Sony HMZ-T1 HMD Owner's dedicated thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blizaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Without further ado, here is the Sony HMZ-T1 owners thread. FedEx just dropped mine off and I'm in the process of unboxing it.

I'll post pics in a moment.
blizaine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:19 AM
Member
 
vrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congrats blizaine. Looking forward to seeing the photos and your initial impressions.
vrome is offline  
post #3 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
PoisonWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

Without further ado, here is the Sony HMZ-T1 owners thread. FedEx just dropped mine off and I'm in the process of unboxing it.

I'll post pics in a moment.

A moment has PASSED. THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS BLIZ.

HOW DARE YOU POST LIES. Lawl.

Come back after you've successfully fondled your new toy!
PoisonWolf is offline  
post #4 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Vic-Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is on a FedEx truck. Should be in my office any minute now.
Vic-Viper is offline  
post #5 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:34 AM
Member
 
dsk1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it weird that i am excited to see what the box looks like


Dave
dsk1210 is offline  
post #6 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:37 AM
Member
 
alamone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine's at "Shipping Update" on the order status - does that mean it's shipping soon?
Anyway, 4gamer (Japan) posted a review with various game impressions

http://www.4gamer.net/games/038/G003884/20111105002/

Subjectively, input lag seems to be about 3 frames, so may not be suitable for shooting and fighting games. Looking forward to trying it with Child of Eden.
alamone is offline  
post #7 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Samckaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

Without further ado, here is the Sony HMZ-T1 owners thread. FedEx just dropped mine off and I'm in the process of unboxing it.

I'll post pics in a moment.

Well, Congratulations!!! Mine is still riding around on a FedEx truck somewhere in Manhatten.
Samckaz is offline  
post #8 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blizaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some quick pics.
























last pic is Gears of War 3 running in 720 SBS mode (one eye obviously)
blizaine is offline  
post #9 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
dvdmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need a pair NOW!
dvdmonster is offline  
post #10 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blizaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
all pics and screen captures where taken with an iPhone 4.

The images all appear very straight in real life. Also, There is no edge blurring for me. It was perfectly clear edge to edge.

The contrast, black levels and color are all amazing.
blizaine is offline  
post #11 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:48 AM
Member
 
JimBob1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by alamone View Post

Subjectively, input lag seems to be about 3 frames, so may not be suitable for shooting and fighting games. Looking forward to trying it with Child of Eden.

Can you clarify that please? How many frames per second were being displayed and therefore what was the real lag? If a game was running at 60 fps then 3 frames isn't that much of a big deal, but an altogether bigger deal if it was 30fps.
JimBob1971 is offline  
post #12 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:49 AM
Member
 
EastyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome mate.. Thanks for the pics.. I cannot wait to play.
EastyUK is offline  
post #13 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:49 AM
Member
 
JimBob1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

all pics and screen captures where taken with an iPhone 4.

The images all appear very straight in real life. Also, There is no edge blurring for me. It was perfectly clear edge to edge.

The contrast, black levels and color are all amazing.

Cool. Nice to see the blurry edges I saw were only a prototype/setup problem.
JimBob1971 is offline  
post #14 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:50 AM
Member
 
HIMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can't wait to see more. Thanks for posting. This is awesome!
HIMS is offline  
post #15 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

all pics and screen captures where taken with an iPhone 4.

The images all appear very straight in real life. Also, There is no edge blurring for me. It was perfectly clear edge to edge.

The contrast, black levels and color are all amazing.

Great pictures! Thanks blizaine. Mine should be here any time now.
Paul H is offline  
post #16 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:51 AM
Newbie
 
Sephirenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it come with light blockers, or is that something we need to create ourselves?
Sephirenn is offline  
post #17 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Korihor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just waiting on the FedEx guy. Should be here any moment. Going to give Shadow of the Colossus 3d a whirl first thing!

"I've come to believe that we are living in a great VOID!"
Korihor is offline  
post #18 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:57 AM
Member
 
JimBob1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephirenn View Post

Does it come with light blockers, or is that something we need to create ourselves?

It comes with them. Check out the side of the box.
JimBob1971 is offline  
post #19 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Samckaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephirenn View Post

Does it come with light blockers, or is that something we need to create ourselves?

Look in the box pic you'll see it's included
Samckaz is offline  
post #20 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blizaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've only played with it for a few minutes but I have to say that I'm blown away. I picture quality is very good. I initially hooked it up to my Macbook Pro (2011) and desktop was crystal clear. It went to 720p by default and even after switching it to 1080p all the text and icons where legible, surprisingly.


Some notes:
- Without the light blockers installed you definitely loose some of the immersiveness. (they come with it, but are detachable)
- So far the 3D is nice, but like others have said, not a ton of "pop". I've yet to play with ANY of the settings other than turn 3D SBS mode on.
- The screen seems more like the 150" reference than the 750" reference, to me. But I need more time with it to be sure. It still feels very big.
- If you really try, you can probably make out some pixel structure, but it is by NO mean distracting or even noticeable, unless you are trying to find it.
- The quality of the image is amazing. You feel like you are looking at a really high end display.


I'm actually at work so I'll post more info tonight. I've got Uncharted 3, the new Batman game, and a couple 3D movies waiting on me.

Can't wait to hear from the rest of you!
blizaine is offline  
post #21 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:01 AM
Member
 
alamone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimBob1971 View Post

Can you clarify that please? How many frames per second were being displayed and therefore what was the real lag? If a game was running at 60 fps then 3 frames isn't that much of a big deal, but an altogether bigger deal if it was 30fps.

That was just the reviewer's subjective opinion on how the lag felt (about 2-3 frames). I'm assuming that it's based on a 60 FPS input, since they did most of their testing on console (PS3/X360). A more rigorous test of input lag hasn't been conducted, as far as I know. Also, I'm curious as to whether having the input at 720P or 1080P would affect the input lag at all.
alamone is offline  
post #22 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chronoptimist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

- So far the 3D is nice, but like others have said, not a ton of "pop". I've yet to play with ANY of the settings other than turn 3D SBS mode on.

Depth/pop is controlled by the source material, it's not up to the display. (though faults like crosstalk can reduce it)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

- The screen seems more like the 150" reference than the 750" reference, to me. But I need more time with it to be sure. It still feels very big.

It is 750" but there is no difference in size between a 750" at 65ft (which this is) or a 150" screen at 12ft.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

- The quality of the image is amazing. You feel like you are looking at a really high end display.

Glad to hear it. What is the black level like?
Chronoptimist is offline  
post #23 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:13 AM
Member
 
eqzitara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got mine... Seems great for gaming/3d movies. HOWEVER I guess I was jumping gun and was planning on getting rid of monitor. It doesnt handle being used as a replacement of a computer monitor(small text, etc). To people who plan to get this is as a replacement of monitor. You will not be able to.
eqzitara is offline  
post #24 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Paul33993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimBob1971 View Post

Can you clarify that please? How many frames per second were being displayed and therefore what was the real lag? If a game was running at 60 fps then 3 frames isn't that much of a big deal, but an altogether bigger deal if it was 30fps.

3 frames at 60fps (.05). 3 frames at 30fps would have been listed as (.1).
Paul33993 is offline  
post #25 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by eqzitara View Post

Just got mine... Seems great for gaming/3d movies. HOWEVER I guess I was jumping gun and was planning on getting rid of monitor. It doesnt handle being used as a replacement of a computer monitor(small text, etc). To people who plan to get this is as a replacement of monitor. You will not be able to.

The two different descriptions don't jive.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizaine View Post

I've only played with it for a few minutes but I have to say that I'm blown away. I picture quality is very good. I initially hooked it up to my Macbook Pro (2011) and desktop was crystal clear. It went to 720p by default and even after switching it to 1080p all the text and icons where legible, surprisingly.

Paul H is offline  
post #26 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blizaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronoptimist View Post

Glad to hear it. What is the black level like?

Based on when I turned the unit on and it shows the blue text on the black screen, the blacks look about as black as you could get. It looked to me like there was no illumination from the panels in the black areas. I'm guessing that if I was in a completely dark room and let my eyes adjust for awhile, I may notice some level of deep dark 'gray' but to me, it seems like the black areas are actually black.

I'm kind of a black-level snob, and it is about the best I've seen.

I haven't ran any sort of calibration disc yet.
blizaine is offline  
post #27 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:23 AM
Member
 
EastyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul33993 View Post

3 frames at 60fps (.05). 3 frames at 30fps would have been listed as (.1).

Blink of an eye. I wonder how this was measured.

I dont think the immersion will work as well in the super fast paced FPS as as it will work games that are a little slower. I know with head tracking I struggled to use it with the fast games.. but love using it with ARMA.
EastyUK is offline  
post #28 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Midnight Tboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, glad people are finally starting to get their hands on this beaut.

Can I ask a few questions please.

1) Can it be set to pass through to the TV at the same time as being turned on? I think the answer to that is no, so likely have to get a splitter.

2) How long is the cable that goes from the control unit to the headset? I'd need a good 5+ metres at the least

3) If one was to buy 2 of these, is there anyway for them to show the same picture? I'm guessing only way may be with a seperate hdmi splitter, though would be better if they could somehow share the processing unit without having to add extra components like splitters to the equation.
Midnight Tboy is offline  
post #29 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:36 AM
Newbie
 
Sephirenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I yes, I ignored the box pictures and just went straight to the pics of the actual screen. Sorry for my superfulous light blockers question!

Glad to hear it is amazing! Can't wait to get home from my business trip to try it out. It's waiting for me at home!
Sephirenn is offline  
post #30 of 3382 Old 11-09-2011, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blizaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post

The two different descriptions don't jive.

I'm not sure why eqzitara would feel that it couldn't be used as a PC monitor. It is perfectly usable to me. This is really hard to capture, but here is a screen shot of my desktop. This is 1080p btw. So the HMZ is down sampling it to 720p.

Also, it is SOO much clearer in real life. The lines and 'moire effect' are only seen on camera.

This at least gives you an idea of text size for 1080p. Native 720p would show larger text.

blizaine is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
3d Hdtv

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off