The Official VEFXi 3D-Bee Owners' Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 03:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Tack View Post


My gut tells me that something that inexpensive is going to be more in the league of the converters built into many 3D sets, but you never know. But just from rdjam's enthusiasm, I get the impression that there is something truly unique about the 3D-Bee's design.

That would be correct, Steve - the 3D from the 3D-Bee is superb. It is clear that someone who hasn't seen it may not understand what that difference might really mean on their screen, but I can highly recommend that folks interested in 3D conversion get this.

I sat with Cineramax this weekend and looked at his system, with the Terranex 3D converter and I can say the Terranex was AMAZING. The 3D was the best I have seen, but one must remember that the Terranex solution costs something like $75,000 (eek)

I've seen all the built in 3D systems out there, like the Samsungs, etc - nothing is even close to the 3D-Bee. Simple as that.
rdjam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
knobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: london ontario
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

That would be correct, Steve - the 3D from the 3D-Bee is superb. It is clear that someone who hasn't seen it may not understand what that difference might really mean on their screen, but I can highly recommend that folks interested in 3D conversion get this.

I sat with Cineramax this weekend and looked at his system, with the Terranex 3D converter and I can say the Terranex was AMAZING. The 3D was the best I have seen, but one must remember that the Terranex solution costs something like $75,000 (eek)

I've seen all the built in 3D systems out there, like the Samsungs, etc - nothing is even close to the 3D-Bee. Simple as that.

you seem quite knowledgeable about the 3d-bee.would you know if it will work with a samsung hlt5687s dlp 3d ready tv with the mits 3d adapter?
knobby is offline  
post #63 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Don't know about that TV or that config, but 3D-Bee themselves are posting here also and they might answer your question
rdjam is offline  
 
post #64 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikemav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Leesburg, VA ,USA
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I do not have a 3D-Bee but I do have the monoprice 2D-3D converter thus far. Reading the good info on the 3D-Bee and comments it has worked well for some with console video gaming to play 2D games in 3D, I decided to try the monoprice I already had on hand with Forza 4 last night on my LG passive 3DTV. I have not tried the LG's own 2D-3D converter (I will have to give that a go as well.)

I am familiar with good 3D racing sim performance- I used Nvidia 3D Vision with an older DLP set on PC games to race in 3D and the results were fantastic. I've also used Gran Turismo 5 on the PS3 in native 3D mode on this LG set. I found with the 2D-3D on Forza w/ the monoprice, while there was a good perception of depth and 3D effect, and even less ghosting than present on the PS3 GT5 in native 3D, there was a bad scaling or other effect where the text in the game menus was very difficult to read in psudo-3D.

I also have seen similar issues w/ GT5 and native 3D. I'd say the text issue was worse on FM4 but the crosstalk/ghosting worse on GT5. Neither IMO is worth the compromise and both look better to my eyes @ 1080p non-3D (and this is coming from my perspective being a huge 3D advocate, especially w/ racing sims/games.) The juice just isn't worth the squeeze in this case.

Curious if anyone w/ the 3D-Bee can try a similar setup using an Xbox 360 and Forza 4 or another game to see how the menus/text perform when 3D is enabled?
mikemav is offline  
post #65 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,815
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by knobby View Post

you seem quite knowledgeable about the 3d-bee.would you know if it will work with a samsung hlt5687s dlp 3d ready tv with the mits 3d adapter?

Knobby, I think it's likely that it will. According to the spec sheet, the Mits adapter accepts side-by-side format in 1080p/24/30/60, 1080i/60 and 720p/60, which the Bee models will do. Keep in mind that the Bee only converts to 2D to side-by-side3D (and 720p/120 frame sequential in the Trainer and Pro models), and doesn't change resolution, so your source has to be at one of the resolutions listed.

BTW, I have a Bee on its way for use with one of the VIP 3D-Theater boxes. Its list of accepted resolutions in side-by-side format is similar to that of the Mits adapter, so if I can get it to work in my setup, you shouldn't have any problems.

Now, if you're planning to use an HTPC, all bets are off!

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #66 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 12:05 PM
Member
 
freddyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted some comments on the Monoprice vs the Home - with the Trainer, I almost always use and prefer Z--- to Z- About the only quibble with Vefxi product would be their price - they're very smooth.
freddyi is offline  
post #67 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 12:19 PM
Member
 
yes dear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3dnewb said,
"I'm also curious how the Monoprice converter stacks against the Bee, after all it is 1/3 of the price of their cheapest unit."

I have both (trainer bee). Monoprice is a very good product, shockingly good for the price. Mostly I prefer the bee (might be a placebo effect based on price) but for one source (directv hd pbs news hour) the 3d from monoprice has more depth and pop than bee. Bee as you would expect does better converting blu-ray 2d movies but MP is quite good. In my setup optoma hd66/3dxl, clearglasses, mp does 3d at 60mhz whereas everything else including bee, playstation, directv, nvidiapc is 120 mhz. Might be placebo again but non 3d aspects of image such as motion smoothness, contrast and degree of HD detail from 3d converted 2d blu-rays favor the bee. MP might tie or even rarely beat the bee if the source is a close-in tv set with many depth cues but for most scenes bee has more lifelike 3d by my subjective seat of pants impression. I wish there were someone smarter than me (like a 21st century consumer reports) testing these things.

Addict that I am I have the sony 3d goggles coming and I am looking forward to repeating the comparison. Hope it builds the market for 3d conversion. I do not have any connection to 3dbee but it is a local company for which I am rooting.

OT I am also an amateur photographer and the 3d conversion of 2d photographs shown on PBS is much better than I would have thought possible.
yes dear is offline  
post #68 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone using these must remember the source for 1080P out must be 1080P in. If you are inputting 1080i, it will look bad, such as a broadcast signal.

I do have to say the Kanex Pro looks sexy with all those connections. The addition of things like Automatic Up-Scaler Built-in for Scaling and supported resolutions, Image Enchancement, Noise Reduction Mechanism and support for 480i/576i/1080i as inputs. It even has line interleaved 3D output for passive glasses with polarized display.

So the question becomes, will the scaling and noise reduction reflect in the PQ? Well most likely yes, but maybe not for 1080P sources. The 3D-Bee's claim to fame seems to be their saying that they do no post processing other than conversion.

So it'd be more interesting to see this unit compared to the Bee, and see if things like Image Sharpening - Spatial adaptive ( Gradient Based), Adaptive Edge Enhancement,Bad Light Correction - Region adaptive, De-blocking- reducing compression artifacts, Filtering random noise give it a clear disadvantage when a 1080P signal is received and output. My money would be on this unit for DVD's and sub quality Blu-rays.

But for the budget minded or non-discretionary, the Monoprice seems like a safe bet as long as the input source is 480p, 720p, 1080p.
3DNewb is offline  
post #69 of 293 Old 11-08-2011, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
A feature that would be REALLY cool with the conversion boxes that have multiple inputs would be dual outputs. Those of us with HDMI 1.3 receivers could send one output to the receiver for audio, and the other could go directly to the TV.

I realize you could accomplish the same thing by adding an HDMI splitter, but that's a lot of extra power and HDMI cables to deal with.
Steve Tack is offline  
post #70 of 293 Old 11-09-2011, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
 
knobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: london ontario
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post

Knobby, I think it's likely that it will. According to the spec sheet, the Mits adapter accepts side-by-side format in 1080p/24/30/60, 1080i/60 and 720p/60, which the Bee models will do. Keep in mind that the Bee only converts to 2D to side-by-side3D (and 720p/120 frame sequential in the Trainer and Pro models), and doesn't change resolution, so your source has to be at one of the resolutions listed.

BTW, I have a Bee on its way for use with one of the VIP 3D-Theater boxes. Its list of accepted resolutions in side-by-side format is similar to that of the Mits adapter, so if I can get it to work in my setup, you shouldn't have any problems.

Now, if you're planning to use an HTPC, all bets are off!

thanks hope to see your review about how your bee works on your set up.we plan on using it on the xbox 360 and playstation3 and our movie collection.i was mostly concerned about it being compatible with our setup.
knobby is offline  
post #71 of 293 Old 11-09-2011, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post

Curious if anyone w/ the 3D-Bee can try a similar setup using an Xbox 360 and Forza 4 or another game to see how the menus/text perform when 3D is enabled?

I have XB 360 with Forza 4 and will be trying this out next week - also have friends bringing a PS3 over.

The closest thing to video games that I use currently is watching Formula 1 via the 3D-Bee - which works perfectly. The leader board is the hardest thing to get right, but is usually perfect - only occasionally do they appear to be at different depths.

The feeling of involvement when watching the races in 3D is superb.
rdjam is offline  
post #72 of 293 Old 11-09-2011, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikemav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Leesburg, VA ,USA
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

I have XB 360 with Forza 4 and will be trying this out next week - also have friends bringing a PS3 over.

The closest thing to video games that I use currently is watching Formula 1 via the 3D-Bee - which works perfectly. The leader board is the hardest thing to get right, but is usually perfect - only occasionally do they appear to be at different depths.

The feeling of involvement when watching the races in 3D is superb.

Thanks, let me know how it turns out. I'm a huge F1 fan too BTW! Not too many of us here in the States know racing is best when it combines a no-holds barred technology exercise with a highly skilled pilot and crew (as well as both left and right turns!)
PS- you may be interested in my experimental mockup of my 3D triple screen racing sim:
mikemav is offline  
post #73 of 293 Old 11-09-2011, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post

Thanks, let me know how it turns out. I'm a huge F1 fan too BTW! Not too many of us here in the States know racing is best when it combines a no-holds barred technology exercise with a highly skilled pilot and crew (as well as both left and right turns!)
PS- you may be interested in my experimental mockup of my 3D triple screen racing sim:

That is absolutely killer- sweet...

All you need now is an active seat, like the Thruxim!
rdjam is offline  
post #74 of 293 Old 11-09-2011, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,815
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post

Thanks, let me know how it turns out. I'm a huge F1 fan too BTW! Not too many of us here in the States know racing is best when it combines a no-holds barred technology exercise with a highly skilled pilot and crew (as well as both left and right turns!)
PS- you may be interested in my experimental mockup of my 3D triple screen racing sim:

That is outstanding! I'll bet you would get airsick with a flight sim in your setup....

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #75 of 293 Old 11-09-2011, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post

Thanks, let me know how it turns out. I'm a huge F1 fan too BTW! Not too many of us here in the States know racing is best when it combines a no-holds barred technology exercise with a highly skilled pilot and crew (as well as both left and right turns!)

There must be some sort of crossover happening here in terms of nerds that love technology. I watch F1 too.

I do know someone who has a triple screen setup for iRacing (an online PC racing sim); it sounds pretty sick.

Now a triple screen setup in 3D...? Too much? I know it's possible...
Steve Tack is offline  
post #76 of 293 Old 11-09-2011, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikemav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Leesburg, VA ,USA
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Tack View Post

There must be some sort of crossover happening here in terms of nerds that love technology. I watch F1 too.

I do know someone who has a triple screen setup for iRacing (an online PC racing sim); it sounds pretty sick.

Now a triple screen setup in 3D...? Too much? I know it's possible...

Yep, my setup I demo'd above is in 3D. Still have a lot of work to do on it but it's pretty immersive I must say. No motion for me but I do have multiple tactile transducers which allow you to feel the road pretty well without actual motion. Anyway, sorry to take this off track, and thanks for the compliments everyone!
mikemav is offline  
post #77 of 293 Old 11-09-2011, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haha Nice! That's the video I link to anyone that mentions they're interested in Nvidia 3D Vision Surround. It clearly shows how immersive it can be with multiple 3D displays. Whatever you do, do not take the video down from YouTube or my links will be bad

rdjam, I'm interested in your findings with the X-box and PS3. More inparticular the X-Box, because it only outputs low resolutions in 3D.
3DNewb is offline  
post #78 of 293 Old 11-10-2011, 03:58 AM
Newbie
 
ms2knights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the 3D-Bee Trainer a little over a month ago. I must say, I am very happy and impressed with this unit. It's nice to be able to watch anything I want in 3D. Blu-Rays look really nice with the Bee.

The only thing that I wish it was better at, was having that pop out of the screen 3D effect. The 3D looks good, but the really cool things flying at you experience is lacking. I don't know if what I said makes sense, or if I am experiencing what others have with the Bee, but it seems that the 3D effect is contained in the TV screen, rather than the true 3D experience from a 3D Blu-Ray. I have not seen other conversion units, so I cannot compare anything with the Bee.

Other than that, I am happy with the product and would definitely recommend it.
ms2knights is offline  
post #79 of 293 Old 11-10-2011, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ms2knights View Post

I bought the 3D-Bee Trainer a little over a month ago. I must say, I am very happy and impressed with this unit. It's nice to be able to watch anything I want in 3D. Blu-Rays look really nice with the Bee.

The only thing that I wish it was better at, was having that pop out of the screen 3D effect. The 3D looks good, but the really cool things flying at you experience is lacking. I don't know if what I said makes sense, or if I am experiencing what others have with the Bee, but it seems that the 3D effect is contained in the TV screen, rather than the true 3D experience from a 3D Blu-Ray. I have not seen other conversion units, so I cannot compare anything with the Bee.

Other than that, I am happy with the product and would definitely recommend it.

I find that with the Z+ and Z++ modes, there is a lot of pop in front of the screens - not my favourite mode for 3D in general, but it does support it on your trainer model.

Have you played with the depth button and these modes?
rdjam is offline  
post #80 of 293 Old 11-10-2011, 11:42 PM
Newbie
 
ms2knights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

I find that with the Z+ and Z++ modes, there is a lot of pop in front of the screens - not my favourite mode for 3D in general, but it does support it on your trainer model.

Have you played with the depth button and these modes?

I have tried all the depth modes. I don't know which I like better, the Z- or Z--. Sometimes Z-- makes it more 3D-ish, but hurts my eyes, so most of the time I watch in Z-. I did try the Z+ and Z++ modes, but it just did not look right. It did not have the 3D appeal to it, but rather just having the picture farther out. I did not really notice the pop out effect with these modes, probably because I don't really like to watch 3D in these modes. For the most part I am happy with it, but would have really liked the true pop out of the screen effect that my 3D Blu-Ray movies have.
ms2knights is offline  
post #81 of 293 Old 11-11-2011, 11:52 AM
Member
 
freddyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
perhaps VEFXi can give some input on the future possibilities of creating more "pop-out" while retaining depth - ? -what are the practical limits when working with "2D" source? (my eyes are comfortable with the deepest minus setting on the Trainer)
freddyi is offline  
post #82 of 293 Old 11-11-2011, 02:06 PM
Member
 
dave1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
funny how all these "new members" praise this device
dave1969 is offline  
post #83 of 293 Old 11-11-2011, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
daveoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered a Trainer a minute ago.

Use with Sony HMZ.

Sounds interesting.

When you feel the impact you know you are there.
daveoo is offline  
post #84 of 293 Old 11-11-2011, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,815
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1969 View Post

funny how all these "new members" praise this device

Remember that the phrase "new" is relative. I'm not so new here. RDJam's been here much longer than I have. He seems to like his Bee setup. And I like mine. Got a Trainer yesterday...

@RDJam: Another movie to try is "Raiders of the Lost Ark". Mine is DVD, but it looks as though it was originally filmed in 3D. Sadly, my 3D BDP won't play 3D titles through the 'Bee, just as mentioned earlier. I tried using a switch between the 'Bee (with Sat receiver and HD DVD player connected to it) and 3D BDP and my 3D-Theater unit as VEFXi recommends. It was an old 1.2 4X1 Monoprice switch, and amazingly enough works with 3D sources. However I'd like to play 3D BD titles and use the 'Bee to play non-3D Blu Rays without constant cable swapping. I have a Gefen HDMI Detective Plus on the way and plan to test it between the BDP and 'Bee. I should have the Gefen unit tomorrow. Film at 11...

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #85 of 293 Old 11-11-2011, 08:55 PM
Senior Member
 
3DNewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you dart your eyes around the screen and get an uncomfortable feeling, you need to invert the eye sync and try darting your eyes again, it should now be ok.
3DNewb is offline  
post #86 of 293 Old 11-12-2011, 01:23 AM
Newbie
 
ms2knights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1969 View Post

funny how all these "new members" praise this device

I don't quite understand your implication.

What does liking or disliking, or having an opinion on a device have to do with how long one has been a member?
ms2knights is offline  
post #87 of 293 Old 11-12-2011, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,815
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by ms2knights View Post

I don't quite understand your implication.

What does liking or disliking, or having an opinion on a device have to do with how long one has been a member?

I believe he's implying you guys may be shills working for VEFXi...

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #88 of 293 Old 11-12-2011, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1969 View Post

funny how all these "new members" praise this device

I believe they are genuinely new members - I didn't notice any unlimited praise, they have been making both points and counterpoints.

and I'm an OOold member, and I still love it!
rdjam is offline  
post #89 of 293 Old 11-12-2011, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post

Remember that the phrase "new" is relative. I'm not so new here. RDJam's been here much longer than I have. He seems to like his Bee setup. And I like mine. Got a Trainer yesterday...

@RDJam: Another movie to try is "Raiders of the Lost Ark". Mine is DVD, but it looks as though it was originally filmed in 3D. Sadly, my 3D BDP won't play 3D titles through the 'Bee, just as mentioned earlier. I tried using a switch between the 'Bee (with Sat receiver and HD DVD player connected to it) and 3D BDP and my 3D-Theater unit as VEFXi recommends. It was an old 1.2 4X1 Monoprice switch, and amazingly enough works with 3D sources. However I'd like to play 3D BD titles and use the 'Bee to play non-3D Blu Rays without constant cable swapping. I have a Gefen HDMI Detective Plus on the way and plan to test it between the BDP and 'Bee. I should have the Gefen unit tomorrow. Film at 11...

Hope that works - I think I have so much gear now, that it may be time for me to invest in an automated HDMI switching system !
rdjam is offline  
post #90 of 293 Old 11-12-2011, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,815
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

Hope that works - I think I have so much gear now, that it may be time for me to invest in an automated HDMI switching system !

I hope it works, too! VEFXi says in an addendum to the user's guide that some 3D sources can't "see" a 3D-capable display through the Bee when it's in bypass. This is the kind of thing the Gefen box is designed to overcome for HTPCs, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed. I have the Gefen unit in hand, but am currently at work, so I won't get a chance to play with it until tonight or tomorrow.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Source Components

Tags
Vefxi 3d Bee Platinum 2d To 3d Realtime Video Converter

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off