PS3 in 3D, does setting the screen size in the options matter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 05-05-2011, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
 
bane126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it make a difference? I ask because I had set to 60 inches the first day and Hubble 3D looked amazing, things popped out and everything looked awesome. I changed it to 100 inches last night and the effect was not as poppy. Both times the PJ was projecting at around 100 inches.

Or are my eyes playing tricks on me. Even my wife noticed tho.
bane126 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 05-05-2011, 11:47 AM
Member
 
jddcp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same question but haven't been able to find a good answer yet.
jddcp is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 05-05-2011, 02:43 PM
Member
 
lunaluagua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes it does make a difference, at least on games. i tested out various settings on my 135" screen, from 40" to 200" to see if there was any depth differences or what, i can't remember exactly what the difference was, it may have affected the default convergence but the correct setting felt a lot more comfortable than either extreme. i think you are right in that the smaller setting gives the impression of more depth and separation....but it felt less natural than the correct setting. the 200" setting felt more flat as well but i don't specifically remember what else, i may have to test it again with some other games. it would make sense to need to "enhance" the depth affect for games on smaller displays since you have less to work with, but changes on big displays can be more subtle.

this screen size setting also exists on my standalone blu ray player, so it might have something to do with aligning the image on movies as well, but i haven't tested that.
lunaluagua is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 05-05-2011, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gagit811's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know how it works but what lunaluagua says make since. The screen size setting is important, but it will most likely detect your tv and set itself to the correct size.
gagit811 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 05-05-2011, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gagit811 View Post
I don't know how it works but what lunaluagua says make since. The screen size setting is important, but it will most likely detect your tv and set itself to the correct size.
No, there's no way for a piece of equipment to detect screen size over hdmi, only resolution capabilities.
thebard is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 05-05-2011, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebard View Post
No, there's no way for a piece of equipment to detect screen size over hdmi, only resolution capabilities.
The display size is part of the HDMI communication, so it can be automatically detected. However, only starting with HDMI 1.4 has the size been able to go above 255cm.
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-05-2011, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gagit811's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebard View Post
No, there's no way for a piece of equipment to detect screen size over hdmi, only resolution capabilities.
I have 2 3d tvs one with a ps3 and the other a samsung 3d blu-ray player. They both detected my screen size and automatically set the screen size of my 46'' and 55'' tvs.
gagit811 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 05-05-2011, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I stand corrected. Must just be my Oppo needs it entered manually...
thebard is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-30-2014, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 612
What is this function for? Is it for 3d or just for 2d -> 3d conversion? It popped up on my PS3 for the first time yesterday when I connected my new AE8000U and I set it, then I noticed the projector has a similar setting to configure. I wonder if setting them both is a problem?

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is online now  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-07-2014, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
BlackShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In PS3 stereoscopic 3D games, the screen size is used to scale the strength of the 3D effect.
The strength of a 3D effect depends on the angles between your eyes and the screen : but the content on screen is based on pixels. It's a simple geometry problem.

If shown the exact same content on TV of different sizes, the angles your eyes make with the screen will be different, and the strength of the 3D effect will be different.
If incorrectly set, you may get a picture way too strong where your eyes diverge if you try to watch it in 3D (very painful, breaks the 3D effect instantly).
If incorrectly set the other way, you may get a picture that looks very flat even though you have set the maximum strength in the game's 3D setting.

-if you tell the PS3 you have a smaller TV than you really have, the console will boost the 3D strength in games
-if you tell the PS3 you have a bigger TV than you really have, the console will shrink the 3D strength in games

This only works in games (where the console generates the 3D in real time by controlling the two virtual cameras), it doesn't work in movies (where the cameras were set by the movie director and his stereo technician).
The console may be trying to slide the pictures relative to one another in order to alter the convergence point, however I am not aware of the PS3 doing this, especially with BluRays.

Passive 3D, forever !
My Full-HD dual-projector passive polarised 3D setup. (really out of date ! I need to update it some day...)


Last edited by BlackShark; 07-07-2014 at 01:50 PM.
BlackShark is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-08-2014, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 612
I'm not sure about that last part.

"This only works in games (where the console generates the 3D in real time by controlling the two virtual cameras), it doesn't work in movies (where the cameras were set by the movie director and his stereo technician).
The console may be trying to slide the pictures relative to one another in order to alter the convergence point, however I am not aware of the PS3 doing this, especially with BluRays."

It suppose it might be placebo but when watching blurays it seems I can tell a difference when I change the PS3's 3d display size??!???!???!???

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is online now  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-10-2014, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Devedander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
I'm not sure about that last part.

"This only works in games (where the console generates the 3D in real time by controlling the two virtual cameras), it doesn't work in movies (where the cameras were set by the movie director and his stereo technician).
The console may be trying to slide the pictures relative to one another in order to alter the convergence point, however I am not aware of the PS3 doing this, especially with BluRays."

It suppose it might be placebo but when watching blurays it seems I can tell a difference when I change the PS3's 3d display size??!???!???!???
I don't believe it would do this because doing so causes a mismatch in the sides of the frames and either cropping or scaling to accommodate.

I haven't tested this myself but I would be very surprised if it alters the alignment or scaling of the L/R frames due to screen size.

Monster Gold Plated Optical Cables: http://monstercable.com/productPage.asp?pin=1263

Awesome user review: "Unreal quality. Sounded like I upgraded my speakers." :D
Devedander is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-19-2014, 02:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
tory40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Adjusting this value is the only way your going to get close to the holodeck-like experience that 3D users on PC have (at least with proper settings). Human stereo vision is very sensitive, so small changes in viewing distance and screensize all have an effect on how the 3D is perceived. In general, the closer you sit, which i recommend for more immersion since the screen fills more of your FOV, the more you want to separate the images ( lower the screen size value) up to the distance between your eyes (your IPD, or interpupilary distance). Objects in the distance should be what your paying attention to, those should be widest, but not exceed your IPD. I match it with my IPD, but i sit a meter away from a 46" screen. The further away you sit, the more you "push" objects back into the TV, lessening the need to increase the separation.

I'd be worth finding out if this effects movies, because movies are a huge compromise, but you can sort of compensate and get a window-to-another-world effect (real damn 3D) by increasing the separation and sitting closer.
tory40 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-20-2014, 04:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
those should be widest, but not exceed your IPD. I match it with my IPD, but i sit a meter away from a 46" screen. The further away you sit, the more you "push" objects back into the TV, lessening the need to increase the separation.
perienceniew is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off