3D not working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 04:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheCrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So a friend just got a  Technika 42-8533D 3DTV and he has it connected to his PC via hdmi 1.4. We tried to play Finding Nemo 3D with TotalMedia Theatre but it would play in anaglyph 3D. I also found it strange that the TV only had the 3D options Auto, side by side and Top Bottom. We tried messing about with these and it looks even worse. Thanks

 

 

Here are the 3D setting on TMT

 

 

TheCrach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 90
As far as I know, 3D TVs do not have special circuitry to support anaglyph 3D...for such content you only need red/cyan glasses and you would be able to view it on any TV, including non-3D models. So the Technika has the 3D modes it is supposed to have. Is the movie a true 3D Blu-Ray disc, or is it a DVD? If it's a DVD it probably only supports anaglyph 3D.
Rudy1 is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheCrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the reply, It's a proper 3D blu-ray disc http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Finding-Nemo-3D-Blu-ray/38766/.

 

I can make turn anaglyph 3D off by messing about with the 3D in TMT. It shows the same as the 1st pic without the red and blue 3D effect. Another thing why is the disney castle thing at the edge of the screen and half is at the other side, It's even stranger with the 3D glasses on. Is this TV even proper 3D, I thought blu-rays use another type of 3D not side by side.

TheCrach is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 90
This is a passive 3D model which supports the required 3D modes required on all modern 3D TV sets (Side By Side, Top/Bottom, and the Blu-Ray 3D format). The problem may be with the PC software you are trying to use to play the disc. Try using a 3D Blu-Ray player instead...the disc should play back just fine, activating the TV's Auto-3D mode.
Rudy1 is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheCrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I tried it in the Philips BDP3282 player with auto 3D and the image just looks 2D, I put on the glasses and it just looks the same.

TheCrach is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 10-22-2013, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCrach View Post

I tried it in the Philips BDP3282 player with auto 3D and the image just looks 2D, I put on the glasses and it just looks the same.

If the Philips is set up correctly for automatic playback of 3D Blu-ray discs ( [Setup] >> [Watch 3D video] > [Auto] ), then the problem must lie with the disc itself. Check the label on the disc again to verify that it has the BD 3D logo on it...that title came in multiple versions so it could be possible that yours is not the correct type. If it is labeled as a Blu-ray 3D disc, I can only suggest that you take it to a store and ask them to try it on one of the displays there. Have you tried any other 3D titles?
Rudy1 is online now  
post #7 of 16 Old 10-23-2013, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheCrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I've tried multiple 3D blu-rays and they all display as 2D. I'm convinced it's the TV, it seems to only like SBS or TB 3D. I've converted multiple 3D blu-rays to SBS .mkv and they work great but it's not proper 3D blu-ray.

 

Just out of interest what should I see on the tv when a 3D blu-ray is playing without 3D glasses on. Will the picture look strange.

TheCrach is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 10-23-2013, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 90
A 3D Blu-Ray disc will display as an overlapping double image. The colors will be correct, unlike what you'd see with the anaglyph 3D format. At this stage I would suggest trying a different Blu-Ray player...from what I read about the TV's specs, it should automatically switch into 3D mode when it detects a Full HD 3D signal. So I would suspect that the Philips is not providing the TV with such a signal.
Rudy1 is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-24-2013, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Regarding playing from the PC: usually you get anaglyph 3D if the hardware does not support hdmi1.4 3D - e.g Intel S3D is supported from Sandy Bridge up. Check or provide the PC specs and connection. TNT should be on Auto Detect Source.
Roussi is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-27-2013, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheCrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I think it could be my PC hardware, here are the specs.

 

        Operating System
            Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
        CPU
            Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 @ 2.33GHz    56 °C
            Yorkfield 45nm Technology
        RAM
            4.00GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 399MHz (6-6-6-18)
        Motherboard
            Dell Inc. 0M017G (CPU 1)    45 °C
        Graphics
            Intel G45/G43 Express Chipset (Dell)
            Intel G45/G43 Express Chipset (Dell)

 

Would I still be able to play 3D with these sort of specs or is it too old.

TheCrach is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 10-28-2013, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Too old, but you only need to add a graphics addapter that supports HDMI 1.4a 3D, preferably with hardware decode: AMD HD 6450 and up, NVidia 430 and newer (not all Nvidia support it, read the specs carefully). AMD HD 5450 is the cheapest ($15), but does not do hardware decode; however your CPU looks beefy enough to do it.
Roussi is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 10-28-2013, 02:14 PM
Member
 
eedwards86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm having this same problem using a Radeon HD 6450 to my Panasonic TC-P60ST60, however, I cannot even get TMT 6 to see that my TV is 3D (neither does windows). I actually posted another thread on here:

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1496919/cannot-get-3d-through-radeon-hd-6450-to-panasonic-p60st60

 

I think the case of TheCrach, his video card cannot support 3D over HDMI 1.4a, so he should look into the graphics cards that Roussi mentioned.

eedwards86 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 11-07-2013, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheCrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

OK I've made some progress

 

I recently bought a ps3 and I use that for my 3D blu-ray's and the 3D looks fine but I'm still not convinced I'm getting the proper 3D effect. With the Ps3 my tv's 3D setting set to Auto and the 3D blu-ray changes to 3D by itself. However if I change the TV's 3D setting to off I  get a Top and Bottom picture with a green bar in the middle. Correct me if I'm wrong but I though 3D blu-ray used something like Frame packing which is clearly not what I'm getting.

TheCrach is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 11-07-2013, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Well, frame-packed is FHD top and bottom, with 45 blank pixels in between (1920x2205). The tv may be squishing that to FHD.
Roussi is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 11-07-2013, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
If you have doubts about the TV's 3D cabaility, you may try to test it with a 3D test video (sorry, cannot think of one right now; only that nvidia cards have their own 3D test app).
Roussi is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 11-08-2013, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheCrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks mate, I just remembered that the Finding Nemo 3D blu-ray has a 3D test thing. Where it asks you to close your right eye to see buzz lightyear and then close your left to see woody. I tried it and it worked great. When I tried it with TotalMedia Theatre I was getting half of buzz and half of woody. So it looks like every things ok now.

 

Thanks again.

TheCrach is offline  
Reply 3D Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P60st60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off