The "Official" Optoma 3DXL Owner's thread - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrickMcKaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchacovered View Post
Thanks, guys.
...

SOOOOOOOOOO, I'm guessing at this point that if I don't have the f/w update on my HD66, I won't be able to use any IR-Link glasses (not just 3D Vision), because the default "3D' setting only contemplates DLP Link. Is that correct?
Actually, I used the spoof inf with my HD66 and I do use the NVidia glasses together with the DLP Link glasses. I don't notice much difference at all between them, although all kinds of people say the dLP Link flash washes out the picture when you use the NVidia glasses. I see maybe just a little less contrast with the NVidia glasses, but not bad at all. So, I'd say don't worry too much about using the NVidia glasses together with the DLP Link ones.

But if you go with all NVidia glasses, for sure get the firmware update for the HD66.
TrickMcKaha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
before everyone floods jr with calls, they said it could be 2 days to a couple weeks before they get them in, but they are coming.
stuart628 is offline  
post #303 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Here is my movie watching process with DLP Link glasses.
1) Go upstairs to theater room.
2) Pick out a movie: Look at the bookcases, look at the pile on the stereo rack, look at the pile on the floor.
3) Sit down where the remotes are.
4) Grab the stereo remote and turn on the Stereo.
5) Grab the projector remote and turn it on.
6) Get up, go over to HTPC and push the button.
7) 5 minutes later when the pc finally gets running pop in the disc.
8) Go to the back of the room and shut off the lights.
9) Fire up stupid PowerDVD.
10) probably restart PowerDVD when it crashes.
11) Start the movie.
12) Get 3D glasses out of the bag.
13) Hit nVidia hotkey to turn 3D on. Ctrl-Alt-T for me.
14) Check eyes. I close one eye then the other and make sure I can see more background behind the left side of foreground objects with my left eye.
15) If wrong hit the nVidia hotkey till it is right, or you could use the menu, but the keyboard is already in my lap.
16) Hit pause on the movie.
17) Put the keyboard away.
18) Go downstairs.
19) Get butter out of the fridge, get bowl from cupboard and nuke butter.
20) Get popcorn out of the pantry and throw in the microwave.
21) Fill water glass and bring upstairs.
22) Come back down, wait for popcorn to finish.
23) Put butter on popcorn.
24) Grab a beer from the fridge, go back upstairs.
25) Hit play.
26) If the stupid popup menu doesn't go away restart PowerDVD.
27) Watch movie.

Only 50% of the time I need to do step 15. If that sounds horrible just spend 119 bucks more for IR.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #304 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickMcKaha View Post
I do use the NVidia glasses together with the DLP Link glasses. I don't notice much difference at all between them
Maybe it is the Acer then, but it is a huge difference to me. Not a problem on bright scenes, but like the beginning of How to Train Your Dragon, where it is dark, it is a giant difference and very irratating. Considering DLP Link glasses are only 60 bucks I can't see putting up with it.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #305 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 01:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628
before everyone floods jr with calls, they said it could be 2 days to a couple weeks before they get them in, but they are coming.
Yeah. I placed my order before posting the link here. For some reason I don't trust B&H.

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #306 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount

Yeah. I placed my order before posting the link here. For some reason I don't trust B&H.
So that is half their order gone then as I ordered one as well
stuart628 is offline  
post #307 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
HTFAN007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post
before everyone floods jr with calls, they said it could be 2 days to a couple weeks before they get them in, but they are coming.
It seems that these pre-orders do not include glasses. Only says "3dxl engine".
Does anyone have an explanation on this?
HTFAN007 is offline  
post #308 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTFAN007 View Post
It seems that these pre-orders do not include glasses. Only says "3dxl engine".
Does anyone have an explanation on this?
I see that now, I forget where but their was a official statement from optoma saying they were going to have glasses correct?
stuart628 is offline  
post #309 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
HTFAN007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post
I see that now, I forget where but their was a official statement from optoma saying they were going to have glasses correct?
Well I don't know how 'official' that statement was but it indicated that the 3DXL would include glasses.

Do you think that the first wave of shipments will not include them but they will be in later shipments?
HTFAN007 is offline  
post #310 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
BishopLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florin, Ca
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTFAN007 View Post

Do you think that the first wave of shipments will not include them but they will be in later shipments?

I don't mean this as a jab, but does it really matter? Most people that are buying this device already have 3D glasses or are buying the cheaper "ultra clear" glasses, so if and when Optoma supplies the glasses, they'll most likely tack on an additional $100 to the $399 price (which people have already complained about) and you'll still be stuck with 1 pair of Optoma glasses. I mean, ok... so say if they did supply the 1 pair and it's still $399, are you going to spend another $100 for a matching set? Or pay $60 for the Ultra Clears? Again, I'm not trying to be sarcastic I'm curious to know why people want the glasses [now] as it's a damned if they do, damned if they don't situation. Damned if they included them [the price was too high], damned if they don't [it doesn't included 3D glasses]. It's quite funny following this 3D-XL story.
BishopLord is offline  
post #311 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
HTFAN007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
May be a marketing ploy to get early buyers to just take the box without glasses at the $399 price.

I've already got my Ultra-Clears so it doesn't particularly matter to me.
HTFAN007 is offline  
post #312 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wilson-Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NC
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount View Post

Yeah. I placed my order before posting the link here. For some reason I don't trust B&H.

Not sure where you got your information. Maybe you had a bad experience but most agree that there is not a more reputable online photo/video dealer that B&H. I have never had anything but good experiences with them and have never even read a bad report on them.

HDTV in my home since 1999.
Wilson-Flyer is offline  
post #313 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:25 PM
Member
 
jadeezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered my screen from them. Only took 3 days to get here and everything was great.
jadeezra is offline  
post #314 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:27 PM
Member
 
jadeezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would guess they include glasses.
jadeezra is offline  
post #315 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
HTFAN007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson-Flyer View Post

Not sure where you got your information. Maybe you had a bad experience but most agree that there is not a more reputable online photo/video dealer that B&H. I have never had anything but good experiences with them and have never even read a bad report on them.

I noticed that B&H specified that the pre-order was Non-Refundable, and could not be canceled. Also, they indicated that your credit card would be charged with the pre-order entry and Not at shipment. This sounds like a company that is not necessarily looking out for their customers.
HTFAN007 is offline  
post #316 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have bought from them before without problem. Being an Amazon Prime member I would prefer to buy from Amazon. Whoever came up with that deserves a marketing genius of the decade award.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #317 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTFAN007 View Post

It seems that these pre-orders do not include glasses. Only says "3dxl engine".
Does anyone have an explanation on this?

As I understand it from Optoma, the 3DXL will include a pair of glasses, which will ship in a separate box. Down the road, the glasses will be included in the same box.
rdjam is offline  
post #318 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 03:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTFAN007 View Post

I noticed that B&H specified that the pre-order was Non-Refundable, and could not be canceled. Also, they indicated that your credit card would be charged with the pre-order entry and Not at shipment. This sounds like a company that is not necessarily looking out for their customers.

This is what threw up flags for me.

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #319 of 1727 Old 02-11-2011, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
At least they tell you. Still isn't right, but others do it without telling you.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #320 of 1727 Old 02-12-2011, 03:55 AM
Newbie
 
Magren07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if it's possible to watch 3D using Optoma HD65 projector (not 3D ready but should be possibel to uppgrade according to Optoma) without uppgrading, if used together with 3d-XL, 3D glasses and IR-emitter connected to 3D-XL?
Magren07 is offline  
post #321 of 1727 Old 02-12-2011, 06:29 AM
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magren07 View Post

Does anybody know if it's possible to watch 3D using Optoma HD65 projector (not 3D ready but should be possibel to uppgrade according to Optoma) without uppgrading, if used together with 3d-XL, 3D glasses and IR-emitter connected to 3D-XL?

Sorry,
you need to enable 120Hz mode and without the upgrade
the HD65 will not function at 120Hz.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #322 of 1727 Old 02-12-2011, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrickMcKaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnielsenbb View Post

Maybe it is the Acer then, but it is a huge difference to me. Not a problem on bright scenes, but like the beginning of How to Train Your Dragon, where it is dark, it is a giant difference and very irratating. Considering DLP Link glasses are only 60 bucks I can't see putting up with it.

Yes, I have suspected that the DLP Link flash intrudes into NVidia glasses more with some projectors than others. If we wanted to get scientific, we could run tests using the same test patterns rdjam uses to measure crosstalk in this thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1280393

But I'm with you, why not just standardize on DLP Link glasses, especially when they are so much less expensive. I use the NVidia ones last, when I have 4 people watching together.

(I use the NVidia glasses last because the emitter placement in my room does not cover all my seating positions - you have to sit in a certain seat for them to stay synced. I could maybe use a usb extender to move the emitter and enjoy the advantage of NVidia sync, but I don't find any need.)
TrickMcKaha is offline  
post #323 of 1727 Old 02-12-2011, 08:41 AM
Newbie
 
Magren07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, thanks for the quick reply Mathew.

Mats Ågren
Magren07 is offline  
post #324 of 1727 Old 02-13-2011, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magren07 View Post

Does anybody know if it's possible to watch 3D using Optoma HD65 projector (not 3D ready but should be possibel to uppgrade according to Optoma) without uppgrading, if used together with 3d-XL, 3D glasses and IR-emitter connected to 3D-XL?

I specifically asked Optoma about non-3d ready projectors (I have an hd70), and they said they would not work. They are only guaranteeing those on their posted compatibility list.

3d-vip is claiming compatibility on their upcoming devices, however (www.3d-vip.com). According to them:

- The devices are dlp-link, and will work with 120/60hz dlp displays.
- 3d mode is automated based on the information received from the source device. In addition, they will offer a SBS force-setting.
- Left-right output for dual-projector setup is still open, and may involve a future firmware upgrade.
- There is no allowance for syncing L-R dlp output on the device; this must be done on the display.
thebard is offline  
post #325 of 1727 Old 02-13-2011, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
Devit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UK retail version will include the glasses and they will be ZD201, have had this confirmed by ProjectorPlanet and Optoma UK. I pre-ordered on 24/12/10 at £249. Although Optoma still couldn't confirm release date!!
Devit is offline  
post #326 of 1727 Old 02-14-2011, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
hollywooda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I wonder if someone could please help me out?.

I got my 3D-XL this morning & I've got it connected to my PS3, when I press the SBS button, the image on the screen shows the left hand side of the image in the middle?? & the screen wrapped around & cut in half?.
I'm trying to watch a 3D bluray but when I press play film in 3D, the menu says that it requires a 3D display? & wont play?. But the picture is just a mess?.

Ive called Optoma & they are supposed to be getting back to me, can anyone please shed some light on this for me?.

Cheers,
Scott.
hollywooda is offline  
post #327 of 1727 Old 02-14-2011, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
HTFAN007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you tell us what is the level of the firmware on your box? I am not sure how to display the level because I am waiting on my 3dxl. I think the latest level was CO3 but that was last week.
HTFAN007 is offline  
post #328 of 1727 Old 02-14-2011, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Don't push the SBS button I would say. What is your display device? I assume SBS means side by side, which I know of no display devices that support that. I imagine getting a double wide image would make it wrap around.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #329 of 1727 Old 02-14-2011, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollywooda View Post

Hi I wonder if someone could please help me out?.

I got my 3D-XL this morning & I've got it connected to my PS3, when I press the SBS button, the image on the screen shows the left hand side of the image in the middle?? & the screen wrapped around & cut in half?.
I'm trying to watch a 3D bluray but when I press play film in 3D, the menu says that it requires a 3D display? & wont play?. But the picture is just a mess?.

Ive called Optoma & they are supposed to be getting back to me, can anyone please shed some light on this for me?.

Cheers,
Scott.

What display? Sounds like the display itself is not liking the input at all.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #330 of 1727 Old 02-14-2011, 09:25 AM
Member
 
dserensits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollywooda View Post

Hi I wonder if someone could please help me out?.

I got my 3D-XL this morning & I've got it connected to my PS3, when I press the SBS button, the image on the screen shows the left hand side of the image in the middle?? & the screen wrapped around & cut in half?.
I'm trying to watch a 3D bluray but when I press play film in 3D, the menu says that it requires a 3D display? & wont play?. But the picture is just a mess?.

Ive called Optoma & they are supposed to be getting back to me, can anyone please shed some light on this for me?.

Cheers,
Scott.

Where did you order yours from?
dserensits is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
Optoma , Optoma 3d Xl Converter Box For 3d Video And Gaming , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off