The "Official" Optoma 3DXL Owner's thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1729 Old 03-05-2011, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
no what they are saying there is with old firmware the hd66 auto turns on dlp link when fed with a 120hz signal...so if you are using ir glasses, there is still dlp link being sent out...with the new firmware you have 3 options (off, dlp link, invidia) you are good to go with the 3dxl and the hd66..no problems there.
stuart628 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 02:45 AM
Member
 
hotandserious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadeezra View Post

This would be great news can anybody confirm? I was really down in the dumps all day with this. I just was about to give up on my hd66 and trust me I absolutely love IT!!! Incredible picture and everybody I have over loves it. I've actually had one person come over and order my exact set up the next day.

You are 100% okay. I purchased my HD66 prior to the firmware update release and never sent it in to Optoma for the update. The 3DXL works just fine.

Also - I want to reiterate what HTFAN007 suggested about connecting your projector to the 3dXL to the source directly FIRST - before sticking other components in the mix. Last night I played around with the settings - and with my HDMI 2x2 splitter in the mix, the playstation 3 did not recognize the 3DXL/HD66 as "3D" during the PS3's video display set up. SO - I hooked them all up directly, got the PS3 to recognize the HD66/3DXL as a 3DTV and then turned everything off, put the splitter back in the mix and now it gives me no problems.
hotandserious is offline  
post #723 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 11:50 AM
Member
 
DougES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what kind of glasses will be best with these 3dxl units? Will my Nvidea glasses that came with the emitter work?? Got to get ready as I am told again and again and again they will be showing up any day
DougES is offline  
post #724 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 12:01 PM
Member
 
rmcferon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougES View Post

Will my Nvidea glasses that came with the emitter work??

Yes, the 3D XL has a VESA port to plug in an IR emitter. You need a way to disable DLP Link in your projector so that you don't get the DLP Link sync flashes.
rmcferon is offline  
post #725 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 12:16 PM
Member
 
DougES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmcferon View Post

Yes, the 3D XL has a VESA port to plug in an IR emitter. You need a way to disable DLP Link in your projector so that you don't get the DLP Link sync flashes.

Kool..................A way to disable dlp link in projector...........hummm?? I have the Acer 5360???Suggestions??
DougES is offline  
post #726 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 01:01 PM
Member
 
gotchacovered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotandserious View Post

Hi gotchacovered -

For the time being I'm projecting directly on a white wall and the diagonal image dimension just a tad over 125 inches.

The HD66 is an awfully bright projector - I upped the brightness a bit and watched Despicable Me last night (good movie!) - even looking w/ a very critical eye - I was grinning from ear to ear the entire time and have no complaints. Whites were not blindingly white - but white. Color was excellent. The image quality bettered every passive experience I've had in theaters. Also - a benefit that people don't focus on much when discussing the drop in brightness - is that the blacks (which are projecting as a very dark grey) become much more deep and inky.

After the film, we played Motorstorm 3D Rift and some of the races (ones that take place at dusk or through caves, etc) - do seem a bit dark - but I tried it out this morning in 2d on the regular HDTV and it's pretty darn dark there too...

I'd suggest you try it out on the 1.1 gain screen w/ the image as big as you can get it before making another screen purchase. You may be pleased w/ the results.

Thanks for the reply.

I know the projector is bright in 2D, as I watch moves in 2D all the time, but I'm asking about 3D. I read that it drops lumens to 670 in 3D (BEFORE the glasses cut the light themselves), and that DLP-Link may be part of that problem.

So, I know you probably made this clear enough for the average cow, but I want to be double sure. You mentioned that you "upped the brightness a bit". According to a review I read, you can't up the brightness when 3D mode is on, so that makes me think that you were not in 3D mode (i.e., either watching 2D or watching 3D woith IR glasses instead of DLP-Link). So, are you saying that you're getting a nice, bright picture with 3D Blu-rays with DLP-Link on and using DLP-Link glasses? That's a very important detail, because if you're using IR glasses with an emitter, that might make a big difference for me.

Thanks.
gotchacovered is offline  
post #727 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 01:25 PM
Member
 
jadeezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anybody desperate and wanting to pay 499.99 amazon is currently listing 1 available from beach camera.
jadeezra is offline  
post #728 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Holmquist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the Epson 8350 and the 3d-xl work together using IR glasses? If not why?Thanks

Austin
Holmquist is offline  
post #729 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 02:15 PM
Member
 
rastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchacovered View Post

Thanks for the reply.

I know the projector is bright in 2D, as I watch moves in 2D all the time, but I'm asking about 3D. I read that it drops lumens to 670 in 3D (BEFORE the glasses cut the light themselves), and that DLP-Link may be part of that problem.

So, I know you probably made this clear enough for the average cow, but I want to be double sure. You mentioned that you "upped the brightness a bit". According to a review I read, you can't up the brightness when 3D mode is on, so that makes me think that you were not in 3D mode (i.e., either watching 2D or watching 3D woith IR glasses instead of DLP-Link). So, are you saying that you're getting a nice, bright picture with 3D Blu-rays with DLP-Link on and using DLP-Link glasses? That's a very important detail, because if you're using IR glasses with an emitter, that might make a big difference for me.

Thanks.

I can up the brightness in 3d mode with my hd66. You must be on the older firmware.
rastie is offline  
post #730 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTFAN007 View Post


RDJAM - Do you know how to display the firmware level for the 3DXL? Is it obvious or is there a trick to it? What level has the 1080p 24 mods (or current level)?

Yes - while it is on and running, you simply hold the power button down for about 10 seconds. It will pop up a message at top center of screen.

The current version, with 1080p24 is CO4, dated Feb 14 2011.
rdjam is offline  
post #731 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 07:44 PM
Member
 
gotchacovered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rastie View Post

I can up the brightness in 3d mode with my hd66. You must be on the older firmware.

Thanks for posting that. I'm getting my info from a review. He must have been on older fw.
gotchacovered is offline  
post #732 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 08:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do we still need to send the projector to Optoma to have the firmware upgraded? How much does that cost?

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #733 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 08:35 PM
Newbie
 
Devit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

Yes - while it is on and running, you simply hold the power button down for about 10 seconds. It will pop up a message at top center of screen.

The current version, with 1080p24 is CO4, dated Feb 14 2011.

This doesn't work on my 3D-XL, was just curious of what date firmware mine has being it was delivered on the 16/02/2011. Awesome bit of kit my only gripe is the lack of a remote.

Has left friends with very expensive 3DTVs very green eyed!
Devit is offline  
post #734 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
HTFAN007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount View Post

Do we still need to send the projector to Optoma to have the firmware upgraded? How much does that cost?


Yes. If the HD66 is within the warranty period Optoma will upgrade for no extra charge. You will have to pay to ship it to Optoma but they will pay the return charges. If it is out of warranty get the charges quoted from Optoma support.

It is my understanding that they replace one of the circuit boards so it is not just a firmware flash alone.
HTFAN007 is offline  
post #735 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
HTFAN007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

Yes - while it is on and running, you simply hold the power button down for about 10 seconds. It will pop up a message at top center of screen.

The current version, with 1080p24 is CO4, dated Feb 14 2011.

Thanks rdjam. Well, I will give it a try on mine Tuesday if UPS is on schedule.
HTFAN007 is offline  
post #736 of 1729 Old 03-06-2011, 10:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devit View Post


This doesn't work on my 3D-XL, was just curious of what date firmware mine has being it was delivered on the 16/02/2011. Awesome bit of kit my only gripe is the lack of a remote.

Has left friends with very expensive 3DTVs very green eyed!

Hmmm... I would try it again. Sometimes the button may not press when you think it did.

All the firmware versions I've used have all behaved the same in this regard.
rdjam is offline  
post #737 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 12:02 AM
Newbie
 
sharkypuffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombiehunter47 View Post

Has tru3d got these in stock yet? I pre-ordered yesterday for $319.99 and now I see its $399.99. Did something change? I'd prefer to order one from them that had glasses if i can.

I wanted to pre-order from them, but not so sure now after the price jump. From the pic on the site, it still looks like it doesn't include any glasses, which with the new price, doesn't seem fair. At $399.00 it now matches the price J &R and B & H Photo are asking, but at least they offer the Optoma glasses (at least I believe they are). Does anyone know why it jumped in price all of a sudden?
sharkypuffs is offline  
post #738 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 12:19 AM
Member
 
jadeezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somebody bought the one for 499.99 off amazon. Now ones showing up for 399.99 in stock.
jadeezra is offline  
post #739 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 03:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chezbrgr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nexstar Hell, PA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holmquist View Post

Will the Epson 8350 and the 3d-xl work together using IR glasses? If not why?Thanks

Austin

Nope wont work, the epson is LCD, and the optoma has a specific list of what it will play nice with, sorry you need to find a different product for that projector.

Wake me when HD gets Here!
Chezbrgr2 is offline  
post #740 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 04:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
out for delivery
stuart628 is offline  
post #741 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 05:15 AM
Member
 
mtjt3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post

out for delivery

Congrats! Who did you order from?
mtjt3 is offline  
post #742 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holmquist View Post

Will the Epson 8350 and the 3d-xl work together using IR glasses? If not why?Thanks

Austin

For "single projector" configurations, the 3DXL is designed to work only with "DLP-Link" projectors.

However, if you go dual projector, you can use any projector that has suitable polarization. But you would then require two projectors and two 3DXL units.

You can see the "Ultimate 3D" projection thread for more details.
rdjam is offline  
post #743 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 06:00 AM
Newbie
 
Robertlajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkypuffs View Post

I wanted to pre-order from them, but not so sure now after the price jump. From the pic on the site, it still looks like it doesn't include any glasses, which with the new price, doesn't seem fair. At $399.00 it now matches the price J &R and B & H Photo are asking, but at least they offer the Optoma glasses (at least I believe they are). Does anyone know why it jumped in price all of a sudden?

Hey, I pre-ordered from Tru3D and the price has changed because Optoma is including one pair of glasses with all 3DXLs. At this time the website doesn't reflect this, however after speaking with a rep about my order, they have confirmed that their shipment of 3DXLs will have at least one pair. For anyone who pre-ordered when the price was $319.00 will be notified via a call or e-mail to negotiate a price before they are charged due to error on their part.

From what I was told there shipment is to arrive sometime this week.

Practice doesnÂt make perfect, it makes permanent.
Robertlajr is offline  
post #744 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 06:36 AM
Member
 
jchilty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received my 3D-XL on Friday and set it up with my HD66 which is ceiling mounted. I used a 25' HDMI cable directly from the 3D-XL to the projector and used an optical cable from the Sony 470 3D blu-ray to my receiver for sound. I used a short 1.4 HDMI cable from the 3D blu-ray to the 3D-XL. I have an Epson 6100 ceiling mounted for 2D movies.

First impressions-This was definitely worth the wait. Under The Sea 3D blu-ray looks amazing. There is no noticable ghosting or flicker using either the Optoma or Xpand 102 glasses. The resolution looks excellent as I see no difference in resolution from 2d to 3d. The picture is sharp. Frankly, this is better than anything I have seen at my local theater's 3D presentations. I have shown this to several friends and relatives and they were amazed.

I am using a 100" screen with a seating distance of about 12'. Personally, I would not go any larger than 100" as there is a drop off in lumens due to the glasses. Of course this is also true in commercial theaters using passive systems. I have the current firmware in the HD66 and you can make adjustments after selecting viewing mode. I am using bright mode.

Bottom line- This is better than I had expected. It is better than the 3D in commercial theaters (at least in my area). I look forward to other members setting up their 3d-XLs and getting feedback on optimal viewing settings, etc.
Have fun!
jchilty is offline  
post #745 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 06:58 AM
Member
 
gotchacovered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CAVEAT EMPTOR!

Amazon is reporting the 3D-XL as IN STOCK at 2 retailers, but I called one of the retailers, and I was told that they are NOT in stock and aren't expected for TWO WEEKS.

If you have pending pre-orders with venders, my advice is to STAY PUT. I'm just a regulare dude in the same boat as you, so take that for what it's worth.
gotchacovered is offline  
post #746 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 07:05 AM
Member
 
SillieBazzillie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question, will the 3DXL work with my "regular" white pull down screen I've had forever?
SillieBazzillie is offline  
post #747 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikemav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Leesburg, VA ,USA
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchacovered View Post

CAVEAT EMPTOR!

Amazon is reporting the 3D-XL as IN STOCK at 2 retailers, but I called one of the retailers, and I was told that they are NOT in stock and aren't expected for TWO WEEKS.

If you have pending pre-orders with venders, my advice is to STAY PUT. I'm just a regulare dude in the same boat as you, so take that for what it's worth.

Is that Adorama? I ordered from them via Amazon this morning when I saw the in-stock. Now it says due to ship March 10th-11th. I hope that's true and it's not 2-weeks like you heard...
mikemav is offline  
post #748 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 07:24 AM
Member
 
gotchacovered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post

Is that Adorama? I ordered from them via Amazon this morning when I saw the in-stock. Now it says due to ship March 10th-11th. I hope that's true and it's not 2-weeks like you heard...

I hate to tell you this, but yes, it was Adorama. I called them right after they opened this morning, after seeing the Amazon "in-stock" claim, and Adorama told me they have none and expect none until the 24th.
gotchacovered is offline  
post #749 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 07:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post

out for delivery

Oooo, I am gettign excited.. I was told I was in their 1st pre-order batch.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #750 of 1729 Old 03-07-2011, 07:27 AM
Member
 
gotchacovered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post

out for delivery

I thought you ordered from Tru3D. I just talked to them, and they told me they haven't gotten any yet and expect their first shipment to arrive on the 11th (if Optoma isn't just blowing smoke again).

Did you change your order to somewhere else upon picking up on a sly tip?

Seriously, give up the goods, man! Where'd you score one?
gotchacovered is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
Optoma , Optoma 3d Xl Converter Box For 3d Video And Gaming , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off