Sony 3D Bloggie just arrived - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 124 Old 06-07-2011, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Landis View Post

My Vizio doesn't do Line interleave! I tested all the modes I have access to.

That's what I expected.
I would like to see if it works on a LG passive.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 124 Old 06-12-2011, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
"While in this mode I'm not getting any ghosting. I do find that putting on the"3D glasses I have here in the edit room (Real 3D) it takes a few seconds for the 3D to lock in. Then the Z axis and convergence pops. I'll try the glasses that comes with Vizio, still packed in the carton later. If I nod my head up and down a couple times I can speed up the process where the 3D locks in. I hadn't noticed this with other 3D demos of this polar technology before so I wonder if it has something to do with this monitor or Vegas in SBS mode? Let me know your experience with this."

Don, I also experience a delay before the 3D locks in. Seems to happen every time, and the shift time seems to have nothing to do with my head nodding or turning, putting glasses on or whether the glasses are from a movie house (Real3D) or supplied with the TV.
markr041 is offline  
post #93 of 124 Old 06-12-2011, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Mark- I thought it might just be my brain.

Hey, I picked up some flip up 3D glasses that clip on to regular glasses. Work well for a couple bucks. Shipping was more than the glasses.
Don Landis is offline  
post #94 of 124 Old 06-13-2011, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Don,

Coincidentally, we purchased a new passive 23" 3D monitor from LG (my family will not let me monopolize the 32" Vizio, they like it so much for 3D). It came with one regular pair of passive glasses and one clip-on! The clip-on is great. The passive LG monitor exhibits the same behavior - the lag in start up - as the Vizio, no matter what I do with my head, or toes. I can sit closer to this monitor too. The Vizio has somewhat better color (deeper blacks), though.
markr041 is offline  
post #95 of 124 Old 06-13-2011, 10:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Mark- this thread has morphed from Bloggie to a Vizio Passive monitor thread but that's OK with me.

I was really interested in getting a 23-24" Passive for my edit work station but as it turned out, I have no regrets getting the 32" and placing it off to my left in the corner of the room. I think this made it better. The one annoying thing with this monitor is I have to constantly select 3D or it defaults to 2D, even with a 3D BD in a player. Have you figured out a way to make it always select 3D mode? It does auto switch to the correct hdmi but not 3D. I can understand SBS or TB 3D is not detectible but a 3D BD should be automatic, just like my Sony Projector.
As for the lag, I've gotten used to it and it seems to only be an issue during the beginning of each edit session, so that is why I thought it must be my brain. It sounded like I was joking but I actually felt that might be the real reason.
Don Landis is offline  
post #96 of 124 Old 06-14-2011, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pr0lHrMMagI

This is actually very interesting, and approved by Sony.

Some new points:

1. Each camera is aligned individually at the factory.

2. The internal battery is actually one of the standard batteries sold for Sony P&S cameras (I have a few).
markr041 is offline  
post #97 of 124 Old 06-17-2011, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
With action and a storyline and a conclusion:

http://youtu.be/hnP1K5Zeys4?hd=1

Not just pretty pictures of buildings and flowers.
markr041 is offline  
post #98 of 124 Old 06-18-2011, 02:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Mark, what happened to the sound? All I could hear was hiss and way down under was the train. Also the sound cut out altogether at the scene cuts.
Don Landis is offline  
post #99 of 124 Old 06-18-2011, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Don, I will check. I am in the field not using Vegas to edit, so the program I used may have mucked up the sound in combination with what Youtube does. Just may be no shortcuts. Interestingly, not many programs handle mp4 (avc) with aac sound well - m2ts and ac3 has a lot of software options. I was trying to avoid conversion outside of Vegas (which I do not have with me).

And on this one, sound is particularly important - train whistle, chugging, and a big bang when the trains collide.

Oh, well I can always cover it up with a music track...
markr041 is offline  
post #100 of 124 Old 06-18-2011, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
I think it's there just way down under the hiss.
Don Landis is offline  
post #101 of 124 Old 06-20-2011, 01:33 PM
Member
 
Loslonelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even on youtube with red green 3D,you sold me on the 3D bloggie. I have a 60 inch 3D DLP with active shutter,and this is my first non smartphone digital camcorder purchase.After i saw the carousel footage,i ordered it straight away.Thanks guys for all the footage and insight.
Loslonelyman is offline  
post #102 of 124 Old 06-21-2011, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Loslonelyman: I continue to be amazed at the quality of the 3D videos and even the stills from the 3D Bloggie. I think Don's original pool video with kid is one of the best 3D videos I have seen from any camera on Youtube - good color even in anaglyph, good 3D depth, action, a cute kid, and actual audio (rather than a substituted music soundtrack copout).

Enjoy.
markr041 is offline  
post #103 of 124 Old 06-21-2011, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
The (stereo) sound quality of the 3D Bloggie is very good.

Don, On the train video - the "hiss" is the actual sound of these massive engines at rest - there were three of them. That sound is loud, and the Bloggie mics have delivered the sound appropriately (the relative volume and frequency spectrum). I was back at the same place gaging the sound again to check (that was not the only reason for returning).

As to cut outs: when I use Vegas and can see the Bloggie sound and video tracks, in many clips the sound ends before the video part ends (the sound and video are in perfect synch, it is just the sound cuts out before the video stops, evidently). This does not happen for all clips, so I am not sure what is causing this - the way the button is pressed on the camera? the direction of the wind? noidding my head? In the train video, I did not have access to Vegas, and just butt-sequenced the clips - no trimming. So the audio gaps were evident. This issue does not pertain to the TD10. Do you see this in your Bloggie clips?
markr041 is offline  
post #104 of 124 Old 06-21-2011, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Yes sometimes I do, but I always edit my stuff in Vegas and trim the clips. I usually cross fade the audio in a split edit and match the volume of continuing sound from clip to clip as moving the camera locked mics can change the sound.

IMO, I don't think the hiss sound, even though natural is complimentary to the story. It overpowers everything else. The only way I would be able to change that with respect to the other sounds is to use something like Sony Noise reduction module. I've used that to reduce air conditioner noise in a room so the speakers would have more presence.
Don Landis is offline  
post #105 of 124 Old 06-22-2011, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Loslonelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this Sony Noise Reduction Module included in Vegas Software? If it is,could you give me some idea where? I am learning how to use it on the fly and some of my Bloggie vids have overpowering ambient noise. Thanks again for all the insight into this new photographic realm i am trudging through.
Loslonelyman is offline  
post #106 of 124 Old 06-23-2011, 12:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loslonelyman View Post

Is this Sony Noise Reduction Module included in Vegas Software? If it is,could you give me some idea where? I am learning how to use it on the fly and some of my Bloggie vids have overpowering ambient noise. Thanks again for all the insight into this new photographic realm i am trudging through.

In later versions of Sound Forge the extra plugin came bundled in the package and if you bought Sound Forge and installed the extra module for Noise Reduction it would show up in Vegas. But, it never worked in Vegas Pro 64bit. Only the 32 bit version. It's why I have to keep an older version of 32 bit Vegas Pro resident. There are other 32 bit plugins that don't work in 64 bit Vegas too. Some of these are really great so to use these I may take some clips into older 32 bit vegas and work them, render a new avi and port that into Vegas 64bit for the project.
Don Landis is offline  
post #107 of 124 Old 06-23-2011, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Loslonelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Landis View Post

In later versions of Sound Forge the extra plugin came bundled in the package and if you bought Sound Forge and installed the extra module for Noise Reduction it would show up in Vegas. But, it never worked in Vegas Pro 64bit. Only the 32 bit version. It's why I have to keep an older version of 32 bit Vegas Pro resident. There are other 32 bit plugins that don't work in 64 bit Vegas too. Some of these are really great so to use these I may take some clips into older 32 bit vegas and work them, render a new avi and port that into Vegas 64bit for the project.

That explains it I have 64bit Vegas and could not find it. Now to get 32 bit installed. If i had known all the redundant software i would need with a 64bit o/s i never would have bothered upgrading. Thanks again Don
Loslonelyman is offline  
post #108 of 124 Old 06-23-2011, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loslonelyman View Post


That explains it I have 64bit Vegas and could not find it. Now to get 32 bit installed. If i had known all the redundant software i would need with a 64bit o/s i never would have bothered upgrading. Thanks again Don

Oh, you want the bulk of rendering to happen in a 64 bit version because of the access to all that additional memory and speed with multithread and multi core support. Just remember, save your older stuff as you just may need it for things like this. I still keep ver 6 around for a plugin that doesn't work on 7+.
Don Landis is offline  
post #109 of 124 Old 07-02-2011, 01:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Update from version 1.07 to 1.09, to "improve file compatability".
markr041 is offline  
post #110 of 124 Old 07-05-2011, 01:48 AM
Member
 
Fireplug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even with the new firmware my 65lw6500 LG TV will not recognize the mpo files created by the Bloggie. They play fine through hdmi from the Bloggie itself, but when copied to a usb device (or simply even chosen when using the Bloggie in usb mode) from the TV menu, I get an invalid file error.

Luckily I have figured out a fairly simple way to make the LG be able to read them. Got Stereo Photo Maker from here http://stereo.jpn.org/eng/stphmkr/ and if you open the stereo mpo file with the program and just save it without doing anything (you can up the default compression if you desire) then the resulting saved file can be played natively by the LG TV. Something about the Sony mpo implementation that the LG doesn't like gets fixed by the program. Thankfully the program includes a batch feature so it is easy to fix a whole series of pictures.
Fireplug is offline  
post #111 of 124 Old 07-05-2011, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Fireplug- What sort of photos do you take in 3D? Personally, being a videoguy, I haven't found much point in shooting 3D stills...yet. I suppose if I planned on making something for a viewmaster...
Don Landis is offline  
post #112 of 124 Old 07-05-2011, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Just as a gratuitous comment, many 3D videos I have seen posted might be better off being slide shows of 3D stills - static shots of buildings, flowers, or gardens or even posing people. If there is no movement, of camera or subject, might as well take mpo's (less shaking)...
markr041 is offline  
post #113 of 124 Old 07-05-2011, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by markr041 View Post
Just as a gratuitous comment, many 3D videos I have seen posted might be better off being slide shows of 3D stills - static shots of buildings, flowers, or gardens or even posing people. If there is no movement, of camera or subject, might as well take mpo's (less shaking)...
But Mark... You and I are the only ones posting edited 3D content.
Don Landis is offline  
post #114 of 124 Old 07-05-2011, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Fireplug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Landis
Fireplug- What sort of photos do you take in 3D? Personally, being a videoguy, I haven't found much point in shooting 3D stills...yet. I suppose if I planned on making something for a viewmaster...
Well, I just bought the bloggie 3d yesterday (and for that matter I got the TV five days ago) so right now I have all kinds of pictures of the couch and soda cans and my foot and everything else that makes us all go ooh and ahh and makes the kids think some kind of magic is happening.

I'm not a professional photographer so I imagine we will just be using it for a little awe factor in home movies and pictures right now but my wife is a Disney freak and I think would like to do some kind of 3d Disneyland tour stuff for a Disney fan forum.

As an aside, the LG TV wasn't able to recognize the demo 3d avi files I downloaded from the Fuji site which are created by the W3 camera. This is why I couldnt even consider that camera and went with the bloggie 3d whose native video files play beautifully on the 65lw6500.
Fireplug is offline  
post #115 of 124 Old 07-05-2011, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
If you like stills and shoot some in 3D, maybe you could experiment with some anaglyph prints done with an inkjet photo printer. I think a work flow for Vegas could make that happen. I can see it now, Fireplug has an 8x10 glossy photo print of his foot, I mean his kids, hanging up in his office with a pair of cardboard glasses taped to the frame for people who want to view it.
Don Landis is offline  
post #116 of 124 Old 07-05-2011, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
The 3D Bloggie videos are much better than the W3 videos.

For making anaglyph photos the free Stereo Photo Maker does a good job of converting mpo files to anaglyph, and the anaglyph jpegs can be viewed on any monitor or printed by any color printer. You do need those paper glasses (red/cyan).

If you want to see some great Disneyland (World?) 3D videos, look for Don's videos on Youtube. They are made using the Sony TD10, but the 3D Bloggie does a really nice job too, and is lot easier to carry around.
markr041 is offline  
post #117 of 124 Old 07-05-2011, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
I only have one video uploaded on the Bloggie 3D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IibJoPqlK5k

It was shot entirely with the Bloggie 3D and edited in Vegas Pro
Don Landis is offline  
post #118 of 124 Old 07-16-2011, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 147
The major advantage of the 3D Bloggie is that you can take it anywhere, and shoot 3D without drawing attention.

This video is of train travel from Hong Kong to China in an MTR (first class and regular) and in a high speed train. Plus restaurants, stations, some street life.

Edited in Sony Vegas Platinum 11.

markr041 is offline  
post #119 of 124 Old 08-04-2011, 07:25 AM
Member
 
sportage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this sony Bloggie 3D ONLY use the red/blue glasses for viewing? I keep reading it looks great on an actual 3D tv. But actual 3D tv's use either active or the passive 3D system. Any tv can display the red/blue image if using the red/blue glasses. So what is the point of viewing on an actual 3D tv if you are only able to use the 1950's red/blue glasses? i don't get it.
sportage is offline  
post #120 of 124 Old 08-04-2011, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 178
The Bloggie 3D doesn't require any glasses to view on the device's built in 2" monitor. If you connect it to a 3D TV via an hdmi cable, you will need to use the glasses that the 3D TV requires. The Bloggie 3D does not produce 3D video requiring red / cyan glasses. You must edit or convert the Bloggie 3D video to make it ready for red / cyan glasses.
Don Landis is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off