3D Theatre - VIP Product Thread - Page 75 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2247 Old 01-29-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ludohavil View Post

In my experience so far there are some thing to check:
 - for what I read all BD3d comes with the same cicle so you will no need to change the 3d polarity after the first set.
 - if you use the VIP3D / 3D Now glasses, you can just soft press the power button to invert polarity, maybe you do that without noticing.
 - if you are playing SBS / OU encoded files, teh usual is left eye first in SBS, left eye top in OU, but I found some files reverted so sometimes I need to use the soft press of the power button to solve it.

my advice is always pause the production logo at the beginning of the movie to check the correct 3d setting, most of the main movie companies have 3d logos with nice 3d effects abd let me check with easy.

Note: If you got the Estar glasses you will need to change polarity in the emiter, or in the software if you are playing from a PC. I send a while ago a message to Estar to chgeck if their glasses support the soft press power button polarity feature of the VIP3d glasses but so far I've got no response from then.

Hope it helps...

The EStar glasses do not support the power button polarity change of the VIP glasses. Even running the EStar glasses with the VIP emitter doesn't change that. I personally like the polarity change ability, but EStar feels the on/off switching is more important. To each his own!

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2247 Old 01-29-2014, 11:26 AM
Member
 
ludohavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I do like the polarity switch feature. I think is more important than power off, but we are nor Estar.

 

there is another thing into account...

 

Estar charge $15 less for the glasses.

I'm thinking in buying two next month, but I'm waiting to see if consignia drop the price to 60.00 CAD again, that one is lees than 55 USD with the latest exchage rates. They did it around new year day.

ludohavil is offline  
post #2223 of 2247 Old 01-29-2014, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SubaruB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
SubaruB4 is offline  
post #2224 of 2247 Old 01-29-2014, 12:30 PM
Member
 
ludohavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I thought you were writing about this ones: 

http://www.amazon.com/EStar-America-ESG6000-RF-3D-Glasses/dp/B00D341DUQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1391023654&sr=1-1&keywords=estar

 

Those you have most probably won't work with 60Hz. Those are DLP-Link Projector glasses, those required a DLP-Link Projector or TV to work since they sync with a image in the screen, not a IF or RF signal.

ludohavil is offline  
post #2225 of 2247 Old 01-29-2014, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SubaruB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The glasses work fine, that's not issue I'm talking about say I watch Avatar, I put in the disc and watch it.. later I take the disc out only later to put it back in.. now I have to switch my 3D invert settings again because somehow it randomly changes on each disc insert.

my projector is DLP.. I might get RF glasses (they are so overpriced) because being that my projector is a white flash model movies with high white areas like Resident Evil: Afterlife near the end, my glasses lost sync a few times, and in one part long enough for the glasses to go into standby.
SubaruB4 is offline  
post #2226 of 2247 Old 01-29-2014, 06:20 PM
Member
 
ludohavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The BitCauldron based tech use a communication protocol like the bluetooth called zigbee develop for application with little data rate but with need of realtime sync.

This protocol has a range of around 120 meters, and was develop to avoid interference so the galsses should never be out of sync.

 

For me, they've never gone out of sync or anything negative. I have nothing more than praises for this tech.

I think they perform every penny I paid for then.

ludohavil is offline  
post #2227 of 2247 Old 01-31-2014, 08:55 AM
Member
 
ludohavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Yesterday I was testing some smsung 3D apps from my 3D BD player and find out the Theater switch to 3D auto witch is great but after I stop the 3D video, it does not switch back witch is a little anoying.

I had to unplug/replug the power supply to revert the 3D in the Theater, pressing the 3D format selection button did not help.

 

any thoughts?

ludohavil is offline  
post #2228 of 2247 Old 02-04-2014, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Well, I finally decided that the flickering is too much for me. I have my VIP Theatre device and RF glasses up on ebay. I was worried I wasn't going to get back nearly what I paid for everything, but so far it looks like I am going to be close to even. I wish there was a way to remove or reduce the 60hz flicker, because I can't stand it! Live and learn.
nickels55 is offline  
post #2229 of 2247 Old 02-04-2014, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickels55 View Post

Well, I finally decided that the flickering is too much for me. I have my VIP Theatre device and RF glasses up on ebay. I was worried I wasn't going to get back nearly what I paid for everything, but so far it looks like I am going to be close to even. I wish there was a way to remove or reduce the 60hz flicker, because I can't stand it! Live and learn.

Truly sorry to hear that. Fortunately for my wife and I, neither of the displays we use the Theatre products with are giving us fits with flicker. Perhaps we're just among the few percent of the population that aren't bothered by it.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #2230 of 2247 Old 02-04-2014, 08:58 PM
Member
 
ludohavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm sorry too.

 

For me the Plasma flicker is so low, and only is extremely bright images that for me is a win.

But my goal is to go to a LED projector like the Optoma ML-1000P with a screen of about 60-70"

 

I really advise going this way. For what I've read even if the 1000 lumens looks not enought, if you see 3D mostly at night with very regulated light

it should be fine.

 

I'll write about when I get there sometime in the future.

ludohavil is offline  
post #2231 of 2247 Old 02-09-2014, 01:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickels55 View Post

Well, I finally decided that the flickering is too much for me. I have my VIP Theatre device and RF glasses up on ebay. I was worried I wasn't going to get back nearly what I paid for everything, but so far it looks like I am going to be close to even. I wish there was a way to remove or reduce the 60hz flicker, because I can't stand it! Live and learn.

The flicker was horrible for me. I heard it was bad but still gave it a try. I contacted Jonathan Alexander, who sold it to me, and asked if I could get a refund if it was unwatchable. He agreed, but it was so bad that I returned it. I was using a LED projector and they did not go well together.
blee0120 is offline  
post #2232 of 2247 Old 02-09-2014, 09:07 AM
Member
 
ludohavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Good to know, as I intent to go with the optoma ML1000P.

Witch one you have?

I was 120Hz?

 

Thanks,

ludohavil is offline  
post #2233 of 2247 Old 02-09-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I have my high end work camera with me - a Canon 60D. So, before I get rid of everything I'll take an HD video through as seen through one side of the glasses while playing a PS3 game in 3D using the Optoma HD20 (60hz). Even though it is only one lens the flicker should be obvious in the video. I'll post it later. That will give me one last moment with the equipment, which will most likely remind me why I am selling it, and give people a true idea of what to expect on a 60hz display. I imagine it is perfect on a 120hz display.

EDIT: due to the camera's shutter speed I was unable to get a good view of flicker through the lens. You can see it with your eyes clear as a bell, but through the camera it disappears. I didn't feel like spending all day attempting to capture what flicker looks like so I gave up quickly.
nickels55 is offline  
post #2234 of 2247 Old 02-25-2014, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SubaruB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Finally mounted the VIP on the AVR... it seemed to have suppressed me having to flip my projector's 3D invert on every disc change of the same movie.. maybe that's because I was running the VIP direct to the projector?

Watched Gravity with it and it was great!

I need to get the setup to try on my LCD soon.
SubaruB4 is offline  
post #2235 of 2247 Old 04-28-2014, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

The flicker was horrible for me. I heard it was bad but still gave it a try. I contacted Jonathan Alexander, who sold it to me, and asked if I could get a refund if it was unwatchable. He agreed, but it was so bad that I returned it. I was using a LED projector and they did not go well together.

Just to give an update, I received my refund in full
blee0120 is offline  
post #2236 of 2247 Old 04-28-2014, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

Just to give an update, I received my refund in full

Sorry it didn't work out for you!

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #2237 of 2247 Old 04-29-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post

Sorry it didn't work out for you!

Thanks, I'm glad everyone seems to enjoy it. The PQ was great, I just had too much flicker with mines.
blee0120 is offline  
post #2238 of 2247 Old 04-29-2014, 08:40 AM
Member
 
ludohavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi:

 

did you use a 120Hz projector?

I would like to try it with the ML1000P from optoma, this one is 720P and 120Hz, since I have the Theater and not the +, I only need 120Hz

I don't thing updating to the + is an option since the only it will give me is 1080P@60Hz, the audio enhancement in the + I don't need, I route the audio with fibers directly to my AV.

 

Thanks,

ludohavil is offline  
post #2239 of 2247 Old 04-29-2014, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by ludohavil View Post

Hi:

did you use a 120Hz projector?
I would like to try it with the ML1000P from optoma, this one is 720P and 120Hz, since I have the Theater and not the +, I only need 120Hz
I don't thing updating to the + is an option since the only it will give me is 1080P@60Hz, the audio enhancement in the + I don't need, I route the audio with fibers directly to my AV.

Thanks,

I hear 720p120 is much better with flicker than 1080p60. I was using 1080p60.
blee0120 is offline  
post #2240 of 2247 Old 04-29-2014, 09:02 AM
Member
 
ludohavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you,

 

you just gave me hope.

As I've been trying to advise more than once, the + 1080P@60Hz is not so much upgrade over 720P@120Hz

now I'm at 720P@60Hz with my old plasma, and the flicker is really bearable.

since I use it in my bedroom the distance I see the TV does not give more detail if I go to 1080P.

My intention in moving to the projector is just to get to 120Hz and a little bigger screen (around 70-80")

viewed from around 10 feet there is no much noticeable the detail difference between 720 and 1080, and 3D tend to reduce even more the detail difference.

 

So far I'm very pleased with the Theater, I even got two more glasses a few month back so now I can watch 3D with my wife and two girls.

 

Thanks you again,

ludohavil is offline  
post #2241 of 2247 Old 05-24-2014, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Is there a steady stream of performance firmware/software updates for these boxes of tricks happening still ?

I saw one with a KRP600A a good while back now... And with not being what you would call hugely experienced with 3D technology or material in general must admit from my viewpoint found the experience very good indeed.

Certainly i didn't think it was any worse or any better than the usual marketing hype taken to an absurd level made for 3D 1,000000 HZ displays with NASA driving frequency technology - lol.

tongue.gifwink.gif

But like i say i'm relatively inexperienced with 3D material in general so perhaps that was an advantage
Stu03 is offline  
post #2242 of 2247 Old 05-26-2014, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu03 View Post

Is there a steady stream of performance firmware/software updates for these boxes of tricks happening still ?

I saw one with a KRP600A a good while back now... And with not being what you would call hugely experienced with 3D technology or material in general must admit from my viewpoint found the experience very good indeed.

Certainly i didn't think it was any worse or any better than the usual marketing hype taken to an absurd level made for 3D 1,000000 HZ displays with NASA driving frequency technology - lol.

tongue.gifwink.gif

But like i say i'm relatively inexperienced with 3D material in general so perhaps that was an advantage

If you mean like there is for Blu-Ray players in many cases, the answer is no. The boxes have received updated firmware to deal with identified problems in a couple of instances, and the glasses/transmitters have additionally seen new firmware with generational changes to their hardware, but that's pretty much it.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #2243 of 2247 Old 06-05-2014, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SubaruB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
What do I need to have this work with my LCD tv?

Watched Hubble 3D on the projector yesterday and I loved it!
SubaruB4 is offline  
post #2244 of 2247 Old 06-06-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
You just need to hook it up to your LCD TV and hope it has at least 60hz refresh rate or higher and an HDMI port. Best at 120hz. Other than that it works exactly the same as your projector.
nickels55 is offline  
post #2245 of 2247 Old 06-06-2014, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SubaruB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickels55 View Post

You just need to hook it up to your LCD TV and hope it has at least 60hz refresh rate or higher and an HDMI port. Best at 120hz. Other than that it works exactly the same as your projector.
yes but I only have DLP link glasses as my projector is DLP
SubaruB4 is offline  
post #2246 of 2247 Old 06-09-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Then you also need the emitter and glasses:
http://www.consignia.ca/vip-3d-rf-glasses-for-optoma-hd33-hd25-gt750-hd8300-bg-zf2100gls-rf-emitter-included/

If you already have the emitter you just need the RF glasses. I'd contact Jonathon directly for whatever you need, as you'll get a better deal then using any website.
nickels55 is offline  
post #2247 of 2247 Old 06-09-2014, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Be aware that some LCDs have been known to display unstable 3D pictures (glasses and picture drift in and out of sync) when used with these units. It is not a slam on the VIP boxes at all-my guess is that in order to do their faux "120 Hz/240 Hz" frame interpolation, these displays internally break rigid sync with the incoming video and reclock it. Since the glasses are externally synced by the VIP units, they can then be slightly out of sync with the picture onscreen. We saw this with our bedroom Sony LCD. Oddly enough, when I put a Lumagen Radiance Mini between the Theater and LCD, the 3D instability went away. Perhaps the Radiance's own genlock and scaling of the Theater's output from 720p tp 1080p--instead of the display's internal scaling--made the difference.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Tags
Lg Electronics Pa70g Micro Portable Led Projector

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off