Hdmi High speed cables with Ethernet - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-17-2010, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Calilife17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So I am moving around my TV and AV components, and I need to buy new Cables. I need them to be about 15 ft. On Monorpice, they do list 15ft High Speed cables (have 3Dtv, just future proofing with cables) but they are high speed with Ethernet. I am not going to use the Ethernet, so will these cords still work as just a Normal High speed cable without Ethernet? Just curious if i just use them sans Ethernet is going cause any problems. Is there going to be a Audio/Video difference between High speed HDMI, and High Speed w/Ethernet?

Theater Room: 65ZT60, Denon 2313CI, Oppo 103D, Apple TV, Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Bedroom: 65VT50, Sony S790, Harmony Smart Control
Game Room: Upcoming Purchases - 4K TV (Sony 65X950B or Reference Series Vizio, Sony FMP-X10) Already Have - OPPO 103D, Harmony Ultimate, Apple TV, 24 gaming systems ready to be hooked up.
Calilife17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-17-2010, 02:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How does one use the ethernet on them? I mean is there actually a network jack on both ends?
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-17-2010, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Calilife17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
For Ethernet it has a dedicated Data channel into the HDMI link.

So that is why i ask, Am i losing any HDMI channels to Ethernet on this type of cord vs if i were to go with a cord without Ethernet. Would that have more Channels on the HDMI link for audio/video

Theater Room: 65ZT60, Denon 2313CI, Oppo 103D, Apple TV, Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Bedroom: 65VT50, Sony S790, Harmony Smart Control
Game Room: Upcoming Purchases - 4K TV (Sony 65X950B or Reference Series Vizio, Sony FMP-X10) Already Have - OPPO 103D, Harmony Ultimate, Apple TV, 24 gaming systems ready to be hooked up.
Calilife17 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-17-2010, 02:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Ethernet is an addition, you don't lose anything from previous cables. The way it reads is that they have added 2 twisted pair in there and used previously un-used connection points.

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-17-2010, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Calilife17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

Ethernet is an addition, you don't lose anything from previous cables. The way it reads is that they have added 2 twisted pair in there and used previously un-used connection points.

Jason

Perfect, thanks A lot. that answer makes it all clear for me now. Now off to order those wires. Thanks again.

Theater Room: 65ZT60, Denon 2313CI, Oppo 103D, Apple TV, Logitech Harmony Ultimate
Bedroom: 65VT50, Sony S790, Harmony Smart Control
Game Room: Upcoming Purchases - 4K TV (Sony 65X950B or Reference Series Vizio, Sony FMP-X10) Already Have - OPPO 103D, Harmony Ultimate, Apple TV, 24 gaming systems ready to be hooked up.
Calilife17 is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off