JVC GS-TD1 3D-Capable Camcorder - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

The problem seems to be that the files lose chroma information when played back through the computer. This needs to be solved.

I get the same thing when attempting to play back the footage in 3D mode in both power dvd and and stereoscopic player.

Turn off the 3D mode and it appears as normal good quality 2D. The various 3D players simply do not understand the frame packed interlace.
bigbarney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

Vegas pro 10 is much further advanced than magix is. Vegas simply has a problem with the mp4 container that the jvc file is wrapped in. That can be solved however by re-wrapping it in a m2ts container with TSmuxer. Fruitless effort however since the frame packed interlace is not recognized and the file is simply seen as normal 2D

Just about any player seems to play back the jvc mp4 files in 2d.
The problem is in finding a player which contains the MVC codec (which doesn't seem to exist).

In any event... magix is not the answer

Both PowerDVD 10 Ultra and TMT5 play the MP4 in 3D although with somewhat decimated chroma.
The thing is, even the AVCHD file the camera produces does the same thing!

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #303 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 10:52 AM
Member
 
jraaronson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

Both PowerDVD 10 Ultra and TMT5 play the MP4 in 3D although with somewhat decimated chroma.
The thing is, even the AVCHD file the camera produces does the same thing!

Frank, do either of these program let you export L/R from the mp4? At least playing it is a step in the right direction!
jraaronson is offline  
post #304 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This is an unaltered clip in AVCHD format from the JVC. It suffers from the same reduced chroma effect when I play it.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7350380/R2D3.MTS

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #305 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jraaronson View Post

Frank, do either of these program let you export L/R from the mp4? At least playing it is a step in the right direction!

A definite No to that.
Would certainly be nice...

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #306 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by jraaronson View Post

Frank, do either of these program let you export L/R from the mp4? At least playing it is a step in the right direction!

No.
So far I have found NOTHING that understands mvc mp4 frame packed interlace.

The same questions have been asked on the doom9 forum (these guys are pretty good at getting around this sort of thing) to no avail.
bigbarney is offline  
post #307 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

This is an unaltered clip in AVCHD format from the JVC. It suffers from the same reduced chroma effect when I play it.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7350380/R2D3.MTS

When I play that in a normal 2d player (nero showtime for example) I see normal hi def 2D quality. It becomes a mess however when played back in a 3D player.
bigbarney is offline  
post #308 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

When I play that in a normal 2d player (nero showtime for example) I see normal hi def 2D quality. It becomes a mess however when played back in a 3D player.

I don't get it!
I've played it using Stereoscopic Player, TMT5 and PowerDVD 10 and the chroma is messed up on all of them in 3D mode.
This is supposed to be a standard AVCHD sbs file so what gives?

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #309 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

I don't get it!
I've played it using Stereoscopic Player, TMT5 and PowerDVD 10 and the chroma is messed up on all of them in 3D mode.
This is supposed to be a standard AVCHD sbs file so what gives?

Sorry... my mistake... I thought this was R2D3.MP4. I hadn't noticed the MTS extension.

When I play that on nero showtime I get a normal sbs shown in 2d view (color looks fine). I can also load that with no issues into Vegas and render it out. It also plays back fine through the PS3 onto the tv. The 3D effect is there and looks fine... it's just no full res.
bigbarney is offline  
post #310 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
icerat4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

I just shot a short video in AVCHD mode and played it back from the camcorder directly to my UN40C7000 via HDMI and it looks beautiful!



Frank Make up your damn mind .Either its god aweful as you mentioned earlier. Or it looks beautiful in the statement above. Is it what you consider NICE. To much up and back here by one customer.Bravia has one and said the vids he made were awesome. What gives here.
icerat4 is offline  
post #311 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

Sorry... my mistake... I thought this was R2D3.MP4. I hadn't noticed the MTS extension.

When I play that on nero showtime I get a normal sbs shown in 2d view (color looks fine). I can also load that with no issues into Vegas and render it out. It also plays back fine through the PS3 onto the tv. The 3D effect is there and looks fine... it's just no full res.

It appears to have significantly less chroma resolution then it should have to me.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #312 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How about this one. The loss in resolution seems very obvious.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7350380/JVC%20shoots%20R2D3.ts

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #313 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

It appears to have significantly less chroma resolution then it should have to me.

Well, I'm not the best one to compare to what has really been shot since I didn't shoot... but to me it appears normal. The red brick is clearly red... the dog appears proper color for the type it is... etc. It's definitely a better quality than the Panasonic.
bigbarney is offline  
post #314 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

How about this one. The loss in resolution seems very obvious.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7350380/JVC%20shoots%20R2D3.ts

I'll let you know in about 20 minutes.
bigbarney is offline  
post #315 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Again... to my eyes the color looks good in both R23D.TS and R23D.mts

Now the resolution is not quite there... I'll give you that much. Certainly not 1920x1080 resolution... but then it's not 1920... it's 1/2 of that so there is no way it will ever appear to be full resolution.



bigbarney is offline  
post #316 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Here's a screen grab from the panasonic;

bigbarney is offline  
post #317 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Look at this one which is from the twin cam vehicle.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7350380/R2D2_test1.ts

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #318 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
icerat4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

Again... to my eyes the color looks good in both R23D.TS and R23D.mts

Now the resolution is not quite there... I'll give you that much. Certainly not 1920x1080 resolution... but then it's not 1920... it's 1/2 of that so there is no way it will ever appear to be full resolution.








Holy **** JOHNNY5 IS ALIVE. WTF. Funny stuff looks good to me and i have bad eyes
icerat4 is offline  
post #319 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

Look at this one which is from the twin cam vehicle.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7350380/R2D2_test1.ts

I put it all on the big screen for the wife to watch (her eyes are better than mine at this sort of thing)
She did not notice any real difference in color or quality or resolution. It was sort of tough to judge though because of the snow involved in one of the videos (large white areas tend to make other colors appear to be more vibrant). The one that R2D3 shot however (R2D3_test1.ts) did have more 3D depth to it. I would imagine that's because the lenses are further apart on R2D3 than that of the JVC.

Screen grab from R2D3
bigbarney is offline  
post #320 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
All of this is really kind of a moot issue though I guess. From my point of view it's all wasted money if I can't get full resolution off the cam and onto a disk. If I wanted crappy 1/2 resolution then I would have purchased the Panasonic some time ago.
bigbarney is offline  
post #321 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for doing that for me.
I'm more confused then before if that's possible.
When I play a video straight from the camcorder via HDMI, it looks great and when I play exactly the same file through the computer it looks bad.
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrg.
I'm determined to figure this out sooner or later.
Believe me, what you are seeing pales in comparison to what comes straight out of the HDMI port.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #322 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

All of this is really kind of a moot issue though I guess. From my point of view it's all wasted money if I can't get full resolution off the cam and onto a disk. If I wanted crappy 1/2 resolution then I would have purchased the Panasonic some time ago.

What you are referring to as crappy 1/2 resolution looks to me fantastic when viewed directly from the HDMI of the camera and way better then what you are seeing from my downloaded files.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #323 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

What you are referring to as crappy 1/2 resolution looks to me fantastic when viewed directly from the HDMI of the camera and way better then what you are seeing from my downloaded files.

Well... through HDMI is a different story all together. I would HOPE there to be significant improvement.

I however tend to put all my stuff on blu ray (or stream from the HDD) after some editing.... so I need a way of getting the full res off the cam. If I can't, then it's useless to me.
bigbarney is offline  
post #324 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
By the way, that last file I posted from the twin cams looks unbelievably good when viewed using the raw left and right files played through Stereoscopic Player and better then the best video I've seen from the JVC, whatever that means.
When rendering it as a AVCHD 1/2 res sbs file a lot more is lost then just half the resolution IMO.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #325 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

Well... through HDMI is a different story all together. I would HOPE there to be significant improvement.

But why would there be?

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #326 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
icerat4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

Thanks for doing that for me.
I'm more confused then before if that's possible.
When I play a video straight from the camcorder via HDMI, it looks great an


Is this in avchd. And you can burn the avchd to a disk.Correct. Sounds ok to the average user to me.
icerat4 is offline  
post #327 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by icerat4 View Post

Is this in avchd. And you can burn the avchd to a disk.Correct. Sounds ok to the average user to me.

Yes and I do believe the average user would love this camera without question.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #328 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

When rendering it as a AVCHD 1/2 res sbs file a lot more is lost then just half the resolution IMO.

There is probably some validity to that.

Not only are the L and R views brought down to 1/2 res in order to fit in one frame... but they're also 'squashed' horizontally so they appear normal when each 1/2 frame is expanded out to 1920. That 'squashing' effect must play some kind of roll in quality reduction.
bigbarney is offline  
post #329 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
icerat4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post


I however tend to put all my stuff on blu ray (or stream from the HDD) after some editing.... so I need a way of getting the full res off the cam. If I can't, then it's useless to me.




Call Peggy she will help.
icerat4 is offline  
post #330 of 2068 Old 03-06-2011, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

There is probably some validity to that.

Not only are the L and R views brought down to 1/2 res in order to fit in one frame... but they're also 'squashed' horizontally so they appear normal when each 1/2 frame is expanded out to 1920. That 'squashing' effect must play some kind of roll in quality reduction.

But the squished 1/2 res recorded in AVCHD format by the camera looks fantastic when it's output by the camera via HDMI and yet not near as good when played by any computer software.
That is what bothers me the most right now.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off