Best VIDEO CARD option to upgrade HTPC to 3D - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 04-30-2011, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Araltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Subject says it all.. I have a HTPC that I'm trying to make 3D BLURAY compatible, obviously my ATI HD4350 won't cut it. So I need a 3D video card - anybody know what my best option would be....?

Mitsu WD82738 DLP TV
Media Center PC HDMI@1080p
Moto 6412-III HD-DVR
Yam RXA3000 & Atlantic Tech speakers
Araltd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 04-30-2011, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Nvidia GTX-430 or higher.
Checkerboard 3D mode to your DLP makes it simple.

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 05-01-2011, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Zappdap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the GTX460 with 1gb. Put it in my i5 computer and hooked it up to my Samsung 46 inch. WOW
Zappdap is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 05-02-2011, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Araltd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw some HD3D compatible ATI (amd)... like the 5450 on newegg is only $35

The complete list is here

Code:
http://www.amd.com/us/products/technologies/amd-hd3d/Pages/supported-hardware.aspx
Are any of these worth it? They list my 82738 as a compatible 3D device....

Mitsu WD82738 DLP TV
Media Center PC HDMI@1080p
Moto 6412-III HD-DVR
Yam RXA3000 & Atlantic Tech speakers
Araltd is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 05-04-2011, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm also interested in people's opinions on this. I currently use an HTPC for all blu ray / media files and it works good enough (occasional video stutter and rarely, TMT will crash during a blu ray).

I'm buying a 3DTV this week and was deciding between on Oppo Blu Ray player (BDP-93), or just upgrading my HTPC to a really nice graphics card that's 3D capable.

I'd much rather get the Oppo player, except it doesn't support DVD or Blu Ray folder support...and I have about 200 concert DVD's I've made over the years with menu's and chapter support. I need a way to still play those, so I figured I'd just stick with my HTPC and upgrade the video card.

I guess that was a really long way of asking if there's a video card out there that can come even remotely close to the high quality of the Oppo player? I'd really appreciate anyone's help with this.
robneal81 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 05-05-2011, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been reading around and it seems the Radeon HD 6450 has 3D blu ray decoding included on-chip. Since I don't play video games and only care about blu ray playback, I think that should be fine.

I saw a few places that had the fanless SAPPHIRE 100322L for around $50. Unless someone suggests otherwise, I'll give it a try and post my results.
robneal81 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 05-16-2011, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
robneal81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got the card, installed it and tried to watch a 3D blu ray. I tried Arcsoft TotalMedia Theater 3 (with SIM3D), TotalMedia Theater 5 and Power DVD. After HOURS of experimenting, I looks on AMD's site and found that they only listed the Panasonic VT series TV's as compatible with their cards and I have the GT series.

I have now officially given up on media centers and will be putting mine on eBay. Seriously, I've been using media center since the beta of MCE 2005 was released and have been running it with a CableCARD for about three years. I have done a million installs with every compatible OS and I'm not officially fed up.

I'm going to replace the media center PC I had in my bedroom with a WD Live player and replace the one in my living room with a regular 3D blu ray player.

Goodbye media center...you were once awesome, now you're just a pain in everyone's ass.
robneal81 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 05-27-2011, 01:26 PM
Member
 
techtre2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just in case you haven't tossed out your HTPC yet, if you want to go ATI, you need to get a 6000 series for 3D Blu-ray. I've got a 6850 running in mine it works beautifully.

*Sorry, I just re-read your last post and it's the TV that's not compatible. Nevermind
techtre2003 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 02-15-2012, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
panakk87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Ihave one question please:

what graphic card is better for

1 3d movie playback

2 3d pc gaming e.x. Battlefield 3 3D

3 display on lg 3d cinema tv

Ati 6450 or msi gt430 ( nvidia 3d vision ready ) ?

The one is invidia 3d vision and the other HD3D
panakk87 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 02-16-2012, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
panakk87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone tell me if with an ati 6770 ddr5 can cover my needs on 3d gaming ?
panakk87 is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 02-16-2012, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
panakk87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it much worth pc 3d gaming against xbox 360 3d gaming ?
panakk87 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-07-2012, 07:22 AM
Newbie
 
bmbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there are some many different opinion about getting a 3d worked on HTPC.

I am going crazy, the more i read, the more i get confused.
bmbk is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 08-15-2012, 09:16 PM
Member
 
cpk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by panakk87 View Post

Is it much worth pc 3d gaming against xbox 360 3d gaming ?

PC gaming is a lot better on pc. The better the graphics card the better results. There are so many different controls for video, mapping and game play than a console. I remember reading one of the big reviewers for pc gamer mag stating that playing games on a console was liking watching avatar on an old tv at the barber shop. One of the big things is audio on AMD graphic cards can output DTD HD and DTS MA which Nvdia cannot do on most of there high end cards. Try it you will like it.
cpk123 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 09-01-2012, 04:25 AM
Newbie
 
bmbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, want to ask the ask, I have the 6670 Radeon, I connect it to optoma hd33 projector, when I switch to 3d mode, the desktop frequency is 24hz, his make the projector display to become smaller, not the same projection size as 60hz,

Anyone having the same problem, any way to overcome this, tried nvidia gt 630 and when the display frequency changed to 24hertz,, the screen does not become smaller.
bmbk is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 12-11-2012, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmbk View Post

Hi, want to ask the ask, I have the 6670 Radeon, I connect it to optoma hd33 projector, when I switch to 3d mode, the desktop frequency is 24hz, his make the projector display to become smaller, not the same projection size as 60hz,
Anyone having the same problem, any way to overcome this, tried nvidia gt 630 and when the display frequency changed to 24hertz,, the screen does not become smaller.

With ATI cards, you have to adjust the overscan individually for every resolution.
clubwerks is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off