The "Official" Optoma 3DXL Owner's thread - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 11:32 AM
Member
 
Remit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnielsenbb View Post

120" screen. I happened to have a shelf on the rear wall that worked perfectly for it.
The optoma gt720 would need to be only 6'7", which would put it right over my head.
The optoma HD 66 is similar to my acer, but more offset. From projectorcentral: "you can fill a 120" screen with a 16:9 image from 13' 6" to 14' 10", depending on the position of the zoom lens. The fixed throw angle means that the bottom edge of this same image will appear almost 11" above the lens' centerline"
That would probably be better for ceiling mounting for most people.

I am of kind of in a backwards dellema. Projector cant be moved.

Right now I have an 85" screen, but the acer over fills it in it's current (permanent) location. I figure just by a bigger screen.

I am about 11'6" from screen to projector, from what th throw calculate figures I can get a 100" screen andi will fill the screen 16:9.


Am I reading that right?
I have the acer h5360

Remit.
Remit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
You know, the gt720, with it's short throw, would be really good ceiling mounted so you could stand up and play Killzone 3 on the PS3 and not be in the projectors light path. I think that will be an amazing experience. 3D and a move gun controller. That is going to sell a bunch of 3DXL boxes I think.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #123 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Remit, the calc shows 93" - 102" so that would be good. I am guessing you need to mount it probably 7" above the screen.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #124 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 11:44 AM
Member
 
Remit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnielsenbb View Post

Remit, the calc shows 93" - 102" so that would be good. I am guessing you need to mount it probably 7" above the screen.

Any recommendations for screen brand or colour?

I can order a "elite screens Cinetension 2 100" tension electric 16:9 widescreen model # Te100hw2 fo around $733 ... Seems a bit steep for an electric screen but I looks nice.
Remit is offline  
post #125 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Personally I like more brightness, so I would go with a Da-lite hi-power, even though you won't get the best brightness ceiling mounting.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #126 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Remit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnielsenbb View Post

Personally I like more brightness, so I would go with a Da-lite hi-power, even though you won't get the best brightness ceiling mounting.

Ya I have a da-lite power screen now and it's great, just too small.
Remit is offline  
post #127 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well, there you go. Just get a bigger one
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #128 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
wolfyncsu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnielsenbb View Post

You know, the gt720, with it's short throw, would be really good ceiling mounted so you could stand up and play Killzone 3 on the PS3 and not be in the projectors light path. I think that will be an amazing experience. 3D and a move gun controller. That is going to sell a bunch of 3DXL boxes I think.

Does anybody know for sure if the 3d-xl works with the GT700 or GT720 (for both 3D blu-ray movies as well as 3D PS3 games)?
wolfyncsu7 is offline  
post #129 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I really hope so. They are both made by Optoma.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #130 of 1730 Old 01-26-2011, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Remit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnielsenbb
Well, there you go. Just get a bigger one
Turns out I am 11' from the front of the glass to the existing screen. Hope 100" will still work.

R.
Remit is offline  
post #131 of 1730 Old 01-27-2011, 05:40 AM
Newbie
 
Gobucks1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfyncsu7 View Post

Does anybody know for sure if the 3d-xl works with the GT700 or GT720 (for both 3D blu-ray movies as well as 3D PS3 games)?

does this setup need the special silver screen? or only active shutter glasses? I too am trying to keep my existing 1080p projector for everyday viewing and mount a second game time projector with the 3dxl for 720 p 3d that will be used a couple of hours every week for limited 3d content and ps3 gaming. it seems like this will be an easy setup if I can mount the projectors correctly.
Gobucks1 is offline  
post #132 of 1730 Old 01-27-2011, 06:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
no silver screen if you're using dlp link glasses.
defiancecp is offline  
post #133 of 1730 Old 01-27-2011, 04:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yep.. That is what I do. The throw is so short on the GT700 of mine, I didnt even need to mount it. It fits very well between my 1st row and screen and throws 9' diag. I just pull it out when I want to screen 3D.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #134 of 1730 Old 01-27-2011, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
wolfyncsu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

Yep.. That is what I do. The throw is so short on the GT700 of mine, I didnt even need to mount it. It fits very well between my 1st row and screen and throws 9' diag. I just pull it out when I want to screen 3D.

Do you have the GT700 paired with a 3d-xl? Did you have to send the GT700 back to Optoma for a firmware update to enable the 3D capability?
wolfyncsu7 is offline  
post #135 of 1730 Old 01-27-2011, 09:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
YES!!! I got the new firmware update today to enable 24p output with Bluray 3D sources.

...unfortunately I'm travelling, but should be able to test by Sunday.

But this is very good news - the 24p firmware update is now real.
rdjam is offline  
post #136 of 1730 Old 01-28-2011, 02:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfyncsu7 View Post

Do you have the GT700 paired with a 3d-xl? Did you have to send the GT700 back to Optoma for a firmware update to enable the 3D capability?

HTPC right now, 3D-XL or some other converter when they are out.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #137 of 1730 Old 01-28-2011, 06:56 PM
Member
 
horizone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Söderhamn, Sweden
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

YES!!! I got the new firmware update today to enable 24p output with Bluray 3D sources.

...unfortunately I'm travelling, but should be able to test by Sunday.

But this is very good news - the 24p firmware update is now real.

Great news! Now there is only one possible problem left for me with dual 3DXLs: the unneccesary and flawed forced upscaling of 720p50/60 content to 1080p60 when PS3 gaming in 3D.

I hope there will be a update that can fix this too because my projectors are surely better at scaling than the 3DXL I suspect.
horizone is offline  
post #138 of 1730 Old 01-28-2011, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by horizone View Post


Great news! Now there is only one possible problem left for me with dual 3DXLs: the unneccesary and flawed forced upscaling of 720p50/60 content to 1080p60 when PS3 gaming in 3D.

I hope there will be a update that can fix this too because my projectors are surely better at scaling than the 3DXL I suspect.

I believe that when fed 720p60 3D, the 3DXL outputs 720p. I'm not sure tho, as this is something I have not tested.

I'm actually thinking of picking up a PS3 just to try this out.
rdjam is offline  
post #139 of 1730 Old 01-28-2011, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
now we just need 720p sbs and we are good to go!!!
stuart628 is offline  
post #140 of 1730 Old 01-28-2011, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Actually, none of the projectors this is intended for are even capable of accepting 3d 1080p/60 content, so it wouldn't be able to upscale 720p/60 frame packed to 1080p, would it?
defiancecp is offline  
post #141 of 1730 Old 01-28-2011, 11:01 PM
Member
 
IowaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keeping an eye on these, but seems a very transient device that won't be needed soon. Might pick one up when price comes down.
IowaGuy is offline  
post #142 of 1730 Old 01-29-2011, 01:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by IowaGuy View Post

Keeping an eye on these, but seems a very transient device that won't be needed soon. Might pick one up when price comes down.

? Por que?

There is nothing else I see that bridges the gap between the old and the new 3D standards like this does. And on top of that, it let's me do dual projector. Anyway, that's just MY thoughts.
rdjam is offline  
post #143 of 1730 Old 01-29-2011, 02:39 AM
Member
 
horizone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Söderhamn, Sweden
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by defiancecp View Post

Actually, none of the projectors this is intended for are even capable of accepting 3d 1080p/60 content, so it wouldn't be able to upscale 720p/60 frame packed to 1080p, would it?

Yes, you are correct. This happens only when set for dual mode so it's two 2D signals from two 3DXLs to two 1080 projectors.. Not the main purpose which is single 3DXL, single 120hz 720p DLP with shutterglasses, then no scaling takes place.

This got me thinking, what if one would like dual 720 projectors with passive. In that case there would be alot of unnecessary scaling going on. First up to 1080 in both 3dxl then down to 720 in each projector. rdjam should be right but manual says otherwise.
horizone is offline  
post #144 of 1730 Old 01-29-2011, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm likely wrong if the manual says different, as I haven't tested that scenario yet. I'll check it out this week.

It's also possible that things may be a little different after this new firmware update. I'm dying to try it out. I'll be able to give it a whirl tomorrow.
rdjam is offline  
post #145 of 1730 Old 01-30-2011, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by icester View Post

No emitter. The VESA signal is used to synchronize the polarity rotator.
I use passive glasses.

Mathew Orman

Does the vesa signal fro 3D-XL go directly to the polarity rotator or did you need to come up with an interface for compatiblity? Also you are using linear polarized glasses? What are the best from your view. Do they make a circular polarity rotator version?
mkoss is offline  
post #146 of 1730 Old 01-30-2011, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK - I've installed the firmware update on the two 3DXL units tonight.

I am now getting perfect 1080p24 output from each unit for the Left and Right streams.

I can also confirm that the 3DXL is compatible with 1080p and 720p SBS from HDMI 1.3 sources. The "SBS Mode" button is pressed to select these.

As someone else also mentioned here, DirecTV 1080i SBS works as well. This is autodetected and no need to press the SBS button.

All I am waiting for now is my new screen.... arghh... this is going to be a long week!!
rdjam is offline  
post #147 of 1730 Old 01-30-2011, 07:13 PM
Member
 
rougebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

OK - I've installed the firmware update on the two 3DXL units tonight.

I am now getting perfect 1080p24 output from each unit for the Left and Right streams.

I can also confirm that the 3DXL is compatible with 1080p and 720p SBS from HDMI 1.3 sources. The "SBS Mode" button is pressed to select these.

As someone else also mentioned here, DirecTV 1080i SBS works as well. This is autodetected and no need to press the SBS button.

All I am waiting for now is my new screen.... arghh... this is going to be a long week!!

Nice to know everything is working properly. Was wondering if you can shed some light on the delayed release? Spoke to Optoma a few days ago and they said 3DXL is now scheduled for a March/April release.
rougebear is online now  
post #148 of 1730 Old 01-30-2011, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

I am now getting perfect 1080p24 output from each unit for the Left and Right streams.

I can also confirm that the 3DXL is compatible with 1080p and 720p SBS from HDMI 1.3 sources. The "SBS Mode" button is pressed to select these.

As someone else also mentioned here, DirecTV 1080i SBS works as well. This is autodetected and no need to press the SBS button.

All I am waiting for now is my new screen.... arghh... this is going to be a long week!!

So, have you tested if it is possible to see any 3D effect with two projectors and two 3DXL units? Do they work in pair as you planned? Can you address icester's concerns?
I haven't seen any report describing actually watching 3D. Impressions regarding ghosting, for example.

I think I have read all messages in this and "Ultimate 3D" thread an I am still confused because I don't understand why you had to do certain things.

Why do you need a new screen, what's wrong with your existing one?
I though you have prepared everything for testing long time ago - silver 3D screen, glasses, polarizing filters, etc.

Why did you wait for 24p firmware? Couldn't you set blu-ray player output to 60p?
Why did you need to get HDMI splitter, that Gefen? Your Denon receiver could not act as a splitter?
What else is preventing from using dual projector setup?
micksh is offline  
post #149 of 1730 Old 01-30-2011, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rougebear View Post

Nice to know everything is working properly. Was wondering if you can shed some light on the delayed release? Spoke to Optoma a few days ago and they said 3DXL is now scheduled for a March/April release.

No idea - I didn't hear it was delayed that long - someone here earlier said Feb 17th.

Seems to work beautifully. Maybe manufacturing?
rdjam is offline  
post #150 of 1730 Old 01-30-2011, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
HTFAN007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rdjam - Glad to hear the Directv 1080i and 720p working well. Did you have to use the Gefen for the Directv access?
HTFAN007 is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
Optoma , Optoma 3d Xl Converter Box For 3d Video And Gaming , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off