Upcoming Sony Vegas Pro 10D to have MVC editing ability - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Latest info: 10.0d should be online later tonight. Also, don't expect it to support JVC's MP4-wrapped MVC

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 09:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Hey, thanks for checking on that. I was about to give a phone call to the Sony rep at NAB who told everyone it would be out on the 20th.

While I'm disappointed that the Vegas 10.0d won't be supporting the JVC format, I am not surprised because of what was said at NAB, that they didn't have info from JVC to include that. Likely it will be out in a 10.0e version in a few months, especially if you all bombard Sony and Vasst group with requests. Like I continue to say, I prefer Sony because it is a good product with lots of Sony and 3rd party support. All JVC seems to offer is it is on the market a couple months sooner. True for the 3D camcorder, not true for the 3D Projector.
Don Landis is offline  
post #33 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 183
I've been a Premiere user for years - haven't done anything with Vegas. Adobe's support for nVidia's CUDA was enough for me to switch from ATI cards, and the workflow improvements have been dramatic. Am I correct in thinking that Vegas doesn't support CUDA for accelerated effects?

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #34 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
It's ashame it won't support the JVC, but I guess that's JVC's own fault.

While us JVC users can't make a full HD 3D blu-ray, at least we can still take our footage and make a blu-ray disc that will be detected by our 3D TV's finally. (I hope)

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #35 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I wonder if there would be a way to convert the JVC's format and make it work on Vegas.

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #36 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blimey, Sony is really taking their time with making the new version available...

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #37 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
They sure are, I been checking every 30 minutes haha!

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #38 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

Am I correct in thinking that Vegas doesn't support CUDA for accelerated effects?

Familiar folks here, not that I'm surprised or anything Yeah, AFAIK Vegas does not use CUDA for effects; it's used for AVC encoding, however. This new version implements support for OpenCL for AVC encoding acceleration with ATI cards.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #39 of 157 Old 04-21-2011, 09:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post
Familiar folks here, not that I'm surprised or anything Yeah, AFAIK Vegas does not use CUDA for effects; it's used for AVC encoding, however. This new version implements support for OpenCL for AVC encoding acceleration with ATI cards.
CUDA support for effects and rendering in Premiere is addictive. It would be hard for me to live without it now. I can have several 1920x1080 streams on the timeline, along with multiple complex titles, each with effects and motion - playing in real time. That's just sick.

Still, if Vegas supports JVC's version of MVC, I'll think seriously about getting it. I think it's unlikely that Adobe (along with Cineform) will beat Sony to the punch with "frame packing for interlace" support, but who knows? I'll be one happy editor if they do.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #40 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 02:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Still not out yet. Come on Sony let's go already!

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #41 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 03:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

CUDA support for effects and rendering in Premiere is addictive. It would be hard for me to live without it now. I can have several 1920x1080 streams on the timeline, along with multiple complex titles, each with effects and motion - playing in real time. That's just sick.

I know, I use Premiere to edit 4K RED footage and CUDA is a huge help with that, even with a RED Rocket churning away under the bonnet.

I see Sony didn't manage to release 10d yet. I suppose they have some bad bugs to squash still... the developers pushed the release date back once already.

Quote:


if Vegas supports JVC's version of MVC

It doesn't, said the rep. TBH, I don't think Sony made a serious attempt at supporting JVC's MP4 wrapper at all. If they had, they'd found out that JVC's solution is one standardized in the latest official AVC spec, and not a proprietary ball of band-aids and gaffer tape.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #42 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 04:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Oh well.. waiting and waiting

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #43 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravia3D View Post

Oh well.. waiting and waiting

I expect nothing to happen on Easter.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #44 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 07:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 168
I don't know if this is the cause for the delay with Vegas 10d, but the Sony Playstation3 Network has been down since 20th. Apparently some hackers have attacked the Intranet at Sony and brought their internal network down causing the PS3 Network to go offline. Others are claiming that this has infected the entire intranet at Sony. Maybe its a good thing we don't have the update??????
Don Landis is offline  
post #45 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I'm not sure where this "April 20" stuff came from, but I heard "End of April"
bigbarney is offline  
post #46 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Landis View Post

I don't know if this is the cause for the delay with Vegas 10d, but the Sony Playstation3 Network has been down since 20th.

Doubt it.
Sony and Sony Creative Software (SCS) are 2 completely different entities.

SCS website is up and running fine as are its download sites for all SCS software.
bigbarney is offline  
post #47 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

I'm not sure where this "April 20" stuff came from, but I heard "End of April"

Sony rep confirmed to me April 20th was the official release date, but developers pushed it back a day. Should have been released by now, methinks.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #48 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 02:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

I'm not sure where this "April 20" stuff came from, but I heard "End of April"


First heard it at the classes sessions presentations on Vegas Pro at NAB. They announced it as " you'll be able to download it as an update April 20th."
Don Landis is offline  
post #49 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 03:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
icerat4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Landis View Post

First heard it at the classes sessions presentations on Vegas Pro at NAB. They announced it as " you'll be able to download it as an update April 20th."

Hey Don How many drinks did you have at Nab. Lol ... lies i tell ya all lies
icerat4 is offline  
post #50 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Wish they would hurry already. I have a movie I wanna edit.

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #51 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
icerat4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravia3D View Post

Wish they would hurry already. I have a movie I wanna edit.

You have a sony. cam also.
icerat4 is offline  
post #52 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 05:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravia3D View Post

Wish they would hurry already. I have a movie I wanna edit.

Go ahead and begin with 10.0 c. Then finish it with d when it is released. Unless you also have that sony camcorder you have everything now except for the burn to bluray which will be in d. Just stack up those veg files for now.

Wife and I were talking and she suggested I consider the gopro hd 3d kit as I plan of setting up a 3D bench 2 cam system anyway for my landscape 3D project. I want to shoot in Bryce Canyon and I'm not sure the Sony has the range for that large a shoot area,
Don Landis is offline  
post #53 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Landis View Post


Wife and I were talking and she suggested I consider the gopro hd 3d kit as I plan of setting up a 3D bench 2 cam system anyway for my landscape 3D project. I want to shoot in Bryce Canyon and I'm not sure the Sony has the range for that large a shoot area,

I like your wife's idea.
I bought two GoPro Hero units.
The second one is going to be hacked up with a new cable between cameras to allow for much greater interaxial then the standard 1.3" and a new housing will be made to allow for varying the IA with a servo motor. In addition this will allow access to the USB ports and video out for external power and monitoring.
I changed the standard fisheye lenses with Sunex non fisheye lenses and it's a big improvement.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #54 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 09:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Frank- I continue to follow your work along with my other studies on how 3D is done by those with lots of experience. The small 1.125 ( Sony) IA will be fine for much of my work that has close to medium distance shooting but there will be times when I, like you, will be shooting over great distances, mountain ranges, canyons, etc. This is where the bench side by side system will be necessary to keep the stereo from going flat. The Go Pro HD pair seems like the simplest quality setup for that purpose at my low budget. I am concerned about the lack of real time stereographic monitoring. The way I saw it being done at Element Technica is they use a realtime stereographic monitor to tweak the alignment after setting the IA to approximate distance and convergence angles based on shooting distance. The Sony camcorder has a manual control to aid in final adjustment to optimize the 3D affect but I worry over the lack of such calibration in the GoPro 3D system in the field. Of course Sony feels the 3D stereo calibration plugin will be able to deal with that in post. I'll be following your work as you pioneer your GoPro modifications. I know when I went through the Vegas calibration it seemed pretty easy and straightforward to fix the alignment of two mismatched cameras even using keyframes to adjust over the course of a scene's movement. Its a pretty powerful tool.

Regarding the synchronous motor control. The rigs I played with used not just a servo to set IA but also one to set Convergence. Very smooth and precise. Check out the website at Technica3D.com
Don Landis is offline  
post #55 of 157 Old 04-22-2011, 11:19 PM
Member
 
lycheejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
as also JVC TD1 user - Hi from Germany....

German supportphone tells me during the nighttimes..."please call back at business-hours 9 to 5... blabla....) - Then I call that time and it tells me since days.... "sorry, support is not available..." - very funny. Then I calles the US-support, which told me, there is NO support in Germany.... - what a pain in the neck...

I am following the comments here since days, also waiting for the small "d" behind the 10.0....

greets from Germany
lycheejo
lycheejo is offline  
post #56 of 157 Old 04-23-2011, 01:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post

I bought two GoPro Hero units. The second one is going to be hacked up with a new cable between cameras to allow for much greater interaxial then the standard 1.3" and a new housing will be made to allow for varying the IA with a servo motor. In addition this will allow access to the USB ports and video out for external power and monitoring. I changed the standard fisheye lenses with Sunex non fisheye lenses and it's a big improvement.

Frank, I have similar plans for GoPro Hero and the 3D system, and would love to read more of your project.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #57 of 157 Old 04-23-2011, 03:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Come on Sony already, getting bored waiting.

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
post #58 of 157 Old 04-23-2011, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Frank, I have similar plans for GoPro Hero and the 3D system, and would love to read more of your project.

Since I've retired I have more projects then when I was working.
I'm hoping to coax a close friend into helping me program a single board computer into a custom dual camera controller which includes the ability to adjust IA and convergence. We've started on it but I'm not doing my part at the moment as I'm having too much fun playing with the bears.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #59 of 157 Old 04-23-2011, 10:06 AM
Member
 
lycheejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravia3D View Post

Come on Sony already, getting bored waiting.

... even in Germany we are waiting for the surprise.... SONY, be nice and let us have this present instead of coloured eggs.....

I guess, they do not work during easter holidays, do they? - but canĀ“t wait until x-mas....
lycheejo is offline  
post #60 of 157 Old 04-23-2011, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bravia3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Hopefully they are taking long trying to make Vegas work with the JVC. (Wishful hoping)

3D items I own:

Sony 46" LX900 active 3D set

Sony HMZ-T3 (Cushion pads and light blocker mod)

LG LW6500 passive 3D set

PS3 & PS4

Sony BDP-S570 BD3D player

JVC-GS-TD1 (with Cyclopital base extender)

Fujifilm W3

Sony Alpha 55 (for 3D panoramic photos)

Quadcopter + Zenmuse and GoPro Hero 3 (Filming...

bravia3D is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off