Sony HMZ-T2 Personal 3D Viewer HMD Dedicated Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1138 Old 08-13-2013, 06:37 AM
Newbie
 
joya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I owned the hmzt1 for six months and boy i hated it.
Can't get a good view blurry edges and the weight whas a big problem. So i sold it and heared about the t2. So take a change again and boy i whas glad that i did't. The weight is for me now acceptabel and in a half an hour a blurry free screen. For me the foreheadpad did't the trick. I put it a little to the front and that's it. Boy i'am glad that i bought this t2. Sorry for my bad english. I hope you understand.
mishari84 likes this.
joya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1138 Old 08-13-2013, 10:38 AM
Member
 
tomzah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok Kilrah on the laptop workaround. Comments on the fov are great and hopefully the resolution will improve with less stuff in the chain. I just got a sony 600 line HAD board camera from Security 2000 that has gotten a lot of good reviews to try. I also picked up a HDMI sender fron Ebay LINK to play with. Theres a Ebay fellow selling a 5 watt 5.8ghz amplifier brick that might make it useable. LINK
I'll let you know what I find when my H2 gets here..
Thanks
tomzah is offline  
post #1083 of 1138 Old 08-16-2013, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Kilrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm afraid you wasted some money there...
That amplifier chip you bought is "just a bare chip", i.e. not useable without designing a whole circuit around it.

Those HDMI transmitters are known not to be useable. Fist thing is they use 4 independent transmitters in parallel, so you would need 4 amplifiers.
And even then, there is a return uplink from the "receiver" to the "transmitter" (a 5th radio), which if separated by too much distance will not answer in time anymore breaking the link, regarless of power.
Kilrah is offline  
post #1084 of 1138 Old 08-16-2013, 08:11 PM
Member
 
tomzah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Kilrah. I did not buy the amplifier brick yet. I know I need a power supply sequencer and some feedthroughs for it but it looked do-able. Do you do any RF work? Years ago I was active in Ham TV (*ATV) 0n 439 and 1200mhz. I built up several brick amps for both bands then.

I got the video sender in the mail today. The picture looks real good through it. I tried to search out info on the sender before buying via google but came up empty. Can you reference me a website or thread that discussed that sender. I would love to read about it still..

My T2 goggles never arrived. The seller claims she shipped it to the wrong address. I'm not sure if Im getting scammed but I know Ebay will take care of me.. It is causing a bit of a delay in aquiring the Sony T2..

BTW... Have you heard of any HD transmitters out there that might work??
thanks.again...
tomzah is offline  
post #1085 of 1138 Old 08-17-2013, 12:32 AM
Member
 
Kilrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There have been quite a few discussions about using those WHDI transmitters for FPV a couple of years ago when they started appearing on the market. I tinkered with one myself but without going anywhere. A little search reveals things like this:

http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?6629-Low-latency-3D-HD-Wireless-Transmitter-for-FPV

which is a typical discussion on the matter.

HD for FPV is difficult. We've been hoping for a solution for several years now, with quite a few people who started working on promising things, but they all ended up giving up.

HD transmitters with suitable sizes and weights for FPV only started appearing in the broadcast industry about 2 years ago, but latency is still a bit too high for anything but "contemplative" flying (in the range of 100-200ms, I have the chance of having access to one through my job), and... for now a transmitter/receiver set costs approx. $25'000.

I'd expect we need another 2-4 years before it becomes possible and affordable.
Kilrah is offline  
post #1086 of 1138 Old 08-19-2013, 05:31 PM
Member
 
tomzah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kilrah, I did get my H2 Display finally. Very happy with the pictures diplayed. And the Gefen Composite to hdmi converter works fine. The H2 accepts the video. Ran my Sony 600tvl through the Boscam 5.8 and everyting looks good. If only it was HD!
tomzah is offline  
post #1087 of 1138 Old 08-20-2013, 03:21 AM
Member
 
Kilrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Cool, good news!

Not much new here, my BEC isn't there yet, the HDMI converter either (seems it's only shipped today from China frown.gif ), so I've only been using the T2 for some movie watching for now...
Kilrah is offline  
post #1088 of 1138 Old 08-24-2013, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Only days tho we know if there will be a t3 cool.gif
vaktmestern is offline  
post #1089 of 1138 Old 08-25-2013, 10:33 PM
Newbie
 
archilleselbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"These 2:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mini-Composite-RCA-CVBS-AV-to-HDMI-Converter-Adapter-Upscaler-For-VCR-DVD-720P-/350839941630?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item51afb0a9fe

http://www.ebay.com/itm/AV-Audio-Video-Composite-Upscan-to-1080P-HD-HDMI-Converter-Adapter-PAL-NTSC-/251181574150?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item3a7b96a806

(probably not the actual listings, but identical looking ones)

They are both switchable between 720p and 1080p, and with both the T1 does the same ("no signal" in one mode, " unsupported signal" in the other, no idea which leads to which though)"


hi...
im trying to convert a T1 to fpv goggles...
its good to hear that a simple bec can solve the power problems smile.gif what sorta running time can i get on a 2200mah?

Kilrah u mention the above to upscalers dont work on the T2.. do u guys know if they will work on the T1 ?
thanks!
archilleselbow is offline  
post #1090 of 1138 Old 08-25-2013, 11:16 PM
Member
 
tomzah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think they will work on either t1 or t2. Search for this item 161083890676 on Flea bay It works (I got one). Its a fair deal. I am using a 10 amp castle creation programmable bec set to 5.6vdc and it works very well. I added a spst switch to the back panel and I use it to switch from 110vac or 12vdc from a lipo. I left the original ac supply installed. The t1/t2 draws about 15 watts so a 2200 lipo should run it for 3+ hours (Ithink).

On another note... Since I wear prescription glasses I bought some fatshark corrective lens. Although a bit too small (1-2mm) they work well enough to use. They sure are more comfy than wearing my glasses inside the t1/t2..
tomzah is offline  
post #1091 of 1138 Old 08-26-2013, 03:08 AM
Newbie
 
archilleselbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's expensive !!frown.gif
archilleselbow is offline  
post #1092 of 1138 Old 08-26-2013, 07:30 AM
Newbie
 
archilleselbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So u can get hdmi to VGA adapters pretty cheap.. And a DIY VGA to RCA cable can be made.. Anyone try this yet?
archilleselbow is offline  
post #1093 of 1138 Old 08-26-2013, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Kilrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No, as I wrote the converters were first tested on the T1 and weren't working. I was hoping they would work with the T2, but no.

Regarding your last post: the input of the T1/T2 is HDMI, so you need a "whatever you want TO HDMI" converter to use your stuff with the HMD.
We need to connect a composite source to an HDMI display. An HDMI to VGA converter is meant to connect an HDMI source to a VGA display.

Still no progress, not received neither the BEC nor the converter after 2 weeks. Hopefully they get there by the end of the week :\
Kilrah is offline  
post #1094 of 1138 Old 08-29-2013, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Kilrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My friend received his (2nd link). It does work with the T2, and gives pretty good image quality (better than the PC), albeit with probably a little more lag.
Unfortunately my friend got a dud, which apparently has a bad contact inside and tapping it a bit will make the picture switch to just some digital "broken picture" noise instead of the incoming picture.

So technically it works, but that particular unit is defective. Looking inside at least some pins of an LQFP chip seem to be badly soldered. I'm unfortuately not equipped to rework something this fine, so he'll probably try to moan and get it replaced.

Mine should be there tomorrow.
Kilrah is offline  
post #1095 of 1138 Old 08-29-2013, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
We are all caught up on Comfort 3 cushion pads and orders. No waiting time now!

www.blazin3D.com

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #1096 of 1138 Old 08-30-2013, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
Richhard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/141045640777?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1558.l2649

Selling my HMZ-T2's , Never used, boxed, with AC Adaptor for UK Power Outlet. £580.00 on EBay. A Huge Saving as I foolishly bought them from Bravo for over a grand.

Cheers,

Richard
Richhard1 is offline  
post #1097 of 1138 Old 09-03-2013, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Sony T3 due in november.....cool.gif

wireless headset unit.... 3hdmi ... black colour still 720p

http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/03/sony-new-hmz-t3-head-mounted-display-wireless-hands-on/
vaktmestern is offline  
post #1098 of 1138 Old 09-04-2013, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
ekendahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

"Bigger viewing sweet spot", what seems to be better padding + "semi-wireless" = I wana have! Also nice with the extra hdmi ports and battery. Any ideas how to convince the wife of the necessity of this unit if you already own a t2… Hm… Let’s see, I wonder if I could paint it white….?
ekendahl is offline  
post #1099 of 1138 Old 09-04-2013, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I am very excited about this, comes out here in Japan this October and forsure we will sell them on our site and possibly make some pads if needed.
Once I get one I'll give a review about it for everyone also.


Something else interesting is Sony kinda announced a VR headset for the PS4 coming out later next year. It will be almost like the Rift.

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #1100 of 1138 Old 09-04-2013, 02:32 PM
Member
 
DG25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Time to sell my HMZ-T2, lol.
DG25 is offline  
post #1101 of 1138 Old 09-04-2013, 04:41 PM
Newbie
 
joya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wireless haha a batterylife of 3 hours come on.
Bigger viewing spot the t2 is for me fine.
joya is offline  
post #1102 of 1138 Old 09-05-2013, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
nikonf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I stayed away from buying the T2 because it never made it to the US which, to me, only meant that Sony had something in the pipe they wanted to introduce with the PS4, which, btw, is NOT the T3.
http://www.techradar.com/us/news/portable-devices/ps4-oculus-rift-rival-in-the-works-as-sony-announces-head-mounted-display-1177670

As far as the T3, you might want to go to the T3 speculation thread and check the engadget link which has better pictures and reports an MSRP double that of the T2 just as the above link does.

There will also be a wired version available [hopefully much cheaper] and the rear top strap is now hinged so you can raise it as much as you want for better support and the nose gap seems to be bigger too.

Of course, if the selling price is double that of the T2, it might be better to just get a T2 when they become cheaper.
nikonf5 is offline  
post #1103 of 1138 Old 09-05-2013, 10:43 AM
Member
 
tomzah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilrah View Post

Cool, good news!

Not much new here, my BEC isn't there yet, the HDMI converter either (seems it's only shipped today from China frown.gif ), so I've only been using the T2 for some movie watching for now...

I finally got my FPV (first person view) airplane up using the T2 . The system works very good with no noticable lag. The silicon sun screens work well. I found RTV / silicone sealant glued the sun shades to the frame pretty good.
I have watched a bunch of HD movies in 3d and the resolution is outstanding. It really spoils you when then you have to view standard definition through them...
So far I am very happy with my T2 purchase. They work well for me.
tomzah is offline  
post #1104 of 1138 Old 09-05-2013, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
The HMZ-T3 will be quite expensive, possibly over $2,000

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #1105 of 1138 Old 09-05-2013, 02:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravia3D View Post

The HMZ-T3 will be quite expensive, possibly over $2,000
If the HMZ-T3 is "possibly over $2,000" can you imagine what the comfort-friendly HMM-3000MT surgeons headset would set you back?eek.gif

Source
Paul H is offline  
post #1106 of 1138 Old 09-07-2013, 04:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I hope there's no more "goggle halo" effect in the new T3.
Skylinestar is offline  
post #1107 of 1138 Old 09-09-2013, 04:33 AM
Newbie
 
archilleselbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomzah View Post

I finally got my FPV (first person view) airplane up using the T2 . The system works very good with no noticable lag. The silicon sun screens work well. I found RTV / silicone sealant glued the sun shades to the frame pretty good.
I have watched a bunch of HD movies in 3d and the resolution is outstanding. It really spoils you when then you have to view standard definition through them...
So far I am very happy with my T2 purchase. They work well for me.

how do they compare with fatshark predators -(if u have tried them)?
archilleselbow is offline  
post #1108 of 1138 Old 09-09-2013, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
engadget claimed they would be $2,000 possibly. However, Japan price is only about $815

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #1109 of 1138 Old 09-10-2013, 12:09 AM
Newbie
 
ekendahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The unit is available for pre-order at sony.se for 11 499,00 SEK = 1 788 USD.
ekendahl is offline  
post #1110 of 1138 Old 09-11-2013, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Unshure if i will jump in again .. curved 2D cinema mode is tempting
vaktmestern is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
Sony , 3d Hdtv

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off