3D Gamer Review from VIP Technologies - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 263 Old 03-17-2011, 09:05 PM
Member
 
jyv1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
tried the 3d theater on a old 32 inch 720p vizio lcd
same results
lot of flickering and crosstalk
maybe its the refresh rate
both 8100 and the vizio is 60hz...i think
will try on my samsung 6187 and take it over to my brother's house and try it on his infocus 76
still no response from jonathan from 3dvip
jyv1214 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 263 Old 03-17-2011, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
@jyv1214: Googling the Epson 8100 it seems it only supports 60hz refresh rate (as opposed to 120), that may be where your flickering is coming from.

@dan: The unit claims to make any *DLP* display 3d, so if you have an lcd, crt or other you're still out of luck.
thebard is offline  
post #183 of 263 Old 03-17-2011, 09:47 PM
Member
 
jyv1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
bard

that is what i am beginning to think
even though the 3d theater is supposed to work with both 60 and 120hz
jyv1214 is offline  
post #184 of 263 Old 03-17-2011, 10:06 PM
Member
 
jyv1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
just tried out the 3d theater on my samsung 6187
maybe the 3d theater is faulty?
same results
flickering...
oddly, could not even activate 3d on the tv
tru 3d adaptor works like a charm with the samsung, though
jyv1214 is offline  
post #185 of 263 Old 03-17-2011, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyv1214 View Post

just tried out the 3d theater on my samsung 6187
maybe the 3d theater is faulty?

Maybe... I thought of refresh rate 1st, because at 60hz that would be 30 per eye, which may cause flicker... but certainly not "unwatchable". But the Samsung is 120hz, so that would seem to rule that out.

Maybe a cabling issue? Are you using high-speed hdmi? What length cables? Also, any switches or processors between the gear & the display?

Check your source material as well... are you using blu-ray? Maybe caused by jitter, if your player is outputting 1080/24 instead of 1080/60.

See what Jonathan @vip says I guess.
thebard is offline  
post #186 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
sounds like this one is getting off to a bit more of a rocky start than the gamer did...

Of course it's pre-release so hopefully this will all get corrected before real release
defiancecp is offline  
post #187 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 07:27 AM
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by defiancecp View Post

Of course it's pre-release so hopefully this will all get corrected before real release

Most definitely. Remember that as other here have stated, the 3DTheater does considerably more than the 3DGamer.

Kal
kal is offline  
post #188 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 07:36 AM
Member
 
jyv1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Bard,

I don't think it's the cables since these are the same ones that I use for my Samsung 6187 and Tru3d. As for length, are you saying that they should be of a certain length(i guess, shorter the better)? I'll try to switch out the cables and try again tonight.

The adaptor is the only thing between the projector and the ps3. I've tried some 3d games and a couple of blu rays(deep sea and coraline). I did turn the 1080/24 off on the ps3(per Jonathan's instructions). So far, no luck.

Thanks for your continued help. I am really hoping that Jonathan has a solution at hand, but he has not answered back yet.
jyv1214 is offline  
post #189 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 07:55 AM
Member
 
brews21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope you get it sorted out. Projectorreviews.com says your projector only outputs 24fps to 48.
brews21 is offline  
post #190 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 08:46 AM
Member
 
brews21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The theatre does not support checkerboard. I think your samsung only does checkerboard.
brews21 is offline  
post #191 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdoyledimou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Markham, Ont
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am just waiting for the displayer, or the 3dxl. Whichever comes first, that works, gets my $$$.

PSN: Wrassle
360: Burnt of Wrassl
bdoyledimou is offline  
post #192 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
obveron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok so this thing will take 720p60 framepacked and convert it to 120hz frame-sequential... but is there any device that can do the exact opposite?
obveron is offline  
post #193 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by obveron View Post

Ok so this thing will take 720p60 framepacked and convert it to 120hz frame-sequential... but is there any device that can do the exact opposite?

Not that I'm aware of, but why would you want the opposite? I don't know of any sources that will produce 120hz sequential and *won't* do frame packed...
defiancecp is offline  
post #194 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
hoogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdoyledimou View Post
I am just waiting for the displayer, or the 3dxl. Whichever comes first, that works, gets my $$$.
The 3dxl ONLY does DLP though right? That is why I'm interested in the Theater or Displayer, they are said to work with LCD models as well.
hoogs is offline  
post #195 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 06:34 PM
Member
 
12GAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello guys, I just wanted to chime in that I tested the theater unit on a 46" Sony 1080p LCD @ 60 hz last night and the unit performed well. My main display is a Samsung A900B DLP projector and the unit works well with the DLP as well. (It seems like the DLP handles things a bit better but I think that is a function of differences in display technology and not the theater unit itself)
12GAGE is offline  
post #196 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyv1214 View Post

Bard,

I don't think it's the cables since these are the same ones that I use for my Samsung 6187 and Tru3d. As for length, are you saying that they should be of a certain length(i guess, shorter the better)? I'll try to switch out the cables and try again tonight.

The adaptor is the only thing between the projector and the ps3. I've tried some 3d games and a couple of blu rays(deep sea and coraline). I did turn the 1080/24 off on the ps3(per Jonathan's instructions). So far, no luck.

Thanks for your continued help. I am really hoping that Jonathan has a solution at hand, but he has not answered back yet.

Hmm, curious. Another thought... do you have a resync button on your projector/remote? Maybe the display is just having trouble locking onto the L/R signal being output by the VIP.
thebard is offline  
post #197 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 08:36 PM
Member
 
jyv1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm not sure what you mean by a resync button...
The epson is not a 3d projector, so would it have one?
jyv1214 is offline  
post #198 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyv1214 View Post

I'm not sure what you mean by a resync button...
The epson is not a 3d projector, so would it have one?

Yeah, even 2d projectors have this function... it synchronizes the display with the input signal.

Below is the remote from my hd-70; the right-menu button doubles as re-sync. On your model I think you'd hit the "auto" button.

Also, am I reading the manual correctly... does this pj have a dvi rather than hdmi connection? Are you using an hdmi-dvi adapter? That may be an issue...
LL
thebard is offline  
post #199 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 09:31 PM
Member
 
jyv1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Bard

my remote does not have a resync nor an "auto" button
i would link an image but i don't know how to do that
the remote does have separte buttons for the various sources: hdmi1, hdmi 2, and so on
the pj does have hdmi inputs..no dvi
again, thanks
jyv1214 is offline  
post #200 of 263 Old 03-18-2011, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It looks like the sync settings on the 8100 (under Signal > Auto Setup) only apply to rgb (computer) signals. closest thing would be to try switching sources & back.

You could also try disbling any image processing settings such as "super-resolution". Beyond that, I don't know. With luck, VIP will have an answer.

Hope it works out for you... you've got a lot of people hanging on your word before purchasing!
thebard is offline  
post #201 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chezbrgr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nexstar Hell, PA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I did receive the Theatre Unit Yesterday, along with the glasses and emitter.

Sadly my theatre is torn apart for Carpet that was supposed to be done 2 Days ago.

But I will try to get some pics up, and do some testing this weekend.

I was able to do a brief test with, The Epson HC8100, Samsung BD C5900, running thru and Onkyo TXSR805.

The Unit did force the 3D!!! Wich means the samsung BR Thought it was connected to a 3D display, even running thru the Onkyo, and a 25ft cable run.

Now there is some flickering as is to be expected with a 60hz projector like the epson, but the problem that I, and I believe the gentleman above is having is realted to the glasses and emitter not the Theatre unit. In my case the emitter has to be within 3 ft of me to work.

So I have sent emails out to Jonathan, and I believe this is a fixable issue, I know that they dont make the glasses or emitter so we will see.

But I repeat it does work, sure theres some bugs right now, will get some pics and then start a new thread, this is gonna be a long weekend.

See ya!

Wake me when HD gets Here!
Chezbrgr2 is offline  
post #202 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 05:18 AM
Member
 
jadeezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious Chez, what in the heck took so long to ship to you? I know you ordered it a couple weeks ago.
jadeezra is offline  
post #203 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 05:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chezbrgr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nexstar Hell, PA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadeezra View Post

Just curious Chez, what in the heck took so long to ship to you? I know you ordered it a couple weeks ago.

My bad on shipping info! Totally my fault.

Wake me when HD gets Here!
Chezbrgr2 is offline  
post #204 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 05:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chezbrgr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nexstar Hell, PA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some pics,................
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

Wake me when HD gets Here!
Chezbrgr2 is offline  
post #205 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 05:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chezbrgr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nexstar Hell, PA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And The glasses,...........
LL

Wake me when HD gets Here!
Chezbrgr2 is offline  
post #206 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 05:36 AM
Member
 
jadeezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome!!!!!! Thank you for some pics....
jadeezra is offline  
post #207 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 05:37 AM
Member
 
jadeezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love it because it looks so basic and simple. Looks like it should be a pleasure to operate.
jadeezra is offline  
post #208 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Does the VIP theater require the emitter and glasses or will it work with DLPlink glasses?
threed123 is offline  
post #209 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 07:26 AM
Member
 
brews21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jyv1214 from everything that Ive read, I think your 8100 projector isn't a true 60 hz projector. It looks like it outputs 48 hz with a auto iris function that adjusts light output up to 60 times per second based on the gamma and black/white levels of your content. If I were you I would ask epson, and then buy another projector or return the theatre.
brews21 is offline  
post #210 of 263 Old 03-19-2011, 07:38 AM
Member
 
brews21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by threed123 View Post

Does the VIP theater require the emitter and glasses or will it work with DLPlink glasses?

works great with Dlp link glasses. Chezbrgr2 thanks for the picture of the emitter. I'll wait for more feedback on the emitter and glasses before I buy the emitter.
brews21 is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off