Sony HMZ-T2 Personal 3D Viewer HMD Dedicated Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1138 Old 11-05-2012, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Mickice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsmith808 View Post

If you are having trouble driving your headphones you can get a small headphone amplifier.
The SONY headphones I own are easy to drive, MDR-V55. I do also have a Fiio E7 coming in the mail so yeah smile.gif

First off, let me say after 20ish minutes of fitting I get pure edge to edge sharpness, very easy to achieve with glasses too!
This is without pads and instead of the rubber light shield for the bottom I put some black undies (clean ones) on my head smile.gif

Can't say how it looks with a 360, but on PS3 its simply breath taking and the 3D oh man so many 3D games!!!!

My experience has left me shaking!
Mickice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1138 Old 11-05-2012, 07:04 PM
Member
 
Doug Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
DG25,
I really didn't get a chance to properly test the T2's virtual surround sound before changing over to the Pioneer Amp.

The T1 surround sound to me, with my slightly less than perfectly balanced hearing, was merely functional with good bass, an average mid range plus a disappointing treble. (most likely the supplied phones)
I'll give the T2 surround another test later.
Sorry I can't be of more help at this time.

The Sennheiser phones I'm using at the moment are probably over 20 years old, so the model number (HD-414) I doubt is relevant anymore.
I will be up-dating and up-grading them as soon as possible.


I've been looking over the last week, but there are just so many brands and models out there that finding a suitable pair is proving a rather daunting task.
My budget spend will probably be around $200 - $300.
I want the T2 to recreate the full cinema experience, so suitable hi-quality (possibly noise cancelling) phones are a must.

Any suggestions?

Doug.
Doug Bull is offline  
post #273 of 1138 Old 11-05-2012, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Mickice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I feel bad for the guy that returned his within the hour, I really do.

As for headphones try the MDR-V55 for music / bass and the ZX700 for classical and vocal tones. I own both, they sit nicely over the T2.
Mickice is offline  
post #274 of 1138 Old 11-05-2012, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
johnsmith808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
About Doom bfg edition, does it do true "real" 3d or the reprojection method like Crysis 2 and Arkham City?
johnsmith808 is offline  
post #275 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 05:31 AM
Newbie
 
b0dhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys. This is my first post on avsforum and I wanted to share my experience with the T2.

I held off on buying the T1 because I couldn't get it to focus when I tried it on in the store. This time, people were saying that whereas the T1 wasn't focussing for them, the T2 was, so I went to try the T2 last week. Using only the lens adjustment screen, I could get a pretty good focus. The salesman hadn't set up any sources so I couldn't test it with any source material, but I figured it was focussing good on the lens adjustment screen, so I bought it.

Fast forward a few hours - I'm at home and have spent about 3 hours trying to get the sides to focus. I tried every possible adjustment and position. Even after removing the forehead pad (it's attached with double-sided tape and can be removed and replaced without damaging it), I still was unable to get the sides to focus. My forehead and the bridge of my nose were literally hitting the plastic surrounding the lenses and couldn't go forward any further - there's no possibility of getting my eyes close enough to the lenses to get good focus, even without the forehead pad.

My suggestion is that if you have a facial structure similar to mine (deep-set eyes and a high-set nose) you should check the focus carefully at the store. Note that the lens adjustment screen doesn't have any text on the sides of the image, so you can't tell focus based on that alone!

I returned it the next day.


Having said that, I also want to comment on other aspects of the T2: -

Latency: I found that latency was pretty high unless the panel was in "Clear" mode AND the Picture Mode was "Game". Doing this, the latency was low enough for fast-paced gaming. I also had all image processing options disabled.

Image quality: Amazing. I was very, very pissed off at having to return it because the picture quality was so good. The black levels are inky black. The contrast is incredible. The colours aren't that accurate (blues had a purple tint on my unit in all picture modes) but still have a very vivid and impressive rendering.

Screen door: If you look hard you can spot it but it's not at all intrusive. From my memory of the T1, the T2 has less screen-door effect. Pixel fill ratio seemed roughly the same as my DLP projector.

24fps: Even with the T2 running in "23" or "24" Hz mode via PC (and with film mode enabled on the T2), there was still jittery motion on 24fps films. I couldn't find any way around this. However, I only tested this in 23/24hz mode, so it may be possible that it works properly in another display mode (there was 60hz and some others I can't remember too).


Hope this helps someone.
b0dhi is offline  
post #276 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Mickice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have glasses and can find the sweet spot easily, it does have to be smooshed real close.
Right now my only issue is comfort, even adding a hankerchief doesn't disperse the pressure of that tiny pad enough.

Sucks you returned it, ill be keeping and loving mine for PS3 gaming.

Now to enhance the pad or get some straps from Blazin. Decisions.
Mickice is offline  
post #277 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 07:25 AM
Member
 
DG25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Interesting that the forehead pad is glued and can be removed, that's new info for me. Maybe you can replace it with a larger one, to distribute the weight more evenly.
DG25 is offline  
post #278 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Mickice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What you need is like a vizor pad to go from your left temple to your right.
As for the pads ability to be removed? looks to me like you'll break it and it wont go back.
Mickice is offline  
post #279 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnsmith808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
It seems to me that former T1 owners are loving the T2 because they already know what it takes to get it to work. First time hmz owners (not just those that tried it) really need several days to custom fit it, even requiring modding. This is a long term relationship, not a one night stand.eek.gif
johnsmith808 is offline  
post #280 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnsmith808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
If the pads are anything like the t1, they peel right off. I am not saying they are the same since I don't have a t2.
johnsmith808 is offline  
post #281 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I use my cushion pads and fits and works great.

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #282 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Just to adjust the straps right for ur head and its a gem smile.gif Playing halo 4 on it atm what a game
vaktmestern is online now  
post #283 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Playing shooters and simulations is amazing. And games in 3D are so cool

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #284 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I was able to get one more HMZ-T2, it's on my site forsale with extras. Already have sold and shipped 2, using EMS shipping for a faster shipping method and insurance.

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #285 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Mickice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So far: edge to edge sharpness and no pixel grid (trust me i went searching).
We can all agree the T2 is a significant improvement? and at the moment the best method of watching and playing 3D content.
Mickice is offline  
post #286 of 1138 Old 11-06-2012, 11:01 PM
Member
 
kixpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsmith808 View Post

About Doom bfg edition, does it do true "real" 3d or the reprojection method like Crysis 2 and Arkham City?

by default game looks very flat, you need to tweak config files in order to get best experience.
kixpress is offline  
post #287 of 1138 Old 11-07-2012, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Mickice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok I need help.

Comfort -10 / 10
Image 20 / 10

I can't help the thing touching my nose, but thats mostly my smooshed in glasses. As for the top pad I've learned to find the sweet spot then just release each strap 1 notch but man there is still so much pressure.

Anyone got some quick house hold comfort tips to try?

I love the image quality to much to give up on this, it even makes ugly people look beautiful on screen. lol.
Mickice is offline  
post #288 of 1138 Old 11-07-2012, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnsmith808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by kixpress View Post

by default game looks very flat, you need to tweak config files in order to get best experience.

You are taking about the pc version? I only have consoles.
johnsmith808 is offline  
post #289 of 1138 Old 11-07-2012, 10:23 AM
Member
 
DG25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickice View Post

Anyone got some quick house hold comfort tips to try?
.
You could try something like this: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1371946/sony-hmz-t1-hmd-owners-dedicated-thread/2820#post_22120110
DG25 is offline  
post #290 of 1138 Old 11-07-2012, 10:26 AM
Member
 
kixpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsmith808 View Post

You are taking about the pc version? I only have consoles.
yes, pc only.
kixpress is offline  
post #291 of 1138 Old 11-07-2012, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Mickice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG25 View Post

You could try something like this: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1371946/sony-hmz-t1-hmd-owners-dedicated-thread/2820#post_22120110

Right after that post I tried using a big ol' sponge xD, the t2 forhead pad is wider so this covers one issue rather well.
Now to improve the nose.

So far its Sponge > HMZ-T2 > MDR-ZX700 headphones > Underpants (Instead of the bottom light blocker)
Mickice is offline  
post #292 of 1138 Old 11-07-2012, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
squall12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
for ps3 version of doom bfg u need to set lower offset view in order to get rid of double image and once u adjusted perfectly the 3d effect is good (Not best) and the deep it provide really give a new look on the doom 3 which i previous did not see it on old version also prepare to be scare by creature from doom 3 that always lurk inside the shadow that give u a good scare.

Remarks: I don't own Crysis 2 and Arkham City but to me the 3d is very good not best if it were not for the graphic limitation of ps3 that make the game look blurry when u turn around left or right very fast (If u turn around using normal speed no blurry issue).
squall12 is offline  
post #293 of 1138 Old 11-08-2012, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Was looking at a 80" sharp led tv 2 day and was going hmm? this is prob rougly the picture in inces i get with the T2 cool.gif

With 1080p and a bd (battle ship) running i did see the pixles on that tv biggrin.gif and they was muuuch bigger than on the T2 eek.gif
vaktmestern is online now  
post #294 of 1138 Old 11-08-2012, 08:38 AM
Member
 
Mickice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@ Vak, do you have a PS3? Because in the HDMI settings for 3D it asks for a screen size in inches and have no idea what to select, 10" - 110"+

Update on comfort:
Looks like I happily won't be needing any support pads!!!
Who knew a $1 big old dish washing sponge about 2cm thick could be so wonderful. It eases the pressue caused by the standard pad completely.
The back straps I have no problem with, provided its clicked in tight enough it only ads only a small amount of weight on the nose.

Just finished watching Shrek 2 3D, I get the feeling that most scenes were not 3D-esq then other scenes had this amazing layered depth. Some of the best 3D were the fairy god mothers wand.

Still nothing tops SuperStardust HD! When you see those asteroids land right on top of your ship its so good!

Worlds best 3D / Cinema experience. Haters gonna hate.
Mickice is offline  
post #295 of 1138 Old 11-08-2012, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
nikonf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall12 View Post

Remarks: I don't own Crysis 2 and Arkham City but to me the 3d is very good not best if it were not for the graphic limitation of ps3 that make the game look blurry when u turn around left or right very fast (If u turn around using normal speed no blurry issue).

R u sure thats not "motion blur" which is part of the game's effects ?

I know the PC version of Crysis 2 had this and it could be turned off from the Graphics menu.
nikonf5 is offline  
post #296 of 1138 Old 11-08-2012, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
nikonf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickice View Post

Now to improve the nose.

Try a couple of band-aids on the T2 nose-bridge edges, one on top of the other, with the actual wound-covering thick part covering the part of the nose piece thats pressing down on your nose and do it on both sides.

Yes, I know, a band-aid solution, but hey.......tongue.gif

I used to get vicious hammer-bite [drew blood] while firing a SIG P210-5 and all I used was a cheap band-aid on the web of the hand between thumb and forefinger to cure it.
nikonf5 is offline  
post #297 of 1138 Old 11-08-2012, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnsmith808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall12 View Post

for ps3 version of doom bfg u need to set lower offset view in order to get rid of double image and once u adjusted perfectly the 3d effect is good (Not best) and the deep it provide really give a new look on the doom 3 which i previous did not see it on old version also prepare to be scare by creature from doom 3 that always lurk inside the shadow that give u a good scare.
Remarks: I don't own Crysis 2 and Arkham City but to me the 3d is very good not best if it were not for the graphic limitation of ps3 that make the game look blurry when u turn around left or right very fast (If u turn around using normal speed no blurry issue).

Thanks. I will give this game a try. Never played Doom 3 before.
johnsmith808 is offline  
post #298 of 1138 Old 11-08-2012, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
squall12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
prepare to be scare a lot on doom 3 bfg which rarely do games give me this kind gameplay...love it so far.
squall12 is offline  
post #299 of 1138 Old 11-08-2012, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
squall12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
also u need to turn down the ingame brightness setting as the default setting for the brightness in the games is too bright for the sony hmz viewer.
squall12 is offline  
post #300 of 1138 Old 11-08-2012, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
johnsmith808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Sounds fun! These dark scary games were made for the hmz!
johnsmith808 is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
Sony , 3d Hdtv

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off