Sony HMZ-T3 Personal 3D Viewer HMD Rumors, Information and Speculation thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > 3D Central > 3D Displays > Sony HMZ-T3 Personal 3D Viewer HMD Rumors, Information and Speculation thread

3D Displays

Jeff Chen's Avatar Jeff Chen
11:04 AM Liked: 10
post #631 of 667
08-13-2014 | Posts: 17
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by connector View Post
Yes, i have replied the issue again answering something like you said. It's incredible that they can't say that Is a hardware limitation ir something.

Here in Europe i have another friend with tve same problem with full rgb range and wifi connection.

I'll continue trying... Write you too if you can...let's see their answer.

I'll report again if they talk about another fix...

Best regards!!!
May I know the way you used to report the issue? Mine never got any attention, so it might be a good idea that i use yours instead.
connector's Avatar connector
11:33 AM Liked: 12
post #632 of 667
08-13-2014 | Posts: 179
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Chen View Post
You are welcome. And I'm going to report this issue to them as well. Hopefully they can sort it out soon!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Chen View Post
I think they are BSing.

1. Wifi is on 2.4GHz and 5GHz. It has nothing to do with the 60GHz band which the T3W is on;
2. It is nearly impossible to have less than 3 Wifi devices on around you nowadays. I myself live in an apartment building, every neighbor has their own hotspot. I don't believe that they tested their product in a shielded environment that shuts out all the Wifi signals in order to come to that conclusion.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Chen View Post
May I know the way you used to report the issue? Mine never got any attention, so it might be a good idea that i use yours instead.
This is for my country support:

http://services.sony.es/support/es/contacts/email

Maybe would be a support URL for your lenguage...

Best regards Jeff, i'll keep you updated.
connector's Avatar connector
02:39 AM Liked: 12
post #633 of 667
08-14-2014 | Posts: 179
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Chen View Post
You are welcome. And I'm going to report this issue to them as well. Hopefully they can sort it out soon!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Chen View Post
I think they are BSing.

1. Wifi is on 2.4GHz and 5GHz. It has nothing to do with the 60GHz band which the T3W is on;
2. It is nearly impossible to have less than 3 Wifi devices on around you nowadays. I myself live in an apartment building, every neighbor has their own hotspot. I don't believe that they tested their product in a shielded environment that shuts out all the Wifi signals in order to come to that conclusion.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Chen View Post
May I know the way you used to report the issue? Mine never got any attention, so it might be a good idea that i use yours instead.
Quote:
Originally Posted by connector View Post
This is for my country support:

http://services.sony.es/support/es/contacts/email

Maybe would be a support URL for your lenguage...

Best regards Jeff, i'll keep you updated.
Hey Chef!, they've said me that they are going to investigate the problem. Do you have found your country support?. I think that this is a little step to fix the problem.
andersos's Avatar andersos
02:35 PM Liked: 13
post #634 of 667
08-24-2014 | Posts: 110
Joined: Jan 2004
So IFA 2014 is near. No leak about a T4?
CARTmen's Avatar CARTmen
03:38 PM Liked: 19
post #635 of 667
08-24-2014 | Posts: 180
Joined: Oct 2013
I was thinking about the same. This time last year we had already a lot of information about HMZ-t3.
Maybe with products like Glyph, with better picture quality, the same FOV and lower price, they are directing their resources to Morpheus, and they don't have a new model of HMZ this year.
andersos's Avatar andersos
03:29 AM Liked: 13
post #636 of 667
08-25-2014 | Posts: 110
Joined: Jan 2004
Yes that's how it could be. I only found a Japanese discussion about a new 0.7" 1080p OLED panel that Sony apparently now have, and they thought it might be used in T4.

And the Glyph - it's already delayed and could easily be a whole year away after some more delays
connector's Avatar connector
05:48 AM Liked: 12
post #637 of 667
08-26-2014 | Posts: 179
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Chen View Post
May I know the way you used to report the issue? Mine never got any attention, so it might be a good idea that i use yours instead.
Hi Jeff Chen,
finally a member from Sony support team have called me after investigate the case with their factory specialists. They've report that the FULL RGB via WIFI HDMI it's not possible due to technical limitations. Only with wired HDMI it's possible to get FULL RGB. The Sony support team have suprised me gratefully with their job making the investigation, testing and calling me to explain the details.

As you said it's a hardware limitation. So now it's clear, you were absolutely right

Best regards and thank you very much for your help!.
Krzysztof_TV
10:42 AM Liked: 1
post #638 of 667
08-29-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2014
Hello all! New to the forum, but long time reader and exciting to join!

I just pulled the trigger on the HMZ-T3W, after watching and researching the HMZs for the past several years. Never needed to register here, because I've been able to find answers to all my questions between every model answered on here. So thanks to everyone whose been posting!

I also recently bought a NeuroSky Mindwave Mobile, a bluetooth brainwave scanner. I'm going to be looking into modifying it so it can be worn in conjunction with the HMZ. I'm thinking this could be an interesting combo for focus/concentration exercises, meditation, and geeking out with the data readouts during movie viewing and gaming. Anyone else tried anything like this?
fatherom's Avatar fatherom
10:54 AM Liked: 32
post #639 of 667
08-31-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Apr 2004
Is this unit pretty much the best personal 3D cinematic viewer out there? I'm considering pulling the trigger...or should I wait? -T4 coming?
Jeff Chen's Avatar Jeff Chen
05:05 PM Liked: 10
post #640 of 667
08-31-2014 | Posts: 17
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by connector View Post
Hi Jeff Chen,
finally a member from Sony support team have called me after investigate the case with their factory specialists. They've report that the FULL RGB via WIFI HDMI it's not possible due to technical limitations. Only with wired HDMI it's possible to get FULL RGB. The Sony support team have suprised me gratefully with their job making the investigation, testing and calling me to explain the details.

As you said it's a hardware limitation. So now it's clear, you were absolutely right

Best regards and thank you very much for your help!.
Thank you very much for sharing the result with me. I didn't get to the conclusion that it was hardware limitation... it was just a guess that wireless has something to do with this problem.

It's a shame that they never mentioned any limitation about the wireless connection in the manual, otherwise I would just put my purchase on hold until this was overcome in future products.
connector's Avatar connector
11:29 AM Liked: 12
post #641 of 667
09-01-2014 | Posts: 179
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Chen View Post
Thank you very much for sharing the result with me. I didn't get to the conclusion that it was hardware limitation... it was just a guess that wireless has something to do with this problem.

It's a shame that they never mentioned any limitation about the wireless connection in the manual, otherwise I would just put my purchase on hold until this was overcome in future products.
Yes, they would have to make any mention in the manual... but i have noticed that the WIFI Connection it's less "powerfull" than the wired (the pixel grid is more noticiable with wifi... maybe placebo...). Anyway, it's a great product.
FalconEPL's Avatar FalconEPL
05:17 AM Liked: 4
post #642 of 667
09-07-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2014
Hi. How would I connect this 3-D Viewer to my Dell Inspiron laptop? It has no HDMI input, only USB inputs. Thanks.
MrJames's Avatar MrJames
08:39 PM Liked: 13
post #643 of 667
09-07-2014 | Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2002
Kind of bummed there was no new 1080p T4 model announced at IFA 2014. With BD and PS4 doing native 1080p content you'd think they would put a new one out unless they are killing them off.
andersos's Avatar andersos
05:26 AM Liked: 13
post #644 of 667
09-08-2014 | Posts: 110
Joined: Jan 2004
I thought that IFA isn't over yet? But yes, I expected T4 to be announced on Friday. So Sony probably put all their HMD efforts into Morpheus then.
ElGreat1's Avatar ElGreat1
10:50 AM Liked: 11
post #645 of 667
09-16-2014 | Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2012
No Sony HMZ-T4 this year since they working on the Project Morpheus. they did put a lot of money into this project so might as well finish it. it's sad to say but i'm selling my Sony HMZ-T3 Japanese Version non Wireless model on Ebay due of Personal Emergency Reason & it force me to Sell my HMZ-T3. I only had it for a week & a few days. http://www.ebay.com/itm/141408769296...84.m1555.l2649 but I do love the HMZ-T3 on PS3, PS4 & some PC Games. some PC games is not good because some need mouse to play the game like Counter Strike GO & TF2.
If your on PS3, put the screen on 46in for great 3D & PC turn 3D all the way up.
jpnn80's Avatar jpnn80
03:22 AM Liked: 10
post #646 of 667
09-17-2014 | Posts: 86
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElGreat1 View Post
No Sony HMZ-T4 this year since they working on the Project Morpheus. they did put a lot of money into this project so might as well finish it. it's sad to say but i'm selling my Sony HMZ-T3 Japanese Version non Wireless model on Ebay due of Personal Emergency Reason & it force me to Sell my HMZ-T3. I only had it for a week & a few days. http://www.ebay.com/itm/141408769296...84.m1555.l2649 but I do love the HMZ-T3 on PS3, PS4 & some PC Games. some PC games is not good because some need mouse to play the game like Counter Strike GO & TF2.
If your on PS3, put the screen on 46in for great 3D & PC turn 3D all the way up.
As Ebay is blocking your item page from being displayed from where I am (see attached screenshot), could you tell me what's the initial price you put on Ebay ? And does it come with an invoice, at which date of purchase, and does Sony offer international warranty ?
Attached: ebay.jpg (98.3 KB) 
FalconEPL's Avatar FalconEPL
08:12 PM Liked: 4
post #648 of 667
09-21-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2014
Hi. What is Project Morpheus? Thanks.
FalconEPL's Avatar FalconEPL
08:15 PM Liked: 4
post #649 of 667
09-21-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2014
Also, can someone please recommend a way to avoid the burden on the nose besides ordering the Customized Pads from Japan? I cannot wait for 2 months. Thanks.
dabotsonline's Avatar dabotsonline
11:45 PM Liked: 37
post #650 of 667
09-21-2014 | Posts: 166
Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by borland View Post

- Not Supported: H.264/MPEG-4 AVC, WMV, MKV
... No iso support for 3BD ISO- max quality!...
I'd say these are fairly significant downsides, too.
andersos's Avatar andersos
12:15 PM Liked: 13
post #651 of 667
09-26-2014 | Posts: 110
Joined: Jan 2004
German, Italian and Spanish Amazon has stopped selling the T3W recently. Only available from third party sellers there now. Is it being discontinued? I know there hasn't been any T4 anouncement at least.
jpnn80's Avatar jpnn80
12:01 PM Liked: 10
post #652 of 667
09-27-2014 | Posts: 86
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersos View Post
German, Italian and Spanish Amazon has stopped selling the T3W recently. Only available from third party sellers there now. Is it being discontinued? I know there hasn't been any T4 anouncement at least.
I think you'll have a better chanc eto get an answer from an officiel PR via Sony facebook or twitter, and I'm also interested in knowing the reason.
ElGreat1's Avatar ElGreat1
10:43 PM Liked: 11
post #653 of 667
09-30-2014 | Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpnn80 View Post
I think you'll have a better chanc eto get an answer from an officiel PR via Sony facebook or twitter, and I'm also interested in knowing the reason.
Amazon always do this so it's not new coming from them. Sony HMZ-T3W in Amazon EU is only can be sold by a 3rd party now since Amazon is aiming at 1st Party now.
ElGreat1's Avatar ElGreat1
11:02 PM Liked: 11
post #654 of 667
09-30-2014 | Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabotsonline View Post
I'd say these are fairly significant downsides, too.
With a program you can fix that. I use PS3 Media Server for that. it transcode in real time your video files. this come in handy because it's a pain in the butt when you have to take out your HMZ T3 then get up, find your disc, put it on your player, put HMZ T3 back on again.


I rip my Blu ray & dvd disc into iso format or shrink them if they become too big then i stream it from my Laptop using PS3 Media Server to any DLNA server using like Xbox 1, PS3 or any DLNA player. not only it save me time but i don't have to get up when a movie is finish, i just move to the next movie.
bravia3D's Avatar bravia3D
10:37 PM Liked: 28
post #655 of 667
10-03-2014 | Posts: 1,191
Joined: Dec 2010
Hey guys, been quite along time since I have posted here.
We had way to many orders for the cushion pads and light blockers and that kept us very busy.
Now, we are pretty caught up and the wait time is only about 2-3 weeks, possibly less. We are sorry to all those customers that had to wait so long!

No news on a T4 model here in Japan, seems Sony is focused on the PS4 Morpheus VR headset.

Blazin 3D
andersos's Avatar andersos
05:01 AM Liked: 13
post #656 of 667
10-16-2014 | Posts: 110
Joined: Jan 2004
Yes. Question is if Morpheus will be same high quality when it comes to Blu-ray viewing. It looks like Morpheus will be
a gaming (Playstation) accessory made from cheaper components rather : http://www.vcpost.com/articles/29323...speculated.htm

So Sony my keep HMZ line for non-gamers.
Robert Clark's Avatar Robert Clark
12:51 PM Liked: 29
post #657 of 667
10-20-2014 | Posts: 4,213
Joined: Jun 2000
So, will the $29 Archos VR and other similar products make our Sony HMZ's unnecessary?

http://www.androidcentral.com/archos...id-smartphones

I would imagine using one with a QHD phone like the LG G3 would make movie viewing quite spectacular...
andersos's Avatar andersos
02:01 PM Liked: 13
post #658 of 667
10-20-2014 | Posts: 110
Joined: Jan 2004
I don't think so. Looking at a phone screen through such cheap optics can't equal HMZ.
FalconEPL's Avatar FalconEPL
10:22 PM Liked: 4
post #659 of 667
10-30-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2014
Hi. I think the Sony HMZ-T3W is perfect for viewing. Just need better comfort while wearing it and that battery pack needs to be in-built or something. Also, the headphones should be incorporated into the headset somehow. Other than that, I don't see how else it could be made better
borland's Avatar borland
09:42 AM Liked: 49
post #660 of 667
10-31-2014 | Posts: 318
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalconEPL View Post
Hi. I think the Sony HMZ-T3W is perfect for viewing. Just need better comfort while wearing it and that battery pack needs to be in-built or something. Also, the headphones should be incorporated into the headset somehow. Other than that, I don't see how else it could be made better
built-in battery pack???? OMG! can you imagine how much weight it it will put on your head? incorporated headphones? you must be joking! I use very expensive Sennheiser HD-650 at home and can change them for closed headphones or in-ear any time I want. If you want all in one - buy HMZ-T1 - dead cheap now. I still have HMZ-T1 if you want...
Tags: Oculus Rift Developers Kit

Reply 3D Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3