Official Fujifilm 3D W3 Photo/Video Camera - Page 8 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > 3D Central > 3D Source Components > Official Fujifilm 3D W3 Photo/Video Camera

3D Source Components

bravia3D's Avatar bravia3D
05:16 AM Liked: 28
post #211 of 384
01-13-2011 | Posts: 1,189
Joined: Dec 2010
This is off topic but I just bought this camera last week and been enjoying it. I was reading about the guy whos converting 3D BD movies and playing them on this camera. Seems he has had some good/bad luck at it.
So I actually stuck mine on a tripod in front of my TV and recorded a NIN concert in 3D. When watching it back on the camera screen it's pretty cool and does look 3D. Nothing pops out but the depth is kinda good. I did this in a dark room and the concert is kinda dark. I imagine filming a CGI movie like one by Pixar would look amazing!
Only problem is, the speaker has to be right next to the camera or the mic don't pick up the sound good. I just moved my Bose speakers near it.
It would be great if someone could find a way to use headphones on this bad boy.. Then I would have a portable 3D player in my hands to use.
MissCreant's Avatar MissCreant
02:27 PM Liked: 10
post #212 of 384
01-13-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravia3D View Post

This is off topic but I just bought this camera last week and been enjoying it. I was reading about the guy whos converting 3D BD movies and playing them on this camera. Seems he has had some good/bad luck at it.
So I actually stuck mine on a tripod in front of my TV and recorded a NIN concert in 3D. When watching it back on the camera screen it's pretty cool and does look 3D. Nothing pops out but the depth is kinda good. I did this in a dark room and the concert is kinda dark. I imagine filming a CGI movie like one by Pixar would look amazing!
Only problem is, the speaker has to be right next to the camera or the mic don't pick up the sound good. I just moved my Bose speakers near it.
It would be great if someone could find a way to use headphones on this bad boy.. Then I would have a portable 3D player in my hands to use.

not sure if this has a headphone jack, but at least it's a bigger display!

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/3d/...epix_real3dv1/
Richinaz's Avatar Richinaz
11:37 PM Liked: 10
post #213 of 384
01-21-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
i just bought the w3 fuji, and after playing with it, and seeing that the battery life is somewhat short, i found out that when i put in the sdhc card - 8gb - class 2 - that i can only get about a 30 sec rec 3d video... i know the camera asks for a class 6 card, but can i expect longer videos in hd? im not sure where to look in the menu for the econo mode, not to sure my cam has the undated firmware... rich
Richinaz's Avatar Richinaz
02:14 AM Liked: 10
post #214 of 384
01-22-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
since i cant sleep, and reading here about the firmware update, i decided to see what my cam had, the ver in my w3 was the v1.0, so i read like many here the process of installing the new firmware in the camera... i skipped the exe. file for transfering the update on to the sd card... i formated the card in the camera, then removed the sdhc card from the camera and put the disk in the sd slot on my laptop. opened the f:disk where the sd card is, then i just dragged the update into the sdhc card. removed it from the computer, placed the card back into the camera, turned on the camera while holding down the back button, and presto.... pretty easy. followed the cameras instructions for the rest.... on a side note, im going to buy several more batteries however.... not enough disovery time to get to know all the features so that when u go out your ready to capture that 3d moment. rich
jimmy3d's Avatar jimmy3d
04:03 AM Liked: 10
post #215 of 384
01-22-2011 | Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richinaz View Post

i just bought the w3 fuji, and after playing with it, and seeing that the battery life is somewhat short, i found out that when i put in the sdhc card - 8gb - class 2 - that i can only get about a 30 sec rec 3d video... i know the camera asks for a class 6 card, but can i expect longer videos in hd? im not sure where to look in the menu for the econo mode, not to sure my cam has the undated firmware... rich

I've had mine about a week now and found that getting the 6 or better sdhc card will give you the full 10 minute record time in hd mode. I too was only getting 30 seconds with a 4G class 4 card. I also bought a couple extra batteries and try not to use the internal viewer too much. All in all, I'm blown away by this camera, especially the high res stills on my 140 inch screen with an Acer.
Richinaz's Avatar Richinaz
02:25 PM Liked: 10
post #216 of 384
01-22-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
ive ordered 2 more batteries and a sdhc class 6 card.
bravia3D's Avatar bravia3D
03:50 PM Liked: 28
post #217 of 384
01-23-2011 | Posts: 1,189
Joined: Dec 2010
This little camera truly is amazing!
FBlack's Avatar FBlack
05:15 PM Liked: 11
post #218 of 384
01-23-2011 | Posts: 638
Joined: Dec 2001
I am sure most of you know this, but the LED screen is virtually impossible to see in bright sunlight. I just returned from 7 days in the Caribbean. I took over 4 gigs of various photos, and trying to get the auto focus right (outside in bright Sun), and even see your subject in the screen is impossible. I wish they had added a viewfinder. Basically it was point and shoot and guess. Or take a photo and look for a shady place to view the photo to see if it was in focus and your subject properly in view.

I did update the firmware before I left and got well over 15 minutes of video time per try on a Class 6 and Class 10 card.
jimmy3d's Avatar jimmy3d
05:41 PM Liked: 10
post #219 of 384
01-23-2011 | Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBlack View Post

I am sure most of you know this, but the LED screen is virtually impossible to see in bright sunlight. I just returned from 7 days in the Caribbean. I took over 4 gigs of various photos, and trying to get the auto focus right (outside in bright Sun), and even see your subject in the screen is impossible. I wish they had added a viewfinder. Basically it was point and shoot and guess. Or take a photo and look for a shady place to view the photo to see if it was in focus and your subject properly in view.

I did update the firmware before I left and got well over 15 minutes of video time per try on a Class 6 and Class 10 card.

Yea, I'm with you on adding the viewfinder. I would also help with the crappy battery life. Sure do love the images it captures though!
FBlack's Avatar FBlack
12:24 PM Liked: 11
post #220 of 384
01-28-2011 | Posts: 638
Joined: Dec 2001
I took over 4 gigs of 3D photos on a vacation recently. I am still having some issues in connecting the camera directly to my Samsung 3D LED TV's. Other third party computer software works fine but my computer is not connected to my 65" 3D TV. So I show the W3 photos on my 46" TV.

I have been talking to Fuji about this for a while. They even went to Best Buy to confirm some problems with their W3 Camera and Samsung TV's.

I e-mailed them again to see if they might have a firmware update or something to help. I guess they decided it's the TV manufacturers problem even though their web site implies the camera will play back 3D photos on any 3D TV. Here's a copy of their recent e-mail to me:

Thank you for contacting FUJIFILM North America Corporation. Please allow us to assist you.

Currently, there is a firmware update for the W3. However, it does not resolve the issues with Samsung or other TVs. It is up to the TV manufactures to make their equipment compatible with other 3D devices on the market.

http://www.fujifilmusa.com/support/S...cucatid=664260

We sincerely hope that this information has been beneficial to you. If you should have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us in the future. It would be our pleasure to assist you again.

Thank you for your interest in FUJIFILM products and services.

Respectfully,
Imaging Support Team
Contact Center
FUJIFILM North American Corporation
martyrd0m's Avatar martyrd0m
04:13 PM Liked: 10
post #221 of 384
01-28-2011 | Posts: 75
Joined: Dec 2010
Is 15 minutes the max on video this thing can take at one time? I'm undecided on either this or the 3d Bloggie
FBlack's Avatar FBlack
06:33 PM Liked: 11
post #222 of 384
01-28-2011 | Posts: 638
Joined: Dec 2001
I bought a 32 GB Class 10 card from Patriot. After the W3 Update, with this card, the camera would allow 19 minute videos.
Vigelic's Avatar Vigelic
04:18 AM Liked: 10
post #223 of 384
02-15-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2010
www DOT 3dvisionlive DOT com

but u have to upload the MPO one by one...
Frank's Avatar Frank
05:31 PM Liked: 14
post #224 of 384
02-16-2011 | Posts: 5,194
Joined: Apr 1999
I shot this video with my Fuji W3 of my experimental remote controlled 3D camera.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9wg04FQo90&hd=1
mbmotorsport's Avatar mbmotorsport
12:40 PM Liked: 10
post #225 of 384
03-20-2011 | Posts: 34
Joined: Jan 2002
hello I just bought the W3 and I have a Sony NX 810 ...Will i have any issues with viewing pics on the display ????? And can I use my PS3 to read the card instead of using a mini HDMI??
mbmotorsport's Avatar mbmotorsport
01:22 PM Liked: 10
post #226 of 384
03-20-2011 | Posts: 34
Joined: Jan 2002
I also have playmemories installed on my PS 3 but through USB the PS3 will not reconize my fuji
icerat4's Avatar icerat4
03:25 PM Liked: 10
post #227 of 384
03-20-2011 | Posts: 518
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbmotorsport View Post

I also have playmemories installed on my PS 3 but through USB the PS3 will not reconize my fuji

sony bloggie nuff said .its always nice to stay in the same line these day. Everything seems to handshake nicely
mbmotorsport's Avatar mbmotorsport
05:05 PM Liked: 10
post #228 of 384
03-20-2011 | Posts: 34
Joined: Jan 2002
^^^^ What ?? I dont undrestand what you are saying.....Do I have to view the pics on my display and then put them into playmemories?????This is a Fuji W3 forum
TruPwr-Linux's Avatar TruPwr-Linux
08:04 PM Liked: 10
post #229 of 384
03-20-2011 | Posts: 19
Joined: Oct 2008
Heard that Fugi is discounting the W3, Amazon is down to $300. Some think a new model is on down the line, soon.
benchow6157's Avatar benchow6157
12:20 PM Liked: 10
post #230 of 384
03-21-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbmotorsport View Post

^^^^ What ?? I dont undrestand what you are saying.....Do I have to view the pics on my display and then put them into playmemories?????This is a Fuji W3 forum

get an SD card reader and plug it into your PS3. then do an import in playmemories.
benchow6157's Avatar benchow6157
12:42 PM Liked: 10
post #231 of 384
03-21-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
anyone know why they claim the lcd screen is 1,150k dots (the old W1 has 230k)?
so that would be 575k per "eye", making it close to the iphone 4's retina display?? of course it isn't, not even close. i'm really curious what the actual resolution is. for comparison, the nintendo 3DS stereoscopic screen is 400×240.
markr041's Avatar markr041
01:53 PM Liked: 143
post #232 of 384
03-21-2011 | Posts: 3,315
Joined: Jun 2005
"anyone know why they claim the lcd screen is 1,150k dots (the old W1 has 230k)?
so that would be 575k per "eye", making it close to the iphone 4's retina display?? of course it isn't, not even close. i'm really curious what the actual resolution is. for comparison, the nintendo 3DS stereoscopic screen is 400×240. "

Do you actually have a W3? or just looking to sue somebody? It is the best autostereoscopic screen I have ever seen. And yes, yesterday I used the Nintendo 3DS. The latter was not in the same league. Nor is the one on the new 3D JVC camcorder nearly as good.
JonStatt's Avatar JonStatt
06:44 AM Liked: 48
post #233 of 384
03-22-2011 | Posts: 2,262
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by markr041 View Post

"anyone know why they claim the lcd screen is 1,150k dots (the old W1 has 230k)?

It is 1150k DOTS, not pixels. That means you need to divide this by 3 to get the number of pixels.
benchow6157's Avatar benchow6157
03:22 PM Liked: 10
post #234 of 384
03-22-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by markr041 View Post

Do you actually have a W3? or just looking to sue somebody? It is the best autostereoscopic screen I have ever seen. And yes, yesterday I used the Nintendo 3DS. The latter was not in the same league. Nor is the one on the new 3D JVC camcorder nearly as good.

ok thanks, it's hard to compare going by specs. yes i do have the camera and love it, but i thought other people would be curious about the lcd specs, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

It is 1150k DOTS, not pixels. That means you need to divide this by 3 to get the number of pixels.

that makes more sense, thanks.
MissCreant's Avatar MissCreant
09:29 AM Liked: 10
post #235 of 384
03-25-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2011
i have the same issue. my TV doesn't work perfectly with the camera. lots of crosstalk. but I heard that sd readers don't work with this camera either, based on the different format? (MPO)

do you think a flash card would work to get the pics on the ps3? i haven't tried this yet.

(and you've tried connecting a mini-hd to hd into your tv, right? I just want to try the playmemories because you can adjust crosstalk on it.)
everyperson's Avatar everyperson
06:53 PM Liked: 10
post #236 of 384
03-27-2011 | Posts: 174
Joined: May 2009
The W3 screen is so much better. The 3Ds screen is a "toy". Small screen, low resolution, colors not as clear as the W3. Why would anyone pay $249 plus $40 PER game, to play games on such a device?

Has anyone with a 3Ds taken photos? If so, please post them here so we can judge the quality.
dojoman's Avatar dojoman
04:10 PM Liked: 10
post #237 of 384
03-31-2011 | Posts: 465
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by everyperson View Post

The W3 screen is so much better. The 3Ds screen is a "toy". Small screen, low resolution, colors not as clear as the W3. Why would anyone pay $249 plus $40 PER game, to play games on such a device?

Has anyone with a 3Ds taken photos? If so, please post them here so we can judge the quality.

It's the same screen as W3 made from Sharp. I have 3DS with 2 games. A lot of fun to play w/o glasses. No crosstalk. Pictures taken with it don't look that good but it's the camera. Screen is beautiful with games.
rjbrooks's Avatar rjbrooks
09:17 AM Liked: 10
post #238 of 384
04-13-2011 | Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 2004
I have developed a gstreamer pipeline to convert movies from the W3 to side-by-side mp4 files that I can play on my Mits DLP via a WDTV Live Plus:

#!/bin/sh
gst-launch \\
videomixer name=vmix sink_0::xpos=0 sink_0::xpos=1280 \\
sink_1::xpos=0 sink_1::ypos=0 \\
mp4mux name=avmix \\
filesrc location=$1.AVI \\
! decodebin2 name=foo ! queue ! videobox right=-1280 alpha=0.0 ! ffmpegcolorspace ! vmix.sink_0 \\
foo. ! queue ! ffmpegcolorspace ! vmix.sink_1 \\
foo. ! faac ! queue ! avmix. \\
vmix. ! queue ! videoscale ! video/x-raw-yuv,width=1920,height=1080 ! ffenc_mpeg4 ! avmix. \\
avmix. ! queue ! filesink location=$1.mp4


I run this under Linux, but I think there is a gstreamer for Windows, too.
everyperson's Avatar everyperson
08:06 PM Liked: 10
post #239 of 384
04-21-2011 | Posts: 174
Joined: May 2009
Anyone have both and care to comment?
cathoderaytube's Avatar cathoderaytube
12:57 AM Liked: 11
post #240 of 384
05-05-2011 | Posts: 46
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by everyperson View Post

Has anyone with a 3Ds taken photos? If so, please post them here so we can judge the quality.

My sample photos here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/rodsnco...7626315219377/
See the links at the bottom of that page for 3d versions.
It's no substitute for a W3, the pictures are not great quality and only 640x480.
They set the parallax on the images for the small screen, so if you view them on a big 3D TV your eyes will diverge and it will be very uncomfortable unless you fix them in stereo photomaker for example.
The 3DS is a toy, but that's not a bad thing if you have fun with it. You can do some interesting 3D "graffiti" effects on the pictures and there's some fun augmented reality games that use the cameras.

Reply 3D Source Components

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3