3DXL issue with DLP-Link Glasses - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 311 Old 12-06-2010, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3DXL will not work with DLP-Link Glasses and 3D Vision Kit will be required at all times.
If you should use DLP-Link glasses you will be frustrated with continuous incidents for pseudo depth or revers eye content.
It also applies to connecting your DLP-Link ready projector directly to PC output running at 120 Hz frame sequential.

DLP-Link glasses only work with checker board mode DLP-TVs

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 311 Old 12-06-2010, 03:19 PM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Optoma say that is what is required:

http://www.projectors.co.uk/images/hd67n.pdf

http://www.optomaeurope.com/projecto...nment&PC=3D-XL
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #3 of 311 Old 12-06-2010, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
GregK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
3DXL will not work with DLP-Link Glasses and 3D Vision Kit will be required at all times.
...So if it wasn't going to work properly, then why would Optoma include a pair of DLP Link Glasses with the 3D-XL?

It would be pure stupidity if the 3D-XL didn't have blue line insert and/or provide a reliable sync that DLP-Link needs.
GregK is offline  
post #4 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 06:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
3D Vision Kit? There is no PC involved with this adapter at all so how the heck would 3D Vision even be involed.

Maybe what your saying is the kit isn't PC compatible? I think that would be true, a PC would have to go directly to the projector.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #5 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrickMcKaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think a PC would work fine with the 3D-XL if the PC were sending an HDMI 1.4 signal, which is easy enough to do with the new drivers.
TrickMcKaha is offline  
post #6 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Stewart View Post

Optoma say that is what is required:

http://www.projectors.co.uk/images/hd67n.pdf

http://www.optomaeurope.com/projecto...nment&PC=3D-XL

That is false information. You can confirm with OPTOMA.
It needs TI firmware upgrade which will never arrive because there is no eye phase sync signals via HDMI 1.3 or D-sub.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #7 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 07:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You need clarify what the heck you talking about specifically.

It makes no sense. I think your talking about gaming? PC's?

Surely you will be able to hook up a bluray player to the 3DXL and watch using the included DLP link glasses on an Optoma 120hz 3D projector?
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #8 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregK View Post

...So if it wasn't going to work properly, then why would Optoma include a pair of DLP Link Glasses with the 3D-XL?

It would be pure stupidity if the 3D-XL didn't have blue line insert and/or provide a reliable sync that DLP-Link needs.

Because many users have no ability to distinguish between normal and reverse depth (pseudo stereo).
For those who can see the difference the excuse is going to be the manual correction of eye phase each time a movie starts or there is a glitch in video or PC playback gets interrupted by another process.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #9 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

You need clarify what the heck you talking about specifically.

It makes no sense. I think your talking about gaming? PC's?

Surely you will be able to hook up a bluray player to the 3DXL and watch using the included DLP link glasses on an Optoma 120hz 3D projector?

Yes, the only problem is that manually correcting the eye phase is going to drive you nuts.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #10 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregK View Post

...So if it wasn't going to work properly, then why would Optoma include a pair of DLP Link Glasses with the 3D-XL?

It would be pure stupidity if the 3D-XL didn't have blue line insert and/or provide a reliable sync that DLP-Link needs.

I would call it a fraud.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #11 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickMcKaha View Post

I think a PC would work fine with the 3D-XL if the PC were sending an HDMI 1.4 signal, which is easy enough to do with the new drivers.

No,

the problem is that 3D-XL needs to send eye phase sync via HDMI 1.3 or D-sub and there is no such signals sent out.
Also the DLP-Link implemented in all DLP-Link projectors is incomplete and even if such signal ware delivered DLP-Link firmware would not respond to it or use it.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #12 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Your source for this information?
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #13 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by icester View Post

No,

the problem is that 3D-XL needs to send eye phase sync via HDMI 1.3 or D-sub and there is no such signals sent out.
Also the DLP-Link implemented in all DLP-Link projectors is incomplete and even if such signal ware delivered DLP-Link firmware would not respond to it or use it.

Mathew Orman

Lots of us using DLP link with DLP projectors now. It works fine. Once again, your source for this informaton?

I can verfiy proper operation myself from my own HTPC I built. I actually much prefer the DLP link glasses over the 3D Vision glasses and the sync is better on DLP-link for me.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #14 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

3D Vision Kit? There is no PC involved with this adapter at all so how the heck would 3D Vision even be involed.

Maybe what your saying is the kit isn't PC compatible? I think that would be true, a PC would have to go directly to the projector.

If you want to play 3DBDs then you only chance is a PC with nVidia 3D Vision Kit.
Or if you insist on using DLP-Link LC shutter glasses you will be correcting the eye phase manually at all times.

If nVidia did not play this dirty trick by eliminating all previous eye phase sync methods (Windows XP) we would now have hundreds of different LC shutter manufacturers selling glasses with price as little as US$10 for a pair.

TI DLP-Link only works properly with Checker Board 3D TVs and that is half resolution only.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #15 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

Lots of us using DLP link with DLP projectors now. It works fine. Once again, your source for this informaton?

I can verfiy proper operation myself from my own HTPC I built. I actually much prefer the DLP link glasses over the 3D Vision glasses and the sync is better on DLP-link for me.

So, perhaps you can explain how DLP-Link glasses get
the correct eye phase from 120Hz frame sequential input.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #16 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

Your source for this information?

OPTOMA US customer support.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #17 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
On the DLP-LINK?

I can only say it defiently works on my projector now as is. I can use either the DLP-LINK glasses or the 3D Vision glass and even use both at the same time. I have had numerous screenings with as many as 10 peoplein attendance.


Do you have a name? Date and time they told you this?
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #18 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:38 AM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by icester View Post

I would call it a fraud.

Mathew Orman

So TI is also lying?

DLP Link

http://www.dlp.com/projector/dlp-inn.../dlp-link.aspx
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #19 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Stewart View Post

So TI is also lying?

DLP Link

http://www.dlp.com/projector/dlp-inn.../dlp-link.aspx

Yes they will not respond to your email if you ask about DLP-Link 3D content sync on all DLP-Link projectors.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #20 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

On the DLP-LINK?

I can only say it defiently works on my projector now as is. I can use either the DLP-LINK glasses or the 3D Vision glass and even use both at the same time. I have had numerous screenings with as many as 10 peoplein attendance.


Do you have a name? Date and time they told you this?

Call OPTOMA they have 800 tall free number.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #21 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 09:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did and they disputed your claim.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #22 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

I did and they disputed your claim.

No,
they confirmed it and said that it is a problem with TI's DLP-Link firmware and that TI is working on it.

The fact is for TI to get something working would require nVidia's cooperation which they would not ever agree to becasue they will no longer be able to play monopoly on 3D glasses.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #23 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 09:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The sync signal for 3D capable displays to either DLP link or IR emitter/glases and is generated by the TV when it switches screens when receiving either frame sequential 3D games from a PC or when receiving Checkerbaord 3D content from either a PC or from another source
The 3D DLP link TVs or PJs use the Blue-line Vesa for lens synce with an IR emitter and glases and they have another method embeded in the white flash between frames when using DLP-Link glases so they never lose lens sync due to signal interuption to the DLP-link glases as Icestar claims they do.
walford is offline  
post #24 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 09:55 AM
Member
 
RetroElectro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I really don't understand this topic especially when the current 720p 3D DLP projectors don't do checkerboard and can handle both external IR (nvidia) and DLP link. Sometimes I read really interesting 3D topics from the OP, but sometimes I also read some really off the wall claims concerning the technology.
RetroElectro is offline  
post #25 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Stewart View Post

Optoma say that is what is required:

http://www.projectors.co.uk/images/hd67n.pdf

http://www.optomaeurope.com/projecto...nment&PC=3D-XL

Is it coincidental:

Oops! This page appears broken. DNS Error - Server cannot be found.

The above is what you get when you click support button on 3D-XL page.

Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
post #26 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quite a few of us on here are using the 3D Vision system with DLP-Link glasses and their 120hz 3D, 720p DLP projectors, so it's not just me.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #27 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 10:35 AM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by icester View Post

Is it coincidental:

Oops! This page appears broken. DNS Error - Server cannot be found.

The above is what you get when you click support button on 3D-XL page.

Mathew Orman



I just clicked on it and there was no error message.

http://www.optomaeurope.com/support.aspx
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #28 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 10:38 AM
 
Lee Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 19,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Well Matt, according to what we have read, the 3D-XL will be available for sale in about 2 weeks. I guess we will see who is correct; you or Optoma and TI. Now if I were a betting man . . .
Lee Stewart is offline  
post #29 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 11:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If this is confirmed, I'd love to cancel my pre-order.

But if not, I'd love to be one of the 1st in the country with one of these 3D-XL's too.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #30 of 311 Old 12-07-2010, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
 
icester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Stewart View Post



I just clicked on it and there was no error message.

http://www.optomaeurope.com/support.aspx

This is wat I get:

Server Error in '/' Application.
Runtime Error
Description: An application error occurred on the server. The current custom error settings for this application prevent the details of the application error from being viewed remotely (for security reasons). It could, however, be viewed by browsers running on the local server machine.

Details: To enable the details of this specific error message to be viewable on remote machines, please create a tag within a "web.config" configuration file located in the root directory of the current web application. This tag should then have its "mode" attribute set to "Off".










Notes: The current error page you are seeing can be replaced by a custom error page by modifying the "defaultRedirect" attribute of the application's configuration tag to point to a custom error page URL.









Mathew Orman
icester is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off