Cable Shows 3D, PS3 Doesn't - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-08-2012, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
MY Comcast cable box, PS3 and HDDVD player(still regretting that one) are all routed through my Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver. When I turn to the 3D channels or watch 3D on demand the TV(panasonic 65ST30 shows 3D detected. My PS3 won't do any 3D if I run it through the receiver, I expected this. But I don't understand why the Onkyo can pass the TV signal through and not the PS3 signal through. Could I have my settings wrong???? Thank you.
kwaidonjin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-08-2012, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

MY Comcast cable box, PS3 and HDDVD player(still regretting that one) are all routed through my Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver. When I turn to the 3D channels or watch 3D on demand the TV(panasonic 65ST30 shows 3D detected. My PS3 won't do any 3D if I run it through the receiver, I expected this. But I don't understand why the Onkyo can pass the TV signal through and not the PS3 signal through. Could I have my settings wrong???? Thank you.

How are you sure your PS3 is outputting 3d? Connected direct to the tv it's fine? I had to do a firmware update my ps3 to get 3d, have you already done that? Are you using a high speed HDMI cable out of the PS3?

lovinthehd is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-08-2012, 10:34 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, when the PS3 is connected to the TV Motorstorm demo will have the 3D option, When connected to the receiver it does not. High speed cable, Onkyo set to pass signal through. latest firmware on PS3.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-08-2012, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 779
Just looked at the manual for your avr, I don't see 3d among its credits; is it HDMI 1.3? Or is it 1.4? Try switching inputs. What's the 3d quality like?

lovinthehd is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-10-2012, 04:18 AM
Senior Member
 
GKMad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Because 3D from comcast is still only an HDMI 1.3 signal. Is it SBS?
GKMad is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-10-2012, 08:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
3D from Comcast is normally HDMI 1.4a 1080i sbs 3D format which can be transmitted by a cable STB that has either a HDMI 1.3 or HDMI 1.4 transmitter chip since it uses a 1080p buffer just like a 2D program does.
walford is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-11-2012, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It is an older Onkyo, not 3d, i had to get the newest box from comcast. I thought my receiver would not pass 3d at all, so I was surprised when my TV said 3D detected. But PS3 will not show anything unless directly hooked to TV. The 3D looks very good on comcast, watched Despicable me and Gnomeo & Juliet. The 3D looked just as good as I remembered it did at the Theater.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-11-2012, 05:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 3D packed buffer format used by BR disks and PS3s to output 3D is not recogonized by a non HDMI 1.4 receiver. However, the 1/2 R HDMI1.4a 3D formats used by cable and satellite companies will be passed through without problem on a HDMI 1.3 capable receiver since a standard 1920x108@60 is used which is the same size as 2D.
walford is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-11-2012, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

The 3D packed buffer format used by BR disks and PS3s to output 3D is not recogonized by a non HDMI 1.4 receiver. However, the 1/2 R HDMI1.4a 3D formats used by cable and satellite companies will be passed through without problem on a HDMI 1.3 capable receiver since a standard 1920x108@60 is used which is the same size as 2D.

O.K.. so my only option with the PS3 is to hook it up directly to TV and then optical out from it to my Onkyo. Or buy a new receiver, which would get me into a lot of trouble with the wife. I Love the HD audio though.
kwaidonjin is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-16-2012, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Ohioste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im going to bump this question because I have the same one.

I don't have a 3D TV yet, but wanted to know how my Onkyo 705 would work with the PS3 blu-ray.

It's not a 1.4 HDMI receiver. It would essentially work to hook the PS3 up directly to the TV and optical out? Do you lose a lot in sound quality by doing it this way?

Thanks.
Ohioste is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 10-04-2012, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
kwaidonjin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would rather have the Master audio then the 3D.
kwaidonjin is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off