Please help with setting up a 3d display with 3d-xl. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-04-2011, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
twoody5050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm waiting for the 3d-xl to be released in the U.S. Right now i have the Optoma hd66 and Sony SS370 surround sound. I read that the SS370 doesn't have 3d audio. Is there some kind of converter i could buy for it to make it 3d? Also are there any other special cables i'll need to be able to play 360 and ps3 games in 3d and ps3 3d blu rays?
twoody5050 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-04-2011, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There's really no converter to 'make' a receiver support hdmi 1.4. There are workarounds to get things working, but I believe you're probably better off just replacing the receiver. 3d-ready receivers can be had for under $200 (sony vsx-520-k, onkyo tx-sr308 for a couple starting examples I'm aware of - there are probably several more).

Or you could simply use an hdmi switch and connect to your amp with other types of audio cables - for example optical output from your PS3, spdif from your htpc if you have one, that kind of thing. It's a bit more of a pain to hook up, switching gets more complicated, and the audio modes aren't quite as nice, but it would be a solution.
defiancecp is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-04-2011, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
twoody5050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by defiancecp View Post

There's really no converter to 'make' a receiver support hdmi 1.4. There are workarounds to get things working, but I believe you're probably better off just replacing the receiver. 3d-ready receivers can be had for under $200 (sony vsx-520-k, onkyo tx-sr308 for a couple starting examples I'm aware of - there are probably several more).

Or you could simply use an hdmi switch and connect to your amp with other types of audio cables - for example optical output from your PS3, spdif from your htpc if you have one, that kind of thing. It's a bit more of a pain to hook up, switching gets more complicated, and the audio modes aren't quite as nice, but it would be a solution.

Is there any way you could show me exactly what i need on Amazon to do the workaround? I don't really want to have to spend an extra $200. I'm not too concerned about the sound quality. Would i be able to use the sound from the projector's built-in speakers?
twoody5050 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-04-2011, 09:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, for an absolute minimalist approach, you could use this:

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Switch-Sw...6883218&sr=8-1

So all your devices would send video through hdmi to this, then output to the 3dxl box, then to the projector... But no audio.

Audio, then, would have to connect from your devices to the amp by some other means - for example a ps3 would connect via optical cable, and an htpc would connect to your sound card or spdif output.


The probblem is, when you want to change sources you get to change the receiver *and* the hdmi switch to the source you want.

but I don't think there's a good way around that without getting a receiver with 1.4 support.
defiancecp is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-04-2011, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
twoody5050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok. thanks.
twoody5050 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-06-2011, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
perfectdark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why don't you just run HDMI directly from 3D-XL to projector and run Optical (Toslink) cable from source (bluray player or whatever you are using) directly to receiver.. That cable costs like $10
perfectdark is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-07-2011, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would assume you have some sort of digital audio input onm this HTIB system?

If so, your good to go... It has 3D sound, maybe not what they call HD sound though, but it will work fine. As stated above hook up by optical to the audio system and hdmi to the display.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-07-2011, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrickMcKaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The specs for the 3D-XL said "audio supported", so maybe just maybe they move the HDMI 1.4 audio signal back to the place where it is put in HDMI 1.3. At least, wait for the 3D-XL to be in your hands before you spend money on a new receiver or switch.

And if not, then yes we can all send audio through the digital audio cable and get Dolby Digital and DTS 5.1 to our old receivers.
TrickMcKaha is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off