Image quality of stand-alone hardware 3d blu-ray player vs software player - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-10-2012, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikehall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Mitsubishi DLP rear projection tv. From what I understand, a stand-alone 3d player will send a frame packed image to my tv. I believe the tv then processes it to checkboard, but not sure. That's source option A. Source option B would be my laptop - it's on i3 with Intel HD graphics 2000 (sandybridge). I don't know how to tell if it's hdmi 1.4 or not, powerdvd's 3d advisor software passes on CPU and GPU. It seems like a lot of software applications will output sbs or something that won't look as good as hdmi 1.4 frame packing. So will I get a better picture from a stand-alone blu ray player, or is it just a matter of buying the right software? If it is just software, how do I test to make sure I have hdmi 1.4 on board?
mikehall is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-10-2012, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Support for Blu-ray video and audio does not necessarily mean the ability to display 3D images, which is what you seem to be implying by your reference to "checkerboard" and HDMI v1.4.

Software and hardware unpacking of MPEG4 video streams, which is what Blu-ray discs contain, should both result in the same digital image unless there are bugs in the decoders. Decoders often have bugs frown.gif

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-10-2012, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikehall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well this is the 3d checker that says passed, not the 2d one. But looks like software may only have options to output sbs, over/under, ect. Not an option for a full frame packed image. So I'm guessing they are converting it to output it?
mikehall is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-11-2012, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Don't forget that some of the 3D formats weren't defined in HDMI v1.4. Some weren't officially defined until the release of v1.4a, so explicitly having support only for v1.4 would mean that those additional formats wouldn't be supported: in particular, frame packing, side-by-side and top-and-bottom. See the Wikipedia article at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
Reply 3D Source Components

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off