Samsung PN51D6500 - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 81 Old 04-28-2011, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
jgeiger462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After you get into the service menu what are the steps to change the 3d cell brightness and the regular 2d cell brightness? Thanks!
jgeiger462 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 81 Old 04-29-2011, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
reng2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hasn't anyone noticed that this TV runs crazy hot??? If you run your fingers along the top edge of the TV, it is very uncomfortable. It feels like your fingers are burning!

My concern is that this heat build up may shorten the life of the TV.
reng2005 is offline  
post #63 of 81 Old 04-30-2011, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
mjduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jgeiger462 - I may be missing something, but why do you need to go into the service menu to change CL? You can change those on the fly while in any source be it 2d or 3d.

reng2005 - I noticed this as well with my 51d6900. It wasn't burning hot, but certainly quite warm. I noticed last night, however, that after watching netflix for 3+ hours that it was actually cool. I'm wondering if it is because of the source since the warmth was running 1080p movies from my computer via hdmi.

A lot of displays do get warm though, and at least the tv is passively cooled with the vents at the top of the unit.

I do have a Q though. Is there any way to change video settings for Netflix? Seems like it auto dims when you first open the app and then gets brighter once you start navigating.
mjduke is offline  
post #64 of 81 Old 05-01-2011, 05:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kpkimmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The tv only gets really hot if your using it to output audio to receiver via tv optical, thats the only way i get mine hot, but still reasonable. I essentially use mine as a monitor, just displays picture from my source and let my receiver handle all audio. Mine runs cool, hotter when watching 3d. Side note a software update was released, your tv will automatically install, that fixes flicker for some people.
Kpkimmel is offline  
post #65 of 81 Old 05-01-2011, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
gm2376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpkimmel View Post

The tv only gets really hot if your using it to output audio to receiver via tv optical, thats the only way i get mine hot, but still reasonable. I essentially use mine as a monitor, just displays picture from my source and let my receiver handle all audio. Mine runs cool, hotter when watching 3d. Side note a software update was released, your tv will automatically install, that fixes flicker for some people.

what version is the firmware? I don't see anything on the site?
gm2376 is offline  
post #66 of 81 Old 05-08-2011, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
neutron77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgup View Post

Hi neutron77,

i have had my tv for around 20 days and started noticing flicker since last week. Did you ever resolve your issue? This on at&t uverse cable. not sure if the problem with the tv or att signal.

Sanjay

not resolved yet. The "repair" local service closest to hear contacted Samsung, but they had never heard of this particular problem. Still waiting for service. Tried to return it to vendor (within 30 days) by no go. Also I posted a (very good) product review on Samsung's web site well over 4 weeks ago; I was told (3 weeks ago) it would be posted within a week if accepted. Nothing. You can see some other comments on Samsung Televisions facebook page.
neutron77 is offline  
post #67 of 81 Old 05-11-2011, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Orakulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does it compare with the 2010 PN50C7000?
Orakulo is offline  
post #68 of 81 Old 05-12-2011, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kpkimmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Well I prefer plasma tv's because the picture to me looks more natural with high refresh rates because i watch a TON of sports. Stepping up models only really gives you features that i don't use like browser, apps, and maybe some other stuff but like i'v stated before my tv is only used as a monitor, everything runs to receiver then one 1.4 hdmi cable runs to the tv. So the price jump from my model to the 7 or even 8000 series isn't even remotely close to being worth it as i don't use any features of the tv.
Kpkimmel is offline  
post #69 of 81 Old 06-03-2011, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
NewTricks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am interested in this set. Has anyone compared this to the Panny TC-P50ST30?
NewTricks is offline  
post #70 of 81 Old 06-06-2011, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kpkimmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewTricks View Post

I am interested in this set. Has anyone compared this to the Panny TC-P50ST30?

The Samsung has deeper blacks...also the design looks extremely outdated on that model....
Kpkimmel is offline  
post #71 of 81 Old 06-07-2011, 11:29 AM
hud
Member
 
hud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am giddy with excitement, as I just pulled the trigger on ordering this TV. Now the hardest part: waiting for it to arrive!

Pretty pumped too because the whole deal came with a 3d bluray player and the megamind 3d starter kit, so i've already got two pair of glasses and some 3d movies to watch right off the bat!
hud is offline  
post #72 of 81 Old 06-08-2011, 08:13 PM
Newbie
 
dizee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ya i got this tv yesterday, will be arriving here early next week. cant wait to play some uncharted 3 in 3d on it this fall.
dizee is offline  
post #73 of 81 Old 06-23-2011, 08:51 AM
Member
 
supergrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Elmira, N.Y.
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got this TV yesterday from Amazon (took two days to get here after I ordered and arrived a few hours before the Blu-ray player and 3D starter set that came with it). So far I'm very happy with it after a struggle or two with the stand. The only negative is the lack of pop on pure white screens. It seems like there's a lot of room to play with the picture settings, so I'll do that at some point.

I thought the 3D starter kit had mail-ins for some of the movies, but all of the Shrek movies and Megamind were in there, so I was happy with that. The 3D was excellent and the only blemish I saw was ghosting on one scene of an IMAX flight movie I was watching off the Samsung apps. I watched some of the last Shrek movie and Megamind and was transfixed. Also checked out Life on Blu-ray and it was outstanding, though it's hard to imagine that series looking bad on any HD television.

I played some PS3 games briefly and thought the 3D was good. The 3D trailer for Uncharted 3 was very impressive. I also noticed the response time was significantly better than my Samsung LCD, which is now in the bedroom. Easiest to notice with the Wii menu screen, but it also seemed like Kinect on the 360 was smoother as well. I do notice some flickering on the Xbox 360 dashboard that I didn't notice when I tried two games (Tiger Woods and Hydro Thunder).

I've always wanted a plasma and I love 3D. So far, so good.
supergrass is offline  
post #74 of 81 Old 08-15-2011, 06:43 AM
hud
Member
 
hud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over the weekend I got my tv hung on the wall. Only thing I currently have it hooked up to is my Samsung blu-ray player (and the wall outlet for power obviously). Watched about an hour on the player Saturday evening, everything was fine. Watched about 1/2 hour on the player Sunday afternoon, again everything behaving fine. Then Sunday night when I went to bed out the door of my bedroom it seemed like there was too much light coming from the living room. My wife went out, came back and said "your tv is on". "huh???" So as I'm going out, I see the living room get darker, and I get out there, and the screen appears to be off. So I grab the remote, turn the tv on, turns on fine, then turn it back off, turns back off fine. BUT, I notice the red power/standby light in the lower left corner is flickering. That's the first I've noticed that sort of behavior.

Not sure what to make of this. I unplugged the TV for overnight (didn't want it magically turning on during the night), i'll have to investigate more this evening.

I assume no one else has seen behavior like this? Or if anyone has any helpful insight, I'm all ears...thx...but at the moment it seems like I'll be invoking the warranty service on this thing
hud is offline  
post #75 of 81 Old 10-28-2011, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
demechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 55 inch version of this television and it works very well. The 3D is a little difficult to get working through a laptop connection. Most of this is user error I think. I finally found source video in SBS and that did the trick.
demechman is offline  
post #76 of 81 Old 11-08-2011, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
K_Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewTricks View Post

I am interested in this set. Has anyone compared this to the Panny TC-P50ST30?

There is a review of the Samsung PN51D6500 here: http://www.televisioninfo.com/conten...and-Whites.htm

They compare it to the Panasonic TC-P50ST30. According to their measurements, the Panasonic has deeper blacks.
K_Thompson is offline  
post #77 of 81 Old 11-29-2011, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
tripod39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Out and About.
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Got my PN51D6500 build date July 11,N202,from Amazon,delivered by Home Direct 11/23 along with BD-D6500 BR player.Plugged in,turned on.Dropped cell to 17,con to 80,no other tweaking,stayed out of box,no buzz,FBr on hockey game in 1st period,gone by 3rd period.3D ok,2D to 3D-different.Will hook up smart with ethernet cable.Reflections minimum.Pic overall not as good as my PN51D450.So far-satisfied after 1 week.

UN65JU6700FXZA TD01 3/15
PN51D6500
BD-D6500
Sony CT-100
USN Ret.
tripod39 is offline  
post #78 of 81 Old 01-17-2012, 07:04 PM
kha
Member
 
kha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just got this as a replacement for a c540

can anyone share recommended settings, other than the obvious get it into movie mode asap

thanks in advance
kha is offline  
post #79 of 81 Old 02-15-2012, 10:56 AM
Member
 
geraldoviera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMurph72 View Post

Question to all those who have brought home a 6500 set. I was using the 3D on my 51D6500, with content coming from Time Warner On Demand. To configure the 3D, the directions tell you to use the Over/Under 3D processing to convert the video to 3D. When I ran the 3D, the very top bar of the TV was showing video that should have been located on the bottom of the screen. I am wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem, and if this a video processing issue of the Time Warner set top, or is this a video processing issue from the 6500? If it is the TV I will exchange it before my return policy is up.

It's not the TV, it's Time Warner - you need to upgrade to their new 3D box... which just happens to be made by Samsung, too!
geraldoviera is offline  
post #80 of 81 Old 11-17-2012, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Jonhern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what do people think would be a good price to pay for this 2nd hand? Talking to someone on Craigslist that has it up for sale. How has it been holding up? what is the current software version? thanks.
Jonhern is offline  
post #81 of 81 Old 11-17-2012, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Jonhern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigel View Post

What about the service menu hack that changes it to a 8000, would this work into tricking the app program into thinking its an 8000 and let you download the web browser app?


Also, is samsung not making 2d panels this year?

What is the difference between 6500/6900. Canada/US models?
What do you mean hack to be an 8000?
Jonhern is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off