Can't get 3D blu-rays to play on LM72 and Playstation - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-26-2013, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheUnready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I'm having a problem with 3d blu-rays -

3D seems to work on the tv pretty well when watching downloaded stuff. But I can't get any 3D blu-rays to play from my ps3. When I try to play a 3d disk, I always get a message saying you need a 3d disk, a 3d display and a 3d player - your 3d player does not detect a 3d ready device connected to it. And playback exits. I've tried with multiple ps3s (all with latest firmware) ranging from the earliest to latest models. I have tried multiple hdmi cables all of which are ethernet capable 10.2 Gb - several specifically claim 3d compatibility. I have tried hdmi inputs 1 and 2 on the tv, guess I could try more - but I sort of figured this would be more of a no-brainer. Anyone have any ideas. LG says my ps3's must be setup incorrectly and sony says its the tv. I can work harder with these guys but I was hoping someone would have a quick recommendation here.

Thanks for any help,

Paul
TheUnready is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-27-2013, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Navigationroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUnready View Post

Hello,

I'm having a problem with 3d blu-rays -

3D seems to work on the tv pretty well when watching downloaded stuff. But I can't get any 3D blu-rays to play from my ps3. When I try to play a 3d disk, I always get a message saying you need a 3d disk, a 3d display and a 3d player - your 3d player does not detect a 3d ready device connected to it. And playback exits. I've tried with multiple ps3s (all with latest firmware) ranging from the earliest to latest models. I have tried multiple hdmi cables all of which are ethernet capable 10.2 Gb - several specifically claim 3d compatibility. I have tried hdmi inputs 1 and 2 on the tv, guess I could try more - but I sort of figured this would be more of a no-brainer. Anyone have any ideas. LG says my ps3's must be setup incorrectly and sony says its the tv. I can work harder with these guys but I was hoping someone would have a quick recommendation here.

Thanks for any help,

Paul

I had the exact same problem when I got my LM5850; the TV would not detect the PS3 as a 3D device. I could not solve the problem until I went through the steps outlined in the following linked video. The video is on post #17. I could have directed you to youtube but this way avoids the commercial.

http://community.futuremark.com/forum/showthread.php?167230-PS3-Won-t-work-in-3D-mode-with-my-tv/page2&s=7251b1b21bc16d211ca70dc523c8ecb4

Hope this solves your problem.

Kevin
TheUnready likes this.
Navigationroad is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-01-2013, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheUnready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response - it was exactly what I needed. Although I accidentally figured it out 1 day before your reply, I bet there are a bunch of people with playstations who switched from a high def tv to a 3d high def who run into this. Now, I just have to decide whether 3d means enough to me to upgrade my receiver so I can make the system work with less then 17 remote controls at once... heh. Really though, thanks for your post, it was the exact answer I needed - I just lucked out the night before I read it.

Cheers!

Paul
TheUnready is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 03-02-2013, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Navigationroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Your welcome. I'm just sorry I didn't see your post sooner because I could have save you some time and agro. Glad to hear you solved your problem. The menu system on the PS3 can be so frustrating at times.

With regard to upgrading your receiver, if your happy with it other than not being 3D compatible I would keep it. Just get yourself a Harmony to eliminate all those other remotes.
Navigationroad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
Sony Playstation 3 60 Gb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off