Help with ps3 3d - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-17-2012, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GB_KSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My father in law purchased a new 80" sharp flat panel that we installed the other day. He has a fat 60gb ps3 as a blurry player. I did a firmware update on it and we are unable to get 3d discs to play. I am wondering why this is. We have the ps3 connected to his Onkyo receiver via hdmi and hdmi from the Onkyo to the tv. I don't know the model number exactly of the Onkyo it's about four years old and I think it was the 8xx series. Does the hdmi need to be run directly to the tv??
GB_KSU is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-17-2012, 09:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,129
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1758 Post(s)
Liked: 2272
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB_KSU View Post

My father in law purchased a new 80" sharp flat panel that we installed the other day. He has a fat 60gb ps3 as a blurry player. I did a firmware update on it and we are unable to get 3d discs to play. I am wondering why this is. We have the ps3 connected to his Onkyo receiver via hdmi and hdmi from the Onkyo to the tv. I don't know the model number exactly of the Onkyo it's about four years old and I think it was the 8xx series. Does the hdmi need to be run directly to the tv??

Is your AVR HDMI 1.4? It may not pass 3d if only 1.3. Are your HDMI cables hi-speed?
lovinthehd is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-17-2012, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
BleedOrange11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Try resetting the video settings with the "Automatic" option. I had to do that the first time that I used 3D. HDMI 1.3 works with 3D for PS3s and Xbox 360s.
BleedOrange11 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-17-2012, 01:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,129
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1758 Post(s)
Liked: 2272
Quote:
Originally Posted by BleedOrange11 View Post

Try resetting the video settings with the "Automatic" option. I had to do that the first time that I used 3D. HDMI 1.3 works with 3D for PS3s and Xbox 360s.

My 1.3 AVR would not pass 3d signals from my PS3 or DirecTV box....but I've read where some AVRs do. YMMV.
lovinthehd is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-18-2012, 01:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 87
If your AVR is 4 years old it most likely is not HDMI 1.4. The great thing about the PS3 is its not really 1.4 either. If you connect the PS3 directly to the TV and run the setup again it should setup 3D then reconect it to your AVR, as long as you don,t run setup again it should work in 3D. The PS3 does't check for a 3D device every time it plays a 3D game or Blu Rays as all other players and SAT/Cable does.

"Smart enough to know better, to old to care" ------ Dedicated Home Theater, Mitsubishi HC7900DW Projector, 110" 16:9 Jamestown screen with variable power masking for CIW 2.35:1 to 2.50:1, Denon 1912 AVR, 7.1 with Ohm mains, Custom Built HTPC, 10TB NAS
rekbones is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-24-2012, 08:57 PM
Member
 
bubbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
With my older Onkyo I was able to run the setup as it was directly connected to the projectr/tv and get it to recognize 3D. I then reconnected to the AVR, however my AVR would only pass 3d games and 3d from VUDU. I was not able to play 3d blu rays as these are a different format. So you may be able to get games and VUDU but I finally upgraded my AVR to get 3d blu ray.
bubbaba is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Source Components

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off