New Sony 3D Cam HDR-TD20VE - Page 7 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2014, 11:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 544 Post(s)
Liked: 198
FWIW- I use the exposure and focus mostly and rely on the auto 3D setting when I shoot.
Don Landis is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2014, 11:16 PM
Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
That makes sense Don. Thanks for the info.
termite is offline  
Old 12-13-2014, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
filmframe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by relaxman View Post
No, Sony can't fix it. At least in Europe

I had a TD10, with focus error on the right lens.
I bought it in Austria, and because of EU warranty i send it 3 times to
hungarian service for repair. They changed the right lens completely, tried
to calibrate, etc. but finally i got my cam back worse than it was.
They said i have to go to Sony Austria for replace unit or money back.
The austrian service also tried to fix it 2 times, without luck, so
i have my money back. I wanted to buy a TD20 because the lack
of internal memory of TD30, but this model was discontinued, so
now i have a TD30. It's a lot better (ok, smaller base, but that's all)
Focus is acceptable for me. Rarely i see the left picture sharper, when
there is lot of detail/motion in scene, but i think this is only because of
MVC compression, 28mbps is not enough for such scenes.

So what i like in TD30 after TD10?
- AE shift
- white balance shift
- 3D depth setting to auto (adjust parallax)
- smaller, lighter
- built in lamp
-3 customizable function button
- smaller base (good for macro)

And what i don't like
- smaller base
- slowest zoom speed is still fast, pana can do slower
- no possibility to hide all OSD from the screen
- no manual white balance (or at least lock)
- no filter ring (polar, sunshade, macro, etc)
- 2D display switch - not remember when power on/off
- limit AGC function only in 2D mode
- interlace 3D

regards!
To the best of my knowledge the TD20 also already has AE shift in 3D Mode. This is a fundamental adjustment missing from the TD10 and many people comment it being finally present on the TD30, but in fact the feature was already available on the TD20. Please correct me if I am wrong.

I am on the market for a second-hand or refurbished TD20 that I think is far superior than the TD30. The TD30 is basically the same camera as the TD20, less some hardware features and with cheaper build.
filmframe is offline  
Old 12-13-2014, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
relaxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmframe View Post
Please correct me if I am wrong.
No, you are right, but i don't wrote the opposite.
Read the post again, i compared td10 vs td30.
relaxman is offline  
Old 12-14-2014, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
filmframe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by relaxman View Post
No, you are right, but i don't wrote the opposite.
Read the post again, i compared td10 vs td30.
Thank you for the info, relaxman.

I found a brand new TD20 for a very good price as a kit at a SonyStyle shop for a closeout, last TD20 unit they had.. actually last 3D Unit period, as they dont carry the TD30 either anymore. Came with original Sony carrying case, extra Sony battery, extra SD Card and a few other things, and just bought it. Super excited and ready to start doing some shooting tomorrow.

I have the feeling suddenly 3D is out of fashion and everyone is only hyped about 4K, that looks like 1080p anyway at your average viewing distance. I dont get it. I just wanna laugh with these new 5" cell phones that have 2K and higger and soon 4K displays as if ANYONE can see the difference anymore. And the talk about 8K already started.. Seems the lifetime of each TV standard is less and less.. SD was 40 years, HD less than 15 years, 3D was trend for about 3, and now 4K is just barely in and people are talking about 8K already. Too funny..

Anyway, super happy to have finally a TD20. I have a feeling its going to be a great to use and enjoy and in years to come a rarity that can be greatly appreciated as it seems maybe there will not many follow-ups any time soon..
Barry C likes this.
filmframe is offline  
Old 12-14-2014, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Barry C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmframe View Post

I have the feeling suddenly 3D is out of fashion and everyone is only hyped about 4K, that looks like 1080p anyway at your average viewing distance. I dont get it. I just wanna laugh with these new 5" cell phones that have 2K and higger and soon 4K displays as if ANYONE can see the difference anymore. And the talk about 8K already started.. Seems the lifetime of each TV standard is less and less.. SD was 40 years, HD less than 15 years, 3D was trend for about 3, and now 4K is just barely in and people are talking about 8K already. .
WELL SAID😆 I couldn't agree with you more!

My- mostly 3D- YouTube Channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tarnway/videos?view=0

Barry C
Barry C is online now  
Old 12-14-2014, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
3DBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 30
4K is the cart before the 1080p horse--ie. cable and the whole dang streaming architecture including bluray--all have to catch up to 4K. The cost is going to be tremendous. 4K TVs including 3D 4k TVs are almost half the cost of last year, and most people don't have any sources for pushing 4K to them except some smartphones, a few expensive cameras and even more expensive camcorders. Really, 4K is nothing more than improved sharpness for 1080p through upscaling and that's it, and will be it for a couple of years.


Soon, we will have people on the content forum saying they don't want 4K because that isn't the way the director intended the movie to be seen--I chuckle...
Don Landis and Barry C like this.
3DBob is offline  
Old 12-30-2014, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Bergj69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lage Vuursche, The Netherlands
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyways, filmframe, congrats for getting that TD20. I bought a second hand one through eBay and a brand new TD10 to get it equipped with a Cyclopital Stereo Base Extender. I'm extremely pleased with the TD20, the best camcorder I ever had. Had some troubles with editing the huge amount of footage I shot this summer due to hardware not strong enough (hoping to receive some vital components tommorow or else next week, amongst others: i7-5820K processor, Ballisitix Sport 16 GB DDR4 SDRAm, MSI 99X SLI Plus MoBo, Club 3D R265 Royal Queen Video Card, ADATA Pro .M2 256 GB SSD and OZC Vector 150 series 120 GB SSD...)

When I hooked up my two cam's (I used the TD10 with the SBE for the long landscape shots and the TD20 for nearby shots) directly to my 3D Optoma beamer, I was actually moved by what I saw. It was exactly what I hoped it would be: reliving the moments to the fullest. Even though I did not have a rig that extended my IO to over the 14 centimeters as is the case with my TD10/SBE, seeing the 3D shots of the Grand Canyon and Mono Lake just took my breath away. I am clueless as to why this 3D camcorder stuff did not pick up with the public out there...

You just go ahead and enjoy your new toy!

Last edited by Bergj69; 12-30-2014 at 05:38 PM. Reason: Typo
Bergj69 is offline  
Old 01-18-2015, 01:42 PM
Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman512 View Post
According to the specs this player will play Avchd 3D so I suggest try PD12 to start with as that should give you your full 3D quality using svrt as it only recodes transitions, effects and titles leaving most of your video intact. As my player won't do avchd 3D. I use Sony movie studio as it has smoother playback to Blu-ray 3D for me. ;0)

Can you tell me how I can get PD12 to use SVRT to avoid re-encoding my TD20 3D footage?
I imported my clips, and under "Produce" tab / "3D" ran the "Intelligent SVRT"
analysis. It came back with 2 suggestions both of which are listed as requiring re-encoding.
(see attached image below)
What am I missing here? Any PD user probably know this ..


Also the Frame rate for my clips are 29.97 and so I had to select my timeline FR
to 30fps to match that. Could this be impacting ...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	svrt.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	486441  
termite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off