 will NOT have checkerboard, right?

also i bought this tv awhile back, so im not expecting it to be the best with 3d, but how does it compare with the newer 3dtvs?
blazed is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 10-08-2010, 12:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
blazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
bump for info.
blazed is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 09-16-2011, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
3Dtvguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think all a Samsung plasma "3D Ready" owner would need apart from the Mitsubishi 3DC-100S is a suitable 1080 60hz to XGA converter (which is what PN42B450 (USA) and PS42B451 (UK) models need in order for the 3D option in the TV's menu to become available.

I'm looking for just such a converter right now...

Side by Side to Checkerboard conversion has been taken care of by the Mitsu kit... all thats needed is a way to change the adapters' output to 1024x786 and then the TV would enable 3D...
3Dtvguy is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 09-17-2011, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll soon be in this situation, kinda...
with needing 2 HDMI inputs (switcher) to 1 output that doesn't touch the 1360x768 signal (for the xbox360 and HTPC). which is the latest top receivers/Pre with true HDMI passthrough, or a good switcher. Most i found only supports standard HDTV res's.

search " Matrix Switcher's "

3DTvguy : to be more precise on your example, you would need a " Video Signal Processor " that supports HDMI and scales to 1024x768 output..
shayking is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 01-16-2012, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brigand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any updates? I'd love to hear if anyone was able to get 3d on this thing. Anyone try the XGA converter?
brigand is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off