3D DirecTV problems - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 141 Old 02-10-2011, 08:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Stll always something on to show people? I am all for the 24/7 channel myself.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 141 Old 02-10-2011, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Raddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I notified Pioneer of the problem. Here is my correspondence. I would feel more confident if the text in boldface came from DirecTV rather than Pioneer.



Sent February 8, 2011 at 11:15 PST

DirecTV broadcasts some 3D shows in 720p Side-by-Side format which is an optional 3D format for broadcasters. My VSX-32 apparently does not support this format. The result is I am unable to play these shows on my Samsung PN63C8000 TV. My understanding is that this format is optional for broadcasters but mandatory for receivers and TVs. Will Pioneer upgrade the firmware to correct this?


Received Wed 2/9/2011 2:13 PM PST

Thank you for contacting Pioneer Electronics, Inc. The receiver fully supports the 3D signals. The signal Direct TV is transmitting is not compliant to the HDMI Organization specifications. We are told they will have this resolved in the first quarter. Please contact Direct TV for full details.


Thank You,

Rocky
Customer Service Representative
Raddle is offline  
post #123 of 141 Old 02-10-2011, 10:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Gawwddd no kidding. Manufactures and Direct can go back and forth on this one for a loooong time for sure.

I'm glad I am anticipating a direct connection to my display. (well adapter anyways)
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #124 of 141 Old 02-26-2011, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Ian B View Post

Thanks for your hard work Raddle, ESPN is about to go 24/7 3d and don't want to have these issues.

Ian B

Not on DirecTV they're not.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #125 of 141 Old 02-26-2011, 09:01 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raddle View Post

I notified Pioneer of the problem. Here is my correspondence. I would feel more confident if the text in boldface came from DirecTV rather than Pioneer.

...

My understanding is that this format is optional for broadcasters but mandatory for receivers and TVs. Will Pioneer upgrade the firmware to correct this?

...

Just so no one gets confused when they see this quoted, a "mandatory" transmission method means that every TV (in this case every 3D TV) must be able to use it. An "optional" format means that a TV may or may not be able to use the format. That is true for any consumer electronics manufacturer.

For a broadcaster, they are required to only use standard formats but can also include an optional format as well. So DirecTV is in violation of this edict. However, since DirecTV is a closed transmission format, I can't think of any penalties for this other than the HDMI org holding their breath or complaints from us.

720p SbS is an optional format, with 720 TaB being mandatory (as well as 1080i SbS).
alk3997 is offline  
post #126 of 141 Old 02-27-2011, 07:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
720p SbS is not a mandatory HDMI 1.4a 3d format for receivers or tranmitters. 720P TnB is a mandatory format for receivers.
walford is offline  
post #127 of 141 Old 03-16-2011, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
oldsalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get the error message from Directv saying my TV does not support 720P. It does, and I have watched 720P programs on other channels. I emailed Directv and basically being told my set does support 720P but for 3D I need the transmitter unit. DUH! It comes with the 3D started kit ($300). What gives. Why does 3D come in fine on all the other 3D channels but I get my TV does not support 720P? Any help is appreciated.
oldsalem is offline  
post #128 of 141 Old 03-16-2011, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Play with the resolution settings on your DirecTV receiver, and/or do a reset. Sony TVs have no issues displaying ESPN3D.
Steve P. is offline  
post #129 of 141 Old 03-16-2011, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Try a reset on your tv... my Mits does this occasionally...
dfergie is offline  
post #130 of 141 Old 04-23-2011, 07:37 AM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't get my Directv (HR24) to work on 3D when it is connected to my AVR (Onkyo SR706). When it goes directly to the TV (Sammy UN55D7000) it is fine. When other 3D sources (e.g. PS3/blu-ray) go through the AVR, it all works right.

Anybody know how to make directv put out? (3D signals that is )
vodil is offline  
post #131 of 141 Old 04-25-2011, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Raddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hvae you tried all the 3D channels? ESPN is a known problem on 106. You should be bale to view other 3D channels.
Raddle is offline  
post #132 of 141 Old 04-25-2011, 04:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
D* broadcasts ESPN-3D in HDMI 1.4a 720P SbS format which is not a mandatory 3D format so it not received by 3D display/tv models.
walford is offline  
post #133 of 141 Old 04-27-2011, 02:09 PM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. I tried them all.
Directv confirmed it was intentional; they intend to block AVR usage. Not sure why they would want to, but it certainly is not for customer satisfaction.

I will redo the cables to make the TV be the 3D hub and just feed the digital audio to the AVR. Sucks because I may have to fish more cables. I think the Harmony remote should at least handle all setup stuff OK. I hope that works.
vodil is offline  
post #134 of 141 Old 05-16-2011, 04:26 PM
Member
 
richb2599's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nowknown View Post

Nice work. Direct connect is the only way to stifle the urge to kill. Yeah it's a bit of a hassle to change inputs on the TV, and you have to run optical to the A/V receiver to get surround sound, but, the 3D channels come right up, stay up, and you don't miss any recordings. And no error messages. BTW, my PS3 has no issues going through my Pioneer 1020K for 3D games.

Get a Harmony Remote. It will do all the "input" switching for you. IMHO it's the only way to go.
richb2599 is offline  
post #135 of 141 Old 05-18-2011, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
John Robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post

Yes. I tried them all.
Directv confirmed it was intentional; they intend to block AVR usage. Not sure why they would want to, but it certainly is not for customer satisfaction.

Interesting. I have a 60" LG PZ550 fed through an Onkyo 608 and have never had this issue. Watch the Mavs/Thunder in 3D last night, no problem...

John

"What happens in Vegas..."
John Robert is offline  
post #136 of 141 Old 05-18-2011, 02:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The issues with this are somewhat dependent on the model reciever you have.

Older recivers that are still supported on 3D allow you to "get away" with it.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #137 of 141 Old 05-19-2011, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post

Yes. I tried them all.
Directv confirmed it was intentional; they intend to block AVR usage. Not sure why they would want to, but it certainly is not for customer satisfaction.

Are you sure they're not trying to block "DVR" usage? That would make a lot more sense...

John

"What happens in Vegas..."
John Robert is offline  
post #138 of 141 Old 05-19-2011, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's a simple edid thing. It can be fixed with an external box that allows you to spoof EDID.

They only turn on the 3D when an approved device identifys itself through EDID. So when an AVR is in between the reciever sees the EDID as something other than the supported / approved device.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #139 of 141 Old 05-21-2011, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Anybody know why the HR20 doesn't support 3D? I have a lot of shows recorded and don't want to lose my shows just to get a receiver that outputs 3D.

When I hook it up to a 3D TV the stations are available but they will not tune in. My H23 works fine in 3D.
Ronomy is offline  
post #140 of 141 Old 05-21-2011, 10:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Because the HDMI 1.3 compatible Output chip and the firmware in their STB does not support the transmission of any of the HDMI 1.4a 3D dataformats and there is not enough firmware memory space available in the box so that it can be upgraded so that it can provide the reuired support.
walford is offline  
post #141 of 141 Old 05-21-2011, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Because the HDMI 1.3 compatible Output chip and the firmware in their STB does not support the transmission of any of the HDMI 1.4a 3D dataformats and there is not enough firmware memory space available in the box so that it can be upgraded so that it can provide the reuired support.

These formats are still the same bandwidth as all the other HD formats. They don't need 1.4 for this. Plus they are still updating firmware adding new options. I got the update the other day like all the other receivers. Plus the receiver knows when it is attached to a 3d TV.
Ronomy is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off