HDMI Splitter with 3D Support? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 71 Old 02-11-2011, 02:02 AM
Member
 
doctorG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

The original question was about a "splitter" (i.e. not really a true splitter) that can send 3D video to a display while sending HD audio to an HDMI 1.3 receiver in a format that it can understand. It will take more than a simple splitter to do this, but if someone makes such a device they should be able to sell a lot of them.

The best I found is the Gefen 1:2 HDMI splitter with Digital audio which allow to send (lossy)
DD/DTS to the receiver via Toslink.

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/dproduct.jsp?prod_id=8475

For me normal DD/DTS is more than adequate and I'm not sure that with my B&W surround system I can actually hear the difference.
The only pity is that it it is limited to 5.1 channels (i.e. 7.1 are not supported....) and there I do hear the difference.

I have actually done a mistake by not buying the most expensive Samsung BD player with 2 HDMI out....
doctorG4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 71 Old 02-11-2011, 03:35 AM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

That's all well and good, but not really what the thread is about. The original question was about a "splitter" (i.e. not really a true splitter) that can send 3D video to a display while sending HD audio to an HDMI 1.3 receiver in a format that it can understand. It will take more than a simple splitter to do this, but if someone makes such a device they should be able to sell a lot of them.

AFAIK, no one does. Only found on certain 3D BD players
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #63 of 71 Old 02-11-2011, 03:45 AM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by peter0328 View Post

Anyone know of an HDMI "repeater"? I got the HDMI splitter from Amazon that's 1 input to 4 outputs and it's a PITA since it handshakes everytime a component is turned on and causes my DCX3400 to freak out and switch resolutions and reset the output settings.

I want an HDMI splitting device that takes the single input and repeats the exact signal to all the outputs whether or not they support the resolution/signal or not. Just have it do a single HDCP check that doesn't get passed through to the source device since I guess that's what is screwing up my Comcast box.

Not sure if what I want exists...

That would be called a 1 x 4 Distribution Amp.
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #64 of 71 Old 02-11-2011, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
This seems to be a pretty cheap 3D compatible HDMI splitter:
http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-1-Out-Swi...dp/B0030AZ44O/
nickels55 is offline  
post #65 of 71 Old 02-12-2011, 03:07 PM
Member
 
slvbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
slvbeard is offline  
post #66 of 71 Old 02-12-2011, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Electricpotatoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found that the Rocketfish 3D 2 Way HDMI splitter works for me with my 3D TV and 2D projector. It did not work at first until I put the 3D TV on the 2nd HDMI port. When the 2D projector is off, it passes Full HD Bluray 3D to my Panasonic 3D Plasma TV. When the source is 2D, both the 3D TV and the 2D projector receive the 1080P HDMI signal. I have the input of the 2 Way splitter connected to the output of my 3D ready (1.4 compliant) Pioneer receiver. On the Rocketfish 3D 2 Way HDMI splitter box it says it supports 3D but it does not claim to be a HDMI 1.4 device. I bought it from Best Buy so I could take it back if it did not work. So far, so good.
Electricpotatoe is offline  
post #67 of 71 Old 02-12-2011, 07:27 PM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickels55 View Post

This seems to be a pretty cheap 3D compatible HDMI splitter:
http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-1-Out-Swi...dp/B0030AZ44O/

That's a 3 In and 1 Out device. Like if you ran out of inputs on your receiver or TV.
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #68 of 71 Old 02-13-2011, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Stewart View Post
That's a 3 In and 1 Out device. Like if you ran out of inputs on your receiver or TV.
I don't get the difference? The 3DA-1 has only one input, and I have three 3D devices that need to connect to it (TiVo, PS3, Xbox 360). Wouldn't this adapter work fine for my needs?
nickels55 is offline  
post #69 of 71 Old 02-13-2011, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Electricpotatoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A switch provides a signal to one device at a time. A splitter can provide a signal to multiple devices that are compatable with the input...
Electricpotatoe is offline  
post #70 of 71 Old 02-17-2011, 08:37 PM
Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the Panny DMP-BDT350, a Mits dlp and a Denon 3808. I bought the Mits 3d kit but do not run the hdmi through it.

I am able to send 3d checkerboard out from Panny through Denon with only 1 hdmi cable and then to Mits and I get 3d pic. It seems checkerboard flows through as 1.3.
Question: Am I losing the best audio? (lack of correct term) How can I tell?


I have now noticed that I have some 3d channels from Time Warner, but only can choose top/bottom or side by side 3d output. I am counting on this scenario to work:

Cable box hdmi out through Mits converter, to Denon to Mits tv. When choosing 3d channel, convert to checkerboard with Mits conv, and through Denon (since checkerboard seems to pass) This allows Denon to remain video selector and my need to replace.

More ? Sometimes I can turn 3d "ON" in the Mits menu and sometimes I can not cursor over to it keeping me from turning it on. I can not figure out what is different when I can or can not do this. Any ideas?

Besides the Samsung glasses that came with the kit, can I use any other brand with my setup?
landonsdad is offline  
post #71 of 71 Old 04-20-2014, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
bakibd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by toysonline View Post

Report test 3D player->onkyo 905(HDMI 1.3 AVM)-> Samsuung C-7000

Hdmi cable ...1 is 1.4 another 2 is 1.3b

Check 3D player to TV.....====3D working Fine...

Using AVR hdmi pass trough ======3D do no work....

Using HDMI splitter. 1 in and 2 out ( with powersupply)=====3d work ,,,,But AVR cannot detect any HD sound(AVR display no HD sound contack)

Just go back to the computer Cable shop...Refund the HDMI splitter money>>>

If possible...PLease let me know....Which brand HDMI splitter can working fine..

Thanks
In my case, it was reversed. I got hd audio signals to my onkyo tx-sr607 (non-3d) but no 3d to tv. One output removed, it passed 3d signal to tv with no problem. has anyone fond a success?
bakibd is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off