A call to all JVC users wishing to use the VIP 3D Theatre device - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 189 Old 05-23-2011, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
JVC thus far has made no attempt to fix the frame locking issue with their displays to make it compatable with the VIP 3D Theatre. After a back and forth with them via email they claim they take all feedback seriously and will forward it to the right people.

Well here is their contact info:
customerrelations@jvc.com
1-800-252-5722

We need to start bombarding them with emails and phone calls to fix their displays... so get on it.

And if it succeeds, here is where the update will apear. http://support.jvc.com/consumer/custrel/index.jsp

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 189 Old 05-23-2011, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
Thommy70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Done!

JVC HD350 (RS10)
Thommy70 is offline  
post #3 of 189 Old 05-23-2011, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This change is also needed for passive dual-projector 3D to operate correctly. Not just VIP products.
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #4 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokeySmoke View Post

This change is also needed for passive dual-projector 3D to operate correctly. Not just VIP products.

This is a good point! Did JVC say they had two RS2's working in a 3D setup once? Maybe the RS2 is already frame locked!
Ronomy is offline  
post #5 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
E-mail sent. Essentially, I asked if my HD250 has the frame locking issue, so that the PJ drop a frame from time to time. No mention about 3D. I'm curious what the answer will be.

Pitou!
Pitou is offline  
post #6 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is what got. Not very useful for now. I guess I'll have to buy one and try it.

Quote:


Thank you for contacting JVC Customer Care, my name is Tamara, your email care specialist. We value you as a JVC customer and appreciate the opportunity to be of assistance.

There are no known issues with the DLA-HD250 projector. Are you experiencing any difficulties with the unit?

If you have any other questions please let us know at customerrelations@jvc.com.

Sincerely,

Tamara H.
JVC Customer Care

Pitou is offline  
post #7 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah, the only one we know for sure has the issue is the RS1u. And probably the RS2(mine) since they use the same video processing. Dunno about the rest of them.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
post #8 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 04:02 PM
Member
 
shajan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been following this thread eagerly and now I am a little disheartened. I have the Pioneer FPJ1 which I believe is a re-badged RS2

Shajan
shajan is offline  
post #9 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Same here. Any JVC FW should work fine for us though.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
post #10 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post

This is a good point! Did JVC say they had two RS2's working in a 3D setup once? Maybe the RS2 is already frame locked!


Don't know if this ever happened, but they did announce a partnership with Sensio with dual-stacked projectors.

http://www.slashgear.com/jvc-d-ila-r...-soon-0621730/
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #11 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sigh, well I might be a complete idiot, but I'll be the RS2/FPJ1 guiniea pig. I just placed my order for the VIP Theatre, hopefully they will have enough and it'll ship tomorrow. For $25 shipping I hope it gets here by Friday. Hopefully I can sell the glasses if it doesn't work, so all I'd be out is maybe $40.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
post #12 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by plissken99 View Post

Sigh, well I might be a complete idiot, but I'll be the RS2/FPJ1 guiniea pig. I just placed my order for the VIP Theatre, hopefully they will have enough and it'll ship tomorrow. For $25 shipping I hope it gets here by Friday. Hopefully I can sell the glasses if it doesn't work, so all I'd be out or maybe $40.

Anticipation driving you crazy is it? We should have some answers soon...I hope. At least an answer which ones have it and which ones don't have frame lock.
Ronomy is offline  
post #13 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes it is, I happened to have enough left to cover it after bills. Plus I have RE: Afterlife, Tron Legacy, and Green Hornet all in 3D that I've been holding off watching, and Drive Angry is coming next week(which I loved)! Plus whether it works properly or not, least I've get to see 'some 3D' in my theater room.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
post #14 of 189 Old 05-24-2011, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by plissken99 View Post

Yes it is, I happened to have enough left to cover it after bills. Plus I have RE: Afterlife, Tron Legacy, and Green Hornet all in 3D that I've been holding off watching, and Drive Angry is coming next week(which I loved)!

Well you can watch it shift in and out of sync if its not locked. If they don't fix it I still plan to build a little circuit to drive the emitter. Maybe I can come up with a way to flip the eye polarity when it does flip the wrong way.
Ronomy is offline  
post #15 of 189 Old 05-25-2011, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sigh...

"EXPECTED SHIP DATE: MAY 30, 2011 ORDER TODAY TO RESERVE YOURS!

(Stock was shipped from the manufacturer to our distributor on May 25th. Once arrived it will be shipped out on a first come first served basis to customers.)"

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
post #16 of 189 Old 05-25-2011, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by plissken99 View Post

Sigh...

"EXPECTED SHIP DATE: MAY 30, 2011 ORDER TODAY TO RESERVE YOURS!

(Stock was shipped from the manufacturer to our distributor on May 25th. Once arrived it will be shipped out on a first come first served basis to customers.)"

You may want to rethink your buying the theatre unit to use with an RS2. I don't have a final answer yet but its not looking good for us with the Gennum GF9351 chip. JVC says that they farm out the firmware writing to the Video Processing chip manufacturer and usually when a product is discontinued they have no way to go back and make changes like this. I also looked at the chip spec and it isn't clear if it even supports genlock. Some of the newer chips have it in there specs that it is a supported option. I'll post the final answer when JVC confirms if they can make a change like this or not. Stay tuned!

The company who makes the chip claims that the GF9351 chip is still available for order but not to be used for new designs which probably means they don't support it any more.

I could be jumping the gun posting this but I think the writing is on the wall.

Ron
Ronomy is offline  
post #17 of 189 Old 05-26-2011, 12:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Which would mean the RS2 could never work with this device?... that would figure.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
post #18 of 189 Old 05-26-2011, 06:11 AM
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by plissken99 View Post

Sigh...

"EXPECTED SHIP DATE: MAY 30, 2011 ORDER TODAY TO RESERVE YOURS!

(Stock was shipped from the manufacturer to our distributor on May 25th. Once arrived it will be shipped out on a first come first served basis to customers.)"

Sorry about that. Was really hoping to hear the good news that they were ready to ship to customers on (or before) the 25th.

Kal
kal is offline  
post #19 of 189 Old 05-26-2011, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Folks! It is official! None of the JVC models support frame lock. Straight from the head of engineering in the D-ILA division at JVC. The RS1 is too old and no support left to write updates.
Ronomy is offline  
post #20 of 189 Old 05-26-2011, 09:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Cancelling my order... goddammit!

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
post #21 of 189 Old 05-27-2011, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
mooro1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post

Folks! It is official! None of the JVC models support frame lock. Straight from the head of engineering in the D-ILA division at JVC. The RS1 is too old and no support left to write updates.


Does this include the RS20 which I believe has a different video processor?

Of course now JVC know frame lock enables an upgrade path that does not involve a brand new JVC, the cynic may suggest that they have no motivation to admit to/upgrade firmware such a capability even if it does exist.
mooro1973 is offline  
post #22 of 189 Old 05-27-2011, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
They said most discontinued models can't be updated although I would check with JVC or ask Jonathan to ask JVC directly for your model.
Ronomy is offline  
post #23 of 189 Old 05-27-2011, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really have enough this morning with JVC's customer service....

#1

Quote:
Hello,

I own this projector (model DLA HD250) and heard that some previous projector Like the RS1 and maybe RS2 has a problem with frame locking or genlock. Thus forcing the projector to drop a frame from time to time to keep up with the 60hz refresh rate.

I would like to know if this apply to my HD250 as well or is this has been corrected with newer projector?

Thank you.

#2

Quote:
Thank you for contacting JVC Customer Care, my name is Tamara, your email care specialist. We value you as a JVC customer and appreciate the opportunity to be of assistance.

There are no known issues with the DLA-HD250 projector. Are you experiencing any difficulties with the unit?

If you have any other questions please let us know at customerrelations@jvc.com.

Sincerely,

Tamara H.
JVC Customer Care

#3

Quote:
Hello,

Not for now, but I plan to buy a new product called 3D VIP theater and connect it via HDMI.

Now this product needs the projector to really frame lock without any frame drop. That's why I'm asking.

Do you know if the video processor/chips is different on my HD250 than the previous generation of projector like the RS1?

Thank you.

#4

Quote:
Hello,

Do you have infos yet about the questions asked below?

Thank you.

#5

Quote:
Thank you for contacting JVC Customer Care, my name is Tamara, your email care specialist. We value you as a JVC customer and appreciate the opportunity to be of assistance.

I do apologize, but we do not have the information you are looking for readily available. Since the DLA-HD250 is not designed for 3D projection, we can not say for certain if the 3D converter will work with this model.

If you have any other questions please let us know at customerrelations@jvc.com.

Sincerely,

Tamara H.
JVC Customer Care

#6

Quote:
I understand, but can you provide de video chip/chipset used?

Thank you.

#7

Quote:
Thank you for your reply. This is Mary, your email care specialist.
Unfortunately, we do not have the requested information on this product. We apologize for the inconvenience this may cause you.
If we can be of further assistance, please let us know at customerrelations@jvc.com or by phone at 1-800-252-5722. Our hours of operation are Monday through Friday 8AM to 8PM , Saturday 8AM to 5PM or Sunday 9AM to 4:00PM .


Sincerely,

Mary R.
JVC Customer Care Center

#8

Quote:
Hello,

I'm very disappointed with the "pre-made" answers you give. Would it be that difficult to ask engineering or someone else on a higher level, those technical questions I've asked?

I'm asking simple questions like what is the video chip model/number of the HD250 and if the HD250 has the frame locking issue (dropping frames from time to time)

Would it be possible to talk honestly like 2 human beings would do. It feels that I'm talking with a recording machine.

Hoping to get more intelligent answers now.

Thank you.

Now waiting for their answer....

I should have bought a 1300$ Epson compared to this 2500$ JVC and it would have worked. Sigh...

Pitou!
Pitou is offline  
post #24 of 189 Old 05-27-2011, 05:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
SgtVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post

Well you can watch it shift in and out of sync if its not locked. If they don't fix it I still plan to build a little circuit to drive the emitter. Maybe I can come up with a way to flip the eye polarity when it does flip the wrong way.

I'm wondering about the announced product on the VIP website regarding 3D-Discover with 3D-Sycnodes scheduled for summer release will address that issue?

Can an external device establish frame-lock?
SgtVideo is offline  
post #25 of 189 Old 05-27-2011, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
plissken99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, Ft Worth
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Got a refund already. I still say if by some miracle they can make these work with JVC projectors, I'm all over it. Still really happy with the RS2, don't forsee a new projector for a few years.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Snake Plissken

 

plissken99 is online now  
post #26 of 189 Old 05-27-2011, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got this answer from JVC...

Quote:


Thank you for your reply. This is Mary, your email care specialist.
I have personally replied to your requests, and please rest assured that these are not automated responses. Please note that the requested information is not disclosed and cannot be researched. An update alone would not allow the requested function on your unit, since it would require hardware, not just simple software update. Whenever an adapter/accessory becomes available, if one is released, it will post online through our website. Please visit the site periodically for updated items for your model. Thank you for your time, we appreciate your business!
If we can be of further assistance, please let us know at customerrelations@jvc.com or by phone at 1-800-252-5722. Our hours of operation are Monday through Friday 8AM to 8PM , Saturday 8AM to 5PM or Sunday 9AM to 4:00PM .


Sincerely,

Mary R.
JVC Customer Care Center

I'm wondering if they're looking for an extenal box (adaptor?) that could frame lock correctly...

Pitou!
Pitou is offline  
post #27 of 189 Old 05-27-2011, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitou View Post

Just got this answer from JVC...



I'm wondering if they're looking for an extenal box (adaptor?) that could frame lock correctly...

Pitou!

No she gave you another response meaning she doesn't know or the person she got the answer from doesn't know. Contact Jonathan at VIP and ask him to find out if your model can be updated. The video prcessing chip in the projector needs to be set to frame lock or Genlock mode. Its possible it doesn't support that mode. Your projector is still active so maybe they can get this working for you but you have to ask through VIP who is in direct contact with the head engineering manager in the D-ILA division at JVC Pro. Forget about the online request.

Ron
Ronomy is offline  
post #28 of 189 Old 05-27-2011, 11:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am pleased to see that JVC has stated that their current product does not have enough internal firmware memory hardware to add the additional features you have requssted. Apparenly the previous posters that claimed the adding the requested features to JVC's current product since it is simple firmare to write test and release and that the firmware memory to add these featiures is available on the current JVC systems. but if this infromation is invalid then no changes are possible.
walford is offline  
post #29 of 189 Old 05-28-2011, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the vip products are upconverting from 24 Hz to 60 hz and so many 60 hz projectors have issues with the 3D image, isn't maybe the problem in the vip products. The 60 hz projectors don't sync correctly due to this upconversion in the vip products. The sync needs to come from the projector because of this and not the vip. Supposedly nvidia 3D 60 hz operation does not have this problem.
60 Hz Projectors I have that I thought worked still have sync issues. The only one that works is the 3D acer H5360.
mkoss is offline  
post #30 of 189 Old 05-28-2011, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thebard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoss View Post

Since the vip products are upconverting from 24 Hz to 60 hz and so many 60 hz projectors have issues with the 3D image, isn't maybe the problem in the vip products. The 60 hz projectors don't sync correctly due to this upconversion in the vip products. The sync needs to come from the projector because of this and not the vip. Supposedly nvidia 3D 60 hz operation does not have this problem.
60 Hz Projectors I have that I thought worked still have sync issues. The only one that works is the 3D acer H5360.

I don't think it's the VIP; the unit works fine with my 60hz Optoma HD70. It has worked as advertised for 90% of the users with 60hz PJs on these boards.

Are you putting the 60hz/120hz dipswitch on the VIP in the correct position?
thebard is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off