Is 3D TV the next big thing for 2010? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 12-18-2009, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching Fox Business today, and they were running a series of interviews from Dreamworks. Intel was interviewed, and the 3D movies about to be released were also discussed in some detail.

At the end of the interview, one of the anchors asked the other if she had seen the 3D Shrek 4 trailer. She said yes. He asked her where, and she said on an as yet unannounced 3D Panasonic TV which will debut at CES.

Is 3D the next big thing for 2010 and beyond?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-18-2009, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, 3D and Smell-O-Vision are early 1900s technologies that will soon be in your face, again.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smell-O-Vision
Old 12-18-2009, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 17
Mehhh.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
Old 12-18-2009, 07:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeper View Post

Yes, 3D displays and Smell-O-Vision are technologies that will soon be in your face.

Both have been used since the early 1900s.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smell-O-Vision

FOOD NETWORK!!!
Old 12-18-2009, 07:12 PM

I think Avatar is really helping bring 3-D TV to the forefront. Once people see it in 3D and realize that it can be done without having crap always flying in your face it could really push demand.
Old 12-18-2009, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member

3D is probably cool for animation and video games. Not sure about everything else though.
Old 12-18-2009, 09:57 PM

I can't post the link but this is from the Consumer Reports blog.

Among the details of the spec:

3D players can deliver full 1080p resolution to each eye, maintaining image quality
3D players will work with any type of 3D-enabled HDTV, regardless of type or brand
3D players will be able to play standard 2D Blu-ray discs
Current Blu-ray players can playing 3D titles in 2D