Official Fujifilm 3D W3 Photo/Video Camera - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 379 Old 01-13-2011, 04:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
This is off topic but I just bought this camera last week and been enjoying it. I was reading about the guy whos converting 3D BD movies and playing them on this camera. Seems he has had some good/bad luck at it.
So I actually stuck mine on a tripod in front of my TV and recorded a NIN concert in 3D. When watching it back on the camera screen it's pretty cool and does look 3D. Nothing pops out but the depth is kinda good. I did this in a dark room and the concert is kinda dark. I imagine filming a CGI movie like one by Pixar would look amazing!
Only problem is, the speaker has to be right next to the camera or the mic don't pick up the sound good. I just moved my Bose speakers near it.
It would be great if someone could find a way to use headphones on this bad boy.. Then I would have a portable 3D player in my hands to use.

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 379 Old 01-13-2011, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
MissCreant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravia3D View Post

This is off topic but I just bought this camera last week and been enjoying it. I was reading about the guy whos converting 3D BD movies and playing them on this camera. Seems he has had some good/bad luck at it.
So I actually stuck mine on a tripod in front of my TV and recorded a NIN concert in 3D. When watching it back on the camera screen it's pretty cool and does look 3D. Nothing pops out but the depth is kinda good. I did this in a dark room and the concert is kinda dark. I imagine filming a CGI movie like one by Pixar would look amazing!
Only problem is, the speaker has to be right next to the camera or the mic don't pick up the sound good. I just moved my Bose speakers near it.
It would be great if someone could find a way to use headphones on this bad boy.. Then I would have a portable 3D player in my hands to use.

not sure if this has a headphone jack, but at least it's a bigger display!

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/3d/...epix_real3dv1/
MissCreant is offline  
post #213 of 379 Old 01-21-2011, 10:37 PM
Newbie
 
Richinaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just bought the w3 fuji, and after playing with it, and seeing that the battery life is somewhat short, i found out that when i put in the sdhc card - 8gb - class 2 - that i can only get about a 30 sec rec 3d video... i know the camera asks for a class 6 card, but can i expect longer videos in hd? im not sure where to look in the menu for the econo mode, not to sure my cam has the undated firmware... rich
Richinaz is offline  
post #214 of 379 Old 01-22-2011, 01:14 AM
Newbie
 
Richinaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
since i cant sleep, and reading here about the firmware update, i decided to see what my cam had, the ver in my w3 was the v1.0, so i read like many here the process of installing the new firmware in the camera... i skipped the exe. file for transfering the update on to the sd card... i formated the card in the camera, then removed the sdhc card from the camera and put the disk in the sd slot on my laptop. opened the f:disk where the sd card is, then i just dragged the update into the sdhc card. removed it from the computer, placed the card back into the camera, turned on the camera while holding down the back button, and presto.... pretty easy. followed the cameras instructions for the rest.... on a side note, im going to buy several more batteries however.... not enough disovery time to get to know all the features so that when u go out your ready to capture that 3d moment. rich
Richinaz is offline  
post #215 of 379 Old 01-22-2011, 03:03 AM
Member
 
jimmy3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richinaz View Post

i just bought the w3 fuji, and after playing with it, and seeing that the battery life is somewhat short, i found out that when i put in the sdhc card - 8gb - class 2 - that i can only get about a 30 sec rec 3d video... i know the camera asks for a class 6 card, but can i expect longer videos in hd? im not sure where to look in the menu for the econo mode, not to sure my cam has the undated firmware... rich

I've had mine about a week now and found that getting the 6 or better sdhc card will give you the full 10 minute record time in hd mode. I too was only getting 30 seconds with a 4G class 4 card. I also bought a couple extra batteries and try not to use the internal viewer too much. All in all, I'm blown away by this camera, especially the high res stills on my 140 inch screen with an Acer.
jimmy3d is offline  
post #216 of 379 Old 01-22-2011, 01:25 PM
Newbie
 
Richinaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ive ordered 2 more batteries and a sdhc class 6 card.
Richinaz is offline  
post #217 of 379 Old 01-23-2011, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
This little camera truly is amazing!

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #218 of 379 Old 01-23-2011, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
FBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am sure most of you know this, but the LED screen is virtually impossible to see in bright sunlight. I just returned from 7 days in the Caribbean. I took over 4 gigs of various photos, and trying to get the auto focus right (outside in bright Sun), and even see your subject in the screen is impossible. I wish they had added a viewfinder. Basically it was point and shoot and guess. Or take a photo and look for a shady place to view the photo to see if it was in focus and your subject properly in view.

I did update the firmware before I left and got well over 15 minutes of video time per try on a Class 6 and Class 10 card.
FBlack is offline  
post #219 of 379 Old 01-23-2011, 04:41 PM
Member
 
jimmy3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBlack View Post

I am sure most of you know this, but the LED screen is virtually impossible to see in bright sunlight. I just returned from 7 days in the Caribbean. I took over 4 gigs of various photos, and trying to get the auto focus right (outside in bright Sun), and even see your subject in the screen is impossible. I wish they had added a viewfinder. Basically it was point and shoot and guess. Or take a photo and look for a shady place to view the photo to see if it was in focus and your subject properly in view.

I did update the firmware before I left and got well over 15 minutes of video time per try on a Class 6 and Class 10 card.

Yea, I'm with you on adding the viewfinder. I would also help with the crappy battery life. Sure do love the images it captures though!
jimmy3d is offline  
post #220 of 379 Old 01-28-2011, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
FBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I took over 4 gigs of 3D photos on a vacation recently. I am still having some issues in connecting the camera directly to my Samsung 3D LED TV's. Other third party computer software works fine but my computer is not connected to my 65" 3D TV. So I show the W3 photos on my 46" TV.

I have been talking to Fuji about this for a while. They even went to Best Buy to confirm some problems with their W3 Camera and Samsung TV's.

I e-mailed them again to see if they might have a firmware update or something to help. I guess they decided it's the TV manufacturers problem even though their web site implies the camera will play back 3D photos on any 3D TV. Here's a copy of their recent e-mail to me:

Thank you for contacting FUJIFILM North America Corporation. Please allow us to assist you.

Currently, there is a firmware update for the W3. However, it does not resolve the issues with Samsung or other TVs. It is up to the TV manufactures to make their equipment compatible with other 3D devices on the market.

http://www.fujifilmusa.com/support/S...cucatid=664260

We sincerely hope that this information has been beneficial to you. If you should have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us in the future. It would be our pleasure to assist you again.

Thank you for your interest in FUJIFILM products and services.

Respectfully,
Imaging Support Team
Contact Center
FUJIFILM North American Corporation
FBlack is offline  
post #221 of 379 Old 01-28-2011, 03:13 PM
 
martyrd0m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is 15 minutes the max on video this thing can take at one time? I'm undecided on either this or the 3d Bloggie
martyrd0m is offline  
post #222 of 379 Old 01-28-2011, 05:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
FBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought a 32 GB Class 10 card from Patriot. After the W3 Update, with this card, the camera would allow 19 minute videos.
FBlack is offline  
post #223 of 379 Old 02-15-2011, 03:18 AM
Newbie
 
Vigelic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
www DOT 3dvisionlive DOT com

but u have to upload the MPO one by one...
Vigelic is offline  
post #224 of 379 Old 02-16-2011, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I shot this video with my Fuji W3 of my experimental remote controlled 3D camera.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9wg04FQo90&hd=1

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #225 of 379 Old 03-20-2011, 11:40 AM
Member
 
mbmotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello I just bought the W3 and I have a Sony NX 810 ...Will i have any issues with viewing pics on the display ????? And can I use my PS3 to read the card instead of using a mini HDMI??
mbmotorsport is offline  
post #226 of 379 Old 03-20-2011, 12:22 PM
Member
 
mbmotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have playmemories installed on my PS 3 but through USB the PS3 will not reconize my fuji
mbmotorsport is offline  
post #227 of 379 Old 03-20-2011, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
icerat4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbmotorsport View Post

I also have playmemories installed on my PS 3 but through USB the PS3 will not reconize my fuji

sony bloggie nuff said .its always nice to stay in the same line these day. Everything seems to handshake nicely
icerat4 is offline  
post #228 of 379 Old 03-20-2011, 04:05 PM
Member
 
mbmotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^^ What ?? I dont undrestand what you are saying.....Do I have to view the pics on my display and then put them into playmemories?????This is a Fuji W3 forum
mbmotorsport is offline  
post #229 of 379 Old 03-20-2011, 07:04 PM
Member
 
TruPwr-Linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heard that Fugi is discounting the W3, Amazon is down to $300. Some think a new model is on down the line, soon.
TruPwr-Linux is offline  
post #230 of 379 Old 03-21-2011, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
benchow6157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbmotorsport View Post

^^^^ What ?? I dont undrestand what you are saying.....Do I have to view the pics on my display and then put them into playmemories?????This is a Fuji W3 forum

get an SD card reader and plug it into your PS3. then do an import in playmemories.
benchow6157 is offline  
post #231 of 379 Old 03-21-2011, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
benchow6157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone know why they claim the lcd screen is 1,150k dots (the old W1 has 230k)?
so that would be 575k per "eye", making it close to the iphone 4's retina display?? of course it isn't, not even close. i'm really curious what the actual resolution is. for comparison, the nintendo 3DS stereoscopic screen is 400×240.
benchow6157 is offline  
post #232 of 379 Old 03-21-2011, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 113
"anyone know why they claim the lcd screen is 1,150k dots (the old W1 has 230k)?
so that would be 575k per "eye", making it close to the iphone 4's retina display?? of course it isn't, not even close. i'm really curious what the actual resolution is. for comparison, the nintendo 3DS stereoscopic screen is 400×240. "

Do you actually have a W3? or just looking to sue somebody? It is the best autostereoscopic screen I have ever seen. And yes, yesterday I used the Nintendo 3DS. The latter was not in the same league. Nor is the one on the new 3D JVC camcorder nearly as good.
markr041 is online now  
post #233 of 379 Old 03-22-2011, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by markr041 View Post

"anyone know why they claim the lcd screen is 1,150k dots (the old W1 has 230k)?

It is 1150k DOTS, not pixels. That means you need to divide this by 3 to get the number of pixels.
JonStatt is online now  
post #234 of 379 Old 03-22-2011, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
benchow6157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markr041 View Post

Do you actually have a W3? or just looking to sue somebody? It is the best autostereoscopic screen I have ever seen. And yes, yesterday I used the Nintendo 3DS. The latter was not in the same league. Nor is the one on the new 3D JVC camcorder nearly as good.

ok thanks, it's hard to compare going by specs. yes i do have the camera and love it, but i thought other people would be curious about the lcd specs, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

It is 1150k DOTS, not pixels. That means you need to divide this by 3 to get the number of pixels.

that makes more sense, thanks.
benchow6157 is offline  
post #235 of 379 Old 03-25-2011, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
MissCreant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the same issue. my TV doesn't work perfectly with the camera. lots of crosstalk. but I heard that sd readers don't work with this camera either, based on the different format? (MPO)

do you think a flash card would work to get the pics on the ps3? i haven't tried this yet.

(and you've tried connecting a mini-hd to hd into your tv, right? I just want to try the playmemories because you can adjust crosstalk on it.)
MissCreant is offline  
post #236 of 379 Old 03-27-2011, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
everyperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The W3 screen is so much better. The 3Ds screen is a "toy". Small screen, low resolution, colors not as clear as the W3. Why would anyone pay $249 plus $40 PER game, to play games on such a device?

Has anyone with a 3Ds taken photos? If so, please post them here so we can judge the quality.
everyperson is offline  
post #237 of 379 Old 03-31-2011, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by everyperson View Post

The W3 screen is so much better. The 3Ds screen is a "toy". Small screen, low resolution, colors not as clear as the W3. Why would anyone pay $249 plus $40 PER game, to play games on such a device?

Has anyone with a 3Ds taken photos? If so, please post them here so we can judge the quality.

It's the same screen as W3 made from Sharp. I have 3DS with 2 games. A lot of fun to play w/o glasses. No crosstalk. Pictures taken with it don't look that good but it's the camera. Screen is beautiful with games.
dojoman is offline  
post #238 of 379 Old 04-13-2011, 08:17 AM
Member
 
rjbrooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have developed a gstreamer pipeline to convert movies from the W3 to side-by-side mp4 files that I can play on my Mits DLP via a WDTV Live Plus:

#!/bin/sh
gst-launch \\
videomixer name=vmix sink_0::xpos=0 sink_0::xpos=1280 \\
sink_1::xpos=0 sink_1::ypos=0 \\
mp4mux name=avmix \\
filesrc location=$1.AVI \\
! decodebin2 name=foo ! queue ! videobox right=-1280 alpha=0.0 ! ffmpegcolorspace ! vmix.sink_0 \\
foo. ! queue ! ffmpegcolorspace ! vmix.sink_1 \\
foo. ! faac ! queue ! avmix. \\
vmix. ! queue ! videoscale ! video/x-raw-yuv,width=1920,height=1080 ! ffenc_mpeg4 ! avmix. \\
avmix. ! queue ! filesink location=$1.mp4


I run this under Linux, but I think there is a gstreamer for Windows, too.
rjbrooks is offline  
post #239 of 379 Old 04-21-2011, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
everyperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have both and care to comment?
everyperson is offline  
post #240 of 379 Old 05-04-2011, 11:57 PM
Member
 
cathoderaytube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by everyperson View Post

Has anyone with a 3Ds taken photos? If so, please post them here so we can judge the quality.

My sample photos here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/rodsnco...7626315219377/
See the links at the bottom of that page for 3d versions.
It's no substitute for a W3, the pictures are not great quality and only 640x480.
They set the parallax on the images for the small screen, so if you view them on a big 3D TV your eyes will diverge and it will be very uncomfortable unless you fix them in stereo photomaker for example.
The 3DS is a toy, but that's not a bad thing if you have fun with it. You can do some interesting 3D "graffiti" effects on the pictures and there's some fun augmented reality games that use the cameras.
cathoderaytube is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off