Sony HMZ-T3 Personal 3D Viewer HMD Rumors, Information and Speculation thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 836 Old 07-20-2015, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausdavep View Post
The menu positions are the same as the English version. So you'll be right using that, just remember how many clicks down/left/right
Fair enough, thanks for this.
Ace_demo2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 836 Old 07-25-2015, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
Prada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone.


I'm a new owner of the Sony HMZ-T3W. I purchased it in May earlier this year from Japan brand new for $892.23 Australian dollars or $695 US dollars (May 14, 2015), That's what it said in my Paypal transaction. I've owned this head mount display for a few months now. It's great! I want to admit that I only use these to marathon Japanese cartoons (Anime) on my HMZ-T3W. It excels at everything compared to my main IPS computer screen.

One question. Is the lens made of plastic? Um I've seem to have scratched my lens (I think it's made of plastic, I mean the lens is plastic). I scratched the lens on my 2nd day of ownership but it does not bother me and it's unnoticeable because it's right in the very corner of the lens so you can't see it at all. And that's not a negative thing at all. It's just a little micro deep scratch. And it's not polish-able or fixable in my opinion.

It happened using an original brand new Lenspen that people use to clean their DSLR cameras (I don't know if I was being rough with my lenspen or not but I managed to have scratched the lens on the very left bottom corner of my left lens). And I was wondering does anyone else also have scratches on their lenses too? Because I don't think these are serviceable (Unless it blocks your field of view, Then you could opt for warranty I guess). But mine doesn't block my view when watching anything or even browsing on the computer. So do you think it's made of plastic, The lens? Sorry if it's a negative thing or not. I was just wondering if I'm the only one that's mildly bothered (My HMZ-T3W is 100% useable and there's nothing wrong with it except for me nit picking about a tiny scratch that's not visible at all).

I also use sharpness-hi 4 and sharpness-mid 4, 24fps true cinema and vivid color in my settings. But I don't use my 3.5mm audio jack. I use an external audio DAC and headphone amp USB to my Philips SHP9500 headphones.

I purchased my Sony HMZ thanks to reading some of the posts in this thread earlier when I haven't purchased mine yet. So thank you, I'm enjoying mine a lot with movies and cartoons. I do not know if my unit is the Japanese Triluminos display but I really like them even if it's not, It doesn't say on the manual or box if I recall. Thanks for reading my introduction and I hope you'll welcome another HMZ-T3* user to this thread!
Prada is offline  
post #813 of 836 Old 07-25-2015, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
Prada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prada View Post
I also use sharpness-hi 4 and sharpness-mid 4
Actually it is sharpness hi and mid both +2. I did not have my HMZ on my head when I posted my post and I completely forgot that it was not 4. I tried out both hi and mid at +4 and it made the subtitles worse, Like it was sticking out in 3D looking very pixelated and sharp. My apologies if I didn't edit my first post (I just randomly thought out what sharpness I put, It turns out it was both +2).

This is my preferred sharpness settings for watching everything from movies to cartoons (Anime).

This is my full settings.

3D Settings
Auto 3D: On

Display
Picture Mode: Vivid
Picture: 90
Brightness: 50
Color: 60
Color Temperature: Natural
Panel Drive Mode: Normal
Clear Black: +3
Sharpness Hi: +2
Sharpness Mid: +2
Noise Reduction: Medium
Contrast Remaster: Medium
Display Size: 100%
Screen: Normal
24p True Cinema: On
Cinema Conversion: Video
Overscan: Off
Wide Mode: Normal

Sound
I did not use my HMZ-T3W's 3.5mm audio jack. I'm using an external DAC and headphone amp.
This is from Windows 7's Sound>Speaker Properties:
Enhancements tab: Disable all enhancements (Everything is unchecked, And apply)
Advanced tab: 24 bit, 44100 Hz (Studio Quality), (Also I unchecked both Allow external applications to control this device).

My DAC and headphone amp are the Magni 2 Uber and Modi 2 Uber. I don't recommend getting these because it's too transparent (clear) and bright sounding. I'm not knowledgeable with audio but my friends tell me to keep it at 44.1 kHz for my external USB DAC. And by using 24 bit, There's no difference if I did choose 16 bit or 24 bit (But for your HMZ-T3 you must use the highest bit depth to get 32 bit included in the HMZ-T3-P and HMZ-T3W-P Audio DAC Processor box).

Again. Don't change any of these if you intend to still use your HMZ-T3's 3.5mm audio jack. It should be maximum bit (24 bit in Windows 7), 192000 Hz (Studio Quality). (I suggest this because in the HMZ-T3 manual it mentions this "Linear PCM (2-channel): Up to 192 kHz" at the very bottom of the manual but it also says "48 kHz with the battery unit" if you're using wireless). So I would choose 192000 Hz (Studio Quality) in the sample rate and bit depth settings in the Speakers Properties windows in Windows 7.

General Setup
HDMI Dynamic Range: Auto
HDMI Pass Through: Off
Control for HDMI: Off
Power Off When Unmounted: Off
No Signal Standby: On
Menu Display: 3D
Prolonged Viewer Warning: Off
Startup Viewer Warning: Off
Wireless Connection: Off
Wireless Standby: Off

Please note that I'm not knowledgeable on all my settings. But they work for me and I'm happy with the results.
Prada is offline  
post #814 of 836 Old 08-18-2015, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Been busy for ages, but watched Star Trek Into Darkness last night in 3D. Was a very impressive experience. Now just to make the darn thing more comfortable. I wonder if a conversion to a wider elastic strap arrangement could be done.
ausdavep is offline  
post #815 of 836 Old 08-20-2015, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'd recommend 'Mad Max: Fury Road' in 3D to watch on the T3.
koan1011 is offline  
post #816 of 836 Old 08-21-2015, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausdavep View Post
Been busy for ages, but watched Star Trek Into Darkness last night in 3D. Was a very impressive experience. Now just to make the darn thing more comfortable. I wonder if a conversion to a wider elastic strap arrangement could be done.
comfort issue is very subjective. for me adding one wide elastic strap which can be moved closer to my forehead resolved all issues and I can watch 2+ hour 3d movie without any probs. however for my friend it did not work 100% and required slightly different mod.
borland is offline  
post #817 of 836 Old 08-30-2015, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can anyone recommend a 3D game for PC or PS3 that is good for playing in 3D with these viewers?

I did have a Modern Warfare or Black Ops game that had 3D but I have lost the discs.

I've played Battlefield 3 with the viewers but not in 3D, it was a good experience although I kept trying to move my head to look around the field of view.
koan1011 is offline  
post #818 of 836 Old 08-31-2015, 12:08 AM
Member
 
andersos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Södra Vallgrund, Finland
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
andersos is offline  
post #819 of 836 Old 08-31-2015, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersos View Post

Cheers, it was Black Op 2 I had but I have lost the discs so can't check the 3D out with these viewers. I played it on my 3D TV originally.

I was hoping Skyrim would be 3D but sadly it isn't.

I might go for Gran Turismo 5 or 6.

Edit: Have read that GT isn't very good in 3D. too blocky, so will try Black Ops 1 instead.

Last edited by koan1011; 08-31-2015 at 10:58 AM.
koan1011 is offline  
post #820 of 836 Old 09-13-2015, 02:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So was having a little browse around for a lounging chair (to use ideally with the HMZ) and found Le Corbusier Chaise Longue LC4 the same used in the sony HMZ website. Legendry in its comfortability. Definately on the wish list (repro not the original - cant afford/ justify the £4k spend) .



Sony site: http://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/he...oducts/hmz-t3w
Ace_demo2 is offline  
post #821 of 836 Old 09-16-2015, 02:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Found an issue with my headset and attempted to resolve it:

Fogging of the lens -> I used some shampoo conditioner (it works but has its drawbacks - water forms on the coating). I also use a balaclava to keep my hair in check (as it catches on the support bands). Motorcycle riders will tell you also that this can direct hot air to the lens hence fogging them up.

Zeiss has a pair of eye cups for their cinemizer, has anyone tried to use eye cups over the lens?


Or has anyone tried foam inserts that wrap around the HMZ to block out light (and isolate the eyes from the nose/ mouth)?

Another thought is doing away with the headband and the forehead piece. use durable foam moulded to the face and rig a hook (emulating the headbands attachment) loop and wear the HMZ as a ski google.


Last edited by Ace_demo2; 09-16-2015 at 03:00 AM. Reason: More thoughts
Ace_demo2 is offline  
post #822 of 836 Old 09-16-2015, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace_demo2 View Post
Found an issue with my headset and attempted to resolve it:

Fogging of the lens -> I used some shampoo conditioner (it works but has its drawbacks - water forms on the coating). I also use a balaclava to keep my hair in check (as it catches on the support bands). Motorcycle riders will tell you also that this can direct hot air to the lens hence fogging them up.

Zeiss has a pair of eye cups for their cinemizer, has anyone tried to use eye cups over the lens?


Or has anyone tried foam inserts that wrap around the HMZ to block out light (and isolate the eyes from the nose/ mouth)?

Another thought is doing away with the headband and the forehead piece. use durable foam moulded to the face and rig a hook (emulating the headbands attachment) loop and wear the HMZ as a ski google.

I have Cinemizer eye caps - useless for me - too small and I am wearing glasses. I have no probs with lens fogging. Don't use Sony lower light blocker - useless as I am wearing glasses + it's awful to begin with. I use similar stuff Sony Bravia sells on this site.
borland is offline  
post #823 of 836 Old 10-22-2015, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I was just wondering if anyone has created a 3D wireless camera for use with the HM3-T3, so that you can view live 3D video of a friend using the camera?
koan1011 is offline  
post #824 of 836 Old 02-20-2016, 01:23 PM
Member
 
jpnn80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everybody,

The battery of my HMZ-T3W seems to be dead for good since the power icon doesn't light up when I plug the usb charger, and the OLED screens don't light anymore when I push the power button...

As it seems that the legal minimum period of warranty in Japan is only 1 year, I can't rely on it anymore and I wonder if someone could tell me how to replace the battery ?
jpnn80 is offline  
post #825 of 836 Old 02-20-2016, 03:15 PM
Member
 
rayons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpnn80 View Post
Hi everybody,

The battery of my HMZ-T3W seems to be dead for good since the power icon doesn't light up when I plug the usb charger, and the OLED screens don't light anymore when I push the power button...

As it seems that the legal minimum period of warranty in Japan is only 1 year, I can't rely on it anymore and I wonder if someone could tell me how to replace the battery ?
I haven't disassembled the battery pack, but it should be pretty easy, s long as you have a screw driver and a multimeter. It will probably be a 2 cell Li-ion battery ~1Ah.

I disassembled the visor, after it dropped and one of the lens rails broke


Here fixed... the original had a plastic rail hook, I made a metal one, the metal wasn't as think or secure so I also had to fix it in place.

TV: Samsung 55 D8000
AVR: Yamaha RX-V667
HTPC: Custom i5 2500T, Nvidia GTX 550 Ti
Speakers: Paradigm
rayons is offline  
post #826 of 836 Old 02-27-2016, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Re bought a t3 using it with Sonys Surround Head phone system.
Will exsperiment with adding a Darbee when i Get time to set it up.
vaktmestern is online now  
post #827 of 836 Old 02-27-2016, 09:26 PM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The Martian in 3D was awesome. Really the only thing letting it down for me is the 720p panels. Maybe the PlayStation VR will prove to be a movie lovers friend too.
vaktmestern likes this.
ausdavep is offline  
post #828 of 836 Old 03-03-2016, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 330
The low res do affect the joy. PlayStation vr i prob Get aswell but no wireless on that tho n no portable feature so im keeping thr hmz t3 aswell.

My Darbee r.i.p smelled burned trying it again n no picture from it. Need a new
vaktmestern is online now  
post #829 of 836 Old 03-18-2016, 03:10 PM
Member
 
beerninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausdavep View Post
The Martian in 3D was awesome. Really the only thing letting it down for me is the 720p panels. Maybe the PlayStation VR will prove to be a movie lovers friend too.
PSVR only supports SBS 3D so you won't be able to watch 3D blurays with it
beerninja is offline  
post #830 of 836 Old 03-19-2016, 10:59 PM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Bugger. Might hang on to the T3 after all then.
ausdavep is offline  
post #831 of 836 Old 03-20-2016, 01:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerninja View Post
PSVR only supports SBS 3D so you won't be able to watch 3D blurays with it
Because of your statement I quickly purchased the HMZ-T3W (after 2 years of battling) @ $555
avegant is offline  
post #832 of 836 Old 03-20-2016, 07:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaktmestern View Post
The low res do affect the joy. PlayStation vr i prob Get aswell but no wireless on that tho n no portable feature so im keeping thr hmz t3 aswell.

My Darbee r.i.p smelled burned trying it again n no picture from it. Need a new
Nice to see you here Vaktmestern!

I am deciding between Darbee and iScan mini.

Appreciate your input
avegant is offline  
post #833 of 836 Old 03-26-2016, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpnn80 View Post
Hi everybody,

The battery of my HMZ-T3W seems to be dead for good since the power icon doesn't light up when I plug the usb charger, and the OLED screens don't light anymore when I push the power button...

As it seems that the legal minimum period of warranty in Japan is only 1 year, I can't rely on it anymore and I wonder if someone could tell me how to replace the battery ?
Anyone has experience replacing the internal battery of HMZ-T3/W?
avegant is offline  
post #834 of 836 Old 04-17-2016, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausdavep View Post
Bugger. Might hang on to the T3 after all then.
Great choice!
avegant is offline  
post #835 of 836 Old 04-17-2016, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yoshida: PlayStation VR Cinematic Mode Is Great for Immersion, “Not Great If You Want to See Graphical Details”

http://www.playstationlifestyle.net/...hical-details/

Haha ... I am glad that I choose to jump on HMZ-T3W which is still the King of HMDs

Nice job SONY
avegant is offline  
post #836 of 836 Old 04-27-2016, 03:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borneo Island
Posts: 2,429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 884 Post(s)
Liked: 147
How to run 2560x720 (1280x720 per eye) resolution on a Windows PC?
Skylinestar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
Oculus Rift Developers Kit



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off