Sony HMZ-T1 HMD Owner's dedicated thread - Page 112 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3382 Old 06-26-2013, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Jonathan Hersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Why they wouldn't design this thing better is beyond me.
Jonathan Hersey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3382 Old 07-01-2013, 12:59 AM
Member
 
connector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, Sony have to increase the comfort. is the only outstanding issue.

@Europe, you can contact me in www.diariosdelanube.com
connector is offline  
post #3333 of 3382 Old 07-08-2013, 04:04 PM
 
Magicantian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.
Magicantian is offline  
post #3334 of 3382 Old 07-13-2013, 03:24 PM
Member
 
andymckay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did anyone manage to mod the t1 to remove the headphones and put a 3.5mm socket in its place to allow the choice of usinga chat headset or just earphones
andymckay is offline  
post #3335 of 3382 Old 07-15-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 289

There was discussion of doing that but I don't recall if it was ever done. Most Sony earphones often use litz wire which is difficult to solder, so if done the point to tap the signal should be a solder point on the board, instead of the wire itself.

 

Chatting via a microphone could not be accomplished because the HDMI protocol used by the Sony doesn't allow for audio communication from the headset back to the source device. Some HDMI devices do allow for this, so future incarnations could theoretically employ this, however.


In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #3336 of 3382 Old 07-17-2013, 08:04 AM
Member
 
andymckay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine this morning (£300) off ebay and wow.
Only had 10 mins to play with it but had a flick through Avengers 3d and 2d Dark Knight which were fantastic.
Tried gran turismo 6 demo and found myself leaning whilst going round corners (the wife will find this hilarious)

Just need to do a quick mod to sort out the balance off my nose and will be well chuffed
andymckay is offline  
post #3337 of 3382 Old 07-18-2013, 02:21 PM
 
Magicantian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.
Magicantian is offline  
post #3338 of 3382 Old 07-20-2013, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
ra111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well, I've connected an iPad, iPhone and Raspberry Pi and laptop as well as a Bloggie 3D and Ps3 / X360. I do have a UG802 Android 4.1.1 which i can test though. Frankly I'd expect your phone to work as it has HDMI out and cannot see why it wouldnt...
ra111 is offline  
post #3339 of 3382 Old 07-25-2013, 05:09 PM
 
Magicantian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.
Magicantian is offline  
post #3340 of 3382 Old 07-25-2013, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 289

The Sony is basically a TV set with an HDMI input.  You can pretty safely assume any modern HDMI video source, be it a cable box, disc player, telephone, or media server, will work.

connector likes this.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #3341 of 3382 Old 07-26-2013, 10:33 AM
Member
 
connector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes Ayn HDMI device could be reproduced bu Mhz-t1 or t2. And if tve source (pc, console, home Cinema, smart phone, Raspberri...) supports HDMI 1.4 tren will do 3D!

@Europe, you can contact me in www.diariosdelanube.com
connector is offline  
post #3342 of 3382 Old 07-30-2013, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
BienTobias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Finally have my 1st Mods of Sony Hmz T1
Using Kids "BEN 10" helmet made of High Density Stryropor

Just thanks all guys who pioneer in Mods and guided Me to finally
arrive in these Design....

No more Red spot in my Forehead
Used 2 Lead Sink pods mounted at backside of the helmet (not shown pic) used in Fishing Rods accesories
to balance the front end Weight of the Unit
encounter some few design Flaw ...hahaha like the green lock in front which I use a LAME handle plastic of disposable shaver
LAME black TAPEss
and still looking for internal Lining of the helmet...for comfort fit..(???? seriously thinking of using the Girls Feminine Napkin???? for Lining of the Helmets?????) Lols

Its my 1st Mods and will further improve it ...

With these Mods..I used my Sony HMZ T1 for hours without any discomfort..LOLzzz

3D Movies and PC Games to the Max...Hahahahaha


See evolution of my Mods...

























connector likes this.
BienTobias is offline  
post #3343 of 3382 Old 07-31-2013, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
donfazhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
good things. Looking forward to seeing the photos and your initial impressions.thanks 10.gif
connector likes this.
donfazhan is offline  
post #3344 of 3382 Old 08-01-2013, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
BienTobias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12














See additional Photo of my Ben10 Kids Helmet Mod
see details how 2 Lead Balls are place at the back end for balance ( weight must be almost same weight of the front end 420gms)
Used a Big paper clip and bend it 45 degree like a small hook and place inside front bottom-side panel where pads are supposed to placed
U shape hooks and anchor by plastic tie-rasp(used 2 pcs)

Ben10 Kids helmet are very cheap and made of HD styropor which very easy to cut and shape.
They very Light and strong....ideal for Sony HMZ T1

Will be using 3M double Tape to secure the Plastic cover of the Helmet design
Still looking for Helmet Lining.. The original lining used in the helmet are small and not of good quality.

As per Any Sony HMZ T1 owner...very happy of its 3D and 2D picture quality...

using a Toshiba Satellite L755-16K Intel Core i5 with GT 525 2G Graphic cards with Bluray Optical Drive
Window 7 Home Premium 64bit 8G RAM

Core 2 Desktop with MSI GT 630 as a 2nd Unit connected to 42 inc Plasma Panasonic TV

Power DVD 12 and VLC player software

Looking forwards See Pictures of all Guys Who will MODS...Any advice what Helmet linings to be Used???
connector likes this.
BienTobias is offline  
post #3345 of 3382 Old 08-04-2013, 04:40 AM
Newbie
 
ivandragos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a used HMZ-T1 but when i press the power button on the HMD it produces a squeaky noise. Is that normal?
ivandragos is offline  
post #3346 of 3382 Old 08-05-2013, 01:00 AM
Member
 
connector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i think it's normal.

@Europe, you can contact me in www.diariosdelanube.com
connector is offline  
post #3347 of 3382 Old 08-05-2013, 01:02 AM
Member
 
connector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BienTobias View Post















See additional Photo of my Ben10 Kids Helmet Mod
see details how 2 Lead Balls are place at the back end for balance ( weight must be almost same weight of the front end 420gms)
Used a Big paper clip and bend it 45 degree like a small hook and place inside front bottom-side panel where pads are supposed to placed
U shape hooks and anchor by plastic tie-rasp(used 2 pcs)

Ben10 Kids helmet are very cheap and made of HD styropor which very easy to cut and shape.
They very Light and strong....ideal for Sony HMZ T1

Will be using 3M double Tape to secure the Plastic cover of the Helmet design
Still looking for Helmet Lining.. The original lining used in the helmet are small and not of good quality.

As per Any Sony HMZ T1 owner...very happy of its 3D and 2D picture quality...

using a Toshiba Satellite L755-16K Intel Core i5 with GT 525 2G Graphic cards with Bluray Optical Drive
Window 7 Home Premium 64bit 8G RAM

Core 2 Desktop with MSI GT 630 as a 2nd Unit connected to 42 inc Plasma Panasonic TV

Power DVD 12 and VLC player software

Looking forwards See Pictures of all Guys Who will MODS...Any advice what Helmet linings to be Used???

Amazing job, sony engineers must take note.

@Europe, you can contact me in www.diariosdelanube.com
connector is offline  
post #3348 of 3382 Old 08-05-2013, 02:15 AM
Member
 
kilobulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by connector View Post

Amazing job, sony engineers must take note.
Yup it really is.

BienTobias - one question, The helmet being a kids one, is it not on the small side? Or are they likely to fit most adults as well?
kilobulb is offline  
post #3349 of 3382 Old 08-05-2013, 02:31 AM
Member
 
kilobulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilobulb View Post

Yup it really is.

BienTobias - one question, The helmet being a kids one, is it not on the small side? Or are they likely to fit most adults as well?

Acorrding to Tesco it's 52-57cm so should fit most I guess.
kilobulb is offline  
post #3350 of 3382 Old 08-05-2013, 05:19 AM
Newbie
 
BienTobias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes it will fill to average adult size.....it's placing padding or helmet linings are the fun part....

I guess any helmet will do that fit owns head size will do the Job.....
BienTobias is offline  
post #3351 of 3382 Old 09-27-2013, 06:14 AM
Member
 
nyc3dwd60738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im selling my barely used like new hmz-t1.if intrested pm me
nyc3dwd60738 is offline  
post #3352 of 3382 Old 11-17-2013, 09:52 AM
Member
 
stratogustav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

So I have a Vaio CW with Windows 7, HDMI output and a Nvidia card. However the control panel for the Nvidia does says sterescopic anywher, I already looked through all the 3D settings. The CW comes with a blu-ray player and BD/DVD burner as well. It plays SBS 3D DVDs and Blu-Rays just fine.

 

However I have a lot of 2D material that I want to be able to see in 3D. The nw PowerDVD 13 has a feature that automatically turns 2D to 3D. I want to use my HMZ-T1 to see this content, but for some reaon I can't make the PowerDVD 13 make the 2D videos to SBS videos, it just makes them red and blue,

 

Does anyone know if it is possible to make PowerDVD 13 turn 2D videos into SBS 3D videos so I can see them in my HMZ-T1?

stratogustav is offline  
post #3353 of 3382 Old 11-18-2013, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 49
disable second monitor, make HMZ primary, launch Power DVD, enable 3D if it's no enabled - enjoy. I have zero problems with my Toshiba ultrabook Z830 and Toshiba Tablet WT with Win 8.1
borland is offline  
post #3354 of 3382 Old 11-19-2013, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
Apocy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi guys,

 

Great thread and really interesting mods on the Sony.

 

I've had mine for a year now and I've been browsing and looking for any mods that will make this peace of torture more comfortable. I've tried headstrap mod but it wasn't that good. Helmet mods need a lot of work and in the end you can't really lay down and relax with half of helmet on.

 

Finally I was able to finish my idea I had for a while and I've finally done it ! I cost me about 15 Euro and was not that difficult to make. Also it is completely removable.

 

The idea was to make the Sony be as a snowboard mask with foam and also make it so, that it is pitch black once you put it on, no light coming from anywhere. The picture shows the the final "beta" and now I have the "mask" with which I can cut new forms of foam and make it look better once it is applied.

Apocy is offline  
post #3355 of 3382 Old 11-19-2013, 01:28 PM
Member
 
stratogustav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

Yeah, I was able to make my HMZ-T1 the primary display and remove completely the laptop monitor as a display, however PowerDVD 13 still does not convert videos to side by side. The only conversions I get are:

 

1. Anaglyph Red/Cyan Mode

2. 3D-Ready HDTV (Checkboard)

3. Micro-polarizer LCD 3D (Row-Interleaved)

 

None of those 3Ds are side by side or top to bottom, so my HMZ-T1 cannot process them, I was hoping that with the later 2 the HMZ-T1 would at least automatically detect them, but it doesn't. I don't know how to solve this. My guess is that because the Nvidia control panel does not offer stereoscopic settings, the PowerDVD 13 does not gives me the option of side by side in the conversion.

 

However is odd, because the computer does read blu-ray 3D side by side videos just fine.

 

I really wanted to buy the PowerDVD 13 for the "LIVE" 2D to 3D conversion. All other programs I know offer 3D conversion but only by making a separate processed video, therefore wasting a lot of time and space in my laptop.

 

Does anyone knows if this has a fix or if there are any other good programs out there that offer 2D to 3D side by side live conversion?

stratogustav is offline  
post #3356 of 3382 Old 11-20-2013, 05:55 PM
Member
 
stratogustav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

Or maybe the HDMI outlet isn't 1.4 and that's why PowerDVD doen't give me the side by side option. Had anybody been able to get side by side with it?

stratogustav is offline  
post #3357 of 3382 Old 11-27-2013, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
jjhedden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a new in box T1 up for sale right now, pm me if you are interested.
jjhedden is offline  
post #3358 of 3382 Old 12-11-2013, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Afrikan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hey everyone.

Can I ask what has been the most common issue with this device which required some to send it back to Sony for an exchange? My warranty (2 year replacement) is about to be up and I haven't used this device much, and I want to double check areas that might become issues after my warranty is over.
Afrikan is offline  
post #3359 of 3382 Old 12-12-2013, 03:41 PM
Member
 
stratogustav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrikan View Post

hey everyone.



Can I ask what has been the most common issue with this device which required some to send it back to Sony for an exchange? My warranty (2 year replacement) is about to be up and I haven't used this device much, and I want to double check areas that might become issues after my warranty is over.

 



No issues whatsoever with mine, is Sony after all, pretty durable as well, the only issue I guess is the comfort issue, it can really make not want to use it as much as you would like to.
stratogustav is offline  
post #3360 of 3382 Old 12-24-2013, 03:49 AM
Newbie
 
nabilghali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received hmz-t1 3days ago
Connected it to my msi gs 70 laptop
It worked fine with movies and games in 2D mode
But when I try it with 3d vision games as batman origins or latest tomb raider it gives me black screen with no signal notification above though it picks up 3d signal when game opens
My graphic card is nvidia 670m
and stereoscopic vision is enabled
Tried to install 3dtv play the same problem still there
So if any one can help?
Sorry for my english
nabilghali is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
3d Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off