Official Monster Vision Max 3D Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1059 Old 03-30-2011, 12:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't see anything in the specs to indicate that this 2009 TV model is a 3D model and ahich has a Vesa port.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-PN42B4.../ref=de_a_smtd
walford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1059 Old 03-31-2011, 10:44 AM
Newbie
 
suntrinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure about that amazon page.
But it is listed in the user manual (page 25)
samsung.com/us/support/downloads/PN42B450B1D

Also here : 3dmovielist.com/3dhdtvs.html

It was confirmed that nvidia 3d vision works with this model but no word about monstervision.
suntrinity is offline  
post #33 of 1059 Old 04-01-2011, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikenificent1 View Post

I've used mine for almost 5 hours on one charge no problem and still going. I didn't charge mine by USB though. I used a blackberry charger and it fully charged in about 30-45 minutes.

good suggestion. I was originally having USB from the PC charging issues, it didn't see to last long at all. I decided to try and old blackberry charger I had laying around and it works great.

eurotrance - give this a shot when you get a chance.
zombie10k is online now  
post #34 of 1059 Old 04-08-2011, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eurotrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

good suggestion. I was originally having USB from the PC charging issues, it didn't see to last long at all. I decided to try and old blackberry charger I had laying around and it works great.

eurotrance - give this a shot when you get a chance.

Thanks guys, that did the trick!

I'm sure glad I don't have to get 3 pairs exchanged. Of course I was just closing one pair and the LCD lens broke after a plasticky click sound... I like the glasses but they're way too fragile IMO.

LIVE every wednesday 12pm-2pm PST on http://www.discovertrance.com
eurotrance is offline  
post #35 of 1059 Old 04-12-2011, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Elbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Foster City, CA, USA
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, guys
Long time member, but not as active lately. Been with Monster for 7 years and am the Product Area Manager for MAX3D if you have any further questions.

The Firmware update will be posted on the MAX3D micro site this week. Addresses the following issues:

1) Hunt and Seek sync improvement: If you are constantly moving the TX from one 3D TV to another, there is improved efficiency in adapting to the new TV's IR code. (In the past, it was sometimes necessary to perform a hard reset on the TX so that it can find a new TV)

2) Sharp TV 3D IR codes- The ones that Sharp ultimately deployed were not the ones they provided to us, unfortunately

3) Enhanced IR Decoding for Philips and Xpand compatible projectors

4) Improved signal detection for Samsung TVs for more flexible IR Sensor placement - Samsung's IR emitter port is the least friendly of all of the 3D Enabled tvs.


Updating the firmware is simple and painless.

Cheers
Elbert is offline  
post #36 of 1059 Old 04-13-2011, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FYI per an engineer at Bit Cauldron, the glasses can handle a refresh rate anywhere from 30Hz to 120Hz per eye (i.e. total 60-240Hz). I haven't seen this info anywhere else.
Mikenificent1 is offline  
post #37 of 1059 Old 04-14-2011, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vampyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update Elbert!
My Max3d worked poorly with my samsung 63 plasma (see my posts in this thread). I decided to give them another chance with a new pair. I will try tonight and report later. I wonder if i will get the same results until the firmware release.
Vampyro is online now  
post #38 of 1059 Old 04-14-2011, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vampyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Elbert,

Any hope of this being Mac compatible?
Im surprised that it wasn't out of the box.
I don't own a PC.
Vampyro is online now  
post #39 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 07:12 AM
Member
 
sydneycb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I am new to 3D and am wondering do i need to buy the full kit or can i just buy the glasses? I picked up a samsung pnc7000 sorry this is probably a stupid question but just looking for some clarity. If i don't need the kit what are the advantages over just having the glasses?
sydneycb is offline  
post #40 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydneycb View Post

Hi I am new to 3D and am wondering do i need to buy the full kit or can i just buy the glasses? I picked up a samsung pnc7000 sorry this is probably a stupid question but just looking for some clarity. If i don't need the kit what are the advantages over just having the glasses?

you need the kit for the first pair of glasses because it comes with the emitter which is necessary for the TV to be able to communicate with the glasses. Any additional glasses, you don't need the kit.
Mikenificent1 is offline  
post #41 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 07:36 AM
Member
 
sydneycb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikenificent1 View Post

you need the kit for the first pair of glasses because it comes with the emitter which is necessary for the TV to be able to communicate with the glasses. Any additional glasses, you don't need the kit.

OK great thanks, I was a little confused..
sydneycb is offline  
post #42 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 08:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The emitter is allready built into the lower left hand corner of the Bezel of the Samsung plasma as show on page 20 of it's user's maual part of which is quoted below.

"
This exciting new feature enables you to view
3D content. In order to fully enjoy this feature,
you must purchase a pair of Samsung 3D
Active Glasses (SSG-2100AB, SSG-2200AR,
SSG-2200KR) to view 3D video.
Samsung 3D Active Glasses are sold
separately. For more detailed purchasing
information, contact the retailer where you purchased this TV.
✎✎The LED on the 3D emitter blinks only when sending a
3D signal.
✎✎If there is any obstacle between the emitter and 3D
Active Glasses, the proper 3D effect may not occur
"
walford is offline  
post #43 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 08:22 AM
Member
 
sydneycb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

The emitter is allready built into the lower left hand corner of the Bezel of the Samsung plasma as show on page 20 of it's user's maual part of which is quoted below.

"
This exciting new feature enables you to view
3D content. In order to fully enjoy this feature,
you must purchase a pair of Samsung 3D
Active Glasses (SSG-2100AB, SSG-2200AR,
SSG-2200KR) to view 3D video.
Samsung 3D Active Glasses are sold
separately. For more detailed purchasing
information, contact the retailer where you purchased this TV.
✎✎The LED on the 3D emitter blinks only when sending a
3D signal.
✎✎If there is any obstacle between the emitter and 3D
Active Glasses, the proper 3D effect may not occur
"

so does this mean i do not need a transmitter lol
sydneycb is offline  
post #44 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vampyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung 8000 plasma.
You do need the kit for the Monster glasses. The Samsung emitter is an IR emitter. The Monster glasses will never get a signal from the TV in a million years lol.
The monster kit is used to pick up the IR signal from the Samsung and convert the signal to RF which the Monster glasses will accept.
Vampyro is online now  
post #45 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 01:23 PM
Member
 
sydneycb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampyro View Post

I have a Samsung 8000 plasma.
You do need the kit for the Monster glasses. The Samsung emitter is an IR emitter. The Monster glasses will never get a signal from the TV in a million years lol.
The monster kit is used to pick up the IR signal from the Samsung and convert the signal to RF which the Monster glasses will accept.

Hahaha yea i called monster and they told me the exact thing, thanks though
sydneycb is offline  
post #46 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 04:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydneycb View Post

so does this mean i do not need a transmitter lol

I am talking about the Samsung 3D IR emitter being built into the TV and not about any other emitter.
walford is offline  
post #47 of 1059 Old 04-15-2011, 10:41 PM
Member
 
jbolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am thinking of picking a couple of pairs up. My only question is if these glasses appear any brighter than the stock JVC or Xpand X103 with a JVC 3D projector?

I wanted to wait for the Xpand Youniversal glasses, but they got pushed back to the 3rd quarter of this year.
jbolt is offline  
post #48 of 1059 Old 04-18-2011, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blue Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have the mits 73738 which has Direct IR Format Selection and Independent IR Power ON / OFF. This TV doesn't need an adapter just software update.


Question 1- I know I need the Glasses kit but do I also need to buy another emitter to plug into my port ( Vesa 3 pin ) in back of the TV ?

Question 2- Will different IR glasses work with this setup ?

Thanks

See My AVS Classified Ad .
Blue Rain is offline  
post #49 of 1059 Old 04-18-2011, 07:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You need either DLP-Link glasses (then you don't need the adapter kit)

OR

An emitter to plug into the TV and glasses compatible with the emitter you obtain.
walford is offline  
post #50 of 1059 Old 04-18-2011, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blue Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

You need either DLP-Link glasses (then you don't need the adapter kit)

OR

An emitter to plug into the TV and glasses compatible with the emitter you obtain.

Hi


I know I don't need the adapter

I thought The Monster glasses with kit would be all I need ..so I do have to buy another emitter ?

Where would I plug that into as the mits 73738 only has one vesa 3 pin port and the monster emitter (Ir/rf) would have to be plugged into that port.

So confused

I keep going back and forth between dlp and IR glasses but think I'm going to get IR glasses ..more pro's V cons for my taste.

See My AVS Classified Ad .
Blue Rain is offline  
post #51 of 1059 Old 04-18-2011, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blue Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK I do need an emitter..I thought the monster kit included an emitter
but it's just a converter to RF and has it's own power cord for outlet.

Seriously..the electronic industry should be flogged for all the turmoil
they have caused us. And I pretty much know my stuff..imagine the average jane or joe

Thats alright I'll be good for years screw them !

See My AVS Classified Ad .
Blue Rain is offline  
post #52 of 1059 Old 04-19-2011, 08:26 PM
Member
 
jsc1205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried the firmware update and got to the last step of removing the USB from the computer, plugged it back into the USB of the back of my tv ......and then nothing. No lights came on the transmitter or anything! Doesn't even turn on. Tried to reconnect to the computer it it doesn't recognize it now. Thought that it needed to update the glasses as the instructions say.......no go there either. Called Monster and the guy was stumped so he has to call a tech and call me tomorrow.
Has anyone did the update? Am I missing something here???

Please advise
jsc1205 is offline  
post #53 of 1059 Old 04-20-2011, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
anyone know when these are coming to Canada
space2001 is offline  
post #54 of 1059 Old 04-20-2011, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
knobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: london ontario
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

anyone know when these are coming to Canada

i emailed monster and they didn't give a date but said they would be distributed through future shop and best buy.things sure are messed up here in canada.i am running out of patience with this 3d.it seems it is not user friendly for us in canada.
knobby is offline  
post #55 of 1059 Old 04-20-2011, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Canadians always get screwed
space2001 is offline  
post #56 of 1059 Old 04-20-2011, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
knobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: london ontario
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

Canadians always get screwed

if you find them available let me know and i will do likewise.thanks.
knobby is offline  
post #57 of 1059 Old 04-21-2011, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by knobby View Post

if you find them available let me know and i will do likewise.thanks.

for sure
space2001 is offline  
post #58 of 1059 Old 04-21-2011, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Rain View Post

OK I do need an emitter..I thought the monster kit included an emitter
but it's just a converter to RF and has it's own power cord for outlet.

Seriously..the electronic industry should be flogged for all the turmoil
they have caused us. And I pretty much know my stuff..imagine the average jane or joe

Thats alright I'll be good for years screw them !

If your TV/Projector has a Vesa 3D port on the back, you don't need an extra emitter, the kit comes with one that you plug directly into that port.
Mikenificent1 is offline  
post #59 of 1059 Old 05-04-2011, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
audionewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does this glasses compatible with nvidia 3d version or not?
audionewer is offline  
post #60 of 1059 Old 05-04-2011, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Headhunter81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikenificent1 View Post


If your TV/Projector has a Vesa 3D port on the back, you don't need an extra emitter, the kit comes with one that you plug directly into that port.

So, even though the port is supposed to be for an IR emitter, the monster vision rf adaptor will work??

I've got the same situation as a previous poster. Mits WD-73838 with no 3D "stuff" yet. I was hoping the device could be plugged directly into my tv without having to buy an IR adaptor.
Headhunter81 is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Tags
Monster Vision Max Active 3d Glasses

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off