The 3D via a HDMI 1.3 AV-Receiver Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 250 Old 11-02-2010, 11:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 918 does not support HDMI 1.4 3D packed frame content which is the output format from the PS3 when playing 3D Blu-Ray disks in 3D mode. And as best I can determiine the 919 does not either. They may pass it through but they cannot extract the audio when then they do.
walford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 250 Old 11-02-2010, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Games and downloaded vids only so far. Can't find a 3D BD to rent. Only got my set up working on Saturday. Not a surprise to hear it won't work with BD. I didn't expect it to work at all! Having it work with games is a big bonus, I think.
jayoldschool is offline  
post #153 of 250 Old 11-02-2010, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Milmanias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

The 918 does not support HDMI 1.4 3D packed frame content which is the output format from the PS3 when playing 3D Blu-Ray disks in 3D mode. And as best I can determiine the 919 does not either. They may pass it through but they cannot extract the audio when then they do.

It doesn't pass anything through on 3D blu ray; I would've been extremely happy if it passed video and not audio since I could just use optical. PS3 doesn't pass through HD audio in 3d anyway.
Milmanias is offline  
post #154 of 250 Old 11-03-2010, 07:14 AM
Member
 
botzos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milmanias View Post

It doesn't pass anything through on 3D blu ray; I would've been extremely happy if it passed video and not audio since I could just use optical. PS3 doesn't pass through HD audio in 3d anyway.

But can you pass only the video through the HDMI and only the audio (SD) in optical by using PS3 settings? Would this work?
botzos is offline  
post #155 of 250 Old 11-03-2010, 08:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Some HDMI 1.3 A/V receiver do pass through the 1920x2205 Packed buffer HDMI 1.4a 3D formatted content completly untouched even if they can not do anything with the audio. I don't think any A/V receiver would whil passing through these buffers untouched would at the same time accept audio via optical from any source.
walford is offline  
post #156 of 250 Old 11-03-2010, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Milmanias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by botzos View Post

But can you pass only the video through the HDMI and only the audio (SD) in optical by using PS3 settings? Would this work?

Not on the 919. I have to take the HDMI and plug it directly to the Mits 3D adapter, and optical to the AVR. 3D through the AVR works fine for games on the PS3, just not blu ray movies, on this receiver.
Milmanias is offline  
post #157 of 250 Old 11-03-2010, 01:16 PM
Member
 
abhayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting a Sony 55HX800 and have Ps3 and Onkyo Ht-S6200, I guess Audio wont work with the onkyo if I connect it thru it. I hope some one posts an HDMI splitter that would work (not too expensive )
abhayz is offline  
post #158 of 250 Old 11-07-2010, 03:46 AM
Member
 
flea333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting PS3 for use with the Sony 55" LED 3D and my Denon 3808ci.
Anybody know if I will be able to use both HDMI outputs on the PS3 to use audio from one and video to the tv?
Or will I have to use optical for the 3D viewing with HDMI direct to TV and for all other content use HDMI through another receiver input then to TV?
flea333 is offline  
post #159 of 250 Old 11-07-2010, 04:26 AM
Member
 
flea333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like a 3D HDMI splitter is out...but then again it wont matter for my Ps3.
I hope PS3 starts outputting TrueHD soon. Also be nice if they could use both outputs simultaneously for audio/video.

http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Power-S.../dp/B003WJ92NC
flea333 is offline  
post #160 of 250 Old 11-07-2010, 06:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The firmware upgrade for the PS3 to blu-ray 3D disks and ouutput in tru HDMI 1.4a 3d Packed frame format was released this past June.
walford is offline  
post #161 of 250 Old 11-07-2010, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Life is grand
I set up my Panny BD350 with the two HDMI cables, one to Panny 54VT25, one to my Onkyo TX-705 rcvr. No sound via the Onkyo unless I enable video on the HDMI sub connection. Plop in a 3d BluRay and it tells me I have to turn off the video on the sub connection... beautiful 3D with no sound

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #162 of 250 Old 11-11-2010, 02:29 AM
Member
 
henningdalgaard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by flea333 View Post

Looks like a 3D HDMI splitter is out

http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Power-S.../dp/B003WJ92NC

So would this splitter solve/save my onkyo 606 3d issue? Can I simply split the signal from my 3d player and have one cable to my receiver and another to my TV? Will the onkyo be able to extract the sound?
henningdalgaard is online now  
post #163 of 250 Old 11-11-2010, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
docnesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wanted to do that as I own the onkyo tx nr807 (hdmi 1.3a). But everyone I asked said it won't work due tobaudio syncing with the video, as well as possible hdcp issues with some splitters. Please let us know what you learn.
docnesh is offline  
post #164 of 250 Old 11-11-2010, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
All,
I have the 4 x 2 switch/splitter noted in my prior post and one HDMI out to my receiver and the other to my 3D Adapter allows me 3D PS3 games w/HD audio, 3D via Comcast/ESPN3D through my HDTivo, 3D BD through the PS3 (but only optical audio since I have a first gen "fat" PS3), and 3D BD through my Sammy C6900 and HD audio (using 7.1 component audio to my Denon). It works... all of it..3D for PS3 games, BD movies, and ESPN3D.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #165 of 250 Old 11-12-2010, 07:38 AM
Member
 
abhayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

All,
I have the 4 x 2 switch/splitter noted in my prior post and one HDMI out to my receiver and the other to my 3D Adapter allows me 3D PS3 games w/HD audio, 3D via Comcast/ESPN3D through my HDTivo, 3D BD through the PS3 (but only optical audio since I have a first gen "fat" PS3), and 3D BD through my Sammy C6900 and HD audio (using 7.1 component audio to my Denon). It works... all of it..3D for PS3 games, BD movies, and ESPN3D.

Wryker, can you post the link to to the splitter product, I went through previous pages I couldnt find any link. Thanks
abhayz is offline  
post #166 of 250 Old 11-12-2010, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhayz View Post

Wryker, can you post the link to to the splitter product, I went through previous pages I couldnt find any link. Thanks

You're in luck - though you could have searched for just my posts I have an email from Monoprice (since I just got my replacement due to my original one stopped outputting video): 6415 4x2 True Matrix High Speed HDMI Powered Switch w/ Remote Controller (HDMI x.v. Color) (Quantity: 1)
Last night tested out my PCH A1110, Xbox 360, HDTiVo(Comcast), HDDVD player, Sammy C6900, PS3, Wii, and PS2 to make sure allllll play 'nice'...and they do...

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #167 of 250 Old 11-12-2010, 09:01 AM
Newbie
 
gs32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

All,
3D BD through the PS3 (but only optical audio since I have a first gen "fat" PS3).

What do you mean? Are newer PS3's able to do 3D BD w/ HD Audio that you know of?

I'm trying to accomplish the same type of thing with my Onkyo TX-SR875. I want to be able to still do HD lossless audio via HDMI and 3D/2D direct to TV.
gs32 is offline  
post #168 of 250 Old 11-12-2010, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by gs32 View Post

What do you mean? Are newer PS3's able to do 3D BD w/ HD Audio that you know of?

I'm trying to accomplish the same type of thing with my Onkyo TX-SR875. I want to be able to still do HD lossless audio via HDMI and 3D/2D direct to TV.

The newer Slims can out HD audio over toslink.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #169 of 250 Old 11-12-2010, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
BSTNFAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

The newer Slims can out HD audio over toslink.

Incorrect...The slim can bitstream HD audio, but it must use HDMI to do it. No PS3 (including the slims) will do HD audio with a 3DBD.
BSTNFAN is offline  
post #170 of 250 Old 11-14-2010, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
threepercentmilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

All,
I have the 4 x 2 switch/splitter noted in my prior post and one HDMI out to my receiver and the other to my 3D Adapter allows me 3D PS3 games w/HD audio, ..., 3D BD through the PS3 (but only optical audio since I have a first gen "fat" PS3), .... It works...

Wryker, thanks for the post. I plan to buy a 4x2 splitter since I have a similar setup (Mits DLP, 3D adapter, pio receiver that only does hdmi 1.3, fat PS3).

1 question though - in order to get HD audio with 3D games, you need to pass audio through HDMI, do you have both outputs of the 4x2 switch set to the PS3 input? If so, is there an order you have to turn them on in ? Some of the splitters I've seen will do "least common denominator" for the audio, and since my TV only does stereo, that's what the PS3 would send. How does this 4x2 matrix switch behave when both outputs have same input ? Are there any audio sync problems?

If it doesn't work, I guess I can just use 5.1 audio through toslink (instead of 7.1 through hdmi) when playing games in 3D mode. The Wipeout 3D demo has an audio test in the setup, so I can verify how many channels come through.
threepercentmilk is offline  
post #171 of 250 Old 11-16-2010, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by threepercentmilk View Post

Wryker, thanks for the post. I plan to buy a 4x2 splitter since I have a similar setup (Mits DLP, 3D adapter, pio receiver that only does hdmi 1.3, fat PS3).

1 question though - in order to get HD audio with 3D games, you need to pass audio through HDMI, do you have both outputs of the 4x2 switch set to the PS3 input? If so, is there an order you have to turn them on in ? Some of the splitters I've seen will do "least common denominator" for the audio, and since my TV only does stereo, that's what the PS3 would send. How does this 4x2 matrix switch behave when both outputs have same input ? Are there any audio sync problems?

If it doesn't work, I guess I can just use 5.1 audio through toslink (instead of 7.1 through hdmi) when playing games in 3D mode. The Wipeout 3D demo has an audio test in the setup, so I can verify how many channels come through.


I'll keep it short after my trials and tribulations. I had the switch/splitter this weekend STOP outputting video - took me a while but I hit the "reset" button on the back and everything was back to normal. Right now only the PS3 has an HDMI in and out on the switch and it works perfectly for HD 3D games (I can't remember the ATV trial game that has HD audio that I downloaded and works fine with my set-up). Please PM me if you have any more questions.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #172 of 250 Old 11-17-2010, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Some HDMI 1.3 A/V receiver do pass through the 1920x2205 Packed buffer HDMI 1.4a 3D formatted content completly untouched even if they can not do anything with the audio. I don't think any A/V receiver would whil passing through these buffers untouched would at the same time accept audio via optical from any source.

This thread would be a lot more useful if we could include a table listing those HDMI 1.3 AVRs that have been found to offer a pass-thru mode that supports one, or mulitple of the 3D formats (as defined by the HDMI 1.4a specification). Specficially for each entry in the table we should include:
  • AVR brand and model number
  • 3D source device brand and model number
  • 3DTV brand and model number
  • 3D modes from source tested and for each you have tested indicate:

VIDEO - Pass or Fail................AUDIO (via HDMI) - Pass or Fail

  • Frame Packing 1080p/24 (e.g., Blu-ray 3D)
  • Frame Packing 720p/60 (e.g., PS 3D games)
  • 1080i side-by-side (e.g., Directv or Cable TV)
  • Top-and Bottom 1080p/24
  • Top-and-Bottom 720p/60
Perhaps the OP for this thread, MrManson, would be willing to edit Post #1 to include the table if we can put one together. I'm willing to work on the table if other forum members send me PMs with the above information for the HDMI 1.3 AVRs that they have verified to successfully pass one or more of the above 3D formats.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #173 of 250 Old 11-17-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
If you're lucky to have one of these models:
http://www.mitsubishi-tv.com/3Dupgrade.html

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #174 of 250 Old 11-17-2010, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
threepercentmilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wryker, thanks my box should come soon - I'll hook it up this weekend and let you know the results. From other threads it seems that all the switches/splitters are quirky - some even have the reset button on the remote control!
threepercentmilk is offline  
post #175 of 250 Old 11-17-2010, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
threepercentmilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post

  • AVR brand and model number
  • 3D source device brand and model number
  • 3DTV brand and model number
  • 3D modes from source tested and for each you have tested indicate:

Good idea Ron.
  • AVR - Pioneer 7.1 VSX-1018AH-K
  • 3D Source - PS3 Fat 20GB CECHB01
  • 3DTV - Mitsubishi 60" RP DLP WD-60735
    • with 3DA-1 adapter
  • 3D modes
    • 720p/60 - PASS - Works through AVR (7.1 audio)
    • 1080p/24 - FAIL - does not work through AVR, but does work direct to 3DA-1

---------------
Other Notes
---------------
PS3 has 3.50 firmware. Upgraded to 250GB hdd (not relevant though), if you need help finding your PS3 model number, check This Playstation KB article.
--
all cables hdmi 1.3 compliant, 24awg, monoprice, 6' each or less. When bypassing the AVR, the cables work fine, so I don't think that's a factor.
--
tried putting the 3D adapter both before AVR in, and after AVR out - same results.
--
I'm using nVidia 3Dvision shutter glasses (I have a gaming PC hooked up to the same TV, with 7.1 audio going to analog inputs on the AVR. 4x 1/8"-to-L/R-RCA cables)
--
test media - 3D game demos as downloaded from PSN. Also 3D video demo (.MP4) which is 720p/60. blu-ray 3D tested was Monster House 3D. Wipeout 3D demo has Audio test in options which verifies 7.1 audio. PS3 set to PCM output because older PS3's don't bitstream 7.1 HD formats.
--
I contacted Sony support about restricting output of PS3 to 720p-3D only... They confirmed this is not possible, but didn't go into details. Perhaps decoding 1080p/24 blu-ray content is at the brink of what PS3 can handle CPU-wise, so adding a downscaler in software is not feasible?
--
I contacted Pioneer support about firmware upgrade for the 1018. Email support said call phone support, phone support guy said "no, you need a 1.4 receiver, it's not possible with a 1.3 receiver". After 5 minutes of arguing with him about how the bandwidth and pixel clock rate are identical between 1.3 and 1.4, and asking, "how does Sony do it with the PS3 firmware update then?", I gave up talking to this d-bag. Honestly that 1 phone call makes me consider not ever buying Pioneer products again. But, it's not Pioneers fault - I blame it all on HDMI. Before HDMI, any decent receiver lasted 10-15 years. Now they become obsolete in 2.
--
threepercentmilk is offline  
post #176 of 250 Old 11-18-2010, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by threepercentmilk View Post

Wryker, thanks my box should come soon - I'll hook it up this weekend and let you know the results. From other threads it seems that all the switches/splitters are quirky - some even have the reset button on the remote control!

Mine is working fine now - had to reset/program my Harmony One to make the correct selection.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #177 of 250 Old 11-20-2010, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
threepercentmilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm that this 4x2 matrix switch which Wryker mentioned, also works for my setup.

I have output #1 going to my 3DA-1 adapter, which then goes to TV.
I have output #2 going to my Pio 1018 AVR, which then goes to TV.

If I want to play PS3 games in 3D (720p/60), I turn both outputs on, set TV to 3DA-1 input. I still get full 7.1 audio through AVR (4x2 switch acts as a splitter in this case).

If I want to watch 3D Blu-Ray I turn on output 1 only, and set AVR to either Optical (from PS3) or COAX (from the 4x2 switch). The latter is more convenient because you don't have to go into PS3 settings and change from HDMI audio to Toslink. (although I did have to change audio from PCM to Bitstream, but this setting is easier to access - during movie playback, press triangle for the popup menu). And a plain RCA cable is cheaper than fiber, although I already had both on hand.

If you don't care for buying any of the short list of currently available blu-ray 3D's, I found this NetBlender Demo Disc which also works in the PS3. It has 3 short clips, the 3D effects are so-so, but hey, it's free (I burned to a BD-R cause it said it was required, but will also try DVD-R or CD-R later)

---

So, just to avoid confusion - this switch isn't something that magically lets you get full 7.1 HD audio from Blu-Ray 3D through a HDMI 1.3 receiver... It does however save you from plugging and unplugging HDMI cables every time you'd want to watch a blu-ray 3D on your PS3. It also gives you an additional 3 HDMI inputs. Overall, certainly worth $75.

If you already own a 3D-ready DLP, and a PS3, and a decent AVR, I would recommend getting the Mitsubishi 3D-kit and this matrix switch as it will be much cheaper than getting a new 3D native LCD (or plasma or dlp) and a new HDMI 1.4 AVR.

With DLP's, since the 3D uses a checkerboard pattern, you are only getting half the resolution, but it still looks great. Definitely on-par with anything I've demo'd at Best Buy (samsung, sony, panasonic).
threepercentmilk is offline  
post #178 of 250 Old 11-21-2010, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I tried this unit:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Rocketfi...224493&st=hdmi

Did not work for goal of splitting audio to my 1.3 HDMI receiver and the 3D 1.4 to my display. It worked for 3D if I only used 1.4 HDMI devices. Once I plugged in my 1.3 receiver the splitter sensed the 1.3 standard and shut down the 1.4 stuff being passed through.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #179 of 250 Old 11-22-2010, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
threepercentmilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post

I tried this unit:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Rocketfi...224493&st=hdmi

Did not work for goal of splitting audio to my 1.3 HDMI receiver and the 3D 1.4 to my display. It worked for 3D if I only used 1.4 HDMI devices. Once I plugged in my 1.3 receiver the splitter sensed the 1.3 standard and shut down the 1.4 stuff being passed through.

I noticed that one, as well as a few on Amazon (around $40). I think the splitter is behaving as designed, there are 2 possible scenarios:
  1. AVR reports video modes that it can decode. In this scenario, the splitter has to pick the lowest-common video mode between both outputs. Since the AVR doesn't report 3D, the splitter reports fewer modes to the source.
  2. AVR reports only audio modes, but can't decode 1080p/24-3D mode. Here, the source still sends 1.4 3D video, but the AVR doesn't know where to decode the audio packets from (since it's interleaved in the blanking "pixels" between the actual video pixels (active region), an AVR still has to recognize the video mode.

Either way, you'd need a firmware update on the AVR (so that it knows about the new 3D video mode). Unfortunately not all receivers can be updated.

---

I could not find a device that will extract the audio from the primary port and output it on a secondary hdmi port (which goes to your AVR).

I did find 2 devices (Atlona & Gefen) which will extract HDMI audio and output to 8 analog channels or to TOSLINK (unfortunately toslink is limited to 5.1 channels)

So those might be an option if you have full 7.1 analog audio inputs on your receiver. If you only have 5.1 speaker setup, get a cheaper splitter that also extracts audio, or use toslink for audio from your BD-3D player to your AVR.
threepercentmilk is offline  
post #180 of 250 Old 11-23-2010, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone successfully passed audio with no video from the subHDMI output of a Panny 300/350 through an Onkyo 705 Rcvr ????????

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off