3D problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-18-2012, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimmsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried watching for the first time a 3D BD on my new HTPC. I tried to watch The Lion King in 3D off a BD disc, as well as AVatar 3D BD disc, but we had to turn on the TV's 2D > 3D conversion to get any kind of 3D effect. As far as I know all components are 3D capable, but I could be wrong.

When I use the TV's app to get 3D content from wherever they stream it from it looks AWESOME!

This is the TV

These are the HDMI cables

This is the receiver

This is the mobo

This is the BD drive

I have an AMD A6 3650 APU with 2 x 1gb DDR3 1600 and I use Cyberlink Power DVD Ultra 11.

If anybody knows what I'm doing wrong, your input would be very much appreciated. I am thinking that the motherboard HDMI isn't 1.4, but I can't find any info whatsoever on that.

Thanks
-Jim
jimmsch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-19-2012, 05:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 10,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Your BD drive does not appear to support 3D. Your link goes to the Liteon drive. The competitive list shows an LG Black that lists 3D playback.

I would suggest you use a set top player as your starter 3D disk player. They aren't that expensive anymore and easier to get results.
Don Landis is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-19-2012, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimmsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The BD drive eh? I never would have thought that would make a difference!

I suppose the fastest, cheapest way to test that theory would be to make a BD ISO and mount it on a virtual drive.
I use Daemon Tools Lite for mounting

Do you think this would be a good way to test that theory?

Thanks for he reply
-Jim
jimmsch is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-19-2012, 12:03 PM
Member
 
PGTweed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Telford,Tennessee USA
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Did you enable 3D on your PowerDVD Ultra 11? I almost have the same setup as you. My 12x LG BD drive is capable of playing 3D Blu-Rays. As long as your BD drive is 2x or above 3D discs will play in it. I suspect it is your pc's motherboard or the PowerDVD 11 3D settings.
PGTweed is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-19-2012, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimmsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGTweed View Post

Did you enable 3D on your PowerDVD Ultra 11? I almost have the same setup as you. My 12x LG BD drive is capable of playing 3D Blu-Rays. As long as your BD drive is 2x or above 3D discs will play in it. I suspect it is your pc's motherboard or the PowerDVD 11 3D settings.

Why isn't it automatically detected?

Enabling 3D in the software was the answer!

Thanks !
-Jim
jimmsch is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off