1.4 HDMI required for 3d? Need 1.4 splitter for multiple 3d devices? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2012, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I am wiring my theatre room and only want to do this once in 10 years, major headache! I plan on purchasing a 3d projector and will use my ps3, computer, (and next gen of consoles?) for 3d gaming and videos.

I already have a 1.3 hdmi cable, do I need to buy a 1.4 hdmi cable to run from projector to wall. then into the wall will be a splitter, again, do I need a specific 1.4 splitter for my 3d devices?:

Projector----HDMI----Wall Plate----SPLITTER---(computer, ps3, xbox720, cable box, etc.)
stevedawg85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2012, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
bump:
Do I need a specific 1.4 splitter for my 3d devices?
stevedawg85 is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 10:28 AM
GEP
Advanced Member
 
GEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevedawg85 View Post

bump:
Do I need a specific 1.4 splitter for my 3d devices?

1. There is no such thing as a HDMI 1.4 cable there is only:
Standard Speed cable
Standard Speed cables that support eithernet
High Speed cables
High Speed cables that support eithernet
Automotive HDMI cable.

For longer distance and if using a source/sources capable of 1920 x 1080p 60Hz or higher it is best to use High Speed cables.

The next part of your question is somewhat reversed.

2. You do not want a "splitter" you want a "switch".

Slimpified:
A "splitter" will take one source device, such as your Blu-ray player, and send that signal to mulitple display (sync) devices, such as a TV and a projector or mulitple TVs.

A "switch" will connect multiple source devices such as your, computer, PS3, X-box, satellite reciever or cable box, to one display device. You then select which device to watch on the switch (some are automatic).

3. Yes your switch needs to indicate in the specs that it supports 3D pass-thru. Do not look for just 1.4 because 1.4 does not require 3D support, 3D support is optional. As a matter of fact do not worry about 1.3 or 1.4 in your switch look specifically at the specs for the switch and look for support of 3D pass-thru.
GEP is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
awesome! thanks for the info gep
stevedawg85 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off