3d from PC to passive display - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 06-18-2012, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I just started playing Diablo 3 and thought that the game might look pretty good in 3d. I have seen posts about using iz3d or tridef drivers for passive displays. But what I want to know is if 2d to 3d conversion is just as good as these drivers/programs. I know nvidia has their 3dplay drivers for passive sets but they don't have a trial version. In the end aren't these drivers just doing a conversion within the pc just the same as the television is going to do?

FWIW I have an LG lw5600 passive set and an nvidia 8800 card (I know its on the low end for 3d, but since Diablo 3 isn't a resource hog, I figure I can try it out).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 06-18-2012, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Just like movies, 2D conversion isn't as good as native 3D. Whenever you run one of the "native" programs, like 3D Vision, TriDef, or IZ3D, it's actually rendering the game in "true" 3D.

That said, there are ways of getting passive monitors to work with NVidia's 3D Vision. I'm doing it myself, but it does require a video card that can support 3D Vision, and that didn't start until the 460, I think.

I'm not sure what you're referring to as "3D Play"... 3D Vision is built directly into the video drivers, and is completely free, so there's no such thing as a "trial" with that. I think what you're referring to is 3D TV Play, which is for video content, not games, so it wouldn't do you any good for Diablo anyway.

Bear in mind that Diablo isn't optimized for 3D yet. I know it's got some issues with 3D Vision, I have no idea about the other two packages, I see no reason to use them when my card has the functionality built right into it.

Welcome to Rivendell, Mister Anderson.
post #3 of 13 Old 06-18-2012, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter

Quote: