3D Displayer - VIP Product - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 701 Old 03-27-2011, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For this price it should have 2D to 3D conversion. Also I assume it doesn't output 1080i.
Bill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 701 Old 03-27-2011, 02:54 PM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill View Post

For this price it should have 2D to 3D conversion. Also I assume it doesn't output 1080i.

I'm not sure what you mean by 2D to 3D conversion? What the previous threads were referencing was using a 2D 60hz projector to watch 3D via a 3D signal that is converted from 120hz (60 frames per eye) to 60hz (30 frames per eye) using the VIP module. 2D to 3D conversion does exist and is software based to tranform a 2D image into a 3D image--it's not what the VIP does. This also requires shutterglasses hooked to an IR emitter that will also do 30hz per eye.
threed123 is offline  
post #33 of 701 Old 03-27-2011, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
donyoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybereality View Post

I call BS on this product. How is is supposed to convert regular 2D displays to 3D? Doesn't make any sense. And even if it does work, 30Hz per eye is garbage.

Here is a thread from last fall with a possible explanation on how 60 Hz LCD could support 3D and have minimal ambient flicker. It would be nice to see Ken H eat crow on this as well (this goes back to the good ole days in the HD programming forum).

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1283347

I have an Epson 6100 LCD FP with Directv & PS3. I'm anxiously waiting for more 60 Hz impressions before committing the extra funds to theater vs. displayer.

Don
donyoop is offline  
post #34 of 701 Old 03-27-2011, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I am also waiting for reviews. I have an epson 8700 it should be plenty bright enough in dynamic mode for 3d.So besides the vip displayer i would need their emitter and what kind of glasses?

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!

Updated Theater Pictures

dan webster is offline  
post #35 of 701 Old 03-27-2011, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Billbofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan webster View Post

I am also waiting for reviews. I have an epson 8700 it should be plenty bright enough in dynamic mode for 3d.So besides the vip displayer i would need their emitter and what kind of glasses?

You would need the IR glasses vs. the DLP Link glasses. They (IR) pair with the emitter.
Billbofet is offline  
post #36 of 701 Old 03-27-2011, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Thanks I hope this really works . I hope we get some reviews soon.

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!

Updated Theater Pictures

dan webster is offline  
post #37 of 701 Old 03-27-2011, 11:56 PM
Member
 
mikael10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have been testing the 3d-displayer over the weekend. The 3d effect is awesome, but the picture is way to dark.

I have a Planar PD8150 with a anamorphic lens. The projector has only 120 hours behind.

So a projector with 1000 lumens is useless with the 3d-displayer.

Mikael
mikael10 is offline  
post #38 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 05:25 AM
Newbie
 
tomsell99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikael10 View Post

Hello,

I have been testing the 3d-displayer over the weekend. The 3d effect is awesome, but the picture is way to dark.

I have a Planar PD8150 with a anamorphic lens. The projector has only 120 hours behind.

So a projector with 1000 lumens is useless with the 3d-displayer.


that is not the news i wanted to hear!!!!
Ive currently got a sony vpl hw10 with same brightness so looks like its going to be too dull for watching 3d!!
tomsell99 is offline  
post #39 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 07:19 AM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikael10 View Post

Hello,

I have been testing the 3d-displayer over the weekend. The 3d effect is awesome, but the picture is way to dark.

Not surprising since 2D projectors were not made for adjusting 3D brightness like the new 720p 3d projectors. That said, it's an obstacle to be overcome, not to be defeated by . Most 2D use is in low lamp or eco mode and Cinema settings. These can be changed of course to normal modes and TV setting for example.

Several ways to increase brightness: Create a user mode just for 3D with brightness and contrast turned up plus change in gamma. Change your zoom to reduce the image size. Get a brighter screen (Dalite ,HP for example).

I'm wondering if you tried ways to increase the brightness?
threed123 is offline  
post #40 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
tomsell99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If i was to order would i need to just order 3D-displayer package and the IR emitter glasses with emitter is that correct?
I am guessing you either buy the emitter glasses or the DLP Link glasses which i think cant be used with the sony!!! and most importantly how and what do i connect the IR emitter glasses to??

This is the email they have sent me:

3D-Theatre will work with your projector. Here is what you would need:
We will have 3D Theatre/3D-Displayer in stock in the first week of April.
3D-Theatre: $499.00 (Games, Movies, Satellite/Cable & Internet and 60Hz/120Hz TV/projector)
3D-Displayer: $299.00 (Games and Movies & 60Hz/120Hz TV/projector)
IR emitter glasses with emitter: $129.00
DLP Link glasses: $70.00
Shipping via USPS Priority Mail: $29.99 (International) & $9.99 (Domestic)
Do please select what unit/glasses you are looking to purchase
tomsell99 is offline  
post #41 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 08:35 AM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomsell99 View Post

If i was to order would i need to just order 3D-displayer package and the IR emitter glasses with emitter is that correct?
I am guessing you either buy the emitter glasses or the DLP Link glasses which i think cant be used with the sony!!! and most importantly how and what do i connect the IR emitter glasses to??

Yes. The IR emitter connects to the VIP module. The glasses receive the IR signal and sync the shutters--they are not connected with anything directly. If you have a 3D ready dlp projector (e.g. 120hz frame sequential capable), then you can use the DLPlink glasses. The DLPlink glasses depend on a white flash from the projector to sync the 3D signal to the glasses. If you are using a 2D projector in 60hz mode for 3D, then you need the IR emitter and glasses from VIP--but they also work with 120hz projectors as well. Since 2D projectors do not produce a white flash image to sync dlplink glasses, they cannot be used.
threed123 is offline  
post #42 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Billbofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by threed123 View Post

Not surprising since 2D projectors were not made for adjusting 3D brightness like the new 720p 3d projectors. That said, it's an obstacle to be overcome, not to be defeated by . Most 2D use is in low lamp or eco mode and Cinema settings. These can be changed of course to normal modes and TV setting for example.

Several ways to increase brightness: Create a user mode just for 3D with brightness and contrast turned up plus change in gamma. Change your zoom to reduce the image size. Get a brighter screen (Dalite ,HP for example).

I'm wondering if you tried ways to increase the brightness?


I agree. I always assumed that I would have to have a special setting for 3D content that would have increased brightness, contrast, color temp, etc...
I do this now for when I play video games as well.

If someone is testing or using the Displayer through the PS3, I would recommend setting the reference (I think that's what it's called) to Limited vs. Expanded. When I was using Expanded and watching Netflix it was black crush city. Perhaps this will help with the VIP products as well.
Billbofet is offline  
post #43 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikael10 View Post

Hello,

I have been testing the 3d-displayer over the weekend. The 3d effect is awesome, but the picture is way to dark.

I have a Planar PD8150 with a anamorphic lens. The projector has only 120 hours behind.

So a projector with 1000 lumens is useless with the 3d-displayer.

The Planar 8150 doesn't produce anywhere near 1000 lumens @ D65 even right out of the box (more like 600), so that is not necessarily the case! You also don't mention what screen size you are running.
Mikenificent1 is offline  
post #44 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 08:50 AM
Newbie
 
tomsell99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh thanks for that! it all makes sense now!!
One other question,sorry to be pain!!! but would i have to order one emitter per single pair of glasses or would it sync all glasses being worn?

Thanks, Tom.
tomsell99 is offline  
post #45 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 10:29 AM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
One emitter supports multiple glasses. Extra glasses are $99. That said, some have had problems with the distance between IR and glasses working properly because the emitter cord is too short. Apparently VIP is working on a solution to this.
threed123 is offline  
post #46 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ultimate 3d heaven has a generic 3-pin vesa extension cable for really cheap. Can't remember the price, but I think it was like $10.
defiancecp is offline  
post #47 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 03:21 PM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by defiancecp View Post

ultimate 3d heaven has a generic 3-pin vesa extension cable for really cheap. Can't remember the price, but I think it was like $10.

Excellent solution. thanks since I'm getting the emitter and glasses very soon.
threed123 is offline  
post #48 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Skiiermike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What makes the displayer and the theater different?

Why does one play satellite 3D and the other doesn't?

Thanks
Skiiermike is offline  
post #49 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Billbofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiiermike View Post

What makes the displayer and the theater different?

Why does one play satellite 3D and the other doesn't?

Thanks

I believe the main difference is the Theater does side by side and top over bottom format which several tv broadcasts use.
Billbofet is offline  
post #50 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Skiiermike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick response. Its there a minimum response time that will be required for this to work? I think my TV is 4ms which isn't that fast by todays standards.
Skiiermike is offline  
post #51 of 701 Old 03-28-2011, 10:07 PM
Member
 
THE DU3C3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a list of supported IR emitters that will work with this device? I have a JVC emitter that I am hoping will work with the VIP unit.
THE DU3C3 is offline  
post #52 of 701 Old 03-29-2011, 06:12 AM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE DU3C3 View Post

Is there a list of supported IR emitters that will work with this device? I have a JVC emitter that I am hoping will work with the VIP unit.

You'll need to check with Jonathan of VIP. I think the issue is having an emitter and glasses that do 60 hz as well as 120hz, so you can use a regular 60hz TV to watch 3D--that is the advantage of this unit.
threed123 is offline  
post #53 of 701 Old 03-30-2011, 03:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I own a JVC RS20 and was thinking about selling it but now I ve seen this thread I m going to wait. I think my RS20 is 60Hz capable. How can 2x30Hz look ok without getting a headache?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #54 of 701 Old 03-30-2011, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
I own a JVC RS20 and was thinking about selling it but now I ve seen this thread I m going to wait. I think my RS20 is 60Hz capable. How can 2x30Hz look ok without getting a headache?
That's what I'm wondering.........

Viewsonic Pr08100 here.


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #55 of 701 Old 03-30-2011, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
I own a JVC RS20 and was thinking about selling it but now I ve seen this thread I m going to wait. I think my RS20 is 60Hz capable. How can 2x30Hz look ok without getting a headache?
Well, that's the real question, isn't it? We've had a review of the 3d Theatre with an Optoma HD66, but no real word yet on 60hz performance. More units have been ordered, we should be hearing soon.

In the meantime, will it work if someone with a Displayer or Theatre & a 3d display tries runnning it at 60hz to check the flicker? Or is that not possible with 3d displays?
thebard is offline  
post #56 of 701 Old 03-31-2011, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Canary_Jules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
I own a JVC RS20 and was thinking about selling it but now I ve seen this thread I m going to wait. I think my RS20 is 60Hz capable. How can 2x30Hz look ok without getting a headache?
Also, does the RS20 have the lumens to produce a decent 3d image? I know that with approaching 800 hours on my HD750 bulb I could do with some more lumens real soon as the iris is open to 4. I'm running in low lamp mode so can go to high mode but will have to recalibrate as it changes colour space etc. How much does the VIP tech dim the image? Will I have to buy a high power screen to make the VIP work? (Actually, I'm already thinking of this as a long term solution to dimming bulbs).
Canary_Jules is offline  
post #57 of 701 Old 03-31-2011, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
chriscic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canary_Jules View Post
Also, does the RS20 have the lumens to produce a decent 3d image?
I've got an RS1 and am wondering the same things. Frankly for ~$430 with glasses I wouldn't be all that super demanding in terms of brightness and flicker, but obviously I still need some level of enjoyable picture quality to bother.

An alternative is to just go with the Acer 5360 and Nvidia 3D Vision combo for ~$700. Picture quality is certain to be superior, but besides expense I also would have to roll out another projector just for 3d-watching.

Finally I'm also wondering if you go exclusively through an HTPC if it might be possible to jut go with the less expensive gamer version as PCs are flexible and maybe you could just send the right 3D format for the Gamer in movies as well. The software would have to support though and I'm guessing there's nothing on the PC-side that does, at least right now.

At the end of the day, if 3D-VIP has a strong return policy and thinks my system might somehow be workable, I'll probably give it a try.
chriscic is offline  
post #58 of 701 Old 03-31-2011, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This product states that it can work with all 60Hz displays. This on its face cannot be true, because many 60Hz displays are not frame-locked to the source. That is, the internal clock is not connected to the HDMI input, and it essentially free runs. This doesn't cause noticeable issues in 2D due to the fact that the internal clock is set very close to the source's, but it is still not the same. Since the glasses use a sync derived from the external box, that sync will not always be synchronized with the image on your screen. What's worse is that it will drift over time, by as much as one frame. This means the worst case drift would cause your left eye and right eye to be backwards, and it cannot be compensated for because it is continually drifting.

I suggest that the manufacturer publish a list of known frame-locked displays to head off this issue as these boxes get out to users.
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #59 of 701 Old 03-31-2011, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
defiancecp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, if it's a 60hz, though, it will still be locked to a certain timing in relation to the input, so if the sync timing delay is adjustable, that could possibly still work. Obviously that wouldn't cover things like 120hz frame interpolation, but those aren't really 60hz displays either...
defiancecp is offline  
post #60 of 701 Old 03-31-2011, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by defiancecp View Post

Well, if it's a 60hz, though, it will still be locked to a certain timing in relation to the input, so if the sync timing delay is adjustable, that could possibly still work. Obviously that wouldn't cover things like 120hz frame interpolation, but those aren't really 60hz displays either...

No, there is no relation between input and display if they are not frame locked. It will drift continuously.
HokeySmoke is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off