AVS Forum banner

3D MTS files from a Sony HDR-TD10

71K views 301 replies 51 participants last post by  tomtastic 
#1 ·
Is there a way to watch MTS files copied from an HDR-TD10 (that were recorded in 3D) on a computer in 3D?

I have a Mitsubishi 3D DLP TV with shutter glasses I use for movies and games. I've tried playing them with VLC player but it's in 2D. I posted a message on Tri-Def's 3D Player forum but it doesn't look like it supports 3D MTS files.

#2 ·
Ok after doing some research I got Streophonic Player to play the files in 3D in DLP-Ready 3D mode. It works pretty well.

I'm new to this so the next step is figuring out how to edit movies and put music behind them. From what I read it looks like Vegas is the application to go with.

I'm helping my dropzone out with selling 3D Blu Rays of people's skydives so it looks like we'll be able to do it.

Is there a currently a way to burn 3D blu rays after editing them in Vegas (and have them work on all of the common 3D blu-ray players)?

#3 ·
What player did you use?

Good luck with Vegas. Maybe it will work better for you but it continuously crashed on me. I never was able to get one video to finish rendering and burn to a Blu-Ray. My trial for Vegas ran out without a single success so I gave up. Beyond running the camera right to my TV I could not get 3D to play any other way.

#4 ·
I used Stereoscopic player to play the .MTS files pulled from the camera and it worked well. But when I used Vegas to create a movie and render it as an AVCHD .M2TS file the stereoscopic player didn't play the file correctly - instead of automatically choosing a 3D layout (like it did for the .MTS file and set it to Separate Streams) it made me choose between the modes manually and none of them actually looked right.