question on 3 D - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-26-2012, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am currently running everything thru my onkyo 705. If I upgrade my TV to 3-d and I will be watching movies thru my ps3 will my AVR pass it thru? or do I need a new AVR for 3-d....I would think the AVR would be OK? but I want to know for sure first, I'm not upgrading it so if it wont work then I dont need a 3-d Tv

xbox live GT: xXmaximus prime
PSN: maximus_rr
I have to go, I have a meeting with the bobs, uhhh I wasnt aware of any meeting......yeah they called me at home
maximuslcd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-26-2012, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Justin-Dawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You're not getting a 3D tv because you don't want to spend a few hundred bucks on a new receiver...?
Justin-Dawson is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-26-2012, 01:35 PM
Member
 
CureMode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mineola, NY
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the Onkyo is HDMI 1.3, you would need 1.4 receiver to do the pass through for 3D content. You could just settle for plugging the PS3 directly to the TV with an HDMI 1.4 cable, and use a TOS link for the audio to your receiver. If you want to keep it all through a receiver you will need to upgrade to a HDMI 1.4 capable one.

Thank You
Chris Feehan
501st\ECG - TK6744
http://www.curemode.com
CureMode is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-26-2012, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I have an Onkyo 607 (1.3) A/V receiver and I can run checkerboard or side-by side 3D through it, just not frame-packed. SBS looks just as good to me.
Hope this helps.

Ed
old corps is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-27-2012, 01:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 10,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 103
I don't have an Onkyo but I did use a spec hdmi 1.3 switcher and it handled 3D frame packed just fine. I wonder how Onkyo disables frame packed 3D. The main problem in using these 1.3 devices makes switching audio and video separately a real chore. I eventually in a couple weeks of that nonsense, went ahead and bought a really good 1.4 spec AVR. I don't regret it at all. Of course I was overdue because my AVR was over 10 years old.
Don Landis is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off