JVC GS-TD1 3D-Capable Camcorder - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2011, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
SFMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Mike, could you tell me where you purchased the GS-TD1?

I bought it from B&H Photo. They seem to be one of the only outlets for a lot of JVC products. I have always had good dealings with them.
SFMike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2011, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have two GS-TD1s, well actually one belongs to my wife.
From what I've been able to determine so far, they both have a intermittent focus issue.
I have been unable to determine as yet what is causing it but I'm still looking into it.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-18-2011, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpnicle View Post

It's good to see a positive feedback

btw: Did anyone mention the battery consumption
I see a discussion about SONY TD10, says with its bundled battery, it can only shoot 20 minutes in 3D mode.
if so, an extra battery will be a must

how about JVC?

20 minutes? Surely not..that would be embarassing. The GS-TD1 also comes with a small battery, but will get you at least 90 minutes, and probably more. There is a larger battery available too.
JonStatt is online now  
Old 03-18-2011, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

I have two GS-TD1s, well actually one belongs to my wife.
From what I've been able to determine so far, they both have a intermittent focus issue.
I have been unable to determine as yet what is causing it but I'm still looking into it.

I have received mine and this was one of the first things I checked. I cannot reproduce this yet, but as its intermittement, I can't be sure whether I am inflicted with this or not.

If I was being pedantic there is a very slight colour temperature difference between the two images. It is just about noticeable on the side-by-side with a white object, such as a piece of paper. But it is slight and not unexpected. The Fuji W1/W3 cameras suffer that slight variation too.

But so far for focus, both are in focus at all times so far.

You mentioned something at one point about whether it was to do with the way you got the file off the camera? Or maybe I recall wrongly. All I was doing was literally copying the AVCHD file by navigating the folders in Windows as if the camcorder was a hard drive and copying it directly onto my PC.
JonStatt is online now  
Old 03-19-2011, 09:33 AM
Member
 
SYOTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New member here. Just purchased the Panasonic 54" Viera TV and love it. Works great with my stereoscopic still images. Looking at the JVC camcorder to add my own 3d movies. Is there some way I can download a short sample video from this camcorder to test on my TV.
I have tried some samples I found but they were in a format that the TV would not view from the SD card. Other samples posted here were downloaded to a temporary diectory in the computer and displayed there, but I cannot save them to the SD card or flash drive.
Thanks
SYOTR is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 09:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYOTR View Post

New member here. Just purchased the Panasonic 54" Viera TV and love it. Works great with my stereoscopic still images. Looking at the JVC camcorder to add my own 3d movies. Is there some way I can download a short sample video from this camcorder to test on my TV.
I have tried some samples I found but they were in a format that the TV would not view from the SD card. Other samples posted here were downloaded to a temporary diectory in the computer and displayed there, but I cannot save them to the SD card or flash drive.
Thanks

Check earlier in the thread. Frank has links to several of his clips.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
Old 03-19-2011, 09:54 AM
Member
 
SYOTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Joe. Those were the ones I was unable to save to SD card or flash drive. They start playing on the computer as soon as the download is finished but give no way to save them.
SYOTR is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYOTR View Post

Thanks Joe. Those were the ones I was unable to save to SD card or flash drive. They start playing on the computer as soon as the download is finished but give no way to save them.

They can be saved. This is a browser setting.
Try right clicking the file.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 10:21 AM
Member
 
SYOTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Looks like that will work. Downloading again.
SYOTR is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

It would have been easier to balance it if my wife had not been telling me to put it down and come and eat.

Really, it was a piece of cake to balance it.
After it stops snowing maybe I'll try it outside.

Frank could you specify what settings/weights you used to balance it?
JonStatt is online now  
Old 03-19-2011, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

Frank could you specify what settings/weights you used to balance it?

I'd love to say yes however that is not the case as I don't go by their setup procedures at all and never did.
I do everything my way, even this.
The best I could do would be to show you a couple of high rez pictures if that would help.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

I'd love to say yes however that is not the case as I don't go by their setup procedures at all and never did.
I do everything my way, even this.
The best I could do would be to show you a couple of high rez pictures if that would help.

Even if you are doing it in an unconventional way, I would love to see how you have it setup...if it isn't too much trouble to see a couple of high rez pics Many thanks Frank.
JonStatt is online now  
Old 03-19-2011, 11:57 AM
Member
 
SYOTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No joy :-(
I was able to copy the files to an SD card but the Panasonic TV will not recognize the .ts files. I also tried some 3d MP4 and AVI files. It does not recognize these either.
Any suggestions?
SYOTR is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYOTR View Post

No joy :-(
I was able to copy the files to an SD card but the Panasonic TV will not recognize the .ts files. I also tried some 3d MP4 and AVI files. It does not recognize these either.
Any suggestions?

Trade it in for a Samsung?

I had exactly the same issues months ago and that's exactly how I solved it.....
Well, not exactly, I gave my VT-20 away.

Sorry about that, really.

I could help but the explanation takes more time then I have right now.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

Even if you are doing it in an unconventional way, I would love to see how you have it setup...if it isn't too much trouble to see a couple of high rez pics Many thanks Frank.

If I take 3D pictures of it can you view them?
If so, are .MPO files O.K. ?

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 12:33 PM
Member
 
SYOTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your answer Frank. I guess that's the price we pay for trying out new products on the bleeding edge of technology. There are no standards. The manufacturers don't give enough information in the specs or manuals to make a proper choice. There is no software to convert the 3d video formats.
I guess I will have to wait for a way to write files to a 3D Blu-ray disc.
SYOTR is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYOTR View Post

Thanks for your answer Frank. I guess that's the price we pay for trying out new products on the bleeding edge of technology. There are no standards. The manufacturers don't give enough information in the specs or manuals to make a proper choice. There is no software to convert the 3d video formats.
I guess I will have to wait for a way to write files to a 3D Blu-ray disc.

You're so right.
I don't know if you're able to connect your computer to your Panasonic but if you are, it's easy to play it in 3D.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYOTR View Post

Thanks for your answer Frank. I guess that's the price we pay for trying out new products on the bleeding edge of technology. There are no standards. The manufacturers don't give enough information in the specs or manuals to make a proper choice. There is no software to convert the 3d video formats.
I guess I will have to wait for a way to write files to a 3D Blu-ray disc.

Yes, there is. Try Sony Vegas Pro 10. I used that with Frank's files and a BD-RE disc. Worked great.

Frank, a long overdue thank you for the squirrel video!! Lucy was growling for the whole 2 minutes. Based on the tail wag, I'd say she really enjoyed it
alk3997 is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

If I take 3D pictures of it can you view them?
If so, are .MPO files O.K. ?

Yes ..no problems with that. I have an nVidia 3D PC set-up
JonStatt is online now  
Old 03-19-2011, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

Yes ..no problems with that. I have an nVidia 3D PC set-up

Give me a couple of hours....

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

Yes, there is. Try Sony Vegas Pro 10. I used that with Frank's files and a BD-RE disc. Worked great.

Frank, a long overdue thank you for the squirrel video!! Lucy was growling for the whole 2 minutes. Based on the tail wag, I'd say she really enjoyed it

You're quite welcome. I'm glad you and Lucy enjoyed it.
Right now while I'm typing this, I have my 3D glasses on and I'm watching a live 3D video of squirrels and one just attacked another one.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

Yes ..no problems with that. I have an nVidia 3D PC set-up

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7350380/Merlin.zip

Let me know if this helps.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7350380/Merlin.zip

Let me know if this helps.

Excellent Frank. Thank you very much indeed. Interesting with the start and end weights in the middle. But then you did say you did it non-conventionally! I will give this set-up a try. One thing I couldn't see in the pictures is which hole you used on the plate. Did you just use the middle H hole?
JonStatt is online now  
Old 03-19-2011, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

Excellent Frank. Thank you very much indeed. Interesting with the start and end weights in the middle. But then you did say you did it non-conventionally! I will give this set-up a try. One thing I couldn't see in the pictures is which hole you used on the plate. Did you just use the middle H hole?

Glad to be of service....
You are correct. It is indeed the H hole.
Hope it works out..

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 05:52 PM
Member
 
kostasgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kostasgr is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kostasgr View Post

What about this MVC 3d player?
http://3dvision-blog.com/the-new-ste...h-mvc-decoder/

It doesn't play the MVC output of the JVC.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 06:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Here's a question for Chris:

With MVC for 3D Blu-ray, the right eye file size is about half that of the left - with the rest of the information being derived from the left eye information. Since we start with interlaced video in the TD1, are both the right and left eye views (frame packing for interlace) stored without additional right eye compression?

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
Old 03-19-2011, 08:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

Excellent Frank. Thank you very much indeed. Interesting with the start and end weights in the middle. But then you did say you did it non-conventionally! I will give this set-up a try. One thing I couldn't see in the pictures is which hole you used on the plate. Did you just use the middle H hole?

Have fun, Jon. I expect to be joining you and Frank in a few weeks wrt the Merlin. I've looked at my Steadicam JR and I don't think it's worth fixing. If I did a kludge with it, I could get it to work, but I doubt it's going to be anywhere near as stable as the Merlin. They claim the Merlin is 4x stiffer in construction than the JR when new.

One thing I do see with the JVC SbS footage is that it ghosts a lot more on my RS40 than 3D Blu-ray. I suspect it's because of the difference between 120 frames/sec vs 96p frames/sec. In my imagination, I can't see any significant difference between ghosting in SbS mode vs MVC mode on the JVC. After all, they're both 120 frames/sec. Still, I'd appreciate getting your impressions of the level of ghosting with MVC video vs SbS video on your RS50. What I see in my mind's eye often doesn't end up being what I truly see when I actually look at something.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
Old 03-20-2011, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post
Glad to be of service....
You are correct. It is indeed the H hole.
Hope it works out..
Hi Frank. Thanks again for this. By the way, what 3D camera did you use to take the pictures of the set-up?

I tried the configuration as close as I could get to yours. It balanced but I was suffering from quite a bit of pendulum effect. Did you not find that at all?
JonStatt is online now  
Old 03-20-2011, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Incidentally, the European versions are recording at 1080i50(Frame packed) and not 60 as per the US versions. I wish they would make these optional rather than fixing them at the firmware level depending on region.

However for those using JVC projectors, this will result in less visible ghosting as the projector will refresh at 100Hz rather than 120Hz.
JonStatt is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off