Best HDMI cables for 3D? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 02:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
axlerod7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am putting together a 3D package and don't know what to do for cables. The plan so far is Panasonic TC58VT25, Pioneer VSK-1020-K, and Panasonic DMP-BDT350. I want to take advantage of the video and audio available in these components. It looks like Monster cables use optical for the audio and now I am confused looking at too many websites. Thank you in advance for your help.
axlerod7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 03:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Future proof. Get high speed HDMI cables with Ethernet. Don't buy exorbitantly priced Monster cables. Ripoff alert.

Get your cables here: http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10250

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 08:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You don't need or want High Speed cables with Ethernet since none of the HDMI 1.4a 3D formats use Ethernet to send any part of their signal from your 3D source which most likely does not even support ethernet anyway.
Standard HDMI high speed cables are all that are required.
walford is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 02:03 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

You don't need or want High Speed cables with Ethernet since none of the HDMI 1.4a 3D formats use Ethernet to send any part of their signal from your 3D source which most likely does not even support ethernet anyway.
Standard HDMI high speed cables are all that are required.

Author deleted comment
alk3997 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
High speed cables only go up tp 25 ft as far as i can find. My problem is that i need 30 ft. Any ideas?

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!

Updated Theater Pictures

dan webster is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 04:22 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan webster View Post

High speed cables only go up tp 25 ft as far as i can find. My problem is that i need 30 ft. Any ideas?

Author deleted comment
alk3997 is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Be wary of any claims of high speed cables over 25'. Ask for a copy of the certification report. BJC Series 1, arguably one of the best HDMI cables avaliable, is certified 25' max. IIRC Kurt said it would probably certify at a max of 27'. That said, some longer versions of the same cables as are certified for 25' will probably work just fine because the tests are worst case and hardly anyone is pushing the maximum bandwidth.
Colm is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 05:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Monoprice has 25' 22 g high speed cables .i thought a could also try a 6' high speed male to female hdmi cable for a total of 31', which is enough.

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!

Updated Theater Pictures

dan webster is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 11-15-2010, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Just so you know, a 25' high speed cable plus a 6' high speed cable does not make a 31' high speed cable.
Colm is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 11-16-2010, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The only sure way to use two lenghts of High Speed cable to go over 25" is to put an HDMI signal ampifier between them.
walford is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 11-16-2010, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
sleepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Birmingham, Al
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using the following:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

40' 22 guage in wall regular speed with no problems. I have it connected between a panasonic 3d tv & panasonic 3d DVD player. We watched 3d Ice Age last night with no problems.
Be warned it is a huge cable.
sleepers is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 11-16-2010, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

The only sure way to use two lenghts of High Speed cable to go over 25" is to put an HDMI signal ampifier between them.

Thanks i was not aware of that. I may just try using my current 35" cable when my new jvc pj arrives and hope for the best. If it will not work for 3d i will worry about it then.

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!

Updated Theater Pictures

dan webster is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 11-17-2010, 05:42 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan webster View Post

Thanks i was not aware of that. I may just try using my current 35" cable when my new jvc pj arrives and hope for the best. If it will not work for 3d i will worry about it then.

Author deleted comment
alk3997 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 11-17-2010, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What jvc are you getting? I preordered the 40 here ar avs. I hope my current cable works. I still have to buy another cable because i am keeping my panasonic 3000 pj primarily for my sons xbox. He puts mega hours on the bulb. I cant wait til the jvs arrives, I will be taking a couple of days off from work to play.

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!

Updated Theater Pictures

dan webster is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 11-18-2010, 08:35 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan webster View Post

What jvc are you getting? I preordered the 40 here ar avs. I hope my current cable works. I still have to buy another cable because i am keeping my panasonic 3000 pj primarily for my sons xbox. He puts mega hours on the bulb. I cant wait til the jvs arrives, I will be taking a couple of days off from work to play.

Author deleted comment
alk3997 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 11-18-2010, 09:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Bandwidth is not the issue it is loss of signal strength or degreadation of the analog the wave forms used to trannsmit the digitlal signals.
walford is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 11-18-2010, 10:13 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Bandwidth is not the issue it is loss of signal strength or degreadation of the analog the wave forms used to trannsmit the digitlal signals.

Author deleted comment
alk3997 is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 11-18-2010, 10:50 AM
Member
 
MovieTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The High Speed cables from DVIGEAR.com will work at considerably long lengths. They are the FAT blue ones and they are reasonably priced for what they are. Digital Projection International uses them all the time when they are on the road doing 3D Demos with their 60K+ Titan Dual 3D projectors.
I've seen them running lengths over 50ft on those cables and they work with Bluray 3D content.
There are plenty of cables out there that will work shorter lengths, but if you need serious length I've seen these DVIGEAR cables work extremely well.

And as others have said, especially for the shorter lengths 30-40ft and under, people have had very good luck with Monoprice. You won't go wrong with BlueJeansCable either, their stuff is top notch. Monster would be throwing money away.
MovieTime is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 11-18-2010, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

...the (essentially) carrier-wave ...

There is no carrier.
Colm is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 11-18-2010, 07:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1080p/60 is not an ATSC standard resolution. 1080p/24, 1080p/30, and 1080i/60(1080p 30 fps) are. 3D blu-ray Double buffer packed frame content is 1080p/48 which requires more content per single buffer transmission.
walford is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 11-19-2010, 11:10 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

There is no carrier.

Author deleted retraction
alk3997 is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off