Official Monster Vision Max 3D Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1059 Old 12-20-2011, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
AmigoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to let you know that I've done the update from 1.04.005 to 1.05.004 on the rebaged Optoma RF Emitter / glasses. Seems to work fine. But honestly, they worked flawless before already. I don't anything worse or better now.
But the update worked.

edit:
seems not to work fine. I get some strange ghosting.
Can anybody tell me the original settings for Delay (usecs) and Duty Cycle (10-120%) of the Optoma emitter?
AmigoHD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1059 Old 12-20-2011, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigoHD View Post

Just wanted to let you know that I've done the update from 1.04.005 to 1.05.004 on the rebaged Optoma RF Emitter / glasses. Seems to work fine. But honestly, they worked flawless before already. I don't anything worse or better now.
But the update worked.

Does anyone know when 1.05.004 came out and what it addresses?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #273 of 1059 Old 12-20-2011, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
AmigoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

Does anyone know when 1.05.004 came out and what it addresses?

edit:
seems not to work fine. I get some strange ghosting.
Can anybody tell me the original settings for Delay (usecs) and Duty Cycle (10-120%) of the Optoma emitter?
AmigoHD is offline  
post #274 of 1059 Old 12-20-2011, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigoHD View Post

edit:
seems not to work fine. I get some strange ghosting.
Can anybody tell me the original settings for Delay (usecs) and Duty Cycle (10-120%) of the Optoma emitter?

Important to note that the default settings for those are DEVICE dependent. So if it is talking to a Sony device it will use different defaults than a Samsung, for example. You can reset it to the factory default and then see what the default is, but unless someone has your same device you cannot go by their defaults.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #275 of 1059 Old 12-20-2011, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
AmigoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have done a factory reset. The ghosting is still there. I even tried to reset the glasses itself and resync them, still the same ghosting and almost no depth.
Out of the box I had NO ghosting at all.

I am using an Optoma HD83 (HD8300 in the us).
Maybe this may help.

PS. Even in DLP Link Mode there is the same amount of ghosting.
AmigoHD is offline  
post #276 of 1059 Old 12-20-2011, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigoHD View Post

I have done a factory reset. The ghosting is still there. I even tried to reset the glasses itself and resync them, still the same ghosting and almost no depth.
Out of the box I had NO ghosting at all.

I am using an Optoma HD83 (HD8300 in the us).
Maybe this may help.

PS. Even in DLP Link Mode there is the same amount of ghosting.

Maybe somehow it is inverted. Try flipping the glasses 180 degrees (put them on upside down). Does that make a difference?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #277 of 1059 Old 12-20-2011, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
AmigoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got it to work again by manual fine tuning on the rf emitter.
AmigoHD is offline  
post #278 of 1059 Old 12-20-2011, 07:44 PM
Member
 
zkidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vjren View Post

But why would it only ghost in some area (tower) and not in the complete image?

Probably because the tower is a certain shade. Depending on what order the intensity bitmasks are rendered on your particular DLP set, certain shades of certain color components will have (relatively) major levels that are closer to the frame porches, and thus the first to be affected if the glasses drift off center.

Or less technically "because DLP is really very weird that way."
zkidz is offline  
post #279 of 1059 Old 12-21-2011, 03:54 AM
Senior Member
 
vjren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zkidz View Post

Probably because the tower is a certain shade. Depending on what order the intensity bitmasks are rendered on your particular DLP set, certain shades of certain color components will have (relatively) major levels that are closer to the frame porches, and thus the first to be affected if the glasses drift off center.

Or less technically "because DLP is really very weird that way."

Right, I will try to see if adjustment works.

Funny thing is many people are complaining about brightness in 3D, but if really bright their whole room gets lit from light reflection on screen and it backfires through reflection in the glasses. Unless in a bat cave maybe

Anyone now of a fancy way to limit reflection inside the glasses? Spray? Screenprotector, or just wear a a black heat
vjren is offline  
post #280 of 1059 Old 12-21-2011, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
stevegravley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Where are you guys buying these?

My home theater build thread
LEVEL 4: Center for Entertainment
stevegravley is offline  
post #281 of 1059 Old 12-21-2011, 09:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

i bought mine from mike at the avs store... price was good and service is great...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #282 of 1059 Old 12-21-2011, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
stevegravley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

i bought mine from mike at the avs store... price was good and service is great...

That's what I'll do then. I bought my RS45 from Mike. I just didn't know if they were re-sellers.

My home theater build thread
LEVEL 4: Center for Entertainment
stevegravley is offline  
post #283 of 1059 Old 12-24-2011, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
brahby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are we allowed to discuss the price you paid? Im looking to get a set or two for my nx810. Trying to weigh out if it is worth it. I notice slight ghosting on this set with certain movies, mainly bolt 3d and re: afterlife but I believe both of these have had reports of having more ghosting than other films so I don't know if it is worth the cost for just two films
brahby is offline  
post #284 of 1059 Old 12-24-2011, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I know I read a few post that some people don't like the fact that there is no way to turn off the glasses when watching a movie and the glasses are in sync. Well if you hold down the power button until the red LED goes off then release it the LED will flash for a while and then the glasses will shut off and not resync with the emitter. I tried this twice last night and it worked both times.

Ron
Ronomy is offline  
post #285 of 1059 Old 12-25-2011, 09:34 AM
Member
 
msamblanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just got some Monstervision 3d glasses for my JVC RS-45. I've read posts around that I should just need to plug it into the 3d connector and it should be fine but I am not seeing this

I tried factory resets and upgrading to the latest firmware but none of that helped...

I finally got them working, but to make it work, I had to provide USB power 1st, then connect it to the RS-45. If I connect to the RS-45 directly (without USB power applied 1st), it does not scan for a signal and seems to come up in "firmware upgrade" mode (middle led lit red)

Once it is working, I can remove the USB power and it is fine

Has anybody here seen a similar problem using the MV glasses with the VESA connector? I'm trying to determine if my transmitter is defectiveadding a USB power brick is not a big deal but if something else is wrong, I'd rather get the defective unit replaced.
msamblanet is offline  
post #286 of 1059 Old 12-25-2011, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by msamblanet View Post

I just got some Monstervision 3d glasses for my JVC RS-45. I've read posts around that I should just need to plug it into the 3d connector and it should be fine but I am not seeing this

I tried factory resets and upgrading to the latest firmware but none of that helped...

I finally got them working, but to make it work, I had to provide USB power 1st, then connect it to the RS-45. If I connect to the RS-45 directly (without USB power applied 1st), it does not scan for a signal and seems to come up in "firmware upgrade" mode (middle led lit red)

Once it is working, I can remove the USB power and it is fine

Has anybody here seen a similar problem using the MV glasses with the VESA connector? I'm trying to determine if my transmitter is defectiveadding a USB power brick is not a big deal but if something else is wrong, I'd rather get the defective unit replaced.

I had to supply power to mine as well. It works fine when plugged in.
thebard is offline  
post #287 of 1059 Old 12-25-2011, 12:04 PM
Member
 
msamblanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebard View Post

I had to supply power to mine as well. It works fine when plugged in.

Thanks - I guess buying another black USB power brick will have to wait until tomorrow however
msamblanet is offline  
post #288 of 1059 Old 12-26-2011, 05:02 AM
Member
 
timgrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To clarify supplying power to it. Do you only have to supply power to it once, then plug it into the RS45, and then it will work forever? Or do you have to supply power to it every time you want to turn on the projector and watch 3D? Would the easiest solution be to supply permanent power to it via a USB charger?
Thanks.

Tim
timgrady is offline  
post #289 of 1059 Old 12-26-2011, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by timgrady View Post

To clarify supplying power to it. Do you only have to supply power to it once, then plug it into the RS45, and then it will work forever? Or do you have to supply power to it every time you want to turn on the projector and watch 3D? Would the easiest solution be to supply permanent power to it via a USB charger?
Thanks.

Tim

You know, to be honest I never tried unplugging it once I plugged it in. When I first got it & it wouldn't work, I plugged it into the pc I use for streaming music & left it there.

It's convenient though, as I can access the emitter's configuration utility easliy anytime.
thebard is offline  
post #290 of 1059 Old 12-26-2011, 05:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by brahby View Post

Are we allowed to discuss the price you paid? Im looking to get a set or two for my nx810. Trying to weigh out if it is worth it. I notice slight ghosting on this set with certain movies, mainly bolt 3d and re: afterlife but I believe both of these have had reports of having more ghosting than other films so I don't know if it is worth the cost for just two films

iirc, it was around 130 simoleons... drop them an email or a call, they'll tell you...

can't comment as to whether they are "worth it" or not to you, but compared to the mits glasses i also have, the monsters are "worth it" for the comfort difference alone.... ymmv...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #291 of 1059 Old 12-26-2011, 05:52 AM
Member
 
msamblanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by timgrady View Post

To clarify supplying power to it. Do you only have to supply power to it once, then plug it into the RS45, and then it will work forever? Or do you have to supply power to it every time you want to turn on the projector and watch 3D? Would the easiest solution be to supply permanent power to it via a USB charger?
Thanks.

Tim

For me, I need to have USB power before the projector turns on. I plan on using a USB wall charger (just need to go out today and find a black one so it does not stick out visually on my black drop ceiling)...
msamblanet is offline  
post #292 of 1059 Old 12-26-2011, 01:58 PM
Member
 
timgrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like I'm going to try a GE 14912 surge protected outlet with USB. It adds on to an existing outlet and looks fairly secure. It seems to be the lowest profile option other than buying a white USB outlet and painting it black.

Tim
timgrady is offline  
post #293 of 1059 Old 12-28-2011, 03:30 AM
Senior Member
 
vjren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vjren View Post

I am using these glasses and see a phenomenon I can not name and also not solve.

Using the Optoma system glasses on a HD83.

And I got the chance to compare with dlplink glasses on the same projector.

Pictures were taken through the 3D glasses in the middle with a kodak playsport (no optical zoom/focus and no flash)

Attached images show the bug.

100_0001srfr
rf glasses right side
tower of venice cyan color band on the right

100_0002srfl
rf glasses left side
tower of venice cyan color band on the left

My next post will show the same images with the DLP link glasses.

I have an update on my RF-3D glasses purple/cyan bar issue.

Using the Monstervision manual it tried to adjust the optoma rebadged one, but does not seem to correspond to the optoma unit in control operation, but I managed to adjust the settings to improve the delay and thus remove this cyan/purple bar issue

What I had to do was press the joystick right until 2 leds burn, then one tick up to control delay and it seemed to remove the issue.

Left and right adjust duty cycle or so it seems but no real benefit in there.

Conclusion is that tuning might be needed for 3D-RF systems! (sorry, but that was new to me..)

And it seems the Optoma RF- transmitter uses different operation manual, if someone knows a link?
vjren is offline  
post #294 of 1059 Old 12-29-2011, 04:41 PM
Member
 
mabuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vjren View Post

And it seems the Optoma RF- transmitter uses different operation manual, if someone knows a link?

http://www.optoma.co.uk/uploads/manu...es-M-en-GB.pdf
mabuk is offline  
post #295 of 1059 Old 12-29-2011, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23

I've always used the Monster manual with the Optoma glasses. As far as I can tell they operate the same.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #296 of 1059 Old 12-29-2011, 07:45 PM
Member
 
mabuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

I've always used the Monster manual with the Optoma glasses. As far as I can tell they operate the same.

The manuals have one difference that I could spot - the "SET POLARITY MODE" in the Optoma manual (page 3) replaces the "IR Signal Search and Learn" for the Monster's (page 10).

( http://www.optoma.co.uk/uploads/manu...es-M-en-GB.pdf
http://www.monstercable.com/lit/Max_3D_manual.pdf )
mabuk is offline  
post #297 of 1059 Old 01-02-2012, 04:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebard View Post

I had to supply power to mine as well. It works fine when plugged in.

I tried the unit just plugged into the 45 and it works fine without an external power supply.
rwestley is offline  
post #298 of 1059 Old 01-02-2012, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brahby View Post

Are we allowed to discuss the price you paid? Im looking to get a set or two for my nx810. Trying to weigh out if it is worth it. I notice slight ghosting on this set with certain movies, mainly bolt 3d and re: afterlife but I believe both of these have had reports of having more ghosting than other films so I don't know if it is worth the cost for just two films

Do Monster 3D glasses improve crosstalk/ghosting?
dojoman is offline  
post #299 of 1059 Old 01-02-2012, 01:22 PM
Member
 
jpvision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These glasses preformed much better than the Sony glasses on my NX810. Ghosting / crosstalk were reduced but not eliminated.

Since purchasing these I have stopped using a PS3 for bluray playback and am now using a Panasonic bluray player. This and the monster glasses have made 3D worth watching. Ghosting and crosstalk only crop up occasionally now.
jpvision is offline  
post #300 of 1059 Old 01-02-2012, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you hookup the Monster transmitter? Can you plug the Monster transmitter to Sony TV? Or you just put the IR receiver in front of Sony's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpvision View Post

These glasses preformed much better than the Sony glasses on my NX810. Ghosting / crosstalk were reduced but not eliminated.

Since purchasing these I have stopped using a PS3 for bluray playback and am now using a Panasonic bluray player. This and the monster glasses have made 3D worth watching. Ghosting and crosstalk only crop up occasionally now.

dojoman is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Tags
Monster Vision Max Active 3d Glasses

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off